Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying a computer

• 03-11-2002 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭

Ok I am a complete novice. Santa is bringing a computer to a 9 year old 7 year old and 5 year old. What specs do I look out for. Saw a iQon Phillips for 1,249. 1.7Ghz processor 256Mbof memory 60 GB hard disk 64MB onboard graphics dvd and movie player software. Its for me to go on the net too.
    Is this anygood. Santa will have to buy from a shop as such. Can anybody help.
    thanks
    gonk

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭mneylon

By the sounds of things you probably want something that can be used for games/multimedia/internet... but you probably don't want to replace it in a year.

It's not an easy thing to choose, as the choices are rather confusing to put it mildly.

IMHO you should:

- make sure that you can expand (ie. lots of free slots etc.)
    - Get as big a hard disk as possible
    - Don't skimp on the RAM. Even if the chip is the fastest on the market without RAM and a decent hard disk it's useless

DO NOT buy something just because the salesman tries to convince you with their 'wonderful' software bundle. 9 times out of 10 the software bundles are full of junk.

If you can find a 'geeky' friend to go with you and hassle the salesman with awkward questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

you should write off to santa and ask him to build you a computer...

try here..
    the internet is probably the best place to buy.

All Irish btw.
    http://www.marx-computers.com/