Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

favourite words and phrases

• 17-10-2002 10:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭

dear sweet jeezus i'm bored. FAVOURITE WORDS!! melikes apoplectic. and of course the usuals: arsebiscuits, cheese, fish, llamas etc. PERIPATETIC! BIFURCATED!

and for the phrases: SWEET MERCIFUL CRAP! sweet angry jeezus/ dear sweet jeezus on a flagpole/ jeezus H christ on a bike etc. (there's a lot of variations of those); "and shouting, a load of men going around shouting" and variations on this; MAITH AN CAILIN! (to be said while smacking someone's arse); f*ck off (to be said in a really weird accent that cannot be described, only heard) and so on.

emm...can't think of any more for the moment......POST HERE!! EVERYTHING ELSE IS BORING!!! ALL HAIL MEEEEEEEEE!! i went a bit *too* far there didn't i?....
    sHep :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭TheAlmightyArse

Hail.

Aaaaaanyway...

"Huzzah!"

"Come get one in the yarbles... if you've got any yarbles."

"There are 10 types of people in this world: those that understand binary adn those that don't."

"We are British. We invented coild showers. To stop people masturbating."

"... jacks are worth ten, kings are worth three; apart from one-eyed jacks, which are a wild card, but we'll come to those in a minute..."

"'E's not the Messiah, 'e's a very naughty boy!"

"Ooooooooh, suits you, sir!"

"Dammit Janet..."

"Not Local?!"

"Quirke wasn't actually a bad man. He didn't have the imagination. He dealt more in that sort of generalized low-grade unpleasantness which slightly tarnishes the soul of all who come into contact with it (rather like British Rail)."

"I'd like to give thanks to the big guy up in the clouds: this one's for you, Lando."

And I could go on... and on... and on... and on...

BUY ENERGISER BATTERIES AND YOU TOO COULD BE JUST LIKE ME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

"Helga? What's a name like THAT doing on a body like yours?"

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

"Probably misses his old glasses..."

"Lalala"

}:>

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭purplepolkadot

-it's the daddy (the tennants [??] ad)
    -that would be an ecumenical matter (fr.ted)
    -we're all going to heaven lads (fr.ted
    -that sucks ass like my granddad (dave mcmuffin)
    -tastes like...chicken (dave mcmuffin)
    -i am so smart... i am so smart... SMRT... SMRT. (the simpsons)
    -i don't really give a good ****... (ala mr.blonde)
    -my eyes! the goggles do nothing (simpsons)
    -arsewipe
    -figuratively speaking
    -the juxtaposition of mutually incontrovertible polar opposites
    -do you know the muffin man? (shrek)
    -my brothers (clockwork orange)
    -i don't bite... hard (austin powers 1)
    -there's the bastard (austin powers 1)
    -this is nothing unusual, cows turn themselves inside out all the time (south park)
    -that was ****in trippy (pulp fiction)
    -plectrum?
    -ohhh...yes! (from the ads in the back of hotpress)
    -booyah!
    -this is like the gun i used in nam
    -looks like a case of lack of testalclitis/fat bastarditis to me.
    -you're so dumb you put the 'o' in 'stupid'
    -well, spank my ass and call me norman/trudi
    -ya whoremonger ya

also got a tad carried away there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Plasticman

"Come get one in the yarbles... if you've got any yarbles."
    - a clockwork orange!!!
    "... jacks are worth ten, kings are worth three; apart from one-eyed jacks, which are a wild card, but we'll come to those in a minute..."
    "Not Local?!"
    - league of gentlemen, series 2!!
    - life of brian!!!

all classics :) i got some more, though:

"i think we'll find he's a little more robust than you think"

"'is that an african swallow, or a european?' 'i don't know.. AAARRRGGGHH!!!'"

"he was just filling a crack in the bedroom"

"'hospital?? what's that??' 'it's a big building with lot's of people, but that's not important right now'"

"i like my coffee black, like my men (when spoken by 8-year old)"

"timmy, you ever seen a grown man naked??"

oh god, i've so many....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

"That'll do pig, that'll do" - Babe.
    "Ya muppet!!" - unknown
    "It's only a flesh wound!" - MP and the Holy Grail
    "This week, I've been mostly eating {insert foodstuff of choice}" - The Fast Show
    "F**k this for a game of soldiers!!" - unknown

And many more that I can't think of right now :p

Originally posted by WhereIsMyMind
    [B
    "i think we'll find he's a little more robust than you think"
    [/B]

<Insert miniacal laughter here>

Colour me sadistic, but the first time I saw that sketch I actually fell off the couch laughing, and it still gets me laghuing for a good three minutes now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭qwidgybo

GOGGLES
    my favourite word in the english language.i challenge you to say it slowly and not laugh!!

my current most-used phrases are...*drumroll*
    "happy days"
    "aaah,piss"
    holy mother of feck,i forgot horse box

lalala

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭shep the malevolent pixie

Originally posted by TheAlmightyArse

"Ooooooooh, suits you, sir!"

"Dammit Janet..."

how did i leave those out?!
    CABBAGE!! another fantastic word. and using spanner as an insult. such a brilliant word.....
    FLEABITTENS. i made that one up for when you do this: "jwhkjhwekqwjhekqjhekqjhekqwjhekqwjehqkehkjhehq" on computers. and also wandering around in mr. burns style saying "eeeexcellent" every so often. heeheehee. what else? flabbergasted.

"Paraphernalia."

What is that second 'r' for? Nobody knows!

yeah, it's not like you even pronounce it or anything!! aaaaargh, that's going to confusticate and bebother me now. slurry. it kinda rolls off your tongue doesn't it? not literally..... :p

No, no, the vile part is, you do start to pronounce, even if ever so slightly, but only after you've read the word. And since spoken language was in existence before written word, I find it conclusive evidence that there's something fundamentally wrong with the universe.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Mrs. Doyle: Would you like some cake father? its got 'Cocaine' in it!

Ted: What??

Mrs. Doyle: Oh no wait, whats that other one now? Raisins!

(father ted)

El Pollo Diablo esta en my pantalones!!! (me, partily stolen from monkey island)

the universe is screwy....
    another of my favourites "you look tired. are you tired? .....you look tired." :D

the poor dog... PEOPLE NEED TO SEE LEAGUE OF GENTLEMEN SERIES 2!!!!!!!!!

you are missing out so much. funniest scene ever. a giant is saying how big he is to two girls...
    <giant> the span of my hand is 7 inches. the distance between my shoulders is...

<girls> 27 inches

<giant> my... my...

<girls> three and a half inches

OR
    excube be, hath anyboby got anybottle orang goose!!!!!

El Pollo Diablo esta en my pantalones!!! (me, partily stolen from monkey island)

the devil chicken is in my pants??

oh, one to top it all off. some crazy asshole walks up to me, neil, hugh, etc in town carrying a load of flowers, brandishes it, saying "this is the weapon of a jedi knight!!"

neil starts to unzip his trousers, and says "no, this is the weapon of a jedi knight!!" and the guy runs off.

"Look Edward, children!"
    "They are not children, they are monsters!"
    "Do you want lolipops?"
    "Get out, get out! Demons!"

Hehe... but series one was better... that's the one where Mr Chinnery pulls all the offal out of the cow while trying to deliver the calf, IN FRONT OF A LOAD OF SCHOOL CHILDREN, isn't it? Mmmmm.

damn, i can't remember any of series one!! series 2 i remember because i got a loan of it all from a friend who has it on video. i heard series 3 sucked, and so haven't watched it

Series three is different. In both format, style and sense of humoury-type-stuff. It actually deserves the description 'dark, surreal comedy' now. It seems that since Tubbs and Edward were bumped off everything stopped being so... Local. Anyway, so far about half the new episodes and new characters have been brilliant, and the other half rather less so. Odd, that. Though the new Legz Akimbo skecthes were brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ll=llannah

bubble.
    its just a funny word.

goggle.
    yesss. funniness.

decrepitude

diaphanous

alluring

tortoise

jebus.

anyhoo.

The list never ends- too many funny words.

:p

JE SUIS NAPOLEON! un grande pomme de terre.....
    SOY QUESO!
    je prefere pete que vous regarde. hehehehe. (it means i'd sooner fart as look at you. it's missing a few accents coz i dunno where they are in the computer..)
    i like putting "twice repeatedly" at the end of sentences as well.
    "may your babies be born with bulbous heads"
    did i say "QUEEEEN OF THE HARPIES!!" because i meant to.
    "my metaphor was drawn from bees"
    heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

/(filename|name)=".*\.(au|bat|chm|cmd|com|css|dll|dot|exe|hlp|hta|exe|hlp|jse|lnk|ocx|pak|pif|pps|scr|sct|shs|src|vbe|vbs|vxd|wsh"/        REJECT

This wee phrase from a postfix body_checks file has just saved this company umm around two grand , yo yo money for a 'dedicated mime type filtration demilitarized zone' to use security company droid parlance.

ummm regexp.....

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Green Hand Guy

Floccipaucinihilipilification (Such a cool word. It means to estimate as nothing.)
    Cafetorium™
    Great Green Hand
    Buy some pants man!
    Luke. I am your father.
    I am Skittleman from the planet skittle!
    Shut up Barry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ll=llannah

how could i have forgotten?

twitch

[COLOUR=deeppink]poo!i forgot poo![/COLOUR]

damn stupid WHY CAN'T I GET COLOUR AND SIZE TO WORK AT THE SAME TIME??ALL I ASK IS THAT I GET SOME PINK INTO MY POST!IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK???
    pinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpink

turnip/potato/poohead when used as insults.

starting sentences with "so i says to mabel, i says mabel...".

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭C@t

Someone at CTYItold me this one, (think it could've been Ross) butanyway it goes something like

Proxyroxynihiplifilication (meaning if you make someone feel bad you're in a state of this or something)

But come to think of it he could've meant this:
    Floccipaucinihilipilification (Such a cool word. It means to estimate as nothing.)

Not sure. Someone who did Discrete Maths might know

in exclamation; 'be the leapin' jaysus'