Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worthingon Cup Final Poll

• 01-03-2003 4:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

...well we had to have one!

Liverpool have the lucky dressing room and Man Utd have the better form. Liverpool have a way of winning on the big match day, Man Utd have
    the ability to create more oppotunities to score.

Likely Liverpool line up-
    Dudek, Carragher, Henchoz (?), Hyypia, Riise; Murphy, Hamann, Gerrard, Smicer; Owen, Heskey.

Man Utd seem to have a lot of minor
    injury worries so I wont guess.

Mike.

Who will have thier name on the Cup? 21 votes

Liverpool
    0% 0 votes
    Manchester Utd
    100% 21 votes

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Man Utd. I think Liverpool will have a go of it and it will have a hectic opening spell. Later on though class will tell and Man Utd will be too good for them.

2-0 to Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Doesn't look like Henchoz will play. He'll probably stick Daio in defence. As long as Traore doesn't play, I'm, happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭irishgeo

What channel is it on and what time is kick off. i wanna watch the POOL win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its on live on SKY from 1 pm

45 mins of highlights on ITV at 6 pm.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i can see Manchester United win this tomorrow but remember what Liverpool did to Arsenal in the FA Cup final. Michael Owen seems to found some sort of scoring form again so who knows. i'm only hoping for a good game

Five live have commentry here-

http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/live/surestream.ram

Mike.

Liverpool 1 0 Man Utd after about 40
    mins. :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Stunning goal from Stevie Gerrard.

Liverpool 2 0 Man Utd.

:D:D:D

(Me throws hat in the air)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

/me catches Mikes hat, eats it and then jumps around like a mad fsuck

OMG almost 3-0 :D

well played Liverpool. not over yet but surely they wont **** this one up

Fergusons face is priceless BTW :p

game over now

/me giggles like a skoolgirl after Mercury_Tilt makes a pass at her.

I can't wait to hear the utd fans reaction.

Great to see Owen back on the score sheet again.

L'pool 2 - 0 Utd

Great result for us and hopefully now we can use this and push for the CL place.

Well done to the lads. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by Kaimera
    I can't wait to hear the utd fans reaction.
    No doubt it'll be the predictable chorus of 'uhhhhh, we didn't want that trophy anyway.'

Liverpool should start playing their league games at Cardiff instead of Anfield!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭BKtje

man im crushed, i cant believe we were beaten, just cant believe it.

It was typical that it would take a deflection of Beckham again i guess, was a good goal all the same.
    Mistake from silvestre and l'pool make it safe. Silvestre played **** imo and O'Shea shoulda been brought on.

Dudek makes up for his mistake in the league with a string of great saves.

Fair play to l'pool i guess but man am i bitter and feel cheated. (maybe without good reason)

so utterly disappointed :(

yer no doubt pigman
    thats why i feel so ****ing disappointed

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    man im crushed, i cant believe we were beaten, just cant believe it.

It was typical that it would take a deflection of Beckham again i guess, was a good goal all the same.
    Mistake from silvestre and l'pool make it safe. Silvestre played **** imo and O'Shea shoulda been brought on.

Dudek makes up for his mistake in the league with a string of great saves.

Fair play to l'pool i guess but man am i bitter and feel cheated. (maybe without good reason)

so utterly disappointed :(
    Yeah, thats basically how I'm feeling after the match. I don't think Liverpool deserved it at all. They didn't start playing football until their first goal which was lucky. Dudek won them the game, IMO is the only Liverpool player that did play well without a little luck on his side. We played way better football than them but just did not put our chances away. Liverpool can have their trophy but I think they were lucky.

If United had scored first then I think we would have definately won the game. Thats fate for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

Yeah, thats basically how I'm feeling after the match. I don't think Liverpool deserved it at all. They didn't start playing football until their first goal which was lucky. Dudek won them the game, IMO is the only Liverpool player that did play well without a little luck on his side. We played way better football than them but just did not put our chances away. Liverpool can have their trophy but I think they were lucky.

If United had scored first then I think we would have definately won the game. Thats fate for you.

There is no way Liverpool did not deserve to WIN

LIVERPOOL took their chances and had a goalkeeper who was inspired , nothing was going past Dudek. I thought United would win but after the game I thought Liverpool deserved it ... United could not score , Liverpool could thats why they won.. for once this season I'm happy with a good Liverpool performance :)

Maybe we'll go on and win the UEFA now :D

Originally posted by LizardKing
    There is no way Liverpool did not deserve to WIN

LIVERPOOL took their chances and had a goalkeeper who was inspired , nothing was going past Dudek. I thought United would win but after the game I thought Liverpool deserved it ... United could not score , Liverpool could thats why they won.. for once this season I'm happy with a good Liverpool performance :)

Maybe we'll go on and win the UEFA now :D
    Thats just my opinion. I don't think they deserved it because they simply didn't play football until Gerrard scored. United were trying all game long to play through Liverpool where as for spells Liverpool were just playing a hit and hope tactic. Dudek was the reason United didn't get an equaliser, if it was someone else in goals then we probably would have won by 3 or 4 tbh.

Liverpool did not play football. They were lucky to get the chances they got but fair play to them they put them away. But United played much better over all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Dino|Work

Originally posted by kaids
    Man Utd. I think Liverpool will have a go of it and it will have a hectic opening spell. Later on though class will tell and Man Utd will be too good for them.

2-0 to Utd.

LOLOLOLOL U SUCK

GWAN THE POOL

Originally posted by Dino|Work
    LOLOLOLOL U SUCK

GWAN THE POOL

jeez, talk about a good winner eh?

So kaids was miles wrong :p no need to rub it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

Welcome relief for Liverpool fans. Felt sorta bad for united afterwards but you do need some luck to win the big games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Liverpool can have their trophy but I think they were lucky.

Oh gee thanks.

Luck had nothing to do with it. Defence played a stormer and the tactics worked. Simple.

Edit: lol - the poll has jumped 2-3 votes in Liverpools favour since the match ended :]

Originally posted by PiE
    Edit: lol - the poll has jumped 2-3 votes in Liverpools favour since the match ended :]

LOL! tis a funni ole game idinit?

I voted prior to the final anyway :D

yer l'pool tacts were spot on. No denying that for once.

Can't say it made for a classic game but i guess thats where l'pools at under houllier.

and as Andy Gray said, its not how u win em its that u do. (or something)

/me sighs.

only any way realistic target now is the Champions League... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Deserving of the win, played to their strengths, decent defence and an unbeatable keeper on the day. Sit back, absorb Man U's attacks, get them on the break. That is how they won the 3 cups a couple of years ago and if it works against what Man U fans is arguing is the best in Europe at the moment then ya can see it working against other teams. Will hopefully kick start the Pool's shot at the champions league spot.

Just been listening to the 6-0-6 phone-in on FiveLive, full of Mancs complaining Liverpool were lucky,
    whats lucky about two goals?. It proberly should have been 3 not to mention a potential penalty goal that was'nt awarded.

Mike.

First goal was lucky that beckhams shot was deflected.
    That hadnt gone in you wouldnt have scored the second as manu was pushing everyone forward, dudek making a few unbelievable saves and henchoz clearing off line for it to just loop over the bar....thats what i think they mean by lucky...

Dont think it was a penalty, heskey missed his kick.

As i said before, l'pools tacts were spot on and maybe they deserved it for that. maybe not. Who can really say unbiasedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well done to the Pool from what I saw they deserved it.

Gandalf.

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

im absolutly delighted!!! great win for the pool!! i thought liverpool earned their victory and utd never deserved to win!! yeah utd had the balance of play before the goal but its football, if it worked out that teams who had the balance of play won, then liverpool and utd would be loosin to teams like bolton and west brom!!

Imo utd had bout 5 players who played crap - rio, silvestre, giggs, beckham and brown! they were made look like very average players!!! also diouf shouldn't be playin!!! he's a ball hog!! Ferguson lost utd the game cos o shea should have been brought on after diouf passed silvestre the first time, diouf didnt play well but the amount of times he passed silvestre wasnt funny!!

True our goalie was the man of the match but your team is the ones that are scorin goals from all over the pitch but were strugglin to get a goal a game!!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Kaimera
    jeez, talk about a good winner eh?

So kaids was miles wrong :p no need to rub it in.
    Nah its ok Kaimera, hes from Cork.

Pretty unlucky for Utd, another Beckham special to totally turn the game around ;)

At least i got the scoreline right :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

United played much better over all.

Yes, definately, thats why United lost 2-0. I love you PORNAPSTER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I love all of you :D

butcherofnog: just cos l'pool won doesnt mean they played better...
    great understanding of how football works there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

bah, missed it due to sleep :) actually asked my friend ten times over what the score was.....no really.

A very encouraging win for the pool and GH he is safe for the time being now :)

i heard a few united supporters talking today and it made me smile

when Arsenal dumped them out of the FA Cup it was calls for Giggs to be sold. no need for him anymore, bla bla bla
    then today it was, "they should drop Beckham for serious matches. he's an unreliable **** in important games and get rid of that useless bastard Silvestre"

made me laugh :p

not all Manchester United suypporters are like this though before someone here says it. only the small minority of glory hunters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

It's gas to hear all the united fans going on about how liverpool played worse and still won. What about united in the champions leauge final in '99? and countless other matches, It's usually united who play dodgy and still rob a win.

Originally posted by SheroN
    It's gas to hear all the united fans going on about how liverpool played worse and still won. What about united in the champions leauge final in '99? and countless other matches, It's usually united who play dodgy and still rob a win.
    Thats exactly why its so feckin annoying. The scouse doing it to us. There shall be payback in april!! :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

United could not score , Liverpool could thats why they won

That's it in one, we deserved one but at the end of the day we did not score, ye did, ye won, sin e an sceal!

Fair play though, ye beat us and thats what wins trophies.

1-1 for the season, nice to have won it though.

God, do you know whats taken the gloss off this win?

Man Utd fans being resonable about it! :D I just hate that.... ;)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Dino|Work

Originally posted by kaids
    Nah its ok Kaimera, hes from Cork.

im so hurted :(

oh and pr0napster dude

liverpool 2-0 utd read over and over again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by PiE
    FYI, I checked the poll score shortly after the Match and Liverpool were winning just 9-7. It's great to know we have so many great forecasters on boards!

Perhaps if all the ManUre fans vote they can swing the poll back in their favour again? Lets face it, its probably the only thing they might still win this season! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Shred

ok, first off I'm sorry to be one of these gits that only posts when the 'pool wins but.... I'm so happy - really I am

I honestly ( I know you might say b**llocks but..) couldn't care what happens in the prem now, well - within reason

This is just what I wanted - to beat united in the so called "worthless cup" - I was just so chuffed, it's really put me in good form

I don't think the 'pool where all over united but united didn't deserve anything from the way they played either - Dudek was phenomenal :eek: And talk of lucky goals from united fans is just hilarious :D

Hopefully it will give the 'pool some confidence now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Glad we won it, was a fairly good match from what I saw of it (missed all of the first half and some of the second because I was working).
    I thought it was pretty funny the way the utd supporters in the pub reacted. They were going mad when Utd were trying so hard to get that equaliser in the last few minutes, it was as if it was the most important game ever, then as soon as the whistle blows "ah sure jesus look at the size of that cup, who'd want it anyway". :rolleyes:
    Well, come the end of the season I'll bet they want it because I see a second successive trophyless year for Manchester United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Originally posted by SheroN
    What about united in the champions leauge final in '99? and countless other matches, It's usually united who play dodgy and still rob a win.

If You remember the match correctly you will know that after Bayern scored thier goal (a lucky free kick which Schemical(sp) should have saved) they sat back and defended the whole match with utd having 85% of the possession therefore you would hardly say they were lucky to win,in the end they deserved it.

Originally posted by Dino|Work
    oh and pr0napster dude

liverpool 2-0 utd read over and over again
    Ok...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Fair dues to the Pool for their win. They do seem to know how to beat United but they do raise their game for this fixture. I do not think it is going to be the miraculous cure all some Liverpool fans seem to think it will be. By the way I never gave a sh1te about the Worthington cup, I only gave cared that we were playing Liverpool, and no united fan ever want to lose a game to the Pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

im not going to dis liverpool or take away the win.
    they deserved it.

however, i think its so amusing that they jump all over the place at winning the worthington cup.
    and as always, the supporters will say, 'eamo, thats only because spurs are crap and cant win anything'

well, not true. im well aware of how mediocre spurs are, and if we wont the worthington cup, id be delighted. why wouldnt i?

however, at the start of the season, for liverpool to win (and i quote) 'the worthless cup' would have to show how underachieving liverpool are.
    they started the season with high hopes of challengin for the league, maybe going all the way in the fa cup, and the cream on the top, competing in the champions league.
    and its gone so horribly wrong.
    christ, youre even only a place above the mighty spurs for gods sake!
    and yet you still craw about winning this miserable piece of tin that wasnt worth spitting on 6 months ago.

oh how the mighty have fallen.

but again, well done to the liverpool team. shame man utd didnt turn up and give them a decent game....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

well, not true. im well aware of how mediocre spurs are, and if we wont the worthington cup, id be delighted. why wouldnt i?
    But is this not the answer to your point? That is exactly why we are "jumping all over the place". Beacuse Liverpool are mediocre! Nobody gave them a chance in hell of winning the so called "worthless cup". But it was much more than that WWM. We beat Utd!! That was worth a lot more than winning the cup. Can you not see that? And BTW we are still in the running for a piece of siverware from Europe and in running for a champs league place. As for Spurs well................ I'll leave the talking to you on that sorry subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    im not going to dis liverpool or take away the win.
    they deserved it.

however, i think its so amusing that they jump all over the place at winning the worthington cup.
    and as always, the supporters will say, 'eamo, thats only because spurs are crap and cant win anything'

however, at the start of the season, for liverpool to win (and i quote) 'the worthless cup' would have to show how underachieving liverpool are.
    they started the season with high hopes of challengin for the league, maybe going all the way in the fa cup, and the cream on the top, competing in the champions league.
    and its gone so horribly wrong.
    christ, youre even only a place above the mighty spurs for gods sake!
    and yet you still craw about winning this miserable piece of tin that wasnt worth spitting on 6 months ago.

oh how the mighty have fallen.

but again, well done to the liverpool team. shame man utd didnt turn up and give them a decent game....

Nice to see you are making your oh so regular contribution to the soccer board again WWM. The worthless cup quote is from a Man U supporter no doubt as Liverpool have always taken the league cup seriously as any fan will tell you. At the end of the day united were beaten because Jerzey Dudek and the liverpool defence were unbeatable yesterday. They sat back, defended, absorbed the pressure and beat united on the break, it's worked for them before and it has obviously worked again. The reason that United were not their usual sparkling selves was that they were given all of the possession that they wanted in the first two thirds but were closed down quickly in the last so they had not got the opportunity to get Scholes and RVN well into the game.

Ya can take all ya want away from Man U's performance, all the record books will show is that they lost the final to Liverpool.