Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Utd v Arsenal Match Predictions

• 12-02-2003 4:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭

So the big match at the weekend is only a few days away. Many think it will be an indication of the rest of the season. I think it is just a cup game and will not really have a bearing on the final destination of the premiership . Anyway am looking to see how you think the match will pan out. Please leave any anti/pro Roy Keane comments aside and just talk about the game. Me personally I think United with home advantage will win by the odd goal!

What will the outcome of the United v Arsenal cup match be? 22 votes

United Wun
    0% 0 votes
    Arsenal Win
    54% 12 votes
    Draw
    45% 10 votes

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

United to win 2-1 RVN and Scholesy to score for United. After opener from Pires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    United to win 2-1 RVN and Scholesy to score for United. After opener from Pires.
    porn ur probaly right but ill say a draw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭dragon heart

3-1 to united RVN(2) and giggs(50 yard run and blast it top corner)!!! serious though i hope to see united win but who ever does win IMO will take the league also!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Arsenal to play the best football, dominate the game and a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

united 1-0 arsenal

folrlan with a 30 yard screamer in the 87th minute.....guaranteed, put money on it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

have no idea. its a cup game, anything can happen just look at the last time they met.

I do think a draw is unlikely though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

it wont be a draw whoever wins it*united of course* will win it in the 90 minutes. me thinks3-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Gone for a draw but quietly hoping for Arsenal win...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭BKtje

man u to win 2-1 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

It'll be a 2-2 draw, best game of the season so far (it will be). And then to put the cherry on the icing on the cake, Ferguson gets taken out by a sniper, and Gary Neville becomes their new manager, with his sister Philomena as his lovely assistant !!!

YNWA

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Hope we win but hard to call, arse could hockey us if they come at us

GWAN THE GUNNERS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

1-0 to United. Keano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

NT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Saturday at 12.05 on BBC1. Kick-off is at 12.15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gatheringdust

i think it'll be 2-1 to united....ruud and a late winner from scholes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

a game like this is impossible to call.

i wonder if i'll be celebrating or drowning my sorrows after the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Gooners to play them off the pitch, score 2-1

x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gatheringdust

how can Arsenal win when they hardly beat fulham a few weeks back??

ds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Chippy Brady

Big deal!!! Utd didn't exactly trounce birmingham did they? It's the fa cup, league form goes out the window and anyway arsenal are still above utd in the league table the last time I looked at it!!!

arsenal are looking over their shoulders tho cos sir alex and co are breathing right down their necks :)

Half time

Utd 0 1 Arsenal

What a miss! :D I wish I could miss
    like that!

Mike.

GOAL! 2-0 :)

- kaids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭corkey

:( keano ?

Originally posted by corkey
    :( keano ?

Who?

Easy easy easy

Dustaz/Kaids/every arsenal fan everwhere :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Vierra was the man today well assisted by Pires,Edu,and the two rocks in defence Keown and Campbell were great too.
    Vierra showed why some say hes the best midfielder in Britain,he was sensational as were Arsenal while missing Bergkamp,Lungberg and with Henry sitting on bench.

Utds midfield might as well have been in bed...

Arsenal showed why they'll win the league.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Man that was so so easy for the Gooners.
    I don't think Suralecks will be very pleased with United's 'performance' one bit.
    As for Giggs...i'm sure Ronny Rosenthal was laughing his bollix off at that miss...at least Ronny hit the bar!!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I am still not sure if they beat us off the pitch or we did not turn up! Was very very poor, Keane was a no show, if it was the worthless cup then I would have said "did not care" but they have to give a toss about the FA cup. They did to us what we did to them in the league, fair play to them with half a team out they taught us a lesson.
    Giggs - won't even comment

Sin e an sceal. Hard to see them been stopped in winning the comp out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Even though Utd were appaling Lauren feighning injury late on in the second was a disgrace also Van Nistelrooy should have been sent off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Arsenal showed why they'll win the league

Oh jesus...im not even going to bother commenting on such a stupid remark.

neither of nistlerooy's challenges were that bad. The one on keown coulda been bad and was booked for it, the second was just s abit mis timed and imo didnt mean to hurt whatever arsenal player it was. People are too quick to call for sendings off!

To the game, Arsenal were lucky that miss cant hit the broad side of a barn with his right foot as if that had gone in , we woulda had a totally different match imo. Neither team was impressive 1st half.

2nd half, overall, Arsenal deserved the win. They stroked it about, hustled and generally looked more awake. fair play to them. Man u played dire.

Man u can still get revenge in the league, tho i doubt it will happen. Arsenal will do the dbl again. Man u will win the worthless cup and semis of the c league :p

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Samba
    Oh jesus...im not even going to bother commenting on such a stupid remark.
    Why is it stupid ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Because you dont judge the outcome of the rest of the league over one game, both teams have shown that when they are on form they both look like they are going to see some silverware

That match was by no way the two teams playing at their best.

If they were, Mike would have a good point, but that was not the case today.

Sorry for being so blunt Mike65, I should simply have said the above :)

No offence Samba ( I just assumed you're a pissed -off Utd Fan! :D )

However in the 2nd half the passing, control and composure both in defence and attack showed why I think Arsenal will win the title and are the best team in England, and I say that as a Liverpool fan, even I know quality when I see it!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I only saw the Highlights on MOTD. I had heard that Arsenal played Utd off th pitch but I watched it anyway. What I saw was Arsenal score two goals from one and a half chances and United hit the post several times. I do not think Barthez made a save. Ole hit the post and Giggs missed three scorweable chances so I think Arsenal were lucky enough to win that game. I know I am going to get shot for that but I am going by what I saw on the Highlights. I know Arsenal had a lot of possession but they created very few clear chances.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Fair play to Arsenal. They played well. But Giggs?! What the hell were ya thinking of man? You had time to get on your knees and head it into the feckin goal! Arsenal only really had two chances and they took both of them. They would have had another if it wasn't for Super Wes. I hope I'm wrong about what I said in my earlier post here. I hope.

:(

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Waylander
    I only saw the Highlights on MOTD. I had heard that Arsenal played Utd off th pitch but I watched it anyway. What I saw was Arsenal score two goals from one and a half chances and United hit the post several times. I do not think Barthez made a save. Ole hit the post and Giggs missed three scorweable chances so I think Arsenal were lucky enough to win that game. I know I am going to get shot for that but I am going by what I saw on the Highlights. I know Arsenal had a lot of possession but they created very few clear chances.
    Both sides created a few chances. It was the opposite with the keepers though, Seaman barely touched the ball the entire match, any chances Utd got went wide or over (hehehehe :)). Barthez had a lot more to do... couple of saves from long shots or free kicks, corners and 1on1s. And of course he had to pick the ball out of the net twice.

The match was far from the classic people expected it to be.
    Once Arsenal got that lucky goal it was uphill for man u, When arsenal got the 2nd it was all over and arsenal just stroked it around and kinda killed the game off. Arsenal deserved the win imo but arrrrgh was i pissed off :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh my poor head is in bits. i'll have to give up drink for a while but it was worth it.

it amazes me how Giggs scored what is for me the finest FA Cup goal in history a few years back then missed one of the easiest goals in the FA Cup

HEY DID YA ALL HEAR ABOUT FERGUSON???
    HE LOST THE HEAD IN THE DRESSING ROOM AFTERWARDS AND KICKED A BOOT AT DAVID BECKHAM AND HE HAD TO GET 2 STICHES! AAAAAAAAHAHAHHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA!

GWAN THE GUNNERS!!
    AHAHAHA GIGGS LOSSER!-HOW DID YA MISS???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Slayer Slayer.....

Is mentioned on a few of the other threads alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Originally posted by dragon heart
    3-1 to united RVN(2) and giggs(50 yard run and blast it top corner)!!! serious though i hope to see united win but who ever does win IMO will take the league also!!!
    Nearly right. Apart from the 3 - 1 and the top corner. Correct about the 50 yard run and the blast bit. And probably right about the league thing.