Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crisps and Sweets R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Originally posted by aine
    you can still get sweet cigarettes! and they´re rare or anything...I´ve seen them quite a lot!
    They're called candy sticks now though. I think they're loony toons themed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭aerialhead

I got several packets of chocolate cigarettes last week - they look like Lucky Strikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

pretty recent ice things.. anyone rememebr them.. they were called cool bits and we hands and feet u got a bag of them and they were fruity with soem kinda shell on the outside.. so yummy...

can u get apple jacks anywhere and postman pats in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Love Hearts

Two and Two Bars - I would pay €100 to taste one square of these again before I die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

old time sweeties
    Enjoy the trip down memory lane with this site lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭PBC_1966

Frys Five Centres
    This was around in the 1970's (along with a Cadburys bar which was like a box of chocolates in a bar). However it was withdrawn - what remains are the single flavour Frys Chocolate Cream, Frys Peppermint Cream and Frys Orange Cream (we stock them all!).
    Ah.... I remember those, but have no idea the last time I had any. It's easy to lose track of the last time you bought or saw certain items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Originally posted by Darth Homer
    What where they called ....arhhh .... Like little flying sauzers full of fizz .... remember them ?

you can still get them in the shops! they're making a comeback thats why. and they are 2c or 3c, prob 3c *shakes fist*

has ANYBODY mentioned the Almighty of Almighty bars. This bar im going to mention, if u remember it, will make u drool. It has not been reproduced in any shape or form, and its the best bar, of all time, ever.

SECRET.

Remmeber the secret bar? Like a light flake light nest of chocolate, and inside was that kinde bueno crap, except waaaay nicer. Best bar ever. Golden wrapper with purple secret. omfg. i want one. f**kin manufactures *shakes fist a second time*

[edit]
    God im remember so much crap now. Someone mentioned Chomp bars, but if you reeeally wannabe oldschool about it, how about Smileys ;) - They were chomp bars but orange flavoured, GORGEOUS.

Vice versa - Like minstrels, except if they were white chocolate on outisde, it'd be dark inside, and vice versa ;)

oh and remmeber 30p BIG mars bars ? Not the little funsize yokes ya get now for like 70p. And who came up with funsize. They arent fun. You'd have to buy at least 10 of em to be fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Dancing duck

My oh my, I think I'm going to cry. The memories, the sweet sweet memories.

This feels so driven by fate, but as I was reading through the lists and E numbers I suddenly had a flashback, of what I think were Carebear chocolate bars. I have a feeling they had some sort of fruity goo in the middle, but I can't be sure.

:ninja:

I still eat candy sticks, and refreshers, and flying saucers (fizzy mcgoos to you and I)and most of what's still available on the most multicoloured shelf of the shop.

No wonder the dentists are making a fortune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 g00ndp00l

Desperate dan bars,
    Refreshers were legendary,
    Apple Drops and cough sweets!!
    And dont forget the 12p crunchos crisps i still miss them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Dancing duck

Originally posted by g00ndp00l
    Apple Drops and cough sweets!!
    [/B]

You can (and I do) still buy apple drops, cough sweets (and all their closest friends) in at least one newsagents near Exchequer St. :eek: :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Concorde

I remember when Tayto crisps were 7p. That was in 1978. And Mars Bars were 10p. I think they were a bit smaller than they are now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 g00ndp00l

Yea theres another shop on aungier street just down from DIT that sells all the classics, i love those cough sweets but not the ones you can buy in little packed plastic bags, they are ****e!!

"can i have 10p worth of apple drops and 20p worth of cola cubes please!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jayjaybell

Pete Reed wrote:
    Hello all,

Jaysus where has this thread been all my life!

Right, first of all, Refreshers (the chewy version) are still around. 10cent for 1 now! Or a lot of pick n mix places do them too.

On the refreshers topic, are refreshers (the irish version) still around. They were made by the people who made silvermints and the same shape etc. Feckin lovely things.

Pacers. Like opal fruits but minty (white with green stripes).

And maybe this has come up earlier in the thread, but I object strongly to the apparent dissapearance of fizzelsticks. Life is just not the same without them.

Thank ye,

Pete

At last, someone who pines for Fizzlesticks, nobody else remembers them, they all think i mean Swizzelsticks.
    Used to nosh through hundreds a week, the sweetshop near school used to get them in just for me, God, how i miss them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭Brock

i have just read each and every post here and the memories can flooding bak,it is all talks about sweets but nobody mention ghostbuster bars they were the most delicous things ever, i remeber when i was in schooll i would rush home to get 20p of my mam to run up to the shop to buy 2 packs of fives(5p crisps in delicous pickled onion flavour there was another cant remember)and a ghostbuster bar.
    i was really a crisp man(boy) i love the hotdog flavour crisps they were like little twigs they were called crunch-oos i think but the almighty crisp of all time and by far the most delicous which i was lucky to find a cash and carry the other week and bought to boxes of them 84 packets by the way is crunchies u know they pink and blue packet crisps they are prawn cocktail flavour and delicous,but the cash and carry had most of these sweets there it was sallynoggin so if u know a member take a trip down bring bout 25 euro u will be sorted and leave a happy camper
    Brock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Anyone remember about 10 years ago, they had Irn Bru bars? They tasted like irn Bru and they were like refresher bars. I only had them once. They were about 20p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

Mear wrote:
    has ANYBODY mentioned the Almighty of Almighty bars. This bar im going to mention, if u remember it, will make u drool. It has not been reproduced in any shape or form, and its the best bar, of all time, ever.

SECRET.

Remmeber the secret bar? Like a light flake light nest of chocolate, and inside was that kinde bueno crap, except waaaay nicer. Best bar ever. Golden wrapper with purple secret. omfg. i want one. f**kin manufactures *shakes fist a second time

I loved Secret bars too. I think I must have eaten one nearly every day in 6th year. They were gorgeous. I would describe the centre as more of a chocolate mousse though.

Anyone remember Stix - they were a bit like chipstix but in a bigger packet and you could get them in Salt & Vinegar or Prawn Cocktail flavour.

I love Jr Ice Lollies too.

Winks crisps were delicious and the real Monster Munch - ones now are horrible. The original spicy flavour were devine. I remember looking though the bags to find a packet that had the orangest crisps because that meant they had more seasoning and were really spicy. Not anymore though they're all foil packed for extra freshness!

Some other of my favourites:
    Battle of the Planets chew bars
    GemGems - basically like Rubblegum
    Toffee mice
    Mint choc ice
    Score Ice Lolly (orange ice with chocolate)
    Smack Soft Drinks - came in same size cans as Diet Coke Lemon
    Super Cans of Coke :D
    Red licquorice shoe laces

Blisterman wrote:
    Anyone remember about 10 years ago, they had Irn Bru bars? They tasted like irn Bru and they were like refresher bars. I only had them once. They were about 20p

Jaysus! They sound deadly!!

The kind of thing you could stuf fyou face with, and then puke a rainbow of colourful goo up...ah, it feels just like yesterday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Where the hell did Wispa bars go??? I haven't seen them in maybe three years, there was biscuit ones too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭accensi0n

SECRET

that was the nicest bar ever! what were they thinking taking that out of production?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

how about rainblo chewing gum?!!!
    robinhood cola ice-lollies.. yuumm!!
    the 5p bags of taytos they were tiny!
    curry chips crisps!!
    candy popcorn (still around)
    the whistle lollies..
    tangy bars.. lemon and lime and spearmint 5p..
    garibaldi biscuits!!

mmmmm!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭sanncoo

Hi All

Went to the Texaco Station in Shannon yesterday and found an array of sweets that I thought didn't exist anymore! (Maye I just wasn't looking for them)

Roy of the Rovers Bars
    Time Out
    Stingers

Treated myself and my bro to Stingers. He ended up with a headache and my teeth were killing me!! Oh the joys of E numbers!!!

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Do they still make sweetie cigarettes? Somehow in these days of political correctness gone mad I doubt it.

I remember in the 70s they had collectable cards in each packet - sort of an after-life of the collectable cards which used to be put in real packets of cigarettes up the 1950s or 60s (?)

(just looked up cigarette cards here; http://www.franklyncards.com/one/cighist.htm Paper shortages in the Second World War seem to have killed them off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

they make candy sticks which taste the same as the sweet cigs but they dont have the red bit at the end they still have cards in them too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

had a big time bar over the weekend.. ohhh!!! tasty goodness :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

Cork_girl wrote:
    had a big time bar over the weekend.. ohhh!!! tasty goodness :p

Mmm they are delicious. Don't see them in many shops nowadays. They were similar to the Honey Bee toffee bars. Also remember the Kilipso bars - don't seem to do the hard toffee version anymore - all I've seen is Kilipso Bits which are mainly chocolate with toffee bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

He-man bars ... oh the delicious pink goo on the inside.

Slimer bars ... yum .. the delicious green goo on the inside!

:) the closest thing I have found is 'yolks' .. like half eggs with yellow goo.

goo all tastes the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

I know its a little off topic but how about cherry coke.

It is still sold in the states and I was able to get 2litre bottles of it last month but I know of no where here that sells it :(

Maybe we should start a campaign for the discontinued sweet, drinks, and crisps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Jamey wrote:
    Where the hell did Wispa bars go??? I haven't seen them in maybe three years, there was biscuit ones too.

I had wondered this too.
    Seems Cadburys renamed them to Cadburys Dairy Milk Bubbly.
    http://www.aquarterof.co.uk/acatalog/Wispa.html

Nowhere near as nice.
    There was also a tasty Wispa Gold and Mint aswell that I miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

Tippex wrote:
    I know its a little off topic but how about cherry coke.

It is still sold in the states and I was able to get 2litre bottles of it last month but I know of no where here that sells it :(

Maybe we should start a campaign for the discontinued sweet, drinks, and crisps.

Dr. Pepper kinda tastes like cherry cola

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Ok- don't know if these have come up-

Toffos used to do several different milkshake flavoured toffees- the strawberry was yummy.

Prior to the swizzel stick- was its fruity older brother- different colours and not fizzy, a little chalky, but it melted on your tongue in the most remarkable fruity flavour.

Did anyone mention the Wham bars? Blocks of luminous pink gak with fizzy yellow lumps? Mmmmm

Then there was the liquorice "Colo-rado"- Haribo made them, liquorice alsorts with a difference- they had hard sandwiches, you could take them apart and nibble the sweet sections.

There was also a box of pebbles- about 2 tic-tac boxes wide in different fruity flavours, with box edges like Lego- you could built stuff out of them if you kept collecting the boxes. The sweets were a bit boring, but we had a great time with the packaging.

How 'bout the good old red liquorice pipes with their hundreds and thousands at the end? They were so much tastier than the black ones.

For the healthier of us- remember the massive sacks of broken Braycott biscuits with their carob seeds?

Going down memory's lane- remember when they first started to sell chocolate spread here (Nutella came out in 1984). Remember Milk-mate- flavours for your milk? (Not that powered milk for coffee that I so desperately seek out these days.....)

Remember the TV add with "Big Ed and his Mona yoghurt"?? We all wanted to be cool like big Ed..... (yes, sad, I know).

I could keep going on, so I'd better stop.....

S.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

and these little red bars that were like 5p and you could get a sweet version of them too. cant remember the name. there was a green(minty) version aswell.

Tangy bars!!! Still available around the place i think

What about those ''rocket'' ice pops, orange with the head covered in chocolate
    Or the purple and green fred flintstone ice pops?
    Or the purple and black dracula ice pops?
    (i liked my ice pops)

ColHol wrote:
    Tangy bars!!! Still available around the place i think

What about those ''rocket'' ice pops, orange with the head covered in chocolate
    Or the purple and green fred flintstone ice pops?
    Or the purple and black dracula ice pops?
    (i liked my ice pops)

I think the rocket icepops were from Silver Pail Dairies down in Cork. They really stopped the retail side of their business, but you can still get their ice-cream in restraunts- or often places like Eddie Rockets use them in milkshakes etc.

S.

Went out to Aldi's to get cheap crap to give to Hallowe'en kids - got lots of stuff, most crisps.

But they do a good line in strawberry laces and fizzy sour laces - mmmm, taste the 70's! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

smccarrick wrote:
    For the healthier of us- remember the massive sacks of broken Braycott biscuits with their carob seeds?
    I had completely forgotten about that until your post. My school was just up the road from the Braycott factory so we'd sometimes get brought in on the way home after school!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 niexile

Anyone remember:

Gold Bullion Toffee
    Chelsea Whoppers
    Fresh Minty Eggs
    Pyramint (God, how nice were they!!)

?

Have to agree that Secret bars need to make a comeback!

Also, there used to be some small pyramid-shaped opalescent/metallic pastel coloured boiled sweets in jars - I thought they were called perfume sweets or something like that, anyone know the name? Did I imagine them?

Séamus
    I'm pink, therefore i'm spam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

while slighty off topic

anybody remneber them bags of coca they used to give out to national schools. we used to get bags of the stuff for each house. Me and my bother used to get a bag each and i spent months having it with ice cream and as proper coca. It was the nicest stuff i have ever tasted.

Anyone know who made it or the name of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭ubermick

• silvermints
    • BIG TIME BARS
    • fizzy cola bottles
    • black jacks
    • chomps
    • "fish and chips" (white chocolate.. fish were 5p, the chips were 1p each!)

I used to LOVE Big Time bars, from the cement-hard toffee to the manky chocolate. One of those yokes would last me ages.

But on the days when I had loads of money in my pocket (ie, 50p) I'd splurge and buy myself a quarter of sweets from the "big tubs on the back shelf!" Clove rocks, or chocolate satins...

It seemed my most used phrase when I was a smallie was "and the rest in mixed up sweets" when me mam or dad would send me to the shop...

"A quarter of pork and onion, and the rest in mixed up sweets"
    "10 Sweet Afton and the rest in mixed up sweets"
    "A carton of milk, a bag of sugar, a sliced pan, and the rest in mixed up sweets"

I remember one time, I was about 6 or 7, me mam told told me to go over to the shop to get some stuff - take a pound out of her purse, and I could keep the change. I accidentally (swear to God!) took a fiver, headed to the shop, and as usual asked for the rest in mixed up sweets. Yer won behind the counter asked me if I was sure, I said yeah, and ended up with a big plastic bag full of goodies! Me mam hit the roof, but I was on a sugar high for a fortnight (which is just as well, since after me dad got home, I couldn't sit down for a week!)

You can still get silvermints everywhere- they're easy to find.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

lads get yourselves to www.firebox.com you can buy the retro sweets there - proper fizzy colas, white mice etc. bang on. also look at www.britishcandy.com

for those of you down the country go to Bunratty Castle and Folk Park I was there recently and they have an amazing little shop in the tabacconists that selsl quarters of chocolate satins, apple drops, tom thumb drops , clove drops etc - its heaven!!!

lads get yourselves to www.firebox.com you can buy the retro sweets there - proper fizzy colas, white mice etc. bang on. also look at www.britishcandy.com

for those of you down the country go to Bunratty Castle and Folk Park I was there recently and they have an amazing little shop in the tabacconists that selsl quarters of chocolate satins, apple drops, tom thumb drops , clove drops etc - its heaven!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭arctic lemur

Any one remember alphabeth sweets. They were small and chalky and in a square box. The shop van used to deliver them around our estate.

Also:

Wispa Bars....for the love of mike where are they now!!!!! I have severe withdrawal symptoms!!!! Tried to get a petition going in work to restore it back on the market.

Oh I loved Alphabet sweets. I had forgotten about them. Wispa is now according to my daughter is now Cadburys Bubbly :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Two and two and Nunch bars.
    Fizzle Sticks and Toffee Logs.
    Patsy Pops, yummy 10p orange ice pops
    Crunchos crisps, loved them even if you nearly broke your teeth off them, I got them in a Centra about 2 years back are thet still around.

I have seen Texan bars in a lot of shops in London so they must be making a comeback.

I also think its poo that Cherry Coke is available in every shop in London yet you cant get it at home, I once asked Tesco in Newbridge to get it in but they told me to go and shyte.

I got the alphabet sweets recently in pic n mix!! they are still gorgus im trying to remember where they def havent got em in liffey valley im prettyy certain you can get em at the pick and mix stand in blanchardstown shopping centre!

Two and two bars...I have mentioned them in this thread already so miss them... had forgotten about nunch bars..... I wonder why they discontinue such yummy sweets!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Yup, Texans have made a limited edition reappearance \o/

Got a box off the net last week - they are divine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Does anyone know who manufactured Two and Two bars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Nea wrote:
    Does anyone know who manufactured Two and Two bars?

As far as I remember it was Rowntree Mackintosh.

Two and Two bars were the nicest chocolate ever. Nine squares of lovely chocolate with a deadly fondant inside.

A very violent advertisement on television too.

ubermick you can now even get mini silvermints in a cool little tin box.