Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Axl Bashing

• 03-10-2002 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭

Just from the GNR vs Queen thread, wanted to post this up to see what people think, and why people "bash" Axl.

http://www.mygnr.com/news/2002/020317_1.html

Former drummer Steve Adler;
    Former GUNS N' ROSES drummer Steven Adler recently commented publicly on the December 29th incident in Las Vegas that saw ex-GNR axeman Slash being turned away from a GUNS N' ROSES gig by security personnel who didn't want to enrage frontman Axl Rose by letting the guitarist into the venue. Stated Adler: “That's so f.cking sad that he (Axl) has to be that insecure. That he can't even let a partner in life [into the venue to see him perform], 'cause it's not just a band, there's millions of rock and roll bands, but GUNS N' ROSES was the people's f.ckin' band. What they did to me as a personal member was bad enough, but that's so wrong not to let [Slash] in, let him onstage. Not even let him play!

“I'm pissed that [Axl] didn't give me a call! I sent him a letter. I'd love to talk to him. It's only been 12 years. I have nothing against him, whatever he said, whatever happened in the past, happened, it's old. It was just f.ckin' news, it's f.ckin' over. We were young. We know how to rock, obviously. You don't need all these issues. But, I have to say, Axl was the greatest frontman ever, period.”

Old news I know, but just for the sake of discussion. Do ya reckon Axl's a nice guy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

just paranoid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

I think the guy who reads the song summarys on the Q music channel put it well
    "Tenacious Ds song Tribute is to be taken as seriously as Axl Roses comeback.The only difference is that Tenacious D are trying to be funny" .
    So Axls comeback is a cause of hillarity for its piss poorness among rockers?
    Please not i anit got a clue what im talking about as ive never really been a guns and roses fan:) I just thought inserting a humourous quote was approproiate:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

I wasn't taking it seriously either until I saw that most other people were. So I'm withholding judgement til I see/hear something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

You just wait for "Chinese Democracy"!
    I know it's going to be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Originally posted by Oeneus
    You just wait for "Chinese Democracy"!
    I know it's going to be good!

but what is its not????

Then we have the right to give Axl some Bashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

<preps baseball bat> whens it out again? :)

The big rumour at the moment is December 3rd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Pep

The problem is the man thinks hes a perfectionist ( taking about 9 years to finish an album, getting rid of band members cos he thought they werent good enough) and this has made him an impossible man to deal with causing his tantrums and consistingly late and cancel performances

However rumor also has it that the new album is good with the new songs hes played with the new band getting good reviews from gig goers.

I guess well just have to wait for the album and the tour to relly decide on his present merit.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I hope it is good. We've been starved of really good albums recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Pep

It might be going off the point a bit but theres loads of good albums around at the moment The Coral, BRMC, The Music, the new Foo Fighters album will be great so we dont necessarly need a great GNR album to save us

Originally posted by Pep
    It might be going off the point a bit but theres loads of good albums around at the moment The Coral, BRMC, The Music, the new Foo Fighters album will be great so we dont necessarly need a great GNR album to save us
    You expect me to listen to the Foo Fighters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

if he changed the line up, he should have changed the band name. same goes with jamiroquai, nearly all the original band members are gone and yet they still call themselves jamiroquai.

on the other note, anyone for tea.

adnans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by adnans
    if he changed the line up, he should have changed the band name. same goes with jamiroquai, nearly all the original band members are gone and yet they still call themselves jamiroquai.

on the other note, anyone for tea.

adnans

Spot on. Thing is Jay Kay is the one signed to Sony as "Jamiroquai" and it's considered him, but he always said he'd give the rest of the lads their fare share, which he has done apparently.

Guns N Roses were signed as the group though, and I don't think Axl should be allowed use the name, although I heard he forced everyone into signing the stuff over to him somehow.

Then again I've no proof cos I couldn't be arséd lookin for it!

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    I heard he forced everyone into signing the stuff over to him somehow.

Then again I've no proof cos I couldn't be arséd lookin for it!

Here's what happened to all previous members in order:

1) Tracci Guns (now of LA Guns) left - because he couldn't get on with Axl (who was then replaced by Slash)

2) Steven Adler got kicked out - Refused to stop taking drugs (replaced by Matt Sorum (The Cult)).

At this point Dizzy Reed had joined the band also.

3) Izzy Stradlin left - because Axl tried to get him to signa contract to cut down his pay due to the fact he didn't run around on stage enough. (replaced by Gilby Clarke)

4) Slash quit - because Axl was throwing the music in a different direction from what it used to be. And because a friend of Axl's named "Paul Tobias" was brought in to order Slash around and tell him how to play. (replaced by Robin Finck (Nine Inch Nails).

5) Gilby Clarke got sacked - for joining Slash on his solo project. (replaced by Paul Tobias)

6) Matt Sorum got sacked - by trying to persuade Axl to get Slash back. He then congrats Paul Tobias for "splitting up the greatest rock band in the world!" (replaced by Brain previously of Primus)

7) Duff McKagen left - because of the lack of activity, and the fact everyone else disappeared. (can't remember the name of the guy that replaced him).

Brain then introduced Axl to Buckethead, who did a set with Primus on their Ozzfest slots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Slash was pissed because Paul huge (tobias whatever) played on "Sympathy for the Devil" without Slash's knowledge. Buckethead is a farce, has no style whatsoever, sure he is a good guitarist but he just stands there like a fool. Slash had it all and made the band what it was. This is just Axl trying to hold on to former Glorys. I'm far more interested in Slash's Duff's and Matt's next project.

OOOOoooooooohhh!!

You diss Buckethead!

In my opinion, Buckethead is one of the best guitarists I've seen since Slash. Have you seen him live? And I tell you. He doesn't just stand there. And fucckin' hell, he does have style. He does fuccking karate on stage, he dances like a robot, and goddamn it can he play guitar!

He is the most amazing thing since...well...since Slash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

This reminds me of Mayhem reforming after Euronymous was murdered. It's basically a different band now. Also, Blasphemer is probably 5 times the guitarist Euronymous was, but about a 5th the songwriter. Quite similar, yes?

Quite, except Buckethead doesn't lack songwriting ability.
    He's had like 7 solo albums.
    Although he might lack the ability to write lyrics. Due to the fact all his albums are instrumental. And apparently he also did some stuff on the soundtracks of Last Action Hero and Mortal Combat.

Quite, except Buckethead doesn't lack songwriting ability.
    He's had like 7 solo albums.
    Although he might lack the ability to write lyrics. Due to the fact all his albums are instrumental. And apparently he also did some stuff on the soundtracks of Last Action Hero and Mortal Combat.

It seems to me like nothing will stop you from liking the band. You got no soul brother, same as Buckethead. He's got no soul. 7 solo albums??? Why hasn't anyone heard of them? 'Cos they're shíte.

Karate on stage? It's supposed to be a fúckin rock concert\guitar solo, not a poxy kata!!

Have I seen him on stage? In video footage yes... he's a twat, emotionless, motionless twat. He can play very, very, very fast, but IMO a good musician (at anything) that does not make. However, as I've said in other threads to you, I'll wait and see how the new album shapes up.

I d/l'd an interview with Slash, don't know when it was from, but he was saying he's available to play with Axl, after he'd been refused entry to a gig by Axl!! I also have footage of recent GNR concerts, where during Bucketheads solo, and also a terrible performance of patience, the crowd are shouting "Where's Slash, where's Slash?". Ha ha.... I feel sorry for Buckethead, having to attempt to live up to Slash, but Axl replies to the crowd, "He's up my fúckin ass, that's where Slash is fúckhead, go home!!!" 'Cos ya know, Axl's a lovely, forgiving guy. I reckon it hurts him more than anything else. He's a damn fool I tell ye... a fool.

Jesus Christ, man! Can't you fuccking see that it's about the music? Not about his damn, bad attitude or choices he's made about new members... to be honest I have stopped caring about the fact there all new.

It pissed me off at first but there's not a whole lot we can do about it except enjoy it. It's taken him a lot of guts to do what he's doing, and he's doing it for the sake of the fans he has left. And I would imagine he's working his ass off. And in return, he gets everyone bitching at him!

Fuccksake! Some people don't get on with others! Except it!

And my point with my previous post with why previous members left, was to show that they left Guns N' Roses. ie. They left Axl with the name "Guns N' Roses". So why the hell shouldn't he use the name? I honestly couldn't give a sh1te!
    Karate on stage? It's supposed to be a fúckin rock concert\guitar solo, not a poxy kata!!

And what your complaining about here, is the fact that he's nothing like Slash. And if he was like Slash you would be complaining about that aswell, saying "Wah Wah Wah, what a Slash rip-off." Yes he is supposed to be a guitar player, and he is and he does it well. But he is also an entertainer. I'm sure if Slash knew how to do Karate he would do it on stage... David Lee Roth showed off his athletic abilities.

David Lee Roth showed off his athletic abilities.
    *shudder*

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    *shudder*

Precisely! I got embarrassed watching buckethead, spinning nunchucks around and doing "the robot"! Oeneus... don't get too stressed out by what I'm saying, it's only my opinion, and I just don't like the new line up. Nothing wrong with that, and there's nothing wrong with you likin' it. Our opinions differ, but it's a good discussion.

I fully agree with your point that there's nothing we can do about it but try and enjoy it. I hate the new look, but I'm lookin forward to the new album, then I'll pass judgement. Maybe I'm stuck in the past, but last night, I stuck on a version of Rocket Queen with the old band, and a version with the new band (both live performances) and I'm afraid to say, the old version absolutely blew the fcuckin sh1t outta the new one. Big time. I don't think they'll ever match what they were.

Over the past 8 years it's been like, you know, everyone hoping for a GN'R reunion and to this point, it's been shown by what the band members have been saying that it will never happen.

So I just been like "Fucck it! It's not going to happen so there's no point keeping my hopes up. I'm not going to take sides with the old band members and I'm not going to take Axl's side. As long as they both keep making good music.

When Slash's Snakepit started on "Ain't Life Grand" 2 years ago I looked at it like "Woohoo! New material to sink my teeth into!". And that's how I'm feeling with the New GNR! It's more entertainment for me... and I really enjoyed Buckethead's performance in London. He was the highlight of the show!