Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

the funniest or worst way to celebrate a goal.

• 24-01-2003 12:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭

henry is a little arrogant when he scores:)
    but which in your opinion has the funniest way to celebrate his goal or which one got the worst way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

funniest is when they either fall or run into the goalpost!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I find when a player celebrates in the opposing supporters section of the ground very very humourous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Since most are basically variants on the Shearer-style 'running about with your arm(s) aloft' that's impossible to say really.

Worst has to be Facundo Sava at Fulham, digging a mask out of his sock any time he scores :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭lili

haha:D
    and what do you think about henry's celebration, is it that arrogant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

Worst goal celebration: Robbie Keane after scroing against Saudi Arabia or whoever it was during the world cup - runs away to do his gymnastic routine and actually pushes lads out of the way to do his oh-so-cool 'bow and arrow' thing: what a national embarrassment, what a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,761 ✭✭✭Xterminator

I'm not a united fan, but i loved the arrogance of the Cantona celebration.

And i neraly pissed meself when Robbie fowler sniffed the line after scoring. He took the piss out of the miserable rags whoi were plastering ****e about him all week.

I never did think there was anything wrong with that one.

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Weirdest was michael duberry for chelsea scored ran over to the corner flag and pulled his shorts down,what the fùck was that about?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Lee Sharpe - runs to the flag and holds it like a mike, wiggly his ass like the batty boy that he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

Cantona was a class act alright or what about beckham when he scored against wimbeldon from the half way line???
    He just stood there with his arms in a kinda Y shape as if to say "How good am I!!" Class!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Cantona's was the best. He must have spent hours in front of a mirror checking out his arrogant w*nker poses. Great man. Another good one is the Nigerian bloke who does about 15 back flips across the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Originally posted by joey D
    Worst goal celebration: Robbie Keane after scroing against Saudi Arabia or whoever it was during the world cup - runs away to do his gymnastic routine and actually pushes lads out of the way to do his oh-so-cool 'bow and arrow' thing: what a national embarrassment, what a tosser.

Wasn`t RAUL doing that one years before tinker boy keane starting doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

I thought the 'sniffing' Fowler one was very good. Stupid FA officials then banned him to protect the rags that make them look good.

I like Lua Lua's celebration. Always laugh at that.

As for the worst, well it's Shearer's little sprint with one armed out streached, big goofy grin on his face and with his back in Quasimodo mode.:o

/prays for Shearer not to score again(ever)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭lili

Originally posted by Waylander
    Cantona's was the best. He must have spent hours in front of a mirror checking out his arrogant w*nker poses. Great man. Another good one is the Nigerian bloke who does about 15 back flips across the pitch.

hey! don't talk bad about my favourite player!:mad:

"when the seagulls follow the fisher's boat, it's probably cause sardines will be thrown into the sea"

wasn't great?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭peeve

Originally posted by yop
    Lee Sharpe - runs to the flag and holds it like a mike, wiggly his ass like the batty boy that he is

memories of roger milla :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭peeve

Worst has to be Facundo Sava at Fulham, digging a mask out of his sock any time he scores :rolleyes: [/B]

I gotta say i like that celebration - it's different - some would say he's looking for attention but i think it's great - give the guy a break - he doesnt score that often!

my current favourite is forlans celebration (especially when he scored his 1st - poor guy didnt what to do, where to go, then couldnt get his shirt back on,made a tackle barechested then sent to the touchline to put it back on!) - i think its the nike shirt that makes it.

1 from the world cup which i thought was a bit weird was from senegal - when they threw the shirt on the ground and did a war dance around it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by jonno
    I thought the 'sniffing' Fowler one was very good. Stupid FA officials then banned him to protect the rags that make them look good.
    my personal favourite:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,586 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Joe Duffy had a woman on there from Terenure I think it was. Apparently her son get his head stuck in a tin of quick drying wood stain while celebrating a world cup goal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

was it Asprilla who nearly destroyed the advertising boardings. you'd swear he missed a sitter the way he celebrated.

Fowler and the line sniffing is my favourite :p

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    was it Asprilla who nearly destroyed the advertising boardings. you'd swear he missed a sitter the way he celebrated.

Fowler and the line sniffing is my favourite :p
    I think it was that Temuri Ketsbia guy that kicked it. I believe he got in a bit of trouble over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Best one was Maradona in World Cup '94 after scoring against Greece, ran up to de camera with an evil grimace on his face. Lovely.

There was some lad last week that scored for some 1st/2nd/3rd division English team I think, and he pulled a feckin Mars bar out of his sock and ate half it !!!
    Now that's weird...:confused:

I remember one time in the FA cup. Some guy scored and tried to retrieve the ball and he punched the goalkeeper in the face in doing so and got sent off. That was quite funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Saw one a couple of weeks ago from the nationwide league was class, guy scores > runs over to corner flag > bends it and aims it like a machine gun at his team mates who are on their way to celebrate with him > they then fall on the pitch as if shot !!

Worked out deadly, excellent stuff.

Anyone remember Gordon Strachan, in the 86 world cup trying to jump over the advertising hoarding to get to the fans. He tried four or five times but couldn't climb over it and gave up in the end. That was very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

Originally posted by yop

Yeah, Sharpey used to have a few at United, "The Three Amigos" was one from what I can remember [the kinda dance routine from the film of the same name]....and the "Sharpey Shuffle" from the days he banged in a hat-trick at Arsenal.....all those years ago!

Paul Ince and Ryan Giggs had a really intricate celebration whenever one or the other of them scored, near 1992-93 direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭Darkillion

it was gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

loved the ince / giggs celebration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Anyone remember Gordon Strachan, in the 86 world cup trying to jump over the advertising hoarding to get to the fans. He tried four or five times but couldn't climb over it and gave up in the end. That was very good

LMFAO - I had forgotten that one....
    I think it was that Temuri Ketsbia guy that kicked it. I believe he got in a bit of trouble over it.

It was like he had missed the goal or something.... really weird... I think it was cause he was gettin a lot of stick for not scoring.

Worst = Alan "boring" Shearer.... what a tosser
    Best = Cantona - class

Ian Wright used always do a bit of a crazy celebration.

the fella for Farnborough town that did the imitation of a snooker player was an original. i think it was because people said he looked like Peter Ebdon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Robbie Keane after scroing against Saudi Arabia or whoever it was during the world cup - runs away to do his gymnastic routine and actually pushes lads out of the way to do his oh-so-cool 'bow and arrow' thing: what a national embarrassment, what a tosser

This was a gesture to someone at home that he'd promised. Don't see why he should be slated for it. Who knows what it meant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Did Tony Adams not get injured during a goal celebration at Wembly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I think you’re thinking of Steve Morrow who broke his collarbone after falling off Tony Adams while celebrating the 1993 League Cup final win.

Thierry Henry once required treatment after hitting himself in the face with the corner flag after a Lee Sharpe-type goal celebration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

Dennis Berkgamp celebration against Sunderland were he held his hand over his mouth to make look like he was shocked he'd scored a blinder was funny and lets not forget ian wrights were he lift'd his shirt up to reveal a t-shirt sayin 179 just did it was class the man had so much confidence he would brake the record legend of th gunners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭dragon heart

i thought damien duffs celebration was excellent during the world cup!!!when he bowed to the crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I remember one time in the FA cup. Some guy scored and tried to retrieve the ball and he punched the goalkeeper in the face in doing so and got sent off. That was quite funny.
    wud of loved to seen dat one i wud also like to see someone running into a post! dat wud be hilarious id piss meself! but the most favouite i have seen wud be robbie fowler sniffing at the ground

Originally posted by The Reaper
    i wud also like to see someone running into a post! dat wud be hilarious id piss meself!
    I've seen Andrei Kanchelskis run into the post at Landsdowne Road for Mick McCarthy's first game in charge of Ireland. He didn't score, but it was funny none the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

did he land flat on the ground????????????
    aw man i wud die with laughter!!!!!:eek: :rolleyes: :):D:D:p:D:D:p:D

There is always the Phil Babb slide into the post. I am pretty sure he didn't "score" for quite some time after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭dragon heart

does anyone remember when babb went sliding into the posts when playing for liverpool???OMG i couldnt stop laughing

Originally posted by The Reaper
    did he land flat on the ground????????????
    aw man i wud die with laughter!!!!!:eek: :rolleyes: :):D:D:p:D:D:p:D
    I think he did as far as I know.

That Babb one was quite funny too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Cody Hanna

There was one just a few weeks ago, where Man Utd scored and had a big orgy at the corner flag. The ref was trying to get them to restart the game, when Rio Ferdinand jumped up on top of the group and slapped the ref in the face.

He apologised straight away, but ya could see he'd done it on purpose. Cheeky git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

My favourite was a couple of years ago. I can't remember who did it but the guy who scored pretended to take a sword out its scabbard. The lad who laid on the ball knelt down in front of him. The scorer knighted him and then put his sword back and bowed his head.

I despise Henry, have you seen when he misses a sitter he always looks back for a divet as he can't believe that he could possibly be at fault.

Regarding Ian Wright at the 179 goals, how could that be construed as being arrogant as he was already on 178 and was playing Wimbledon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

i didnt mean wright was arrogant i ment he had such belive in himself to break the record that it was top class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

My misunderstanding. I was saying that it would be arrogant if he showed off the t-shirt still requiring say 50 goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gatheringdust

Originally posted by NekkidBibleMan
    Joe Duffy had a woman on there from Terenure I think it was. Apparently her son get his head stuck in a tin of quick drying wood stain while celebrating a world cup goal!

No, it was Clontarf......

ds.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Anyone remember some minnow team in the FA cup abour 6 ot 8 years ago where the entire team waddled around like ducks?