Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rock/Metal bands you just can't stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Originally posted by Kharn
    Slipknot I do like and when a man like Kerry King thanks them for doing what they do, you've got to question the instant "it's nu-metal, it's shite" labels they tend to get.
    I kinda like em aswell, its amasing how many people hate them and have never heard their music........ (they all just think of it as mindless screaming....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Slipknot are just laughable.Music designed purely for the junior skangers.I mean,does anybody over the age of 12 actually listen to them?
    BTW I know som1 who can do a class slipknot impression:D Feckin flawless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

the funny thing is that so many people dislike 'nu' metal bands because they are popular.

in the old days, the more obscure a band was the cooler.
    now, if a band has a top 10 single (like post metallica black album material- ho ho ho) then it becomes popular cultcher and instantly its rubbished because its too commercial.

yeah, im in a rock band because i want 3 long haired kids and dog at my concerts.
    i think not....

anyway, i thank the bands i dont like, they make me appreciate the music i do like a lot more.

anyway, im going back to listen to (insert obscure cult black satanic flute music here) and write up my expenses for the month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    insert ....flute ....here) and write up my expenses for the month

message edited just so I can poke fun at WWM :)

ST! ST! ST! ST! ST!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Hahaha... Thank you Phenom, I've not laughed so hard at anything in days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Treebeard

Pretty much any rock or metal band formed after 1990

Originally posted by Ph3n0m

There's nothing I like more than having a huge cóck in my mouth

ST! ST! ST! ST! ST!

and right back at ya!

touché WWM.

but getting back to the topic in hand. I have one question that relates to this subject matter - why do some people instantly class something as "crap". Fair enough they themselves may not like the music, but who are they to judge what is crap and what is not. If we all shared the same tastes in music, the world would be one hell of a boring place IMO

because its trendy to think so.....

i hate all boy and girl bands!

why?

because their music is crap!

ive seen you sing along to robbie williams?

well hes ok. but the rest are crap!

why?

because its music for teenage girls!

ahh, so you dont like it because you dont like teenage girls?

no i like teenage girls!

so whats your point? why do you not like boy/girl bands?

coz, er, they dont form to my opinion of what music is?

so you dont like them because you only listen to (insert musical taste here) and they dont have heavy guitar solos, panpipe interludes etc etc etc

yeah, thats right.

so they arent really crap, they just dont have what you look for in music

yeah!!!!!!!

so youve changed your stance from hating a band because its trendy to saying that you arent a fan of that type of music because it doesnt fulfil your musical criteria

um, i suppose so.

youre a complete wánker who cant think for themselves and is unable to develope an appreciation for anything outside of your comfort zone genre because you feel threatened that other influences may indeed make you seem untrendy in your peers eyes?

HUH?

oh, howls of derisive laughter.

thew nice thing is that when you get older, you lose the inhabitions that tend to stem your appreciation for these things, music, food, cars, whatever, and you tend to get a more rounded experience of things.

so instead of saying 'i heard one song by limp biskitt and the fúckin suck man' you tend to do things like say 'i heard that single by limp biskitt and i didnt really like it. i didnt like they way they put their songs together or i didnt like this or that'. but you wont hate the band because your best mate does.
    /me shrugs

or maybe oim completely wrong*

*never going to happen :)

or maybe oim completely wrong*

*never going to happen :)

be careful, it may happen one day - a pretender to the throne may come along and usurp you and take your maiden for his own (I'm looking at Angelwhore or Pornapster at this point :) )

I'd be questioning WWMan's throne, and whether or not I'd really want it. I mean, is it a nice throne? Or is it made out of tin cans? Is his fair maiden really fair? These would be the questions I'd ask my self before trying to usurp anything.

But I dont try and pretend to any throne, to be honest. Most of the bands I listen are, unashemedly, formed after 1990, or near to that. I'd never blab 'Oh yeah, I was into slayer since I was 6, maaan!' I don't even like Slayer. Metallica is as probably far back as I go... Still have Master Of Puppets on tape, nearly ****ing worn out! But I never really got into music in a big way until I started hearing the early 90's English bands like Anathema, My Dying Bride, Cradle of Filth, Paradise Lost...

that is fair enough, but have you ever, or heard of other people belittling someone else because they listen to a band that they like but you/other people dispise/dont like

I have heard this, and I do privately ridicule people for listen to what I consider "crap", but I dont say it to their face, as I believe it is one opinion of mine best kept to myself

for example, I do listen to Slipknot, does that mean I have bad taste in music, does that mean I am, as someone on this topic called them, a "junior skanger", am I musically ignorant - no, I just like what I find pleasing to myself.

We all had this huge discussion where it was finally agreed (after many interesting/boring/insulting posts) that music is a personal thing. Just because someone listens to nu metal bands, does not mean they have no musical taste, it doesnt mean they are part of the MTV generation. And on the flipside nor does it give someone who listens to the Beatles, whether 30 years ago or today, the right to belittle someone, because their style of music differs from their own preference*

*except for dance music......lol ;)

Sure, just look at my reply to this thread.

Generally I hate stuff that gets over-played, because that put me off RHCP.

But of course, people are going to belittle each other for everything, no matter what, and I dont see that changing any time soon. We'd basically have slagging matches at each other about bands in the pub, it's great fun.

But long story short, yes, you are a junior skanger.
    Live with it. :p

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    But long story short, yes, you are a junior skanger.
    Live with it. :p

who are you calling "junior" sunshine - if I want to feel young (or perverted) I'll start hanging out outside colleges. this old man is going home.....night all :)

whether or not i have a throne and whether or not i'd even like to sit in it is another matter....

however, i rarely think that anyone will find anything 'crap' if they have listened to it.

hell, i cant stand REM for example, however, i think that everybody hurts and losing my religion are two of the finest songs of the 90's.

well there you go, so they arent crap. i like some i loathe some.

i think you just learn to appreciate different things as you get older.
    hell, 10 years ago i was al about long hair, a black t-shirt with the most horrid image i could find on it with a band name, and listening to carcass, or obiutary or whatever. anything that was in the top 40 was instant crap due to it being popular. thats all it took. if it was popular, i hated it.

and then i discovered classical music, and every little bit of musical taste i had, happily, went out the window :)

it tought me that you have to get over what over people think, and learn to actually make up your own mind about music. if someone wants to listen to some bloke sing like his vocal cords are rupturing ala death metal, then cool, please dont play it near me! but you work away. who the hell am i to say they are crap, dont listen.

although, i have noticed a sudden decrease in the number of people declaring that slipknot are crap since this took a more serious turn :)

and maybe someday, if you listen to enough music, and you know what you like, then you can say with some authority what is good and what is not, but lets face it, youre always going to find someone who hates what you like.
    in those cases, i stick em in the eye with a cigarette, and make em listen to some good old fashion iron maiden!

by the way, i got my old maiden albums out the other day
    fantastic!

and what about ST! ST! ST! ST! ST! ST! ST! ST!

and then i discovered classical music, and every little bit of musical taste i had, happily, went out the window :)

On a personal taste level, this is something I simply cannot relate to in any way, shape or form. Sure there was the odd little thing I'd pick up then get bored of, like Korn, all those years ago. But to have a whole range of musial taste fly out the window because you discovered something new? I really cannot understand that.

There's plenty, and I mean PLENTY of new stuff that I've discovered over the years, and while it has definetly broadened my horizons, nothing has ever really been thrown in the bin. Best example I can give is the old 'Dance Music' one. You know the old 'Oh, it's all fake, it's not real music' rubbish?

Few years ago I discovered some really, really brilliant stuff, clubbing in London. EBM mostly. But it was all really great! VNV Nation, Front 242, Mesh, Skinny Puppy, Apoptygma Berzerk, Switchblade Symphony, Die Krupps, Assemblage 23, Icon Of Coil... And so on, and so on. But the fact is that a lot of this stuff isn't too far gone from Techno, and such. Just listen to the song 'Electronic Warfare' by Apoptygma Berzerk or 'You Didn't Want Me' by Mesh. Downright brilliant stuff. I should also be heading to Dublin later on in the month to see some sets from Goteki, Katscan and the like. Should be great.

But all this opened my eyes.
    The fact that there's electronic music out there that isn't music for mobile phone theives, or pill-popping e-heads kinda shocked me. But none of it made me throw out my old CDs.

Anyway, enough of my waffle.
    Have a listen to this: http://www.tweaker.net/mp3/01-linoleum(featuringdavidsylvian).mp3
    You'd probably think I'd never listen to anything of the sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

quote:
    Originally posted by ThenComesDudley
    RHCP - i just dont see why everyone likes this band
    Foo Fighters - same as above

Marry Me!

Although I'm not a fan or anything I really dont mind hearing the likes of blink 182\ feeder etc on the radio its better than britney spears and co

Errrr i'll only Marry a rich woman! orr any woman.
    S.T. S.T. S.T. S.T.

oh another band i cant stand is THE CALLING
    i thought Ronan Keeting shhh his S was band the singer is nearly his voice clone

Anyway, enough of my waffle.
    Have a listen to this: http://www.tweaker.net/mp3/01-linoleum(featuringdavidsylvian).mp3
    You'd probably think I'd never listen to anything of the sort.

Bah... That link didn't come out right at all!
    Just copy&paste the whole thing into your browser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭cr1spy

Nightwish

They're a Finnish power metal band, and they're crap!
    The music sounds like the sound track to a bad fantasy movie, all keyboards and badly sung lyrics about "elven paths" and "mighty heroes".
    It really is brutal.

The lead singer can't even pronounce her words properly. I've been subjected to it non-stop a friends LAN party on 200w speakers. I nearly committed suicide. Never again.

If anyone out there actually likes them, you should be ashamed.

Only S Club Juniors come close to this level of badness.

Originally posted by cr1spy
    If anyone out there actually likes them, you should be ashamed.

Only S Club Juniors come close to this level of badness.

You're tredding some fines lines there, Buddy. :p
    Definetly not gonna go down well with a number of boards users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

[quote:
    insert ....flute ....here) and write up my expenses for the month

message edited just so I can poke fun at WWM

heh......you said poke.

On a personal taste level, this is something I simply cannot relate to in any way, shape or form. Sure there was the odd little thing I'd pick up then get bored of, like Korn, all those years ago. But to have a whole range of musial taste fly out the window because you discovered something new? I really cannot understand that.

no. what i mean is that i discovered classical music, and the current taste in music was thrown out the window, in other words, my ideas about what music should be, as i was all power cords and black clothes and long hair etc.
    i didnt stop me loving ST (happy now phenom?) or metallica, or even getting the odd carcass tune up, but listening to the same power cords for 5 minutes at a time on longer seemed interesting. there was more than just some bloke growling into a mic, and more than just a some bloke trying to get the highest pitch noises from his guitar as a 'solo'.
    in other words, my musical taste changed to include a huge amount of extra things in it as i saw what else was out there, but it didnt mean i had to exclude what i was listening to.
    hell, ive even got a 5ive album :)
    get on up, when your down baaby, take a good look around.
    quality stuff :)

by the way, rage against the machine suck donkeys cócks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

NICKLEBACK..................jaysus christ , i hate them soo much , them or that flippin bon jovi , christ almighty!gggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

hell, ive even got a 5ive album :)

I'll take it you're not reffering to the Hardcore band.
    :p

i'll take youve not heard Abs from 5ive doing his version of open casket then?

Who's abs, and what's open casket?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

As much as I agree with you on people saying bands are crap WWM, I have to say that everyone has their own opinions on who they like or dislike for that matter. I mean, I can't stand Slipknot but I don't go around shouting about it. I have both of their albums too so I am really making a valid opinion other than people who just hear a band name being shouted out and someone saying to you "oh they're shíte" even though that person has never heard them before.

If anyone wants to give their opinions on bands they can't stand well this is the thread to go to isn't it? I mean I think I've heard you voice your opinions about Pantera and Megadeth to me a couple of times. I agree that you have a valid opinion as you probably have listened to them before, I don't mind that though. I like them. Music is for individuals to like or to hate. Thats the way it is and always will be.

actually, that wasnt my point pornapster.
    i have no problem saying that bands are crap (although i tend not to sy it myself very much) but that i do have a problem with people saying bands are crap and yet have listened to one song, and generally dont like them because their best mate doesnt like them, or because they are popular, and at that age, its trendy to hate whatever is popular.
    go against fashion. every teen does it :)
    even i did once :)

and angelwhore, abs is from 5ive.
    and if you dont know the song open casket
    Open Casket then I would surely have to question your hardcore metal background!

my god man!
    its the band that invented death metal!

Yes yes, I know who Death are. But if you try listening to me once in a while, you'd realise I care little for Death Metal.