Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bands you like

• 14-10-2002 4:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭

just while i was posting in the other thread...'up yours pay to play'
    i was thinking...its a real pity bout ppl not going to gigs and supporting new bands and ****

so

what i'm asking is what new bands are you really glad you've heard or really glad you've gone to see stuff like that... basically i've decided over the last few weeks that i'm gonna go to as many gigs as i can afford so i want everyones reccommendations...

right so the bands you think are making a difference/ are worth my cash... do me a favourdont mention your mates band just cos they're your mates or whatever cos it'll probably just put me off going to see them even more... and no ones allowed mention the band i'm in either cos i'm gonna be going to see them whenever they're playin anyway (well kinda)

k the bands:

for me at the moment its

the 66 electric

who i'm priviliged to say i'm playing with soon enough... these are the lads who changed my view on the dublin music scene so hopefully i'll get a few more good ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Johnny Pyro
    Fingermouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Shorty

Warlords of Pez, you have got to see these live.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I hav to agree with Shorty The Warlords of Pez are fantastic! ive seen em three times now and will definitely be seein em a lot more in the future!

Also the Beautiful Losers are definitely worth checkin out if you havnt seen em already (well even if you have go again!!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Superfurry

Are Fingermouse still going? I saw them at a Saturday afternoon free-jam in Eamonn Doran's about two years ago and they were great - even did a rock version of Backstreet's Back. Do you know if they're playing anywhere soon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Fingermouse played in DA2 a couple of Sundays ago and they were great! I don't know about any upcoming gigs tho...sorry...just keep an eye on the gig guides!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭metalish

Johnny Pyro
    Popstar
    Polar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Minerva

ok...I love these things..

Charis - Incredible singer and cool songs. Theyre from Galway.
    http://www.thebandcharis.com

Blotooth - well y'all know If you listen to phantom.

Rampersound - really cool stuff...kinda Van Morrisson crossed with Bob Dylan in a weird Finley Quaye kinda way type band.

Skyjack - savage rock band. again...on phantom.

and I really like your band too Polarbelly. really cool stuff....I love music you can fall asleep to in a bedtime story kinda way..nice and soothing. ;)

theres my tuppence ha'penny.

Hugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 VonBon

Don't make me come over there, Hugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

polar

popstar*

otranome

66 electric

x constant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭the_corpo

johnny hates jazz
    swing out sister

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Richie

Polar

Violent*Sky

Oz

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

Blo.tooth
    Ginseng
    Una Keane
    X-Constant
    and I even like my own bands muzak, if I didn't, then....

Peace,
    kranog

http://popstar.2ya.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Minerva

pipe down Von Bon ye gypo.
    I like your band just fine...so shove it up yer a s s!
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

johnnypyro
    berkeley
    stoat

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

Woodstar.

IMHO best new Irish band around at the moment.

www.woodstar.ie

And, no, I've no connection with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

My favorite band in Dublin at the moment are Oz (see em at their single launch on friday in Butts), these guys have a great sound and really powerful songs with some great lyrics.

others that play the rawwk musak particularly well in my view are

Murder of Crowes (Also playing In voodoo this Friday)
    Popstar
    Berkeley
    Polar (even if Mick slags me off alot ya bollix!!!)

and Bands that are good but who seem to be quiet at the mo ...

Seprico (??)
    Writhe ( We play with em soon , think they play the Holloween show in Dorans too )
    Jessica Insane ( Reforming, as in getting their stuff back together)
    Delarentos (???)

Bands watch out for ....
    Violent Sky.
    Tokin.

...but of course you've already seen these two live already Mick

Bands I want to see soon....

Johnny Pyro
    Speedman

yeah i am going to that OZ gig on fri it shoud be good.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

Originally posted by ReefBreak
    Woodstar.

IMHO best new Irish band around at the moment.

www.woodstar.ie

And, no, I've no connection with them.

....yeah, heard their single on tom dunne and thought it
    was the flaming lips which can't be a bad thing.

they don't belong in any underground dublin scene, they've
    the talent to bypass it.
    very good stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭BEHOLD!

um...
    Fingermouse v. gd.
    - they will be a lot better than they are right now, cos theyre workin on new stuff rather than old stuff from their other bands.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

i liked the dudley corporation, must go check them out soon
    also joan of arse, but i think theyve been around a while
    polar of course
    i know im forgetting someone, btu i ant think who

it culd be brando who u r forgetting rosemary if they don't split up i mean

no, not brando
    a;lthough, have they come out and said that theyve split up yet?

nope i don't think so............

sandi??????????????

i think a press release has come out saying elton's gone solo...

when did that come out??????

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭joss

Originally writ by knobbles

they don't belong in any underground dublin scene, they've
    the talent to bypass it.

This talent is called being from Limerick.

i saw it on the website
    www.brandoland.com
    apparantly it came through to people on the mailing list?

awww well thats crap isn't it

tis true.............

ELTON MULLALLY

Elton Mullally, former front man and songwriter with Brando is now solo, following the break up of his band in October 2002.

Brando were one of the biggest unsigned acts in the country.
    Their debut single Singular Death of Privacy, released & promoted independently in march 2002, reached #30 in the Irish charts. It topped the Tower Records & Music city Charts for 2 weeks running.

Other accolades achieved with Brando include:
    NME Top Ten Guitar Acts 2000.
    Winners at the In The City convention, Manchester 2000.
    Revue Mag. (London) Hot New Acts 2001.

This year Elton has played numerous solo gigs including acoustic gigs with Ken Stringfellow(The Posies), Relish, and a nationwide songwriters tour , The Acoustic 4 by 4.
    Last year Elton toured in the U.S. with Epic signing Howie Day, playing 1000 seater venues in boston, philli, new york & Washington dc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

Originally posted by joss
    This talent is called being from Limerick.

i knew that ;) , just saying they can go further than the usual spots in dublin which i've since learned they already have,
    so they're no longer relevant to this topic