Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electronic Engineering

Options
  • 08-09-2002 9:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭

I'm currently in 5th year and I'm hoping to take up a course in electronic engineering when I finish school but there is a problem.
    As far as I know in most collages you need honours maths and honours physics for your leaving cert to take up the course. I'm only doing ordinary maths and have been doing Ordinary since 2nd year :/
    I was told honours maths would be far too hard to take up in 5th year :(

What should I do ?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

I did a degree in Telecommunications Engineering (similar to Elec Eng in the first 2 years at least) and I can confirm to you that your going to need a high level of Mathematics to get through it.

If you are doing Ordinary level maths because you are lazy then don't let it put you off. Anyone can pick it up. However if you are doing ordinary because you honestly can't get your head round the dicipline then stay well clear of E.Eng because the course is full to the brim with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Practical

I was thrown into a pass class cause on one exam in 1st year which I only found out about on the day, I have always thought of maths been my easy subject once you figure out the forumula. I'm going to wait till wednesday and see how I did on my jc results. If all is well I might go ahead with Honour's maths and get some maths grinds later this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli