Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

foreign gamecube/laptop

• 02-01-2003 8:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭

first off sorry if this is in the wrong place

my question is when u come back to ireland from hols with new stuff, say gamecube or laptop etc r ye meant to declare this 4 tax?
    also if u dont is it likely they will catch u & if so take it off u. im goin to england next week & was considerin a new xbox/gamecube or possibly laptop was just wonderin was this an issue?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

If you're buying anything in the UK you'll already have paid VAT there on it. Assuming you're buying one (as opposed to 100) you'll have no problems at all.

(obviously I'm ignoring the issue of bringing anything back from the US or Tahiti but it's not an issue from the UK)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

thanx sceptre.

so its cool from uk but not from us?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by whosurpaddy
    so its cool from uk but not from us?

Basically yeah. Actually it's cool from anywhere in the EU but not from anywhere outside. Officially you're not allowed bring in goods of greater value than about 200 euro (prob a little below) from anywhere outside the EU without paying import duty on it*. Obviously that's down to them noticing or checking your bags and then noticing but it's a fair risk.

You'll be 100% fine importing some electricals for your own use from the UK (you can even happily being the stuff home in the original boxes - may as well keep the receipts handy though)

*that's when you're travelling there and back. If you just buy over the web the limit without paying duty is a lot lower - don't know what it is here but in the UK it's 18 quid. No problem with buying over the web within the EU though - you've already paid taxes in the other country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

1. Bring over a 3 pin lead with ya for the bag coming back
    2. Buy a known brand (except for Gateway obviously :D)
    3. Keep receipt elsewhere, feck manuals out
    4. Buy second hand laptpo bag over there

Customs can prove nothin and you needn't worry at all.

Gamecube is a different proposition entirely. NTSC in the US means it won't work with most Irish tellys, you need a PAL one here. Games may have regions like DVD so it wont play Euro games and nor will Euro Gamecube play US ones. Check all b4 u buy.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

thanx lads, uve been v helpful:D