Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scangers

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Originally posted by Oeneus
    "Do yeh like Catholics?". Then they tried to persuade me to say "No" so that they could beat the **** out of me! :rolleyes:
    Just ask him - "huh? what's a catholic?"
    If they're so picky about religion, why don't they just 'love thy neighbour', 'turn the other cheek', go off relax and pray or something. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

MrJoeSoap wrote
    "A friend of my dads was telling him the story of how his blind friend was walking through a secluded area with his guide dog when two youths came up to him, stole his wallet, and proceeded to bark in his ears."

Shazbat wrote
    "Another scanger related incident in tallaght was when one spat in my face from a passing car window as I was cycling through tallaght village. Their sense of humour is sophisticated beyond belief. "

I worked with an Indian guy a couple of years ago who came here after working for about 10 years in the states. He lived in Kilmainham and he told me that he had to walk home down James St. and he had to get used to gangs of cider swilling white trash scum on street corners calling him a "n*gg*r" as he went past. Why should a highly qualified systems architect come to this country for that sort of abuse? He moved to England shortly afterwards.

I think we should do a deal with Russia where for every one of their highly educated, hard working and law abiding software engineers we take, they take 5 or 6 scangers and send them to Siberia. We get good people for our economy, they get cheap labour for their uranium mines. Everyone wins!

I think this deal would be most popular with a lot of decent people in council housing who have no choice but to have these people as their neighbours. I think you only need about 5% of people in a neighbourhood to be like this to feck it up for everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Originally posted by pork99
    I think we should do a deal with Russia where for everyone of their highly educated, hard working and law abiding software engineers we take, they take 5 or 6 scangers and send them to Siberia. We get good people for our economy, they get cheap labour for their uranium mines. Everyone wins!

genius. i salute you :)

genius. i salute you

thank you Disco Stu but its just common sense ;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Makaveli
    Most of them are all talk.
    Stand up to them and they will change their tune quick.
    Acting hard, pathetic.
    I mean a lot of them come from so called "nice areas" they just think they're tough.
    If you have a moped and wear a baseball cap on the back of your head so not to mess your fringe and have a dirty looking haircut you can be a skanger too.
    Throw in a couple of rings and tracksuits and you're it.
    Idiots, they arent worth the effort to rant about.
    Dirty nackers.
    Very true. Coming home from Ozzfest last year we stopped off at a petrol station between Ashbourne and Finglas (I think). And we were in a line to buy what ever we needed. Then this skanger walked up and jumped the line right in front of me. Me being fairly fired up from listening to an awesome Slayer set got him by the shirt and threw him out of the line after a bit of an arguement. He started the verbal abuse that I could only laugh at.

Then some of his mates got out of their shítty old Ford Sierra to try and confront me I laughed at them too (these guys weren't the smallest guys in the world) they came up and surrounded me. I just told a couple of them to turn around before they made a move. They saw all of my friends on the bus that I was on standing outside staring at them. They turned around to me and apologised straight away.

Some of these guys big talk was just hilarous to listen to and in the end when they had me surrounded and once they realised I had the same amount of fellas behind me they ran as fast as they could.

If you dont want to be near scangers, dont go to "gigi's", previously the vactican.

a guy I work with and some friends of his got assaulted outside that place last Friday week by some scangers who had just been ejected from it.

Vermin

• Moderators Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭LFCFan

The reason we associate some places with being full of scangers is because it is only the scangers who hang around on street corners and outside Spar etc etc. When you go to the Square in Tallaght for example during the day the place is full of scrotebags. Prams, tracksuits, gold hooped earrings and that god awful accent they have. The ordinary, decent, hard working residents of the area are all at work so they end up getting a bad name because of the gob****es that infest the place because they would rather claim social benefits then get up off their lazy fat arses and get a job. The government are to blame for them all. If they didn't give them so much for doing so little then maybe they wouldn't be so goddamn lazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    They saw all of my friends on the bus that I was on standing outside staring at them.

Brave friends ;p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

i never really thought dublin was that bad for them to be honest. I was brought up in glasgow all my life where every town "scheme" as known back home is full of them, and i dunno about here but gangfighting back home is a regular occurence.

Anyhow thats not my point, i moved over to dublin just over 4 months ago and i rarely see any neds, or knackers/scangers as you call em. Least not any of the ones that will try to start fights or ones that spurt out sh|t for no reason other than to try to look big in front of there mates. Usually when found walking alone are scared out of there wits... pure cowards..

I've even been to gigi's a good few times and everytime ive been in there its been ok (to my knowledge, everytime ive been in there ive been a bit to drunk to remember :rolleyes:) sure there was what looked like a few **** but almost every nightclub has those.

And as for moving out of dublin to get away from them, fat chance as theyre everywhere, you just gotta deal with them right. Does help if you know how to look after yourself but lets face it, its not as if they hang around alone (sh|tbags if they are as i mentioned), they only ever hang around in big groups where they outnumber ppl and try to act "hard".. so no matter how well you can look after yourself theres no fighting off 6-12++ people. All part of life, just gotta take it as it comes I suppose.

And IMO dublin aint even HALF as bad as Glasgow.

• Moderators Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭LFCFan

the scangers in this country are more about anti-social behaviour. Throwing stones at buses, graffiti, shouting abuse, damage to public and private property like smashing bus shelters. It's this sort of behaviour that pisses me off more than anything. I've lived in Dublin most of my life and have never been in a fight and never witnessed anything like that but I have seen countless examples of anti-social behaviour.