Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's your Phantom moment?

• 13-08-2001 11:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Everyone one of us here at the good ship Phantom have a memorable moment that happened on air or had something to do with Phantom. What's yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Mine would have to be the Phantom close-down gig in Whelans earlier on this year. A great night, great bands and what about the "Phantom will be back" chant. Damn good it was!

Definitely the arrival of the exceptional Steve Conway! (Is there a nicer guy in the universe?)

Ditto that! Steve rocks! He played our cd in good rotation this last while so thats my moment! That and hearing brando & skindive for the first time off the station!

Sinister Pete's low-fi American rock and roll show thingumy, where he had the big angry voice on the whole time. That was kick-ass.
    Not really a moment...but anyway, whatever.

Jump on the band wagon and give the thumbs up to Steve Conway also for my favorite Phantom moments, played our demo, Presence and F*ache demo also ...champion of the unsigned band....and a sound fella too!!

otranome_mail@yahoo.com

my moment would have to be when phantasm was in the beanery, and i remember talking to sinister pete for a while.

ahh, the memories. sniff.

yeah, will have to go with steve conway's morning show!! fair play for supporting new bands! hats off 2 u man!

Ye I have to agree with Thomas- Best moment and worst all rolled into one;

When I woke up to my mobile with the worst hangover of this year, in a strange house to " get to the radio now!". And there it was, the lovely morning voice of Steve Conway actually playing our c.d without bribery - wonderfull!
    (missed the song though, cause I had to go throw up, all that excitement and a bad hangover - not a good mix!)

totally,ive heard all the jivers like presence and otranome<as requested by johhny g in rathfarnam today,i was very pleased and surprised that sum1 who dont know the band made a request-the wrod is jiving> on his show.
    gosh darn i cant wait to get up on stage-legitimatlly-and also to see these dam bands play.

the funniest thing i remember happening on phanotm was years ago...was it the spring of '97 or '98? And someone phoned in to announce the death of an avid phanotm listener, i THINK it was donal in glasnevin, or somehitng like that, and he rang in an hour later, so indignant about being called dead on air. Class...

Or maybe when i met the Porn King....

The two pete's on a sunday night used to have me in stitches

mine had to be, if i remember correct, when there was an interview with ollie from turn and he accidentally gave away the location of the studio onair. there was a huge silence, then swiftly on to the next topic...

- "just because i don't care doesn't mean i don't understand" - homer simpson

I think fo rme, one of the biggest moments was getting to interview comedian Rich Hall live on air. He's unbelievably funny but he can take you to task if he wants.

Think for me it was the time I heard Groop Dogdrill and Blameless on the same day. 2 bands from my home-town. The singer from Blameless used to work in the same warehouse as me and they got in the top 10 in the UK and split up a year or so later.
    Since moving over to this country theres not many things that remind you of home, South Yorkshire, but hearing these 2 on a fookin great radio station like this can almost bring the hankies out.
    p.s. Groop Dogdrill are still going, they played in london the other night tho theyve got no label and little support but 2 of the best albums behind em youre likely to hear. Steve Conway if you read this, I know they arent from Dublin but they need all the support they can get, maybe one mornin????

Mr Conway, Thankyou thankyou thankyou.

I've only got one moment and it's not really even a moment.....but it's mine so there!

I was listening to an interview (some band I don't know who) a couple of weeks ago and after about 10 mins into it the questioner starter repeating himself, then one of the band members then another and another - like a continual loop with all the voices mixed up. Did anyone else here that or was it just the acid?

I heard a good one live on Lyric Fm as well (don't boo)
    Some singer was speaking to the interviewer from the Presidents residence in the Phoenix park. She was a bit of a snooty old bag to say the least, but the interviewer was pretty professional about the whole thing.

Talking about concert dates and what music she liked and so on - and then the interview was over and they went to music. But unfortunately (for the poor sap who was presenting) he could still be heard loud and clear above the music giving out yards about the old bird - he called he a "****ing *****" if I remember correctly - class!! tongue.gif

I'm tryin' reeal hard, to be the shepherd.

The funniest moment for me is when I decided to terrorise Jack Hyland on air...well I texted in asking was he single along with some suitable obscenities. He replied live on air and I swear you could actually hear him blushing! As far as I remember that one kept me laughing for a good hour afterwards!

I think my favourite Phantom moment was the time one of the DJS - Brian Graham, I think - told everyone that I was really nice... just cos I requested some song that he didn't like, so I asked for something else that he liked. Sounds pretty sad, now that I think about it, but it really made my day!!

And of course, could anyone ever beat the Phantom closedown party?? A gig to end all gigs, in my humble opinion!!

I can remember a few years ago when I was living in a house with very old telephone wiring. I phoned in a request with a few friends one evening, which as duly played. A while later we were sitting in the kitchen drinking coffee still listening to the radio when the dj (can't remember who) was wondering on air why nobody had been phoning in any requests for a long while, in fact not since those mad girls who had been wanting to hear the pixies. Being those mad girls ourselves we looked at each other in confusion, then wondered out to the hall where the phone was not quite on the hook and making a very strange beeping noise. Somehow we'd tied up the phantom phone line.

[i did that to a dj once to

i also got brian graham to sing happy birthday to me on air (an achievment)
    and when mike morrow was still around, and there was this massive party on in my house, we phoned in a request and got everyone to yell down the phoneat him...he may even have stuck it on air, i cant remember

My Phantom moment was when someone played Frank Zappa's Bobby Brown. It was special cos i never heard Frank on the radio before.

Play more Frank Zappa you Turn loving grease monkeys

francie brady not a Bad ******* anymore Diploma

Anyone hear War of the Worlds a little while back?

def the phant closing down gig, amazing night, amazing bands, atmosphere, chanting, ppl everything, was perfect

Favourite Phantom moment? Hmmm, probably crashing the car listening to some god awful girlie hour one day. For some reason I ended up driving a band around Dublin one day in search of Litton Lane hire and their trusty Fender Twin amps. Unbeknownst to us they had moved from Litton Lane and the traffic was a *****. Adding insult to injury the radio was stuck on Phantom (we broke the dial off earlier in a bizarre coffee purchasing incident)and we had to put up with two screaming girls and a s hite load of Breeders records.

We were thick, it was 6pm, we'd no amp. In efforts to change the station we crashed into a bus. The car was doomed, the gig ended up being a blinder (even if it was in Isaac Butts) and those girls still play the same Breeders records.

That's one hell of a moment!

C'mon there must be others... Share with us!!!

if i post this post wont it become a burning topic????
    im trying to think of a moment...i think ive run out of them. i remember i sued to really annoy you sinister pete, by giving you HUUUUGE lists of people to dedicate songs to. i apologise now.

another time was when for a joke me and (grrrrr) sid the leper rang in looking for a blind date for a joke...and we actually met up with these two guys and it was just a big distaster, and then mike morrow tried to start this great big slagging match by getting us to tell him to say *****y things about the other guys on air but it didnt work!!

Yeah I remember that. Long names too.

Well last night's Brando gig goes down as a moment alright. Big dedication to all the phantom lads and lassies from Elton which was really fantastic. If that wasn't enough someone gave me a T-shirt with Sinister Pete printed on it. I was so chuffed! Thanks Jenny!

pete!!
    and nicole!!!
    plus you got 2 meet us finally!
    j

Can't remember if it was Phantom or back in the Spectrum days, but remember the storm at Christmas? Riders on the Storm was playing just before the transmitter got knocked out!

Well, I'll never forget finding Phantom for the first time on my car radio in June 2000 when I'd arrived back in Dublin after living in the UK.

I was driving round Dublin looking for accomodation, and thought the music played during the daytime was cool.

Then 4pm came, and I discovered there were real live people there too, and the first Phantom DJ I heard was Alison, whose music choice is excellent, and I just thought "WOW, this is a station I want to work for".

Meeting Sinister for the first time, I expect a big, fat, bearded, jovial American . . .

And doing that programme on Christmas Day last year when I expected to be broadcasting to just half a dozen people or so who were alone at Christmas, and ended up taking more than a hundred requests!

Steve

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Sinister Pete:
    If that wasn't enough someone gave me a T-shirt with Sinister Pete printed on it. I was so chuffed! Thanks Jenny!</font>

No probs! I hope it fits ok! wink.gif