Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do your Duty

• 12-12-2002 1:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭

The BBC are at it again - this time however they're
    asking everyone to vote for their favourite song of
    all time. So obviously we're going to try and
    mess it up for them. Go to the website:
    www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/us/features/topten/
    and enter your details.
    In the boxes for Favourite song and Artist add the
    following

Artist : Wolfe Tones
    Song : A Nation Once Again
    Why : 800 years of oppression

Regards,
    Paul

www.ginsengmusic.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Why?

The Wolfe Tones are sh**te?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

for the same reason evryone voted for Ray Houghtons goal a while back .....just for the larrrfff

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭polarbelly

thats a bit feckin bigoted all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

You could look at it that way I suppose or you could just laugh at it and take it in the spirit its meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

well i agree, it's a bit racist, but it's ment to be a bit of laugh, so it can't be all that bad, i mean what other songs would be funny to vote for...
    maybe one that doesn't excist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Raggamuffin

HEHEHe
    why not put aon focail eile in there.

i saw richie kavanagh over the summer......... what a darling

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Queens Speech maybe??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

How is it racist?:confused:

well tony i think its all a bit of fun.

any other songs?

is "parnell the uncrowned king of ireland " a song?

i

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

ah i know its ment to be a bit of a laugh, i was gonna say "rising of the moon" for best song........just that i dont think polar or Tyrrial understand.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭the66electric

Come out ye 'black and tans' come out and fight me like a man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭bobzee

If you are going to it for a bit of a laff then pick a funny harmless song....like one of Dustins or something like that...don't pick something with political connotations..it gives out the wrong message...some people may find 'A nation once again' offensive....

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Figlen

Hairy Paul, look at all the fuss you've caused!! Would you ever stop this nonsense and go and fix my computer!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Figlen

By the way, I've just heard that the song is a contender for No.1 in that poll!!Hee heeee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Morn

I heard that the Wolfe Tones can't stand each other - they have to travel on separate planes and they only reason they stick at being the Wolfe Tones is because they make lots of money off of it. How patriotic ;)

have you seen the rubbish that the wolfe tones have to come up against.

except for the odd good song like London calling the rest are god awful.

and for the record i despise wolfe tones supposed patriotic garbage. Give me the "uncrowned king of ireland" anyday#

in case your too lazy to go look

"Stardust, Hoagy Carmichael
    Why: Both the lyrics and melody are evocative and beautiful. It has been sung by many and loved by millions for decades.
    Bev, USA

Jadu Teri Nazar, Udit Narayan
    Why: I love this song because it means a lot to me. I dedicate it to my beloved one. Thanks.
    Bhavesh, India

Asereje, Las Ketchups
    Why: Wonderful to dance and exercise to.
    R. Mendez, USA

Born in the USA, Bruce Springsteen
    Why: There were too many to choose from, I had to toss for this one. The boss.
    Kristine, Canada

Ebony and Ivory, Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder
    Why: This song is splendid! Human beings have to understand that there are no differences between the races.
    Juliana, Brazil

God is one, Alpha Blondy
    Why: The song tries to bring together all world religions.
    Ouma, Uganda

Taare hai baraati, Kumar Sanu
    Why: This indian film song is melodious and funky at the same time. I enjoyed it more on the 100th listening than I did on the 1st.
    Iggy, USA

Another day in paradise, Phil Collins
    Why: Whon doesn't want to spend some time in paradise?
    Yosam, Uganda

Nothing else matters, Metallica
    Why: This is the only love song I know that does not have the word 'love' in its lyrics and is yet so powerful.
    Ohanes, Bulgaria

Homeless, Black Mambazo
    Why: Most people of the world today are really homeless, they live in villages or shanty compounds.
    Chalo, South Africa

Beautiful morning, Ace of Base
    Why: It should be heard every morning on every radio station around the world. Well done Ace of Base who stick to their message: be happy no matter what!
    Vedran, USA

General comment: You can't call this a poll. It doesn't conform to any standards by which you could call this a poll. Don't tell me that these songs are anywhere near the best .....
    Sunny, India

Orinoco flow, Enya
    Why: Her music is calming and special. It takes me to another place and wipes off the stress.
    Annika, Finland

How deep is your love, The Bee Gees
    Why: It's just a great song. It stayed at no 1 in the US charts for 26 weeks and it won a grammy award.
    Andreia, Egypt

Annie's song, Don McLean
    Why: This is - I think - the best love song in the world. The lyrics conjure up a lovely picture expressing profound love that is timeless and at one with nature ...
    Charlotte, Singapore

A transport of delight, Flanders and Swann
    Why: Makes me laugh after so many years.
    Chris, Latvia

Is that all there is? Christina
    Why: Because it combines passion, disinterest, love, hate and the meaning of life in three and a half minutes.
    Aleks, UK

Linger, Cranberries
    Why: Great music, especially loud.
    Nawrs, Syria

Puthu Vellai Mazhai, AR Rahman
    Why: It's a mesmerising, intoxicating, hallucinatory song capturing the enchanting beauty of Kashmir.
    Nishim, UAE

Happy birthday
    Why: Happy birthday to you. Happy birthday to you. Happy birthday dear you-ou. Happy birthday to you - World Service.
    Alex, USA

Unicornio Azul, Sylvio Rodriguez
    Why: I'd like to campaign for some Latin American artists who are awfully underrepresented in this poll. What about the songs of Sylvio Rodriguez, Ruben Blades, Willie Colon, or a real oldie like Miguel Matamoros?

I've heard all the rock one would ever care to - many of the songs by Latin artists are the most beautiful ever written.
    John, South Korea

Sing me a song, Mariam Makeba
    Why: Brings joy to my heart every time I listen to it and watch the smiling faces.
    Pamela, Cameroon

Khoji, khoji, Nischal Shrestha (Metal Cross)
    Why: It's a good reggae and Nepali tune.
    Daniul, Nepal

Borderline, Chris De Burgh
    Why: This song calls the world's attention to stop and think about what we are doing to this beautiful planet. Also with each other with all of these terrible wars. Secondly it has a beautiful melody.
    Robert, Denmark

Resham, Nepathya
    Why: It has the power to touch the heart. I'm not a person who loves dancing but this song makes me dance.
    Anil, Nepal

Simarik (Kiss, kiss), Tarkan
    Why: Combines Turkish and european rhythms
    Ece, UK

Apatai me mihithale, Bathiya and Sunthush
    Why: I think that your voting system is unfair just because some countries listen more to the BBC World Service than others their songs are number one.
    Rohan, Sri Lanka

National song of People's Republic of China, Han Tian
    Why: Over 1.3 billion people can sing this song fluently. It's second to none.
    Kim, China

1st song in the Mofu album, Salif Keita
    Why: Because Salif Keita's life is one in a million. To be born an albino and to excel in life and be accepted as a legend is NOT EASY!
    Richard, Zambia

Old man river, Paul Robson
    Why: This song captures a feeling of despair that is felt by a slave, a wage-slave or any depressed or deprived person. In the real world life just keeps going - so move on.
    Graham, New Zealand

The long and winding road, The Beatles
    Why: A wonderful Beatles song with great strings and also 'an end of a long emotional journey' feel to it.
    Nigel, UK

Dil dil Pakistan, Junaid Jamshed
    Why: I'm Pakistani and love Pakistan. This song created feelings of patriotism and has really inspired us after really difficult times.
    Bebul, Pakistan

Anarchy in the UK, Sex Pistols
    Why: It summed up the feelings of a whole generation and changed the face of popular music.
    Nigel, Tanzania

Candle in the wind, Sir Elton John
    Why: Whenever I listen to this song I feel very emotional because I don't want to forget the kindness of Princess Diana.
    Mohammed, Ghana

Waa Qalanjo yaab leh
    (She has an amazing beauty like a wonderful star)
    by Hassan Adan Samatar
    Why: This song is moving because it's about a man who is relieved that the woman he loves isn't already married. He says his beloved is so beautiful that any man who sees her will surely immediately fall in love with her. Only her modesty has kept her safe for him.
    Mr Ismail Omar Ghelle,
    President Of Djibouti Republic"

1ugh the comments are even more terrible than the songs "religions come together" yey........

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Hehehehe............
    god help some people....

Check this out too........
    Avril Lavigne - Chop Suey

Funny schtuff....

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Splinters

Originally posted by Raggamuffin
    and for the record i despise wolfe tones supposed patriotic garbage.

methinks bill hicks view on patriotism says it all

hey whats the best bill hicks cd?

oh and what was his view#?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Cherry

Originally posted by Amz

I just listened to it. Oh.. My.. God.
    My hatred for her blossomed 10-fold in 1.55 minutes. Silly cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Muppet Monarchy

The Wolfe Tones are vile, racist, nationalist scum. They give everyone in this country a bad name.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Jocasta

i gotta say that it may be in the spirit of fun and humour, but i aint seeing any fun......or humour...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Originally posted by Amz
    Hehehehe............
    god help some people....

Check this out too........

Funny schtuff....

Chop Avril!

Wake up !
    Slap the bitch and take away her make-up.
    Grab her board and give her a good shake-up
    Why'd put Lavine upon your label?
    Fed to mindless fools thru co-ax cable

(You wanted to) Slap the bitch and take away her make-up.
    (You wanted to) Grab her board and give her a good shake-up
    (You wanted to) Why'd put Lavine upon your label?
    (You wanted to) I don't think you trust
    In, her, self righteous skate-rock shiiite
    I, cry, cos Avril deserves to die, DIE

Rahhhhhh..... *ahem*

Wake up !
    Laugh at her and know it's all a fake-up.
    Punch her band and give her a good shake-up
    Why'd you leave Lavine upon your label?
    Newest member of the suck-rock stable

(You wanted to) Laugh at her and know it's all a fake-up.
    (You wanted to) Punch her band and give her a good shake-up
    (You wanted to) Why'd you leave Lavine upon your label?
    (You wanted to) I don't think you trust
    In, her, self righteous skate-rock shiiite
    I, sigh, cos Avril will never die, DIE

Avril!Avril!Avril!Avril!
    Avril into your hands, I donate my eardrums
    Avril into your hands....

Why have you annoyed me so?
    In your voice annoyed me so?
    In your face annoyed me so?
    In your lie annoyed me so?

Trust ... in ... her ... self righteous skate-rock shiiite
    I, cry, cos Avril deserves to die
    in ... her ... self righteous skate-rock shiiite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Cherry

hahahahahahahahahahahaha.. absolutely classic. Classic classic. Don't mind if I copy it to for my website do you? Full credit shall be given, o course.:p

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Originally posted by Pigman

Oh dear god no!!!!!!!!!!

There has to be something we can do.......

she's not a robot or something is she??!!!

Even if she is surely there's an off switch somewhere.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭polarbelly

avril is still hot

with a capital o

ie

hOt

well for a 17 yr old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Originally posted by Amz
    Oh dear god no!!!!!!!!!!

There has to be something we can do.......

she's not a robot or something is she??!!!

Even if she is surely there's an off switch somewhere.....

Yep , fraid to say it but A.L IS immortal. I just saw the blueprints to the prototype of her cyborg model 1.1. :mad:

And to the guy who wanted to copy those lyrics for his website .... go ahead, it's not as if I'm getting a percentage of that bitches publishing rights :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

oh jesus christ avril y y y y y??????????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I've gotten these emails. I always cringe with embarrasment when people, try to hijack these British polls.

It makes us look like bitter resentful backward yokels. Come on we've had independance since the 1920's, we watch Brit TV, support their football teames, listen to their excellent bands.

Let it go ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

All this trendy new-found tolerance has meant we have people saying things like 'The Wolfe Tones are vile nationalist scum', what the hell? Harmless gombeen men they may be, but there's no need to get on the liberal agenda bandwagon just becase people have become paranoid about offending anyone about anything. It's PC madness, e.g. 'racist', what's racist about voting for the Wolfe Tones? Absolutely nothing, that simply shows such a profound lack of knowledge about what racism actually is. Jesus people, relax, there's nothing wrong with having nationalist ideas or beliefs, just as there's nothing wrong with being a unionist... except maybe for Ian Paisley... but seriously, put things in perspective and stop shouting out what you believe to be the 'proper' or 'right-on' response, it's that kind of thing that's turning people into sheep... anyway, this is supposed to be for a laugh... I have to go now, I'm expecting a shipment of guns from Colombia...