Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hotpress Review of Popstar* Gig...

• 26-09-2002 2:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭

Popstar
    Temple Bar Music Centre, Dublin.

This quartet combine heavy metal and punk rock zeal with enough pop
    sensibility to take the bulk of the irony out of their name. It's
    obvious why Popstar are being touted as the next young Irish band set to
    make it big - a cute charismatic lead singer, flanked by impressivley
    hirstute guitarists, offering songs ranging from toe-tappingly good to
    downright excellent.
    They trade in the catchy feel-good punk of the likes of Green Day, but
    with added gravitas due to a darker, heavier edge on certain tracks,
    like Deftones without the morbid facinations. They also have all the
    crowd pleasing qualities of The Revs, without straying into cheesiness,
    though their hardcore cover of Aha's 'Take On Me' is pushing it
    slightly.
    The Phantom FM-familiarised rock-out 'System In Decay' had the adolecent
    Blast gig regulars joyfully bouncing off each other, while their
    forthcoming single 'Better Off' should see them winning quite a few more
    hearts. In fact, I don't know whether Louis Walsh will try and sue 'em
    or sign 'em.

Fiona Reid
    Hotpress

All the crowd pleasing abilities of The Revs.....wow...I'm stoked...somebody slap me !!!
    Peace,
    kranog

http://popstar.2ya.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Nice review lads, well deserved too!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

saw u guys last night. to be completely honest, its not my kind of music, but it was excellent for the type of music is was, so well done! bloody hell kranog, the speed of you, i coudlnt follow you you moved about the stage so quickly! ANd...you have the same hair as me!!! and i bet i had it first;)

that a-ha cover was somehting that you'd think wouldve been done years ago, but its such a good idea!!!! it was excelent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

I thought u guys were pretty good. Really enjoyed the cover of "Take on Me"!
    Ur a bit mad on stage Kranog! U upstage the rest of the band!
    Congrats on a good show anyway and I'm sure I'll see you again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

It was a really good gig.....I had to leave early, but I was there saying 'I'll go after the next song.....no, I'll go after the next song...no..wait...'

I was in trouble for lateness related difficulties, but it was worth it.
    U upstage the rest of the band!

......all except the weirdly-smiling bass player!!

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

Awwww Shucks !!!
    Thanx a million lads & lassie's !!! My head is starting to feel really heavy !!! :p
    Thanx for coming along, hope to see ya'll again at the next one....
    Be sure to come up and say "Howya" next time. Nice to put a face to the name !!!
    Peace,
    kranog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

i thought it was a great show...i love that 'god has a new face' (or sumat like that) song...i came all the way down from dundalk to see yis!

**** man, you live in Dundalk, can you even get Phantom there ???
    Cheers for comin' out, hope the show was worth it man !!!
    Peace,
    kranog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

no phantom for me i'm afraid...only me trusty cds and mds...

i go to college in dundalk, so i live here during the week...you should come play up here! i know you have before...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭rapture_queen

I dont usually like ur type of music but i really enjoyed some of ur songs and ur version of take on me-What made u pick that song for a cover?

I don't really remember to be honest...I just played that synth part on my guitar while rehearsing one night, we all fell around laughing, I came back the next night with a whole punky version of it, we jammed it out and I think that was pretty much all it took, mind you we really didn't think anyone would dig it or think it would have been a wise cover for our sorta band...but hey some people seem to like it.
    Thanx for coming to the gig.....will you return for another gig is the fatal question !!! :D
    Peace,
    kranog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭rapture_queen

Perhaps my friend perhaps!