Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metallica-RDS Tickets 1st march

• 20-02-2003 2:43pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey didnt see this mentioned around here so i thought I'd let you all know the tickets for metallica go on sale at 9a.m. on March 1st.

Here's what i got from the ticketmaster mailing list:

|_____METALLICA / LINKIN PARK_____|

RDS ARENA, DUBLIN
    AUGUST 20TH 2003

On Aug 20th 2003 the birth of a new festival takes place in Ireland which will
    begin the first
    year of it's life as a one-day event at the RDS Showgrounds in Dublin - and will
    grow in the
    next few years to become a 2-3 day, 5 stage, with camping festival at the
    stunning Stradbally
    Hall estate in Stradbally, Co. Laois.

This festival will twin itself with the world renowned Reading Festival in
    London (and Leeds
    Festival). And will grow to become Reading Ireland.

"Metal isn't dead" states James Hetfield, "it's just been resting in the
    Sanitarium!" And
    it'll be let loose this August when the rock legends Metallica and nu metal
    superstars Linkin
    Park co-headline a gig at The RDS Arena on August 20th. These two super groups
    will be head to
    head and tearing up the decibel levels at this quaint Dublin 4 venue after
    touring America
    together under the 'Second Summer Sanitarium Tour' (with Limp Bizkit).

Tickets go on sale March 1st at 9.00am and will be available from:

www.ticketmaster.ie

Dregin

**edit**
    muhh just saw this lost in the other Metallica thread.I think the announcement does deserve a thread of its own anyway.If this is wasting space feel free to delete it.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yeah I heard all this yesterday. Didn't want so say anything because I only heard it from a friend. Looks like I'll be sleeping outside Ticketmaster then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Ads are now being broadcast for the gig on the radio. Heard one on FM104 on my way to work this morning.

Tickets will be €59.50, which is fairly reasonable.

The ads are saying "tickets on sale NOW" ... this isn't true. - They go on sale tomorrow week (Sat March 1st).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

yeah but ticketmaster don't generally do what they say they're gonna do... look at the whole eminem thing... some friends of mine were planning to get tickets but then they all sold out before the day they were supposed to go on sale...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

ill be workin friday nite which works in well
    cuz ill have a few drinks after work then
    head up the town with me sleepin bag and
    wait till morn so itll be well done and
    handy enough for ME! yuppeee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Um, fair play to ya Reaper...

I'll buy my tickets on the web in the comfort of a warm office. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

ye ill b doin the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

You propably wont need to queue the night before to get the tickets, I'd say there will be plenty of time to get them after they go on sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

well screw that, ph3n0m wont be at metallica, would like to go since they put on a good live set, but jesus thats a bit pricey for some crap bands :)

Originally posted by Bard
    Um, fair play to ya Reaper...

I'll buy my tickets on the web in the comfort of a warm office. :p
    I wouldn't be so sure about that now Bard... Last time my brother tried that, when he was getting tickets for the WWE event in Belfast on ticketmaster.ie, the page wouldn't load for him because of a server overload. And that was half an hour before they were supposed to be on sale. And he was on an ISDN line too. So just make sure you can get online before everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

The way that Ticketmaster e-mail puts it, it sounds as if there will be more bands added. If thats the case (and the other bands added are any good) then €59.50 is a reasonable price by todays standards. I'll be outside ticketmaster at 8am next Saturday morn, dont you worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Mystic Fibrosis

Metallica and Linkin Park.....so doesn't that mean they cancel each other out? Unless Park got good somehow...or I remove my brain.

Ohhhhh god I'm beribley drun k.

wwhipeeeeeeeeeeee PORNAPSTER the haunted tonite first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

id love to go see Linkin Park but the place is gonna be filled with old men with huge beards and il probably get killed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

what are all these people talkin about queueing? I just put a deposit down on them. Wahey.
    I know linkin park are bad and its sucky that they're playing too, but its metallica!! Come on i dont think i could just pass it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Ehh tickets go on sale @ 9.10...They will only be available to me at 9am...So dont bother calling.

Thanks for your attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭s8n

what are all these people talkin about queueing? I just put a deposit down on them.

how did you manage that if they don't go onsale til saturday??

I have my deposit down too. A shop I know always gets tickets for its regular customers :D

Originally posted by Praetorian
    I have my deposit down too. A shop I know always gets tickets for its regular customers :D
    GGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Originally posted by Placebo
    id love to go see Linkin Park but the place is gonna be filled with old men with huge beards and il probably get killed .

The last time Metallica were here...it was 95% young people (16-25ish). Linkin park are definitely going to attract a young crowd.
    GGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Read your pm ;)

Thanks man!
    but still just for the fun GGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
    HEHE

ps check ur pm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Unknown

I still don't know if I am going to go or not. However, I'll just buy my ticket when they go onsale and if I happen to change my mind before the 20th of August, I will just sell it.

On Saturday I'm just going to buy my ticket online, suprised no-one who has replied is doing this aswell (queueing?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

YES!!!!!!!

Metallica, i cant wait. im really looking forrward to it, ive been listening since 1986 :) puppets was the first album i got :)
    but unfortunatly burton died about 2 weeks after i got the album, i thought it was over :(

i cant wait to see the lads in Dublin :)

Yeaaaaaaaaa haaaaaaa!!!!

Later
    Macker

I have mine payed for already. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Tickets are still available...

Dunno whether Slane or this to go to (I'm fair skint and can't afford both)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

well as said before, i sure as hell wont be going - think 60 euro is waaaay to much for a gig where I would only really want to see one band, and even still after all, its ONLY metallica

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Just ordered 4 of them Online.. I plan to make some of my money back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

to all those who qued outside ticketmaster all night friday/saturday morning... hahahaha.

this sunday night, and tickets ain't sold out yet. feel stupid ? you should.

we're in ireland, remember that. tickets to big "rock" or metal gigs/festivals never sell out in one day, or in a week-end for that matter.

i know mudvayne are coming over for that, and rumours are that deftones will also be coming over... which would be ****ing amazing!

now if you'll excuse me, i must go use daddy's credit card, because i'm a bum.

i got two tickets wahoooo!!! im in dept now but i got the tickets!!!!!
    nice one sayz i to myself nice one (pat on the back)