Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bovril Lavigne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Drunk pirate

Pretty soon music (or is it happening allready?) will be mainly image. Bands nowdays rely on looks-which sells. Slipknot without the masks. Imagine. What would they have left?

Metallica had no image, Pantera had no image, AC/DC the list goes on. The old days is where the music is at. Not some idiotic slút who thinks she does rawk.

Whats her influences if any?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Nirvana didn't invent grunge, they just were the first band to make it big. The Pixies invented grunge (someone will probably correct me on this) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

Slipknot without the masks

besides the whole mask thing , they are a great band , find me another band similar to them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by D-Generate
    Nirvana didn't invent grunge, they just were the first band to make it big. The Pixies invented grunge (someone will probably correct me on this) :D

....and to be corrected is the least you deserve for such a speculative comment!

The pixies weren't even a 'grunge' band so for them to have invented the genre would be something impressive in itself.

The band Mudhoney are generally accepted as the first grunge group to recieve any widespread attention so if you were going to credit any single band with establishing/inventing the genre then they would be your best bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Drunk pirate

I've never bothered listening to Slipknot but I know little 10 year olds going my way in thier hoodies and if you wen't up and asked a song name they'd stutter or else not reply.

It's hard not to get dragged into the whole "man screaming into a mic with 10 people headbanging in scary masks" - it creates a scary image.

And as for a simular band: Ever hear of "Mushroomhead"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

I agree that her music is pop, but if she claims to be a so called "Rock chick", then I assume her/their scheme is to start off with some pop(ish) type music in order to win the pop crowd in order to get a large fan-base and then release some harder, less manufactured ****, which will hopefully be better. I could be wrong, but I hope not.

P.S. That Skater boy song is one of the most ****tiest songs ever!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by eth0_
    I mean that 'complicated' song is about how sad it is to try and be someone you're not
    Christ I'd hate to see her TRY to write a Megadeth riff then, or even a Dream Theater song. I don't think she'd be saying so much if she did TRY.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by Placebo
    besides the whole mask thing , they are a great band , find me another band similar to them .

To quote Lemmy from Motorhead when asked what he thought of acts like GaYKnot,

"They're sh*t"

TBH, SlipKnot ARE image. They use the whole "mammy,mammy look. That man's wearing a pigmask on stage and saying naughty words. He must be SOOOOO cool" :rolleyes:

Then they say they're not. IMO they're JUST as bad as Avril, claiming to be something they're not.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Drunk pirate
    Metallica had no image, Pantera had no image, AC/DC the list goes on. The old days is where the music is at. Not some idiotic slút who thinks she does rawk.

oh PLEASE.

The fact Metallica all had long hair, denim jackets and scowls (in the old days) was an accident?

Ditto pantera.

These bands conform to the metal image as much as westlife conform to the boyband image. Still, at least noone has gimmicks like gabrielles eyepatch. Imagine a metal band with a gimmick like that, i dunno, maybe a guitarist in a schoolboys outfit....

I think it's pointless to be giving out **** over Avril Lavigne because, by the looks of it, they're only out there having a bit of a laugh. Comparing them with Slipknot just sounds totally ridiculous in my view!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Lemming
    To quote Lemmy from Motorhead when asked what he thought of acts like GaYKnot,

"They're sh*t"

TBH, SlipKnot ARE image. They use the whole "mammy,mammy look. That man's wearing a pigmask on stage and saying naughty words. He must be SOOOOO cool" :rolleyes:

Then they say they're not. IMO they're JUST as bad as Avril, claiming to be something they're not.
    Agreed, I think I heard an interview with Corey (is it?) and he said that all they wear the masks for is to get "away from having an image". Christ they even changed them when their new album came out! Now their masks can bleed, how cool is that?!

Originally posted by Dustaz
    oh PLEASE.

The fact Metallica all had long hair, denim jackets and scowls (in the old days) was an accident?

Ditto pantera.

These bands conform to the metal image as much as westlife conform to the boyband image. Still, at least noone has gimmicks like gabrielles eyepatch. Imagine a metal band with a gimmick like that, i dunno, maybe a guitarist in a schoolboys outfit....

I think what he was tring to say Dustaz, is that these bands didn't / don't attempt to appeal to your crotch.

The same way David Bowie, the Corrs, Jimi Hendrix, Clapton, U2 didn't or don't now.

Manufactured crap DOES try to appeal in that way. They use image to sell.

Unless you look pretty you wont get into a manufactured outfit. Coincidence? I think not. It's all about crotch-appeal and NOT the music.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

the corrs dont appeal to your crotch lemming?
    are you SURE...?

Originally posted by Seraphina
    the corrs dont appeal to your crotch lemming?
    are you SURE...?

HA HA (ye pervert!! :p )

I actually happen to like their music. The fact that the three sisters are nae bad looking is a bonus :D

But my point is that they're not selling an image. They (rightly) let their music do the talking, as does just about every other "real" band/group/artist out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I think the only thing ever to come close to a true 'No Image' is the Black Metal scene.

I mean, when Euronymous started the whole Corpsepaint/Warpaint thing, he was really onto something. A whole genre of music under the one, singular image? I say that's as close as you're ever going to get to the idea of 'No Image'.

Individually 'Themed' masks, simply isn't.

But you take bands like Immortal, Mayhem, Darthrone, Marduk, Dimmu Borgir, Emperor, Khold, Bathory, Satyricon... I could go on! But to be quite frank, all the bands looked almost exactly the same.

And I think that's about as anti-image as you're going to get.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

COF get loads of popularity......

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    I think the only thing ever to come close to a true 'No Image' is the Black Metal scene.

I mean, when Euronymous started the whole Corpsepaint/Warpaint thing, he was really onto something. A whole genre of music under the one, singular image? I say that's as close as you're ever going to get to the idea of 'No Image'.

Individually 'Themed' masks, simply isn't.

But you take bands like Immortal, Mayhem, Darthrone, Marduk, Dimmu Borgir, Emperor, Khold, Bathory, Satyricon... I could go on! But to be quite frank, all the bands looked almost exactly the same.

And I think that's about as anti-image as you're going to get.

But then again, which is more popular? Manufactured Rock/Metal, or Black Metal?

It's all down to how well a product is promoted and advertised really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

So, during the gestation period of this thread, the voters have voted and said that Bovril (or Avril if ur sad!) is a fake bitch and basically suxx ass. Some people have said that they think her music is ok - just for the record, I'd like to say that NO, NO ITS NOT! It suxx ass too. I'd like to justify my thoughts, but don't have enough hair left on my head to pull out when I start ranting about pop music whores such as this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Agreed, I think I heard an interview with Corey (is it?) and he said that all they wear the masks for is to get "away from having an image

Sure slipknot are splitting up after their next album.
    Anyway they're a poor mans Mudvayne. \m/

xx - she's playing Dublin soon, why don't you exterminate her and save your locks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

hehe, i d/l avrils chop suey...what a load of bollox :p

anyways, just wanted to say im gettin a lil sick of all the slipknot bashing around here
    ok, so take away the **** masks, the crappy manufactured image and the 13yr old **** in their 'knot hoddies and you're left with a band that writes good riffs and genuinely catchy songs...oh and the singer has a great voice. go listen to 'wait and bleed' for proof of this
    forget the image and just concentrate on the music please

and as for nirvana bein pop, look at bleach...huge underground album
    nevermind was just released at the right moment and became huge
    in utero was so complete anti-pop its unreal...by the end of 93 start of 94 nirvana were playin shows in 15k capactiy venues and only 6/7 would turn up, they certainly werent a 'pop' band anymore
    the only reason nirvana are so huge today is because of kurts death...i guess in some ways it really is better to burn out than to fade away

Pyure how old are you? I am 21 and I used to like slipknot but i'm sick of them now, mostly because everytime I go into my town (Drogheda) I see kids in Slipknot JEANS and slipknot tshirt and hoodies....wearing them all at the SAME TIME. I don't want to be associated with skids like that. That, and their songs are complete over saturated on radio/tv.

I know ONE person over the age of 16 who likes them, a 23 year old guy. Which I think is really strange...unless my friends say
    they hate them in public but secretly listen to 'Iowa' late at night under cover of darkness.

Anyway this is off topic.

Haha, guess what, was in HMV earlier - seen the Bovril Lavatory CD there ON SALE PRICE. Haha, nobodys buying the ****ing thing so they're trying to flog them cheap. Who would've thought that the great unwashed pseudo-metal-kids of dublin had the good taste not to buy it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Ahh yes, obviously its on sale because nobody is buying it... I think I could mention at least two dozen great albums on sale in hmv/tower/etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

so.. etho, you don't listen so slipknot because your friends all think they're not cool? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Slipknot have always sucked, its just worse now.

Originally posted by xx
    Haha, guess what, was in HMV earlier - seen the Bovril Lavatory CD there ON SALE PRICE.

Urm..yes cos there's a sale on in HMV in January.

Mordeth - No, I don't really listen to Slipknot anymore because I hear them too much, not because they're 'uncool'.

For those with a penchant for pointing out the obvious, yes I know there is a sale in HMV. But putting a new CD like hers on sale price just after its been released!!! Not really HMV styleee unless the CD blows chunks. Point taken Kali, last year I managed to pick up Pantera's 'Cowboys from Hell' for £8.99 in HMV - criminal!!!!!!

Originally posted by xx
    For those with a penchant for pointing out the obvious, yes I know there is a sale in HMV. But putting a new CD like hers on sale price just after its been released!!!

I guess you're right. The new David Grey album didn't sell that well and it's on sale too.

OT - <rant>Why anyone still buys music in HMV is beyond me, 22 for a CD? Me arse! €14 on cdwow or play.com. </rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭Darkillion

going back a page i think....

neither pixies nor mudhoney started grunge. pixies are alt. rock

grunge, the term, and the music, was started my Green River whihc has Mark Arm of Mudhoney in it and Stone and Jeff from Pearl Jam. after that it was soundgarden, Mother Love Bone and Mudhoney. next was alice in chains and nirvana

in between were loads of smaller bands

then pearl jam.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

Omg, no, wtf cant ppl get it right, the pixies are pop, just like the beatles were, and as the smitherines are.
    Pop has a much lighter sound than rock, it was adapted to the manufactured bands back in the 50s who sang about candy.
    Par examplé, "Yummy,yummy,yummy I've got love in my tummy" is also pop, but its meant in the bubblegum sense of the word. and yes, these are the manufactured bands that are created to entise a certain demographic.

There a whole jargon buster site somewhere i remember coming accross before.

as for all this bollix aboutimage, well im sorry ken, but Black Metal is all about image, if it wasnt wouldnt they just wear ordinary clothes and not be associated to specific colours or looks.
    Just like slip knot, just like teh spice girls, just like blink 182, just like any punk bands, punk rockers, boy bands.
    The image is there solely for the mercendise.
    now please dont get that confused with selling out or not being original, thats totally different.
    anyways, if u didnt have all this image then it would be very hard to determine Genre's.

Also I'd like to point out that the underground cult followings of one generation become the Popular trends to the next.

and last but not least, Rock is eternal in being the sole creator off all this other garbage thats out there, and the likes of pink floyd, the stones, led zeppelin, jimi hendrix, janis joppolin are who u can thank!

My Two cents....

Avril Lavigne is a pop singer feeding off of the new punk trend. Apparently, she (along with all her fans) missed the bulletin notifying those of us whose minds aren't quite as impressionable that dressing in every article of clothing ever put out by Hot Topic does not make you punk. Clothing should not define a musician's style. Rather (and here's a real challenging idea for you), their MUSIC should.

From http://www.recroommagazine.com/articles/avril.htm

This was the original point before alot of ppl went off topic.
    Just cause you wear clothes that smell of sweat and smoke weed all day while eating cold chips doesnt make u grunge.