Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Shannon Anti-War Camp needs your help!!!

• 18-01-2003 11:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭

I have been following the Shannon camp for a while now and I recently emailed Tim Hourigan (if you also want to support them email him if you like) asking if there was anything that needed special attention that I could help with. His reply asked a few things.
    I figured that the more people that helped out the better so here is the email he sent:

Hi Dara,

thank you for your mail.

there's a lot of things we need for support, money, food, volunteers to come planespotting etc.

For those who can't make it, (and those who can) there is also some urgent other business you could perhaps do. IF lots of people do this then it will have an effect.

1. Ring Aer Rianta 01-8144936 and demand that these aircraft stop using Shannon.
    Aer Rianta Head office is , tell them that you want to speak to the Chairman Noel Hanlon.

Ring Shannon airport 061-712000 and tell them the same thing.

2. Ring Shannon Garda Station 061-361212 and ask them to inspect the aircraft. Tell them that it is a formal complaint, and that you want a record kept that you made the complaint.

3. Ring the radio shows in the morning, when they talk about Shannon, make sure you ring the show to let them know that you don't want the US military using Shannon for war.

4. Ring the Mid-Western Health Board 061-483286 to complain about their threat to close the peace-camp on "Health Grounds". This threat is politically motivated.
    They've never inspected the place. It's not dirty or unhealthy, the food is cooked in a house and brought up, there are clean food storage facilities, the campers use nearby toilets and keep the site as clean as one would expect it to be. (other than being sprayed with aviation fumes)

5. ring the Dail and ask if Brian Cowen and the Taoiseach could please explain how they are certain that the US military flights at Shannon are not carrying substantial amounts of weapons?
    On Dec 18th, in Tulla District court, Inspector Tom Kennedy from Shannon Garda and Inspector Chris Hickey from Shannon Airport police admitted that they have NEVER inspected these aircraft.
    I've been monitoring this situation since October 2001, and I am convinced that the cargo planes are carrying weapons.
    I have never seen any representative of the Gardai, Airport Police inspect a plane, nor have I noticed Brian Cowen or Bertie Ahern standing there to ensure compliance.
    Where do they draw their conclusion from? The ostrich principle?

Contact Fianna Fail @ 01-6761551 info@fiannaFáil.ie

check out.

[URL=Http://www.shannonpeacecamp.org]Shannon Peace Camp[/URL]

Refueling Peace

the main thing you need besides discussion is participation. Get actively involved in finding out for yourself what is happening.
    When people discuss thingslike Shannon in an almost clinical academic style it is not very realistic. Coming down to see what's going on, and finding out what is happening to the people of Iraq and Afghanistan (as well as the large protests in the US by US citizens against war) will help you to focus and cut through the irrelevant bull.
    bottom line you will see for yourself how Ireland is helping to kill
    innocent people. The economic arguments don't hold any real weight in comparison.

good luck and thanks for your support.
    it is URGENTLY needed and if we can get enough people involved it may mean the difference between life and death for a large number of innocent people.

Tim Hourigan
    [EMAIL=Http://www.shannonpeacecamp.org]Shannon Peace Camp[/EMAIL]

I ask that anyone that is actually interested in the subject that if they could please help out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Indeed and some might even ring those numbers now , expressing welcome, to the troops:D
    mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭rien_du_tout

My god, how many more times will it be expressed that money controls what u do and say and your morals. I doubt that aer rianta would have any reasonable grounds to inflict anything on a worker for signing the petition. If a worker saw that there actually were arms being transported (in the way they are not allowed to be) then I presume he should tell somebody, and not just aer rianta, because going by the money 4 morals principle they might lose some money and therefore should hush up.

I do think this should have been posted on the tread already discussing this issue, but thanks 4 the info. I doubt I'll ring but I'll check up the websites:)

seán

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,713 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I'm in complete agrement with Man there,
    Welcome Yanks
    and don't forget to make use of the duty free. :)

Originally posted by rien_du_tout
    My god, how many more times will it be expressed that money controls what u do and say and your morals. I doubt that aer rianta would have any reasonable grounds to inflict anything on a worker for signing the petition. If a worker saw that there actually were arms being transported (in the way they are not allowed to be) then I presume he should tell somebody, and not just aer rianta, because going by the money 4 morals principle they might lose some money and therefore should hush up.

I do think this should have been posted on the tread already discussing this issue, but thanks 4 the info. I doubt I'll ring but I'll check up the websites:)

seán
    rien,
    just out of curiosity,What is the Republican view on all this, do you think?
    Considering, again if money is the root of everything.
    a lot of SinnFéin funding comes from the U.S, whose boys will be out there fighting if it come to war.
    mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

Originally posted by daveirl
    This is just plain and simple spamming.

I don't care how to get involved. If you wanted you could have posted this to the thread discussing the landings at Shannon.

mmmm.... go **** ur self daveirl. I am sick of people calling spam anything that they don't have an interest in.

This was a post in response to an email I received on the subject. I did not have the time to go digging up the most relevant post on the topic all this post is supposed to do is raise awareness about what people could do to help the activists in the Shannon peace camp. If you are not interested don’t bother posting. If you are and have a valid point or opinion please express it (but “Welcome the Yanks” is just plain inflammatory for the sake of it, “Manach”)
    Anyways, for those of you who think it is ok for the US to bring arms into this country (against our laws I might add) and use Ireland as a launching platform into the rest of Europe.. Why???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I'm sorry but I can't understand why we should prevent anyone who is obeying our laws from landing here on their way to anywhere. Do people have to have good intentions, or at least intentions that match our own, in order to re-fuel here.

Martin Ferris stated that he was against the shipment of arms through Shannon.

I thought it was ironic.
    Very ironic!
    mm

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Originally posted by Snowball
    mmmm.... go **** ur self daveirl. I am sick of people calling spam anything that they don't have an interest in.

Snowball I am warning you no more personal insults directed at posters in the Politics forum or I will ban you.

Dave is entitled to question why you posted the link here.

Gandalf.

don't mind there presence so I'm not doing it for the sake of it.
    just to let u know but this post was not directed soly at you.
    Originally posted by omahaid
    I'm sorry but I can't understand why we should prevent anyone who is obeying our laws from landing here on their way to anywhere. Do people have to have good intentions, or at least intentions that match our own, in order to re-fuel here.
    Irish law states that it is illegal for "anyone" to carry arms into out country, that includes through. And yes, at least, our intentions should match theirs if it is threatening our status as a neutral country "in this conflict" and possibly putting Shannon on someone’s "to blow up" list.
    Also, in my opinion, we as a nation should not be helping another nation that is caring out a war against another country when their "official" reason is that they might have weapons of mass destruction when that nation it's self has weapons of mass destruction and especially when that war is really not about weapons of mass destruction and about oil.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

[Moronic post edited - Gandalf]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by TCP/IP
    [Moronic post edited - Gandalf]

Tease!

Mike.

ps I hope its really cold and wet at Shannon, it'll test thier commitment to the "cause"

Mike.

Hello Everybody,

The whole point about this forum is politics and weither we like it or not people are allowed voice there opinion no matter what other people like or not, it should certainly not be up to anybody that uses this board to remove posts just because they dont agree with certain opinions no matter what they may be.

Last time I checked this was still a democratic state maybe I was wrong?

Oh it's a free country alright, TCP, but I think you'll find that there are rules to be followed if you want to post here.
    I suggest you read:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=46807

I didn't see your post, so I cannot comment on it,but a moderators task is not an easy one.
    mm

I read these rules and they are fine as long as they are kept to, it plainly states that posters are entitled to there opinion and that is all I am asking for.

Thanks for the link

Your post was edited/removed because it was borderline racist and did not add to the discussion. A warning was PM'ed (private messaged) to you.

Your post was one line, you have put more time into the "help me I'm being oppressed" response here. Maybe if you actually engaged your brain and made an effort to post something that was relevant and not tripe there would not be a problem.

Oh btw boards.ie is not a democracy, check with DeVore if you don't believe me.

If this is still a problem for you I suggest you PM me or complain on the Admin forum.

Gandalf.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

YAWN.... shannon me arse.

Hopefully (and ironically too :) ) a stray napalm cannister will wipe out the marquee and two supporters tents in the sprawling smelly studently athmospherical campsite and we wont have to listen to this BORING debate anymore.

WELCOME yanks, me ma has some american pie on in the oven if youd like to drop over for a cup of tea.

SHANNON CAMP??? do me a favor and go back to your real jobs, and if youve none? go hug a tree over a new motorway somewhere, that was always more entertaining to watch (reminiscing about some poor young garda afraid of heights, trying to un-handcuff a muppet from the top of an oak tree!!!)

Welcome yanks i say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Morphéus, you just stirring it now...;)

Mike.

OK, there seems to be a lot of muppetry around.... Morphéus, Man, daveirl and the rest of the ppl who, whether u r just stirring the pot for the sake of it, slagging because u don't see the point in the protests or because u think that its all silly (or whatever u want to say), r posting welcome notes to the US troops... If u support them fine but the least u could do explain ur point and position, don’t just insult or make fun of ppl and try to make their points invalid with out expressing ur point (if u actually have one) because being constructive is not that hard or bad. Guys, try to join in on the discussion not ruin it.
    But for thoughts that are actually interested in trying to do something so help so that Bush does not end up killing 1000's of innocent people in a war that it's sole porous is to gain control of the second largest oil field in the world read this:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    SAY NO TO WAR IN IRAQ

Every day brings a new development that seems to bring the world closer to war in Iraq. Surprisingly, one major force for peace could be the United Nations Security Council. Surprisingly, because the Bush administration originally seemed to have little respect or time for the United Nations. However, polls show that the US public, like most people around the world, places more faith in the United Nations than do Bush and his oil industry supporters.

So the Bush administration may need to go back to the UN Security Council before beginning a war in Iraq. If it does, Greenpeace believes that the Security Council should say No to a war in Iraq. There are many reasons for this, but one is that Iraq is not currently threatening the United States, and under international law, the United States cannot claim legitimate self-defence.

But will the UN Security Council stand up to the Bush administration? In this time of global crisis, please write to the UN ambassadors that sit on the Security Council and ask them to uphold international law and refuse to approve a war in Iraq. You can use this link:

Send your oppinion to the US security councel

To find more information and more to do, please take a look at this article:

More info on this subject from Greenpeace

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You can use the first link to send a message to the UN ambassadors to express your feelings about Bushes attempt to wage war on the Middle East.

So I'm a muppet because I don't hold your point of view? :rolleyes:
    u seem to be trying to stir the pot. So if that is right, then in my opinion yes. If not fine but I took you and a few of the others to be trying to stir the **** and be inflametory, if ur not in the group I apologise

Lads people are forgetting that one of the main rules of the politics board is being civil to each other. Remember it now !!

Snowball I've had to delete severalof your post because they were insulting others or just spam.

Gandalf.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

What effect will these protestors have on visiting industrialists to the region?

Preetty negative - I'd say.

Do they think they are making the slighest differance?

Ireland unlike Iraq has a soverign government.

THe US will not give 2 hoots about the protest in Shannon.

Where these protesters are getting the time is beyond me.

I think the Green party and the Socialist party are pretty weak - when they are focusing attention on this

Originally posted by Cork
    What effect will these protestors have on visiting industrialists to the region?

Preetty negative - I'd say.

Do they think they are making the slighest differance?

Ireland unlike Iraq has a soverign government.

THe US will not give 2 hoots about the protest in Shannon.

Where these protesters are getting the time is beyond me.

I think the Green party and the Socialist party are pretty weak - when they are focusing attention on this
    If no one says anything then Bush walks over everyone in the world and does what he wants. A direct question, honestly, do u agree with the way Bush is doing what he is doing?
    The protestors are trying to show the Irish government that there are way to many Irish people that do not agree and they are trying to get them to tell the US to refuel some wee else. The US don’t have to give 2 hoots, u do and the rest of Ireland and the world. Bush is bullying as usual because his father did it before him and he thinks that he also has the right.
    All this boils down to the same thing, the way the world works is out ancestors fault, the fact that we have no real control over the decisions our government makes is now in our hands and is up to us to change. If no one says that they are unhappy then nothing ever changes and the wrongs in the world stay there.
    As stupid as this sounds but the female revolution started because one woman would not give up her seat on a bus. One woman started that. She stood up and them more and then more. If we don’t take a stand no one will, if you do not think like that then we will live with people like Sadam and Bush and it will only get worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭DannyD

I have a message of support on the index page of www.dinneen.com which redirects to the normal site after 10 seconds.

Keep up the good work people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

If no one says anything then Bush walks over everyone in the world and does what he wants.

If there are protests in Iraq - Security forces can shoot 95% of protestors and keep the remaining 5% for interogation.

This fact was on Radio 1 yesterday.
    Bush is bullying as usual because his father did it before him

Saddam invaded Kuwait = Who was the bully??
    If no one says that they are unhappy then nothing ever changes and the wrongs in the world stay there.

We have the ballot paper to change things. We also have the right to protest unlike people in many arab countries.

But with rights come responsibilities. Our country was not attacked on September 11th. Many arab countries hate the US. I think that we owe the US and Irish America a little respect. I think the US has a right to defend itself.

China & Russia coming out aganist the US was laughable. Are these countries the new moral gaurdians of human rights?

If there are protests in Iraq - Security forces can shoot 95% of protestors and keep the remaining 5% for interogation.

This fact was on Radio 1 yesterday.
    R u sure it is a fack, I heard it was misinformation.... :D
    Saddam invaded Kuwait = Who was the bully??
    Never said he was a saint or even a stable kinda guy, he is a ****ed up little puppy that needs castration (prob, castration is a big no no in my book but for him...).
    We have the ballot paper to change things. We also have the right to protest unlike people in many arab countries.

But with rights come responsibilities. Our country was not attacked on September 11th. Many arab countries hate the US. I think that we owe the US and Irish America a little respect. I think the US has a right to defend itself.
    Defend them selves? What? like The Gulf???
    FACTS about the Gulf war:
    but if you look at what the US and Brits did to him:

-
    Madeline Albright - US Ambassadorto the UN in 1996 (Responding to the Deaths of 560,000 childern in Iraq)
    This is a very hard choice, but the price, we think, is worth it
    - Up to 250,000 men, women and children killed in the Gulf war. FACT
    - 1.8 million people made Homeless. FACT
    - Economic sanctions have stopped 97% of Iraq exports for 12 years. FACT
    - UNICEF reported that over 50% of woman and children (in Iraq) recive less that half of their daily calorific needs. FACT
    - 88,500 Tons of bombs (not 88,500 bombs but tons) dropped during the war, more that 7 times the force of Hiroshima. (The US and UK have continued to bomb Iraq) FACT
    - Less than 7% of the weapons used were smart bombs (laser guided). FACT
    - More than 70% of all the bombs dropped missed their targets completely. FACT
    - Not one Iraqi scud site were destroyed. FACT
    - Snowploughs were used to bury unknowns numbers of soldiers alive, estimeted to be 1000's, in 70 miles of trenches. FACT
    - Not one singlearmoured vehicle of the US or British military was hit by enemy fire (one US tank was lost to friendly fire). FACT
    - At lease 100,000 Iraqi soldiers wwere killed and 148 americans dies, 37 by friendly fire. FACT
    China & Russia coming out aganist the US was laughable. Are these countries the new moral gaurdians of human rights?
    France at the moment is taking a stand and ....
    Lets say for hipothetical sake that the US say to the world (which they very well might) **** you, we are going in anyways. If in that case France says no you are not and we will use force to stop, you germany will follow. If germany joins spain will prob join in and so will Italy (which has the biggest air force in the world). If they all join forces Russa, china and so on will join and the US will not ba able to take them all on.

Just another thing. If you are going to post on Boards you might want to resarch you answers if you dont want to get put down. People on boards have always had the time to look up what they are talking about and with the internet being so easy to access you have no excuse. I doubt that the treatment that you are getting is personal but more likly due to the fact that your answers seem hasty and you cant seem to back up your FACTS. It might help you to think a bit before you post.