Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Who will win the Worthington Cup?

• 22-01-2003 10:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

Well unless Blackburn get two goals in the next 20 mins it looks like it's going to be Man U v Liverpool in the Worthington Cup Final. So who do you think will win it? Obviously Man U will be favourites (as always) but the pool are back on form at the moment, so my money is on them.

Who will win the Worthington Cup Final? 22 votes

The Pool
    0% 0 votes
    The Scum
    100% 22 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Optimistic soul that I am (!) I'm voting for the Reds.
    (Well of course I am!)

In truth neither side will start that game as favourites.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Well as always I'll go with the true reds to win it out. It's about all they have a realistic chance of winning and with them 'kinda' back on form, I'll go for a narrow win for the 'pool. Hopefully:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Should be an interesting final indeedio.
    No Phil Babb and no Cantona so maybe The Real Reds shall be victorious this time round...mmm i like the smell of plastic trebles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭spanner_head

Come on the mighty reds. We can beat the scum!
    Diouf to get a hat-trick!!!

/me cannot wait till march 2nd :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

As an Everton I hate having to vote for Liverpool but as the league is now gone for them..e.They might do do the domestic cup double

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

I think Liverpool will win it. I mean Houllier has to win something this year. So it might as well start with the Worthington Cup

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

The pool! hopefully! :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Wait... you have Liverpool in the poll twice. That can't be fair.

I vote for Manchester United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

I can see this happening:

If Liverpool win it, The Scum fans will say its a mickey mouse cup.

If The scum win it will be a great cup as they beat liverpool to win it.

I want liverpool to win it but march is a long way away.I cant predict what sort of form liverpool will be in by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Enjoy the shìt cup lads :)

(God, poor auld spurtz are denied even the micky mouse ones now that the bigger teams are interested in them again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Originally posted by Space_Coyote
    Should be an interesting final indeedio.
    No Phil Babb and no Cantona so maybe The Real Reds shall be victorious this time round...mmm i like the smell of plastic trebles

Just like to Point out that Shelbourne F.C are the "REAL" reds , they wore the red jersey before liverpool or united...

As for the Match, it'll be close but Liverpool are past there bad run now so I'm hopin' they'll do it ....

Come on the POOL

Originally posted by irishgeo
    I can see this happening:

If Liverpool win it, The Scum fans will say its a mickey mouse cup.

If The scum win it will be a great cup as they beat liverpool to win it.

I want liverpool to win it but march is a long way away.I cant predict what sort of form liverpool will be in by then.
    If liverpool win it, liverpools fans will say its a mickey mouse cup?

If liverpool win it will be a great cup as they beat themselves to win it.

I'm confused... why do you keep contradicting yourself?

Anyone with half a brain would work out that " The Scum " means Scumchester United , jeees :rolleyes:

Originally posted by LizardKing
    Anyone with half a brain would work out that " The Scum " means Scumchester United , jeees :rolleyes:
    Liverpoolchester United?

Lets spell it out for the simpletons :)

Scum = Manchester

Scouse = Liverpool

Do a search in google for "Manchester Scum" and "Liverpool Scum" or even "Scumchester" or "Scumerpool" and you'll see which gets used more ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

christ... such animosity for Man Utd from the poolheads.
    funny, we couldn't give a **** about ye...

Support yer own team and don't worry about us.

Do a search in google for "Manchester Scum" and "Liverpool Scum" or even "Scumchester" or "Scumerpool" and you'll see which gets used more ......
    Oh wow... and football is meant to be some popularity contest is it?

Dumbass scouse bastards.

Ok before this gets out of hand , i'd like to explain some thing
    mainly for the benefit of "Porn Boy" who seems to have woke up this morning and forgot to plug in his brain...

I'm not saying anything about POPULARITY of teams , christ we know Manu are the most popular / biggest team in the world.

I was simply trying to point out that the use of the word "Scum" (in my opinion and from what i've been accustomed to since i've been folowing football) relates to MANCHESTER UNITED

...and in relation to animosity , of course theres animosity it's Manchester United Vs Liverpool , both teams would class the other as there biggest rival.

just trying to clear that up

from a "Dumbass Scouse Bastard."

Agreed;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

No Contest Manchester have it in the bag,Utd dont lose finals especially not to Liverpool.

By the Way Beating a First Divison team in extra time doesnt mean your back in form,winning seven out of your last eight games like Utd means you're in form :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

the scouse knackers haven't a snowball's chance in hell... united's youths team could wallop liverpool off the pitch, relegation next season for the Kop...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

originally posted by Joey D
    the scouse knackers haven't a snowball's chance in hell... united's youths team could wallop liverpool off the pitch, relegation next season for the Kop...

...It wouldn't surprise in the slightest if those youth scumburglers of man u are starting fights off the pitch...

I was simply trying to point out that the use of the word "Scum" (in my opinion and from what i've been accustomed to since i've been folowing football) relates to MANCHESTER UNITED
    Thats BS. Why do you think that people take the mick outta Liverpool for nicking hubcaps and having the highest crime rate in England... Thats my opinion anyway.

The only reason that there may be a higher number of people calling Manchester United scum is because more teams hate United for their recent sucess unlike Liverpool who haven't won a proper trophy in a decade.

Since when is the FA cup not a proper trophy.

Originally posted by jonno
    Since when is the FA cup not a proper trophy.
    Since the Scouse Scum won it.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

What an inspired answer?:rolleyes:

Originally posted by jonno
    What an inspired answer?:rolleyes:
    You asked me a short question I gave you a short answer... What seems to be the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

muppet.jpg

Listening to pornapster and yop it now appears the art of making an intelligent reply other than inulting other users have fallen into the deep dark depths of Moria. He asked you a question pornapster to which I have to say was one of the most pathetic reponses ever... do you have more than a few words apart from scouse scumbag etc in your vocabulary to answer something. Ye are by far the most idiotic pair I have ever seen on this forum in its existence (I know im not alone in this thought) ye give United fans a bad name, lord knows if I was a United fan id cringe to see people like ye following the same team as me. No one minds a good debate and a bit of a piss take but lord yeesh do ye even read what ye post? lay up on the old abuse of other users maybe hmm?

On another note I expect it to be 1-1 all after full time and extra time and to be decided on penalties :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I vote for Manchester United.
    What a surprise :rolleyes:

Played on the scum/liverpool jokes. Hilarious. No, really.

Oh, and Man Utd will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

If Rudd gets back to his scoring ways before March and the rest of the lads stay on form I can't see Liverpool's back four surviving very long. I hope its a close match with plenty of goals and not the 1-1 and peno's that Ronan suggested. Also porn you're a bloody fu<kwit. Get some insulting skills before you geting into scraps.

You asked me a short question I gave you a short answer... What seems to be the problem?

Ya but I asked an intelligent question asking your opinion, if thats the most intelligent reply you can come up with and indeed your opinion then I'd have to agree Ronan in saying that you are an embarassment to Utd supporters and to football fans in general.

Going back to the topic, I think it'll be close. Im confidant that the 'pool will turn it on and win. Maybe a free kick or two from Danny "I like scoring against Utd" Murphy. :p Here's hoping that Scholes has a bad day, otherwise we be f**ked. I still rate him as a better striker than RVN. He's a piece of genuine class. And he doesnt seem to get sick of proving it.

Originally posted by Ronan|Raven
    muppet.jpg

Listening to pornapster and yop it now appears the art of making an intelligent reply other than inulting other users have fallen into the deep dark depths of Moria. He asked you a question pornapster to which I have to say was one of the most pathetic reponses ever... do you have more than a few words apart from scouse scumbag etc in your vocabulary to answer something. Ye are by far the most idiotic pair I have ever seen on this forum in its existence (I know im not alone in this thought) ye give United fans a bad name, lord knows if I was a United fan id cringe to see people like ye following the same team as me. No one minds a good debate and a bit of a piss take but lord yeesh do ye even read what ye post? lay up on the old abuse of other users maybe hmm?
    Do you take everything this seriously Ronan? It's called slagging someone off.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

intelligent reply other than inulting other users

whats inulting mean? Difference between u ronan is that the majority of scouse fans here take the slagging and give it back, u just whinge and cry.

As for the abuse, you jumped in on Pornapster and Jonno's slapping match and you are now the one firing insults at us.

Just because ur team is playing sh*te does mean that you have to take your PMT out on the United fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Ah Yop me old withered flower, theres slagging which no one minds and theres down right constant flaming. Taking PMT out on utd fans? Id consider ye a disgrace to the decent utd fans out there. Thas my 2 cents on the issue and im leaving it there,no point dragging another thread on this forum into another pointless flaming war .

AWright , Awright , Kalm down

lets get back to the topic - It seems if we are to believe the Utd. fans , then theres no point in the Pool turning up in Cardiff , cos
    Utd. are going to win "THE QUADRUPLE" this year......

I'm sure Arsenal are sh1tting themselves too...

Anyway it seems that the Pool have gotten the Home Team dressing room for Cardiff and will be wearing their Home RED colours for the Game...

All slagging aside its a Cup final so all form goes out the window....

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Where ever you picked up the "don't turn up" idea from I am not sure, going on yer form we "should" beat but as u said cup games never go on form, I do not think Arsenal have much to worry about as they are the only ones that can fk up to lost the Prem league.

No one should even bother taken it as a given for either to defo win this as it we go back to Nov and read the scouse threads ye were all thinkin that ye were top of the league and still in the CL and oh how the mighty have fallen, give it another 2 months and we could very easily be in the same situation.

As for the scum and scouse arguement, everyone knows who a the scum and scouse fans are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Do you take everything this seriously Ronan? It's called slagging someone off.

No sorry, your employing the intensly irritating " I KNOW YOU ARE BUT WHAT AM I?" form of argument.

Please, if your going to slag people off, slag them off. If your going to engage in SOME sort of reasonable debate then do that.

Then again, being a uni'eh fan you probably dont have to do either of these things very much. Unless you count "Clayton blackmore wasnt very good really" as a debate.

Originally posted by Dustaz
    No sorry, your employing the intensly irritating " I KNOW YOU ARE BUT WHAT AM I?" form of argument.
    Yep but that all came about from the poll didn't it? Then someone took my comments seriously so I think they deserved to be irritated. Some people on these boards just cant take a joke. Yanno what I'm sayin Dustaz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Poor Porn so misunderstood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

PORNAPSTER(nothing against you personally) is a class A example of why most football fans hate manchester utd or the scum. Its because of the fans who only pledge allegiance to utd due to their recent successes in the various competitions over the past few years, not the actual man utd players.

They cant accept another team beating them graciously "oh we played the youth under 12 reserve team as we didnt really want to win because we'd make arsenal believe they had already won the league, then they would slip up due to alex fergusons dumbfounding mind games he is playing with Arsen Wenger and we'd come in with 11 new players and win the league. Lets go but the new winter united jersey"

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    PORNAPSTER(nothing against you personally) is a class A example of why most football fans hate manchester utd or the scum. Its because of the fans who only pledge allegiance to utd due to their recent successes in the various competitions over the past few years, not the actual man utd players.
    Well that isn't really the reason why I support United but that is true in some cases yes.
    Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    They cant accept another team beating them graciously "oh we played the youth under 12 reserve team as we didnt really want to win because we'd make arsenal believe they had already won the league, then they would slip up due to alex fergusons dumbfounding mind games he is playing with Arsen Wenger and we'd come in with 11 new players and win the league. Lets go but the new winter united jersey"
    This is true also, in some cases. Not all United fans are like that though. I'd say 25% of the United supporters cannot accept a team beating United. But I'm not really so much into football that I cannot accept United being beaten. I used to be but not so much now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Liverpool have also won more European Cups and league titles than Manchester United, you dense fu<k - are they still somehow proper trophies? :rolleyes: I thought yop was bad but you are really a blight on Manchester United supporters.

Originally posted by TwoShedsJackson
    Liverpool have also won more European Cups and league titles than Manchester United, you dense fu<k - are they still somehow proper trophies? :rolleyes: I thought yop was bad but you are really a blight on Manchester United supporters.
    Calm Down eh eh eh!!

CalmDown.jpg

It's called humour. You should try it some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Just back, good to see nothing's changed :rolleyes:

Going on current form it's United's trophy bu at the same time they are at the top of their game at the moment and the only way is down, Liverpool haven't had a bad run like this in quite a while so I reckon the only way is up for them. A month and a bit to go and alot can happen in that time, I Ruud and Scholes got injured then United's would be a lot weaker team.