Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin Ferris and his Health Card

• 09-12-2002 8:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭

Jesus! You'd think he'd have the wit to have got rid of it and whatsmore issued a press statement complete with photo of said card being handed back to local health office, instead he spent Liveline defending himself and agreeing he really should have got shot of it asap. I wonder how many politicans local and national are picking up such state-freebies at our expense.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well at least there is one major positive from this Sinn Fein will have to be very careful if they bring up the issue of the Health Service from now onwards as it will probably blow up in their faces.

The only word I can find to describe what I think of Mr. Ferris especially given Sinn Fein market themselves as a party of the Working man (among other things!!) is pathetic.

Someone this stupid should not really be in politics but then alas I look at quite a few of the inhabitents of Leinster House and I see he is in good company. I wonder when the Irish public will wake up and get rid of all these freeloaders and muppets from Dail Eireann.

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Classic ...

Heaps a lot of embarassment on a party who are at present trying to be seen as a serious political option.

An incredibly stupid thing for him to do, and all for a measley €35. The foriegn funding must really be drying up if a Shinner has to do that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Have to admit it really was a bit of a boo-boo. Hasn't reflected to well on his party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

This incident has given me *almost* as much pleasure as Dick Springs speech at the Kerry North count centre last summer ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Suppose it was newsworthy to see a political half-scandal involving anyone other than FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Originally posted by gandalf
    Someone this stupid should not really be in politics but then alas I look at quite a few of the inhabitents of Leinster House and I see he is in good company. I wonder when the Irish public will wake up and get rid of all these freeloaders and muppets from Dail Eireann.

Gandalf.

I don't think we ever will..... We just returned Kermit to taoiseach, Miss Piggy to tanaiste and Gonzo to Minister for Finance !! :)

I never voted for them !!!

Oh and don't forget Beaker to the Dept of Juctice :rolleyes:

Gandalf.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

. . and Fozzy Bear to Foreign affairs !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I think that he should have chopped up his medical card on election.

What salary is he on?

I think when people on modest income cannot get a medical card & see a TD with one - Is it not time for reform in this area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tds sallary is €72,000 pa plus expences (I think).

Today a caller to Liveline reminded Joe Duffy and, I suspect the rest of us, that the Cavan/Monaghan TD Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin ran up over €12,000 of publicly funded benefits before he got found out and is now paying the dept of scoial welfare back!

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin is the SF speaker on....social welfare!

Satire is dead, you can't make this stuff up.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Originally posted by mike65
    Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin is the SF speaker on....social welfare!

Let me guess.... "I've seen the error of my ways, and am now uniquely qualified to say why social welfare is so important....."

Dear oh dear. That's priceless.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭rien_du_tout

I'm a sinn féin supporter. I didnt see the program in question but from what ye've said I'm disgusted. How was he legally allowed to keep his medical card, or was he?? It's so hypocritical it makes me sick.

seán

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by rien_du_tout
    I'm a sinn féin supporter. I didnt see the program in question but from what ye've said I'm disgusted. How was he legally allowed to keep his medical card, or was he?? It's so hypocritical it makes me sick.

seán

Amazingly Ferris would be technically allowed to keep his card for up to two years longer, but the local health board said they'd would have reviewed Mr Ferris' case next Febuary. Some ppl on todays Liveline phoned to say they thought Ferris should have kept the card for as long as poss as it was his entitlement!

I'll be called a Brit again but methinks those who work to undermine the state by gunrunning should have fewer entitilements...

One guy said if he had 300 grand in the bank, and he lost his job he'd be down the dole office tomorrow, which says it all really.

One thought occured to me, namely as a socialist should he give up his card and take out private health cover (which he said was his plan)? After all VHI and BUPA is not very republican is it!?

Mike.

In any other proper democracy he would have and should have resigned, but not in "jockey Bollix" neck Ireland.

Obviously Sinn Fein have taken all the good example from FF and others to heart. So much for them been the voice of Workers of Ireland. Another pack of chancers to add to rest already in there.

Gandalf.

Originally posted by gandalf
    In any other proper democracy he would have and should have resigned, but not in "jockey Bollix" neck Ireland.

Obviously Sinn Fein have taken all the good example from FF and others to heart. So much for them been the voice of Workers of Ireland. Another pack of chancers to add to rest already in there.

Gandalf.

Oh - Don't be so clylical.

What we need is reform in this area but If the government brought in reform -

RTE would run a story -
    Miss Y had a medical card & was long term unemployed.
    Reurned to work
    & medical card was taken off her.

She has no incentive to return to work.

RTE loves doing these leftie teer-jerker fluff pieces.

Sinn Fein have far more serious questions to answer at the moment. Such as the Columbia 3 and Why the IRA don't fully disarm.

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin ran up over €12,000 of publicly funded benefits before he got found out and is now paying the dept of scoial welfare back!

Are they swapping notes?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭MDR

He is ripping the state off ... wow .. quel suprise !

Prolly taking his lead from Gerry, who by all accounts has been doing it for years in the North. If that is the only skeleton in his cupboard I will be very suprised. Sortof shows up the hypocracy in Sinn Fein, 'we represent the poor, we represent the working man' ... meanwhile I will claim for my flu jab off the state taking food out of the poor peoples mouths ... makes me sick !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭aine

he's probably saving for a trip to Columbia!

Originally posted by Cork
    RTE would run a story -
    Miss Y had a medical card & was long term unemployed.
    Reurned to work
    & medical card was taken off her.

She has no incentive to return to work.

RTE loves doing these leftie teer-jerker fluff pieces.

Come on, have you not got a compassionate bone in your body. I know sometimes the news seems to think, "ah we better get some sort of human interest story" pack it in and dont give it another mention. However they went back to the schools in the west with awful conditions after a year to see surprise surprise, no improvement. No funding reached those schools, and its PDs/FF fault.
    Sinn Fein have far more serious questions to answer at the moment. Such as the Columbia 3 and Why the IRA don't fully disarm.

Why should the IRA fully disarm at this time?? I wouldnt think its exactly the right moment when the loyalist paramilitaries arent even on ceasefire. They are murdering many up there and nothing seems to be said about it. Granted, the IRA is a much more organised and deadly organisation when up and running but why should 1 side disarm when the other hasnt even given up the fight?
    The IRA pulled out of the decomissioning body after the institutions were dissolved. I personally think this was a big mistake as this body is the way forward, towards IRA disbandment. I've gone a bit off topic so I think I might start a new tread.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,404 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Cork
    What we need is reform in this area but If the government brought in reform - RTE would run a story - Miss Y had a medical card & was long term unemployed. Reurned to work & medical card was taken off her. She has no incentive to return to work. RTE loves doing these leftie teer-jerker fluff pieces.
    The difference here is that Ferris is in a well paid job, not scraping minimum wage. Cork is there any chance you can take an objective look when you comment on things?

However they went back to the schools in the west with awful conditions after a year to see surprise surprise, no improvement. No funding reached those schools, and its PDs/FF fault.

Perhaps, but you can argue the toss against the PD's/FF et al, all you like, but Ferris has proven yet again that SF has no social mandate, and furthermore that SF aren't a credible alternative. However bad the govt. we have is, Ireland would be a akin to a taliban regime under SF.
    Why should the IRA fully disarm at this time??

The reasons are many fold,

1. They have a diplomatic means to achieve their objectives should they wish to engage with it.

2. The loyalist paramilitaries have been far to busy killing each other for quite some time, haven't been attacking Nationlists for some time ... anyway is it not the job of the police to sort that kind of thing out ...

3. its not nice to kill people, political parties who belive in a credible democratic process don't maintain little armies, just in case they don't get their way ... the reasons are endless.

but Ferris has proven yet again that SF has no social mandate, and furthermore that SF aren't a credible alternative. However bad the govt. we have is, Ireland would be a akin to a taliban regime under SF.

I agree.
    is there any chance you can take an objective look when you comment on things

Martin Ferris did however not break the law. He availed of what he was entitled to.

The government needs to take a look at the whole medical card system.

It needs reform big time but there will be resistance to change.

RTE will probably out do themselves with tear jerker stories. They'd be on Liveline for weeks cribbing about it. SF & other "socialists" would make be making hay.

Martin Ferris should be the cataylist to such reform.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Originally posted by MDR, in response to IRA disarming comment...

The reasons are many fold,

<snip>
    and none of them are relevant to this thread. If someone wants to go on a general SF-bashing spree, or on a whole tangential IRA discussion, then take it to another thread.

jc

Ah, he only takes home the average industrial wage and the rest goes to fund something or other. Makes slightly more sense now although really if he needs to visit the docter he should take money from the fund instead of taxpayers money. It was reported in the sunday independent that he wasnt entitled to the medical card but I think that's misinformation.

I have to say I really admire the taking home of the average industrial wage though.

seán

Ah, he only takes home the average industrial wage and the rest goes to fund something or other.

Sinn Fein, historically have made gestures like this, appealing to working man's values, however I think its gonna be very hard to check out stuff like this. Are the parties books open for inspection etc ? Have I mentioned I give half my wages to fund the filling of potholes in South Meath .... :D , if indeed as I suspect the parties books aren't open to inspection, they really could be doing anything, and the public has no reason, given their history, to trust em.

if he _should_ have taken the money out of the fund why didn't he ?, the subtle difference between having a medical card (wopps I fogot to cancel it and actually using it to claim for a flu jab ... he deliberately abused the medical card system to his own benefit.

he only takes home the average industrial wage and the rest goes to fund something or other.

This is of no relevence. He earns say over €70000. He pays PAYE on this. And If he gives money to Sinn Fein that is his choice.

I think tht the medical card scheme needs reform big time. That a family on very modest wages cannot et one and then you have the likes of Mr. Ferris.

I think he is now taking out VHI.

I think tht the medical card scheme needs reform big time

The medical system from start to finish needs reform ... problem is that the unions are so resistant to it ... example, why do we need five health boards ?

I agree 100%

I think electiong hospital canidates while understandable is a backward step. We are lucky that the government does not need their support as they would have the government over a barrell looking to prioritise health services in their area.

I have problems with independent canditates in general, Jackie Healy Rae for example will be first against the wall, when my revolution comes.

Managed to keep the price of a pint up all by himself, got very upset when the govt. suggested deregulating pubs, and threatened to colapse the coalition, hardily suprising when you consider he owns two pubs.

We need strong govt in times such as these, I won't argue it has it flaws but thank god it lost the independents after the last elections ...

but thank god it lost the independents after the last elections ...

Getting an idendent TD elected & holding the balance of power was akin to winning the lotto.

But getting back to the topic. I think Martin Ferris & Sinn Fein need to get a reality check.

We have a party that still believes about nationalising the banks and we have Martin Ferris taking out VHI.