Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

There's spam down south

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Nipped in the bud by dahamsta.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

And then trampled into the ground by me....

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mr.Peebody

please kick me out please, yeer all a shower of bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I'm confused - are we all a bunch of wanks still or have we changed to only being bastards?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I think I'd prefer to be **** bastards myself... though the jury is still out on that one.

It would seem that in Cork we are bastards, which... to be fair... is still humanoid. In Dublin we are "****" by which its unclear if he meant the verb or some icky noun!

I'm suprised we havent been called Geebags or Langers yet...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

Whereas in Limerick, Mr. "SLAYER! SLAYER!" bears a grudge against AngelWhore alone. The rest of us (by implication) are neither **** nor bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Geebag, I think people with bum-fluff above their lip use that one
    .. haven't heard that in a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Im sure the culchie population will still refer to yee as "who-ares"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Langer is far too nice an insult for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Im still convinced that cúnt is far too nice for most of you lot.

im trying to think of somthing more insulting though....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Langer is far too nice an insult for ye

Get back to work dosser!

adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by DeVore
    I'm suprised we havent been called [...] Langers yet...

You haven't crossed Roy Keane yet, have you? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

i came across a new one for me today, supposidly a term from Northside of Cork City, ala Mayfield and such

*Gone begins "norrie" mode"
    meer timi boi, ill fukin CLAIM ya boi !!
    *Gone exits "norrie" mode"

Claim Ya is not just a Northside phrase ya spacer. Claim Ya is used all over Cork, like. claim ya = I would like to start a fight with you

Daveirl: Last I know your Dept used the Uni's main proxy server which is used in most computer labs in college now.

Dahamsta: Back to work ? I'm back in a month. *cough* *sneeze*

GS: when I was a nipper (<-- insert old fogie joke here) we'd have used that term. In fact if someone "claimed ya" it meant that after school, at an organised time and place (organised by seconds in command and communicated to the spectators) you were expected to fight you claimant :)

Failure to turn up was a grave offence (and obviously considered the worst kind of loss!).

yellum: haha snared!

daveirl: Gimme a target :)

DeV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

GS: when I was a nipper (<-- insert old fogie joke here)

Do you still have the gas mask DeV?

adam

No but I bet all his workmates have em handy.... :p

GS

yes uncie dev, teach me the ways of old :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Originally posted by daveirl
    hmm both have UCC IP addresses and both are from the proxy in my department....

haha dave, don't you realise who it is... Lyonzy and Philip Murphy from Carrigaline!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

Originally posted by Mr.Peebody
    please kick me out please, yeer all a shower of bastards

I refer you to my personal website http://www.showerofbastards.com. It basically tells the story of my life for the last year. I'm sure you'll find it a lot more interesting than yours.

indeed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by Evil Phil
    I refer you to ...
    ming3_bw.jpg

Rarrrrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

In the big smoke, we just say.

"So ye tink yer hard do ya.
    want yer fukin go or wha?"

"Yeah that's right woofter boy... run back t yer ma"

and last but not least

"Wha d'ya say about my ma?"

"are ye startin"
    <loafs someone>
    "no I'm finish-in"

and such.

Originally posted by yellum
    No but I bet all his workmates have em handy.... :p

You've never worked with Regi!!!

DeV.

LOL Gordon... thats a good friend of mine!

You can find out *why* he's doing that at:
    www.ourreallybigadventure.com

Basically he is traveling the world for a year and he came up with the idea that since he didnt have to look "proper" for a day job... he'd grow a beard. Then for laughs (since he's in reasonably constant contact with us through the internet) he'd let his mates back home control what sort of beard he had to grow... well you can imagine that we took a lot of fun in suggesting stuff (though I note with concern that my suggestion of Prince's narrow pointed jowls has yet to materialise, Mr King! ) and the results were duely posted for our amusement at:

http://www.ourreallybigadventure.com/activities/Facial.html

So there you go. I have some very strange friends :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,502 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Typedef
    In the big smoke, we just say.
    What about "whatchu lookinat?!" and "You lookinat me?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

DeV.

Do you mean that you know some (many?) strange people?:D

I bet you do too!!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

DeV.

Yes, I´m currently travelling with the individual concerned, and his boird. So far we´ve met up in Thailand, New Zealand and S. America. Having a whale of a time too.