Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AIB Club Championship Finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,285 ✭✭✭threeball

kerry37 wrote: »
    Crokes are one of the dirtiest teams in the county, always have been. Typical townies that resort to thuggery when things aren't going their way.

As soon as they saw they were being outclassed they went straight to the filth. The shoulder to the chest was bad but the kick out was disgusting. You'd break a mans jaw or take his eye out just cos you're being beaten.

That Kieran Molloy lad is a very good footballer.

Both wing backs have been excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Second Corofin goal as good as you will ever see!

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Second Corofin goal as good as you will ever see!

Last year's was better

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Corofin are brilliant to watch. Don’t think sending off made much difference to the outcome- Corofin were five up and playing on a different level. Best club team of all time surely.

Be careful with sort of talk or you'll end up with some Tuam Stars diehard going on for hours and hours about how good they were back in the 50s. Long miserable hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

RMAOK wrote: »
    On the tg4 commentary, they said it was an accident - it was no accident. He done that deliberately imo.

It helps that the co commentator is from kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

kerry37 wrote: »
    Crokes are one of the dirtiest teams in the county, always have been. Typical townies that resort to thuggery when things aren't going their way.

As a fellow Kerryman- I have to agree that Crokes are very, very dirty and masters of the off the ball antics in Kerry county championship games.

I can remember after Buckley was sent off in the semi that some pundits were saying that they were surprised by it as "he's not that type of player".
    He absolutely is that type of player- go to the majority of Kerry county championship games and Johnny has perfected the late shoulder to the chest after the ball has been released.
    Payne has always been a nasty piece of work aswell

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Corofin could be 20 points up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Should have been a black card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Ref has opted to use yellow instead of black.

Corofin concentration has dropped a few notches but still matching Crokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

sgthighway wrote: »
    Ref has opted to use yellow instead of black.

And now Fitzgerald saves a certain goal on the line.
    Will make now difference to the result, and Corofin are by far the better side, but a serious cop out by the referee nonetheless.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Greedy there, he had options.

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭cal naughton

Like watching the Harlem Globetrotters here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Corofin are on seriously professionally organised team with an added sense of freedom of expression and flair to put the cherry on top

Like watching the Harlem Globetrotters here

Best football team in Ireland to watch at any grade.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭kerry37

As a fellow Kerryman- I have to agree that Crokes are very, very dirty and masters of the off the ball antics in Kerry county championship games.

I can remember after Buckley was sent off in the semi that some pundits were saying that they were surprised by it as "he's not that type of player".
    He absolutely is that type of player- go to the majority of Kerry county championship games and Johnny has perfected the late shoulder to the chest after the ball has been released.
    Payne has always been a nasty piece of work aswell

Yeah look every successful team has that dirty streak and the crokes have been pretty successful in recent years. Look at the antics of Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo and Dublin in a big match. Little things to get you over the line. Even Corofin today are doing a bit of pulling and dragging to stop scores or slow the play, it happens. But what I cant stand is the thuggery, that kick to the face could have done serious damage and absolutely no need for it.

I tuned in late so didn't see the shoulder yer all mentioning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Disappointing games for a neutral but no doubting the two best teams won today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,420 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Amazing how many club finals are so one sided in recent years.

The semis are often brilliant too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

Whose the Corofin manager, is he the same manager for the last few years

Kevin O brien. Manager for the last 2. Selector for the one they won with Rochford.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Congrats Corofin who were superb today and will take some stopping next year. As Dr Crokes i couldn't get over how poor they were today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭rrs

Corofin are like Vintage Barcelona.. Class to watch

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Corofin are brilliant to watch. Don’t think sending off made much difference to the outcome- Corofin were five up and playing on a different level. Best club team of all time surely.

Most likely from a purists point of view but lest we forget them,Crossmaglen Rangers were a truly awesome team.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Corofin better outfit then crossmaglen lads?

Crossmaglen 2007-2012 3 all Ireland’s
    Corifin 2015-2019 3 all Ireland’s

Who we picking

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Corofin have given 3 resounding all Ireland wins, cross did draw two of them
    Finals before overpowering opposition replays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭spurshero

Thing is if corofin want it there’s at least one more in them . Going for 3 in a row next year I doubt to many will retire . Even fitzy might stay

C__MC wrote: »
    Corofin better outfit then crossmaglen lads?

Crossmaglen 2007-2012 3 all Ireland’s
    Corifin 2015-2019 3 all Ireland’s

Who we picking

Given that Crossmaglen raised the level of the club game to almost inter county levels it left a legacy that almost all top club sides are almost inter county in standard. Corofin therefore are now playing better prepared teams than Crossmaglen played so should get the nod. The way they've won them has been extremely impressive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Deiselurker

Some county championships will be starting in a few weeks time,so it can start in April/May of one-year and finish in March the following year.Crazy.

The competition is dragged out too long just to play the senior finals on St Patricks Day. Definitely needs to be run off sooner. I'm surprised county managers haven't kicked up more about missing some of their players for the league games and it's also expecting too much of club players to train all year around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

Congrats to Ballyhale Shamrocks on their brilliant win today. Their display had all the hallmarks of their super manager Henry Shefflin. With so many young players on board in addition to top class experienced players they'll only get better. Wonderful ambassadors for hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭shockframe

It's hard to choose between Crossmaglen and Corofin.

Crossmaglen had a lot more big names but didn't wow neutrals like Corofin. Corofin have destroyed 3 decent teams in finals now.

I would also put Nemo Rangers 2001-03 up there. They lost 2 finals yes but having watched them play in 2002/03 they were a truly outstanding team.

It could even be argued after yestedays exhibition that Corofin are now up there with the great teams in the history of the game. You'd often have it in soccer lists with club or country with Brazil and Barcelona in these lists. Corofin have surely entered the gaelic equivalent after yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

spurshero wrote: »
    Thing is if corofin want it there’s at least one more in them . Going for 3 in a row next year I doubt to many will retire . Even fitzy might stay

I couldn’t believe he was 39. Incredible pace for a lad of his vintage.

Football wouldn’t be my game, but as I was in Croker yesterday to watch the hurling I said I’d stay for the football. Corofin are a joy to watch, and play almost old-fashioned football - the long runs, kicking into the half forward line, taking points when they can. The type of stuff Pat Spillane would be waxing lyrical about.

Be the type of football I associated with Galway for many years. Easy on the eye, but wasn’t working against the unimaginative Nordie drudgeball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭spurshero

Football wouldn’t be my game, but as I was in Croker yesterday to watch the hurling I said I’d stay for the football. Corofin are a joy to watch, and play almost old-fashioned football - the long runs, kicking into the half forward line, taking points when they can. The type of stuff Pat Spillane would be waxing lyrical about.

Be the type of football I associated with Galway for many years. Easy on the eye, but wasn’t working against the unimaginative Nordie drudgeball.

This the same pat Spillane who said Crokes would win yesterday . Ya they play good stuff at a pace that’s hard to live with . And there hunger year in year out is unreal . They will take beating in there 3 in a row bid .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,227 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Tbf to Fitzgerald, he keeps himself in n excellent condition. Also, while he might have lost a yard or two of pace, his footballing brain more than makes up for it. It also helps that he has runners either side of him that will do the leg work while he man's the square.