Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your overall favourite rpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

Ok here we go

1)
    Phoenix + final attack takes 180 mp and it only gives u back 1/4 life when ur resurrected, if you pair final attack with life2 then equip mega all it only takes 100 MP + gives u back your full HP (this is just a back up plan incase you make a mistake and he kills you)

Recommened characterss are cloud, barret and Cid (multi-hit limits)

materia

Cloud -
    Demi linked with quadra magic (at least level 2)
    W-Magic
    Mega-all (at least level 2)

Cid -
    Reflect linked with All
    Mime

Barret -
    Mime
    Underwater Materia

DO NOT equip any other materia at all so as emeralds super attack won't kill!

Ok make sure you have omni-slash with cloud and have it ready before you enter the fight

Start by having Cid cast reflect on everyone
    Now cast demi twice (W-magic) on your own party! (when you cast a spell on your entire party and you reflect it onto one enemy it will hit him three times.)
    By casting demi with quadra magic twice and using the reflect trick you will deal 24 demi's to weapon
    Then its just a matter of miming it with barret and cid (thats 72 altogether and 720,000 damage) :D
    Repeat this again and he should have well under 100,000 hp left (Demi can't kill) Then just use any one of the three limits and there you go :)

btw i didn't come up with this a mate of mine did, he is literally a ff7 god, he has all three main chars stats at 255, he has wrote his own ff7 hints n tips guide and its almost 25 a4 pages long, im gonna get it off him and post it up here as im sure it would be appreciated and hopefully would get him some credit, he also has a way of beating emerald weapon in TWO attacks!!! but he won't tell me how, its a mad combination of materia and stuff but he said he wants to keep this one to himself. He's spent an insane amount of time playin it, but hey thats him :p If any of ye would be intrested in gettin the guide im sure he'd give it to me to post it up, let me know lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Have to agree with Lemming on this one. Shadowrun's a class act from start to finish.

Never understand the western fascination with Japanese rpg's. The nonsense plots and constant backing and forthing to gain XP's never appealed to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Originally posted by Rnger
    Am I the only person who thinks when the hear some1 say "ff7 is the best ever!", its seems like theyve never played any other rpg before?
    Yep, think you are ;)
    I'm not a major RPG nutter, but I've played my share of 'em... there again I did say "than any other RPG I've played", so I'm not proclaiming it the greatest RPG of all time.
    Legend of Zelda and Secret of mana come a close 2nd and 3rd, with FF8 lagging way behind, ranking below FF5, but still above PSO.
    I can see your point though, FF7 was so highly acclaimed/publicised in its time that even people who weren't really into RPG's gave it a go... just goes to show how good it is. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Justice

cause i never played any of the above i voted for FF6/3.

i only ever played pen + paper and PC RPG's.

how does console Rpgs compare to PC RPGs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Theyre completely different, unless its just a port.

I personally dont like PC RPGs much at all, the only one I ever got very involved in was Neverwinter Nights.

A

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Fallout 1 and 2. Go out and buy them now!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Chrono Trigger easily, but i accept the fact the FF7 brought RPG to the non RPGies.

But CT is really unbelivable

Originally posted by DiscoStu
    Fallout 1 and 2. Go out and buy them now!
    Err no. From what ive heard of them, they embody almost everything i hate in a game.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

Final Fantasy 7 is my favourite off that list, but in fairness I haven't played most of the others.

My all time favourite RPG (despite its enormous flaws) is Morrowind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Originally posted by Asuka
    Err no. From what ive heard of them, they embody almost everything i hate in a game.

A

you will pay in the next life for that :)

whats wrong with a non linear adult orientated game where adult orientated dosent mean low brow cheap semi porn antics but situations and scenarios that reasonably well written and intelligent and are not really suitable for childern?

No level 15 bard mages with the tinwhistle of ganglion +3 in that one, just hk g11s, shotguns, sniper rifles and chainsaws.

do you not want to have the opportunity of being the nice guy and saving a town from a band of mutants and be a hero or slaughter everyone instead and be feared where ever you go?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Divine Divinity

FF7

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

A

Ummm .. and what have you heard about them?

***, Fallout 1 was phenominal. Fallout 2 was a bit of a letdown by comparison from a storyline point of view for the most part, although it DOES have its moments.

The beauty of the Fallout games was that you can do what you want in the game but at the end you'll get smacked across the face with the repercussions of what you've done. Also aided by the fact that they are dark and gritty and captured the feel of a post-apocalyptic world, and you don't need a turbo-nutter-ninja-b*stard PC spec to run them well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Is Grim Fandango a role playing game?

If it is it's my favourite.

If it isn't it's still my favourite.

Originally posted by DiscoStu
    whats wrong with a non linear adult orientated game where adult orientated dosent mean low brow cheap semi porn antics but situations and scenarios that reasonably well written and intelligent and are not really suitable for childern?

No level 15 bard mages with the tinwhistle of ganglion +3 in that one, just hk g11s, shotguns, sniper rifles and chainsaws.

do you not want to have the opportunity of being the nice guy and saving a town from a band of mutants and be a hero or slaughter everyone instead and be feared where ever you go?
    No, i just think the game sounds shit.

A

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

No, i just think the game sounds shit.

A

Your VERY big loss then .....

Indeed :) But if you people are going to spoil my fun by not being provoked and writing even more 4-page treatises on why Fallout is such an excellent game, then Ill explain more reasonably: it just doesnt sound like my sort of game at all. For me, NWN was the exception rather than the rule; Ive hated every other D&D based, and PC based, RPG Ive ever played. Based on this, and the fact that I know what I like (ive been told by a number of people why Fallout is so good, and a number of their points embody the things which I dont personally like about RPGs), I decided to let it be my loss, if it is so :)

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Diablo II is fantastic! same with Diablo 1...

FF7 just goes on and on and i never really cared what happened but i did like FF8, i thought it was a welcome change to the pure bordem of FF7

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Hes already mentioned that hes talking about console RPGs Hobbes. As far as Im concerned, this is fair enough, as the two are entirely different genres.

A

mmmm Pie :p

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by DapperGent
    Is Grim Fandango a role playing game?

If it is it's my favourite.

If it isn't it's still my favourite.

It's an adventure game, not an RPG.

Adventure game - Runs like a story in which the player has no control over the characters stats (character may get stronger or new items, but player never controls it).

For example.

Quake 2, Unreal2: FPS, Adventure.
    Deus Ex, System Shock 2: FPS, Role playing game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭D nominater

What do you do if Jaguar is an actual real option?

Originally posted by Hobbes
    mmmm Pie :p
    Hehe, that was, erm, rubbish, up until the last bit, which is SO true :) One of the final boss's attacks summoned a comet from the other end of the galaxy, which shot into the sun (destroying Pluto, Saturn and Jupiter on the way, iirc), which expanded, engulfing Mercury and Venus and eventually reaching Earth... where it did a toal of about 150HP damage to your characters. I was shitting it the first time I saw it happen, I was sure I was dead :)

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Galvatron

Final Fantasy 8 but then again ive never played 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭kingconor

Legend of Zelda, link to the past, this game had everything!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭D nominater

My brother got Wild Arms 3 a few days ago, i was only allowed to play it for about 2 minutes thus far but from what I could see from the couple of hours he's been playing it it's got to be one of the best rpg games of all time, definately the best western style one I'd say(and the only one except for the other Wild Arms...was the original better...?..... I don't know...................)

Once again my fav. is final fantasy VII.... by the way I'm making an RPG battle system at the moment....made one already but didn't program it or make cards or a board game kit for it yet or anything that's the biggest bulwark to it's completion probably cause it's so damned unpleasant unlike just making it.
    IT's great.