Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The good ol' US of A

• 18-03-2003 3:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

The idiocy of the two towers protest site reminded me of this.

It's time once again to consider the candidates for the annual Stella
    Awards.
    The Stella's are named after 81-year-old Stella Liebeck who spilled
    coffee on herself and successfully sued McDonalds. That case inspired the
    Stella Awards for the most frivolous successful lawsuits in the United
    States.

The following are this year's candidates:
    1. Kathleen Robertson of Austin, Texas, was awarded $780,000 by a jury of
    her peers after breaking her ankle tripping over a toddler who was
    running inside a furniture store. The owners of the store were
    understandably surprised at the verdict, considering the misbehaving
    little toddler was Ms. Robertson's son.

2. A 19-year-old Carl Truman of Los Angeles won $74,000 and medical
    expenses when his neighbour ran over his hand with a Honda Accord. Mr.
    Truman
    apparently didn't notice there was someone at the wheel of the car
    when he was trying to steal his neighbour's hub caps.

3. Terrence Dickson of Bristol, Pennsylvania, was leaving a house he had
    just finished robbing by way of the garage. He was not able to get the
    garage door to go up since the automatic door opener was malfunctioning.
    He couldn't re-enter the house because the door connecting the house and
    garage locked when he pulled it shut. The family was on vacation, and Mr.
    Dickson
    found himself locked in the garage for eight days. He subsisted
    on a case of Pepsi he found, and a large bag of dry dog food. He sued
    the homeowner's insurance ! claiming the situation caused him undue mental
    anguish. The jury agreed to the tune of $500,000.

4. Jerry Williams of Little Rock, Arkansas, was awarded $14,500 and
    medical expenses after being bitten on the buttocks by his next door
    neighbour's beagle. The beagle was on a chain in its owner's fenced yard.
    The award was less than sought because the jury felt the dog might have
    been just a little provoked at the time by Mr. Williams who was shooting
    it repeatedly with a pellet gun.

5. A Philadelphia restaurant was ordered to pay Amber Carson of
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania, $113,500 after she slipped on a soft drink and
    broke her coccyx (tailbone). The beverage was on the floor because Ms.
    Carson had
    thrown it at her boyfriend 30 seconds earlier during an argument.

6. Kara Walton of Claymont, Delaware, successfully sued the owner
    of a night club in a neighbouring city when she fell from the bathroom
    window to the floor and knocked out her two front teeth. This occurred
    while Ms. Walton was trying to sneak through the window in the ladies
    room to avoid paying the $3.50 cover charge. She was awarded $12,000 and
    dental expenses.

7. This year's favourite could easily be Mr. Merv Grazinski of Oklahoma
    City, Oklahoma. Mr. Grazinski purchased a brand new 32-foot Winnebago
    motor home. On his first trip home, having driven onto the freeway, he
    set the cruise control at 70 mph and calmly left the drivers seat to go
    into the back and make himself a cup of coffee. Not surprisingly, the
    R.V. left the freeway, crashed and overturned. Mr. Grazinski sued
    Winnebago for not advising him in the owner's manual that he couldn't
    actually do this. The jury awarded him $1,750,000 plus a new motor home.
    The company actually changed their manuals on the basis of this suit,
    just in case there were any other complete morons buying their recreation
    vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭bozzie

Kathleen Robertson of Austin, Texas, was awarded $780,000 by a jury of
    her peers after breaking her ankle tripping over a toddler who was
    running inside a furniture store. The owners of the store were
    understandably surprised at the verdict, considering the misbehaving
    little toddler was Ms. Robertson's son.
    that makes my head hurt

*wonder if i can sue boards for my head ache :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

no.3 is hillarious its a wonder he didnt sue the dog food company for it not tasting good enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Id love to be a judge in america and send any1 with sue'ings like these straight to a mental home, twould be feckin hillarious :)

Loved the last 1 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

How can these people get away with **** like that!
    Youd be a luaghing tock in ireland if you went to court with cases liek that. I feel quite sorry for the companies and people. Imagine havign your bloody house broken into, being robbed, and then being sued by teh guy who did it beacause your house was impossible to get out of! ****in ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Wasn't there a woman who successfully sued a microwave manufacturer after she put her cat in the microwave to dry after giving it a bath, saying that the company should have had a sign saying "Do not put your cat in the appliance" or similar?

How and ever, :D at the above...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭lulu

Good Old America the land of Opportunity where it is possibly for anyone to make their fortune....

Throught immoral claims of course!!!

lulu

• Registered Users Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

they should all be shot for there stupidity and never let anyone sue others for there stupidity.

Funny none the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Spiffing

I'm pretty sure these are fake...

Not sure though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

A women in america sued a Microwave manufacturer after the microwave killed her little puppy! Apperntly the women was unaware that trying to "dry out" her pet in mircowave wouldnt work and was equally shocked to find the puppy was killed in the process...so she sued the manufacturer as the manual never stated the hazards of trying to put a live animal in the microwave...

...I'm about to put my 2 year old cousin into the Fan oven....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

I think some of these ppl need to be sued for being so stupid. Maybe since I live in america I can get a good lawyer to prove I was mentally hurt by tring to comprehend a stupid person! Think it could work? May have to try to see.
    That was unfortunate about the pup though if it was true that is!:rolleyes: