Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man United -V- Juventus

• 25-02-2003 10:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭

Just a little note to say well done to Man United. I said i'd post this before yop gets in there with a boasty post ;). 3-0 probably flattered united if i'm honest. Another thing I can't understand is why ITV keep getting that annoying half wit ron atkinson back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

w00t im absolutely delighted. After the first goal went in Man u really controlled the game and played a wicked counter attack. There were gaps being created everywhere. Sure Juve were unlucky (and bad finishers) but man u played superbly. Complete turn around from last game.

Keane was very good att the back and i dont think one man u player played badly.
    Veron played smashing and even tackled back with good tackles.

/me is a happy man u fan tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Keane was a monster at the back. and Juve were damn unlucky, but thats football :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

As a pool fan ,well done to Man u.
    They played very well even if Juve were a bit unlucky.
    Birmingham beat us and they beat Juve,
    hmmmm! me fears a walloping on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

As another pool fan I have to hand it to Utd, into the quarter finals seven years in a row. That's an achievement in itself. If I was Ferguson I'd start Solskjaer more often instead of RVN. Much better playmaking striker. But thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

I thought the most encouraging thing was Keane at the back . . . He looked very comfortable in the second half and I think Veron enjoyed the extra freedom around midfield . . . I expect Fergie to use this formation again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

As another Pool Fan I really thought United would struggle in this 2nd League stage , harder group and all , however they've strolled through and showed there class... They've sent out a message to all the other big clubs in the Champions League that they're up for it... - Thought Keane was excellent too at the back did not look out of place once.

The only thing that got to me was Alex Ferguson lying through his teeth that Giggs was injured at half time. If he was injured then sub him at half time, don't let him go back on run around like there's nowt wrong and then sub him. I think he was trying a few more Psychological games ahead of the Cardiff clash with Pool and I've no doubt Gigg's will be starting that game too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Great Performance from the whole team Keane and Ferdinand look like the most solid centre Halfs in ages,Neville and OShea Tackled brillantly down the flanks and got forward well.

Veron had his best game for Utd,while Butt is easing in the Keane role really well,Soleskjaer(sp) had a great game holding the ball up and made 50 yards to set up Veron for Gigg's Goal.

This is the match i think that has lifted Utd's season and could push them to give Arsenal a run for their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Mnemoniac

Originally posted by LizardKing
    The only thing that got to me was Alex Ferguson lying through his teeth that Giggs was injured at half time. If he was injured then sub him at half time, don't let him go back on run around like there's nowt wrong and then sub him.

It's an old Cruijff trick. If you sub at half time, the other manager has the chance to coach his team and make adjustments before the 2nd half starts. Better wait and make the sub 2 minutes into the 2nd half.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Great performance, what more can you say. Now all we have to do is carry it through to sunday and it could kickstart our season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Great performance, what more can you say. Now all we have to do is carry it through to sunday and it could kickstart our season.
    and the reason for that is because juventus defense was shíte! thats the only reason they won! van nistorys goal was no bother a baby could of scored that! and giggs goal the keeper didnt even bother to move should of stopped it same with his first! yeah fair enough he did go by players but he always does its just the keeper didn even move and its not like it was a power shoot or anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

In fairness Giggs second goal was a well taken goal. He left Buffon standing. But also Juve were poor last night. The second half was a one sided affair completely. The early gaols from Giggs knocked the steam out of them I'd say. RVN's goal was a joke. Complete mix up. And as with 90% of his goals they were easy.

Fair played to the team all the same.

Does Yop have another account? and a split personality? :D

Reaper although the first goal did have a stroke of luck with Zambrotta falling, the play which led up to it was spectacular.

You are simply in Denile Reaper and it can be seen quite clearly that you have no intention of actually commenting on the game but only to express your personal hatred towards United

Grow up?

[edit]
    Giggs second goal? pants again I suppose?

Just re-read your post reaper, GET A CLUE PLEASE
    [/edit]
    What age are you Reaper? im convinced you still grace playgrounds with your presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

Hey fúck u! if u read all of what i wrote i said the play was good im just purly talkin about the goals so relax dont get to worked up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Originally posted by The Reaper
    and the reason for that is because juventus defense was shíte! !

Buffon
    Thuram, Ferrara, Montero, Conte

Yea what a shìte defense, Italys number one keeper.A World Cup Winner ,the Juventus Captain and an Italian Centre halve with over fifty caps.

Stop talking Shìte. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

In fairness the Juve defence did make some pretty bad errors for the goals , zambrottas (?) slip let Veron cross for goal numero uno and the 3rd goal was a dreadful backpass attempt ....

United took there chances and Juve did not so Fair Play to Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

Blah. I'm a juve fan :(

Fair play to man u though. Although i do think they were definitely luckier on the night. I don't think they dominated the game (not in terms of number of chances, anyway) until after the 2nd goal. Before that Juve still had spirit, but afterwards they had no hope. Nedved was visibly p1ssed off.

Davids is the most to blame for the first goal, i think. Sure, Zambrotta slipped, but everyone slips, and he was giving 100% effort. Davids just sat there ball watching, effectively out of the game, as Veron passed to Giggs in front of him.

I think if the ref had of given the penalty for O'Shea's foul on Trezeguet as he was going for the volley after taking down a great pass from Zambrotta on his chest, the result definitely could have been reversed. But then Utd were definitely owed a penalty last week.

You can say that Buffon should have dived for the second goal, but the way Giggs hit it, looking like he almost scuffed it, had him confused, i'd say.

As for the third goal, I've already hired a hitman for Igor Tudor ;)

My 15c

I am perfectly calm reaper, but people who try and bad mouth teams for the sake of boud mouthing them annoy me, because its just spiteful and nothing else.

Yes the first goal was lucky in how it came to giggs but the play up to that point deserved a goal in itself.

His second, sublime, lovely finish and nothing more to be said.

Van nisteroy, was very lucky, United also hit the cross bar/post ( I think it was both).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Originally posted by The Reaper
    and the reason for that is because juventus defense was shíte! thats the only reason they won! van nistorys goal was no bother a baby could of scored that! and giggs goal the keeper didnt even bother to move should of stopped it same with his first! yeah fair enough he did go by players but he always does its just the keeper didn even move and its not like it was a power shoot or anything!

While the Juve defense was poor they are champions of Italy and are top of serie a at the moment. Buffon is also the Italian keeper so to say that he is shíte is nonsense.

My opinion on their display is one I have held for a few years now. Serie A and its top teams are just not good enough to compete with the english, spanish and germans.

They are still playing with this slow tempo game so when they play against teams who play week in week out at a much higher tempo thay can not match them. Also the other leagues have caught up with and surpassed them in terms of technical ability and tactics. Juve had to go at United last night for the win which left them vulnerable at the back and Uniteds pace of counter attack caught them out. Juve tried that at Old Trafford last week but they didnt have the firepower to capitalise on their possession.

Arsenal did the exact same thing in Roma before Christmas.

To say Juve were unlucky is also crap because if all the shots that hit the woodwork went in then the score would have been 5-2 to United.

Italian teams record in european competitions the past five or six years proves that they are not the force they once were and IMO no italian team will win it this year either.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I said i'd post this before yop gets in there with a boasty post

Sheron - Would I do something like that!! :D

Off topic - I must say well done to the non United fans for their praise of Uniteds performance. I suppose I will have to congratulate ye now if ye beat us on Sunday!!! :(

I swallow humble pie!!

Anyway, we play grand, I thought that Juve were extremly unlucky and if they took their chances then they may have drawn.

Thought Keane was very controlled in centre of defence and Giggs was fantastic.

A win is a win but 3-0 is a bit flattering considering that gimp at the back for Juve, what was he doing, but I thing RVN is happy been out in front now on the scoring charts.

The first goal was fortunate but giggs still had to finish, his 2nd was top class, Buffon was left standing because he was not expecting him to shoot with his right.

And as for calling the Juve defence shi*e, look again lads, Thuram and Buffon!! World class players.

I think we seem to have some big injuries for Sunday, could be caught out!!

Once again fair play for the praise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by bucks73

My opinion on their display is one I have held for a few years now. Serie A and its top teams are just not good enough to compete with the english, spanish and germans.

Couldnt agree more. The only exception currently seems to be AC - how they are not top of serie a is astonishing.

Theres a lot of reasons why this is so but its probably left to another thread.

Uni'eh played well, fair play to them. I think they know this is thier last golden oppurtunity to win the CL and are going for it in a big way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I dont normally post as I'm a united fan and Yop gives us enough praise but I am shocked and delighted that the non-united fans have given praise.

I again thought Juve were unlucky and would have got something from the game if they had taken there chances - but thats football.

I was delighted for Giggs who's second goal was absolute class (shades of his FA cup goal against Arsenal).

It's gonna be a great game on Sunday but it doesn't matter a Fvck how either team are presently playing in the league/Europe as it goes out the window on the day.

I'm more nervous about the game against Arsenal in a few weeks. Will have a big bearing on who wins the league.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

so nervous that you pressed post twice!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

No... I decided to add the bit about the Arsenal game.... I'm not nervous... honest ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

oh my god giggs 2nd goal a work of art!!! excellent!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

There seems to be some shock regarding pool fans praise etc.
    Well i can only speak for myself but i have always given credit where its due.
    I dont care who they are, if their performance was good well then Dcully will praise them.
    Last night and indeed all through the CL Man u have strolled it, you cannot hide this fact no matter who you support or if like me hate Ferguson with a passion, he hasnt stopped me praise his team.
    I have in many posts praised his managerial skills[boot kicking :)]/ exploits because the same applies ,one cannot hide this fact [but i still hate him as a person :)].
    It all comes down to honesty guys and ones ability to say what they see out on the pitch as opposed to who is on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Couldnt agree more. The only exception currently seems to be AC - how they are not top of serie a is astonishing.

[OT]
    They were up until last week. But their fscking amazing start to the season seems to have run out of steam. They're having problems accomodating Shevchenko, Inzaghi, Rivaldo & Rui Costa in the same team too, Inzaghi & Shevchenko just do not work well together :\
    [/OT]