Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bosco Billboard

• 19-10-2002 2:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭

Just noticed this billboard this morning. I couldn't make out any company logo/symbol anywhere on the board. Does anyone know what it's about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

ahaha!

funny stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

Theres one near connolly station too, doesnt have anything apart from a picture of bosco and the text "what a muppet".

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Another one in Rathmines, weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭ondafly

saw one too on Manor Street - anyone any idea wat this marketing display is all about ? Whatever it is - its getting people talking !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

The 1 on manor st says 'not a puppet'
    i have no idea what its all about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

I guess well find out when the teaser has done its work :)

(probably less than a week)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

On the bus from Town to Rathfarnam we counted about 7 of those posters!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

If I recall correctly, there was an advertisement campaign about a year ago which was using the "what a muppet" line also.
    Might be related.
    Anyone remember it?
    Could have been for some sort of financial or insurance product, can't really remember though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Boscos coming back.

Makes sense when ya think about it :)

2 weeks i think,

kdja

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

a load of em all over waterford..
    its a shame they dont have the famous "bosco is a b****cks" pic there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

But but but, Bosco ain't a muppet.

Could the Jim Henson Company sue?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by DMC

Hmmm so it must be a advert for a law firm then :D

Could people into the mood for sueing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by DMC

I'd imagine "muppet" has become something of a generic term for an entertaining puppet (amongst other things). Wasn't registered as a trade mark anyway but if it had been, it'd probably be like "aspirin" or "yoyo" and free for the taking.

"Dad, what's a muppet?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

yeah i saw one o them posters , bosco rules! he saved me from lots of cuts as a child , making me get parental help and all. bosco is soooo the man!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

Originally posted by OLDYELLAR
    bosco is soooo the man!!!!!!!!!

You sure, i thought it was half and half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by PPC

Yer, I always thought this way too.

I will do further research into this people, but in my mind bosco is sooo the man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

speaking of bosco, anyone know where i can get the theme tune in midi format, so i can convert it to a nokia fone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

The backround colour is the same as playstations. I wonder if it's somthing to do with a new ps2 ad campaign?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Qualm

Have a good few of them round.
    Theres another similar one with the text "I'm running late" and the picture of a womans hand holding a pregnancy test.

They'reweird but very interesting adds (if indeed that'swhattheyare) /me watchesthis space (well, not*this* exact space, the billboards:D )

Apologies, the spacebar on this pc is fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

my guess is that they're for O2, the ads have the same corporate colours, and the slogans read like text messages- doesn't take a huge leap of the imagination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,523 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There is a similar ad. "I'm running late" with someone holding what I presume is a pregnancy test kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Ajnag

****ing Bosco, arch-nemisis of my child hood, creator of a generation of lost souls looking for that magic door, and always with a ****ing hand up his ass giving him those red cheeks, ahhh.......ahhh ................aggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhgggggg<runs from the screen>

Its the second coming

They are preparing us for the 80's all over again*

[Edit]Even my childhood spelling mistakes are coming back to haunt me.[/Edit]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

Originally posted by Ajnag
    ...creator of a generation of lost souls looking for that magic door...

Yeh some magic door, it always ended up in Dublin Zoo for some reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Michael Collins
    Yeh some magic door, it always ended up in Dublin Zoo for some reason...

Or Stephen's Green

Or somewhere with lots of feet. Just feet. Must have been Cow & Chicken Land

Can't think of anywhere else. Santa came through once but it was just FortyCoats dressed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

Originally posted by smak
    speaking of bosco, anyone know where i can get the theme tune in midi format, so i can convert it to a nokia fone?

http://www.dialaring.com/tones/ram/5020.ram in ram format

Maybe someone who has a good audio knowledge can make a ringtone :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Ok... erm... nobody's figured out what it IS yet though?

DAMMIT! I WANNA FIND OUT!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Originally posted by PPC

Hermaphrodite is the correct term I believe.

The Halloween edition of South Park (Hitler Cartman) was on last night. Was stan dressed up as Bosco? Ye know big red cheeks and dangly red hair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Maybe if someone phones up the ad's company and asks who placed the ad we will finally know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

Yup, just I suspected.

The ad campaign is to promote O2's upcoming MMS service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Oh! What is you source on this? Or have the billboards changed???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

I saw an ad on UK telly yesterday with a similar setup for O2. Something to do with text messaging top-ups or summat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

Bosco is coming...Can Bosco change the world?
    Will Bosco change the world?

Anyone see those even weirder posters.

About 30" by 15" with green, red or blue backgrounds.
    With various messages eg. "I have lost fate in you" You will find me again" Religious posters with no info about who puts them up.

Its a Conspiracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Fidelis
    Yup, just I suspected.

The ad campaign is to promote O2's upcoming MMS service.

Makes sense, when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

ahem........

Originally posted by beardedchicken
    my guess is that they're for O2, the ads have the same corporate colours, and the slogans read like text messages- doesn't take a huge leap of the imagination!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Originally posted by Victor
    The Halloween edition of South Park (Hitler Cartman) was on last night. Was stan dressed up as Bosco? Ye know big red cheeks and dangly red hair?
    That was Raggedy Andy and Wendy was supposed to be Raggedy Anne - they're like Rosie and Jim for America I think (who in turn were Bosco for the UK).

So fair play to O2 for keeping us guessing and talking about it - once an add campaign does that, it's considered successful.

I think the idea is you can now send the picture instead of just calling someone a "muppeh". There was a modified poster up today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

This is the scariest thing I've seen in a long while...

Its not that I have a problem with Bosco, more that I have a problem with those taking feet

For the love of god feet aren't meant to talk!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I cant really help it but:

Bosco.jpg

The colours used on the advert seem to backup Fidelis (And others) idea of it being for o2. Ah well... it did get people attention though, but i think insted of it advertising o2 ... people kinda want Bosco back on the ole television. :)

theres one in clonmel aswell. yerman from bull island used to be 1 of the presenters on bosco (if you could give such a fancy name as "presenter" for a kiddies show- blue peter do it i suppose). it was good while it lasted i suppose ol'bosco. is he dead now or maybe he's comin bac with a ps2 game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 SarahDe

hey, i just thought that i'd join the message board and say what's goinon to everyone on it....im hailing way out abroad in the states and while surfing the sites, came across boards.ie...anyway, just thought i'd say hey to everyone and y'all take care...

Sarah De.

what a muppet?

no sirrey , i love bosco!:cool:

Originally posted by SarahDe
    hey, i just thought that i'd join the message board and say what's goinon to everyone on it....im hailing way out abroad in the states and while surfing the sites, came across boards.ie...anyway, just thought i'd say hey to everyone and y'all take care... Sarah De.
    All I can say is
    "Bosco%20mini.jpg"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Úafááááásach!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

tis an add for o2's new nokia image messaging thing. There is a billboard down the road from me that has it on it