Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ur top 5 games ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭cueball

LOL is that how you spend your time?
    (joke) interesting reading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭StarScream

why has noone mentioned the x-wing series?
    1 goldeneye
    2 ff7
    3 Tiefighter
    4 x-wing alliance
    5 streetfighter 2 special champion edition

and most 3d platformers on n64

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Firefox

1. Half Life
    2. Quake III Arena (DC Online..Brill!!)
    3. Soul calibur
    4. Elite (Amiga/ST)
    5. C+C Series.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,581 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

pfffffffff, Half Life isn't that great. DON'T YOU ALL REMEMBER THE ALIEN LEVELS? And no highly pixelated, semi nude women in sight! Think, people! Think!

Eye ham zee Walroos.
    You ham zee Flyhead.

• Registered Users Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

1. Sensible Soccer
    2. No-One Lives Forever
    3. Indiana Jones Fate of Atlantis
    4. Frontier: Elite
    5. Mega-Lo-Mania

Runners up:
    Zelda 64;
    Mario 4;
    Monkey Island 1;
    X-Wing v Tie-Fighter;
    Civilisation;
    Lure of The Temptress (by rebellion who now do the broken sword stuff);
    True Love (dirty pr0n game - very good though);
    Exile (old amiga game, little spaceman with back thruster, very rare);
    Soldier of Fortune (dig that gore);

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Anyone play CTR (Crash Team Racer) on PS? Kicks Mario carts ass bigtime..

Anyways my list

QW
    HL
    Q1
    Q3
    UT

Al (no, that's my name)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 *Harlequin*

I can't believe it took until today for somebody to mention Sensi.

This list is not order specific.

Sensi Soccer (Amiga)
    Goldeneye (N64)
    UT (PC)
    CM Series (Amiga/PC)
    Zelda (SNES)

I know it said 5 but I have to have a special commendation for Speedball 2 (Amiga/Megadrive)

Forgot to agree that Doom & Final Doom (PS) on link up were awesome fun.

[This message has been edited by *Harlequin* (edited 29-04-2001).]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

In no order:

Zelda 3 (SNES)
    QW (PC)
    Q3 (PC)
    FF7 (PC)
    SF2 (SNES)

approximations.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

5. Civilisation series
    4. Team Fortress\QW nyom nyom smile.gif
    3. Tie Fighter ... with all the addons
    2. Sam n Max hit the road
    1. Monkey Island series

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 *Harlequin*

Sam & Max, now that was a quality game.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

In no real order:

UT
    Tribes 1
    Aoe Ror
    C&C retaliation(like the rest too but this is pref.)
    Civ 1&2
    and some more:
    BOTF
    Half Life (and addon's)
    Aoe 2 Aok

"just because ur not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after u!"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

TFC
    Half Life
    Deus Ex
    Total Annihilation
    Conflict Freespace 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Where to begin, where to begin....

I suppose the fairest thing to do is to categorize them (there's no way I could just pick 5), so I'll start with my favorite 5 nostalgia games. And in no particular order:

1)Sam&Max Hit the Road(and all other LucasArts adventure games)

2)Pirates!(a game way ahead of its time)

3) Wolfpack(still the best sub sim ever made imho)

4) X-wing flight-sim series

5) Command&Conquer 1(the only truly balanced C&C to date- subsequent versions have seen unbalanced sides unfortunately)

Well those are my five fave "old" games...loads more that I enjoyed though- just too many to list here.

Bob the Unlucky Octopus
    =Forte et Honorum=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Digital Tilmitt

1)Final Fantasy 7
    2)Final Fantasy 9
    3)Final Fantasy 8
    4)Final Fantasy 6
    5)Final Fantasy 1

Isn't FF great?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

1. Final Fantasy 7
    2. Metal Gear Solid
    3. Half-Life (Including mods)
    4. Silent Hill
    5. Street Fighter 2 (Arcade)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

1. Deus Ex
    2. Civilization 1/2
    3. Gran Turismo 1/2
    4. Zelda 64
    5. Counter Strike

<sig>Insert witty signature here</sig>

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

QuakeWorld
    StarCraft
    CounterStrike/Half-Life
    Microprose Grand Prix 1 on the Amiga(I don't say either of the other 2 because there haven't been any really major changes since the 1st one)
    Frontier on the Atari ST (the first game I was truely addicted to)

Redesigned

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

1) - Kane (C64) Extremely Addictive (But only had 4 levels of over 3 difficulty settings) - Still amazing fun and involved shooting Migrating Birds through the throat with Bow & Arrows and used an ever so funny synthesized "SQUAK" noise when they flopped like a rock from the sky - Also involved shooting gangsters in the face with a Six-Shooter (and even they went "SQUAK"... Great Fun...

2) - Mission: Impossible (C64) - A truly impossible game (As the name implies) and seriously tense... Used the same graphical system as Kane (For the main character) and also had a cool sound for if you fell off screen... "Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh" etc etc

3) - Syndicate (Amiga) - Has anyone actualy mentioned this game here? It's truly one of the best Amiga games around (And one of the best games ever, infact, according to lots...) Seriously, I always packed my agents with nothing but Shotguns and a Flamethrower each for backup biggrin.gif

4) - Resident Evil (PSX) - Was the scariest in the "Evil" Series up to date, still amazing despite the release of it's brothers Res 2, 3, Veronica, and the Shoot-Em-Up version... The Half-Life Res Mod is on the way, and it's looking amazing...

5) - Renegade (Spectrum) - The best Beat 'Em ' Up on the Speccy, and it ****ing owned the C64 version, yet the C64 version of the sequel owned the Speccies Sequel (Typical)... This game had some serious playability, and the ability to lob your enemies over the shoulder into the rest of them was great, and you also had the chance to grab and knee your opponent multiple times in the groin (In time with a synthesised crackle sound - yum) depending on the difficulty you were on... the harder it got, the more beating they took, and you take great pleasure out of standing there, kneeing this bald knife weilding tramp in the balls for a whole two minutes before he decides to give in... Lobbing the guys off onto the train track on level one was amazing also...

Golly, why is it the Classic Comps always made the most playable / addictive games out there...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

In no particular order...

Mario kart (snes)

Mario 64 - OMG i remember seeing a mario's head as it started up, my jaw nearly hit the floor. the game was just pure class, brought my jaw the rest of the way down wink.gif revolutionized platform games

Metal gear solid

Shenmue - cant wait for the sequel, a game that REALLY engrossed me, not being a great RPG fan and all

Sonic 2 - released on sonic TWOsday, biggest launch of a video game ever afaik

Lots of others really and there's not much between them but these are just ahead by an inch

It's a 106 miles to Chicago. We've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

HIT IT!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

1. Elite (Atari ST)
    2. Half life (+ mods)
    3. Xenon 1 (Atari ST)
    4. Impossible Mission (C64)
    5. Dungeon Master (Atari ST)

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by TinCool:

4. Impossible Mission (C64)
    </font>

Oh dear god... I had the cheek to name it one of my favourites and then spelled the name wrong...

Not Mission: Impossible.... Impossible Mission (Number 2, in fact - Never played the first...)

Impossible Mission II Intro - "Another visitor... Stay awhile... Staaaaayyyy foreverrrrr" *(Corny Synthesized voice that only the C64 / Speccy could produce)*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

Just a questioon about master of magic.
    Is it identical to age of wonders?

If there's one thing I hate, it's people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

1:Tribes 1/2 smile.gif
    2:Tribes 1/2 smile.gif
    3:CS
    4:GoldenEye
    5:Mario Cart.

Simple as that.

Citer le Cordeau "JennyRooba" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

This is tough... i would say

1) Final Fantasy 7
    Without a doubt. As any of you who know me will surely know.

2) Doom 2
    I played it through so many times ive forgotten. iD will never do as well again.

3) Elite (Amstrad CPC)
    Classic game. Nuff said.

4) CastleVania: Symphony of the Night
    The best platformer ever. No contest.

5) Dark Reign
    Beats C&C all over with a nasty big stick.

Honourable mentions: Tribes 1, Counter-Strike, ChronoTrigger, Final Fantasy 5, Final Fantasy 6, Dead or Alive, Soul Calibur.

Id better stop now before i get carried away and list every game i ever liked.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Oh and Civilisation 2. Forgot about it - it has to get a mention.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Prof.Frink

MY TOP FIVE frown.gifNot In Any Order)
    1.Smackdown! 2
    2.Crash Team Racing
    3.Sonic 2(especially with Sonic & Knuckles)
    4.NHL 2001(PS 2)
    5.Red Alert 2

Glaven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Sliotar

NHL on ps2 was good craic, but i dont think any hockey game (or any sports game) has come close to EA Hockey on the mega drive. should've include that in my top5 actually....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭RAY

yeah that hockey game ws class the only reason i remembered playing it was becuase u can fight smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Digital Tilmitt

I forgot about Sonic. Those games were great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Dark-Ninja

5. Time Crisis 2/Zone
    4. Tie Fighter/X-Wing Series
    3. AHL (what a laugh smile.gif)
    2. BnW
    1. Counter-Strike!!!!!!!!!!!!

So many more games i like though, like Jedi Night or Star Wars Racer (in the arcade, with all the gadgets and hoodgemee wotzits smile.gif)

|** Signing Off **|
    [-FI-]-Dark-Ninja-
    Vice Clan Leader and Match Arranger