Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Father Ted moments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

god how i miss that show, thank god for repeats.

i think i any scene from the speed 3 episode with pat mustard

i laugh everytime i see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I love the hitler moustache scene in the window and also

Bishop Brennan: "You will address me by my proper title, ya little bollix"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

And nobody mentioned Dougals 3 wishes and 'that cup'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

When ted is tryin to impress the chinese community with a slideshow of great chinese people.

MING THE MERCILESS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

'that would be an ecuminical (sp?) matter'. priceless episode

Without a doubt. Painfully funny.

Is it possible to get all of Father Ted on dvd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

Found this...

Dougal on holiday in the tropics

Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Originally posted by Praetorian

here. i want

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

This is by far my favourite Father Ted site - Father Ted Sounds .

Click on the charactors page, the Fr Jack page has just about everything he's said, hilarious site. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

The scene where they go to "the mainland", and Ms Doyle and her friend are rolling around on the floor fighting over who will pay the bill! Then later on in the Garda station

" Now Mrs Doyle if there's a fine or anything to be paid, then I'll pay it":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭ai ing

ARSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Series one. Ep 6: Grant Unto Him Eternal Rest
    [Jack in crypt in coffin].

[Ted and Dougal playing charades.]

Ted does motion to convey 'film', (one hand holding pretend camera, other rolling film).

Dougal shouts out, "one handed boxing".

Cant remember whole scene, but brilliant. :D:D:D

Laugh??? I nearly died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 dilemma

Dunno if some ones already said this one but the airplane one is sooo funny! they all are really but i pulled muscles in my stomach laughing at Dougal and Ted's debate over the dogs Toy

"No, Ted, its a JOKE PHONE!!!!"

or

"I think I should have the parachute cos i'm great!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Pat Mustard : "And now..to ride Mrs O'Reilly".
    Again, its the way he says it, its priceless.

But the best bit is the "Fu*king hell" bit. God thats just goddamn hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

FATHER DAMMO!
    or
    Speed 3 episode! genius!
    or
    When Ted gets drunk after kicking the bishop up the arse and says
    "FECK OFF!" to Father Jack
    and then Jack runs off
    HiLarIous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Bishop Brennan running across the field to the parochial house (after realising that Ted HAS in fact kicked him up the arse) with his cloak billowong out behind him. The cloak span was about 20 feet and looked absolutely brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

-Jack becomes sober for first time in 20 years
    "OHH MY GOD!! DONT TELL ME IM STILL ON THAT FECKIN ISLAND"

-Dougal sitting with some feminist woman
    "Are ya comfortable there, do u want to take off your bra"

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

My favourite has to be:

Mrs. Doyle [to Jack] - What do you say to a cup?

Jack - Feck off cup!

No matter how many times I squeal with laughter like a gob****e!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Father Ted Quotes - found these in the Humour board.... well worth a giggle...

does anyone know where I can get scripts online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭niallith

emm one would havto b in the caves where noel sing bohemian rhapsody thats hilarious
    and then the episode wit fr.damo everythin he says is so funny
    best episode is speed 3 imo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

My favourite FT scene would have to be in "The Mainland", when Fr. Noel does the "Here's me eating Tony" bit in the caves. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭ChumpStain

Originally posted by Kalina
    Bishop Brennan running across the field to the parochial house (after realising that Ted HAS in fact kicked him up the arse) with his cloak billowong out behind him. The cloak span was about 20 feet and looked absolutely brilliant!

Totally agree and when Ted actually kicks Bishop Brennan up the arse aswell:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

im sure its been mentioned but the one with eoin mclove,

i have a secret

haha

i have no willy

haha

priceless.. delivered in such a professional manner too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Lukin Black

I love the one with the sarcastic priest - where Mrs. Doyle gets confused about him saying that him and the bishop wanted to die of thirst, and Ted explained about sarcasm to her. Anyhow my fav bit's where the sarcastic priest tells Fr. Jack to apologise to the bishop:

Jack: I'm sooooo, sooooo, soooo sorry!

Ted (to Mrs. Doyle): Now that's sarcasm.

And then when Ted tells her to do the opposite of what he says, and Fr. Sarcastic begs to be let out of Fr. Jack's underpants hamper. That little look of realisation on her face.. priceless.

Classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 ActingThe Magot

Originally posted by Praetorian

This is from a recent thread I started about splashdvd.com-
    They have a slow reputation, but with the discount this is just over 51 Euros

It works! (discount voucher)
    As I said in my original post I have ordered today form this website (today)-I was interested in buying the Father Ted Boxed Set (VCD0224), the spalshdvd.com price is 38.36 sterling, the shipping cost is 1 sterling, I used the voucher and have been charged 34.36 Sterling (thus 5 Sterling discount).

So it works!

(But I understand that the delivery time with splashdvd.com, if the item is not actually in stock, can be slower than play.com)

Perhaps there are others who have used splashdvd.com, and would like to comment on the typical lead time for delivery?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

I love the one where Mrs. Doyle is explaining the sort of Book that woman wrote that Ted Fancied.

It's always "Feck this" and "Feck that" - and sometimes she even uses the "F" word!

She goes on and on. It's hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Originally posted by LFCFan
    I love the one where Mrs. Doyle is explaining the sort of Book that woman wrote that Ted Fancied.

It's always "Feck this" and "Feck that" - and sometimes she even uses the "F" word!

She goes on and on. It's hilarious.

I heard Dermot Morgan explaining that Pauline McGlynn's addendum from the other side of the door on that scene of 'Ride me sideways - that was another one' was ad-libbed. Just watch Dermot/Ardal's face the next time you see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

The Passion of St. Tibulus episode throws up a good few classic moments.

The poster with a crazed looking Jack giving the thumbs up.

The video of Len Brennan on the beach.

The locals reactions to the film. Two old ladies, "Does he get his lad out father?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Think Fast, Father Ted
    Series 2, Episode 2

My Favourite Episode has to be the one where they raffle the car. So many classic moments in that. Fr. Austin Purcell (with the high voice) is great in it - he's going on about the envolopes and lagging jackets. "They come in all shapes and sizes, let me see, square, rectangle , you can even get circlular ones", "They run the gas of the electricity and the electricity off the gas". Then he goes over and sits on the couch and turns to the rug cover with Jesus on it and says "ah it's yourself", and continues chatting.

Features the Spinmaster Fr Billy, who steals the money cause he spent it all on the tickets.

Also incluses "The Dancing Priest" , Fr. Liam Finnegan, when we played rugby in first year we used to do his dance as our warm up before matches. We got a few strange looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭daosulli

This is a good Fr Ted site :
    http://www.fathertedonline.ukf.net/

Lots of Video clips etc ........ enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

i like d epesode when father ted is talkin to the couple who hate eacth other, is it william and mary?

anyway the say to ted: hope you get on with your friend the pope or something like that and ted says, "the pope! he's no friend of mine"

I also love the bit were fr jack says "i love my brick"

classic show i do miss it so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Absolutely anything with Noel Furlong.

His dancing...
    His singing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

The holy stone episode,

As a bishop gets lead away by 2 paramedics Ted says
    "ahhh will it still be a class two relic when they remove it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭daveJAM

"So, we ran the electricity off the gas and the gas off the electricity and we saved 200 pounds a year!"

And all the other stuff that guy says.

"Whats you favourite humming sound... now that first one was the sound of a fridge and the second one was the sound of a man humming."

He was one of the best characters ever. Not a lot of people remember it tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mob

i took a lend of your car ted and i crashed it into a wall. but i've had my fun and thats all that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭catsup

the episode with the lovely girls competition...

"...they ALL have lovely bottoms"

(Ted recovering beautifully from his previous comment that one of the girls had a lovely bottom)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Are those my feet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

ah jesus, so hard to pick just a couple. The whole programme was priceless.

As has been said before, the part where Dougal is trying to convince Ted that his dog toy phone is actually a joke phone.
    Ted: It's a dog phone. Look, there's a picture of a dog laughing laughing on it.
    Dougal: That's because somebody picked it up thinking it was a real phone.
    (or something like that)

In Kicking Bishop Brennan up the Arse, where Ted tells Bishop Brennan that an effigy of him has appeared on the skirting board, and he takes a look and it's the crappiest little drawing of him.

Anything with Eoin McLove: I'm Eoin McLove. That's who I am.

Careful now! Down with this sort of thing!

So, I hear you're a racist now father?

The story about Dougal riding on an old man's back for over an hour.

When Ted shows Dougal all the pictures of babies with similar features (moustache and sideburns) to Pat Mustard, and Dougal replies "Do ye think they're copying his style?"

When Ted has to bail Mrs. Doyle and Jack out of jail, and he says he hasn't got the money. Dougal keeps bugging him and Ted gives in and shouts "Here's your money. Once again Dougal you've managed to embarass me in front of real people" and Dougal replies "To be honest Ted, I forgot you had the money. I was just gonna tell you, your fly's open"

Too, too many laughs from a brilliant show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

"I hear you're a racist now, Father"

And the mad oul wan who says

"Good for you father!!!! At least someone had the guts to stand up to them!!! Those Greeks!! Sure, they INVENTED gayness!!!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Dougal: "Yes Ted, you big bollocks."

Or the one where the big cat/animal is "about", scaring the sheep. I think it's that one anyway. But it's the bit where Ted and Dougal are lying in their own beds. Ted turns out the light and about 2 seconds later they hear the dog howl. Ted turns on the light to find Dougal in his (Ted's) bed. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lemondrop

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    when Graham Norton was doing Riverdance in the caravan :p

ditto...it was class, i alos love the one where Dougal and Ted are going to clean the place and the two are shouting "Let's clean this mother...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Mine has to be the Lent episode. It's the only episode when I see, and DON'T turn over!
    My fave scene:

(Father Jacks just died, and the nun and Fr. Dougal are standing there)

NUN; Well, Father....

Dougal: Yeah....

NUN: Father, the last rights?

Dougal: Oh Yeah! eh, momilus, todius theses....

NUN: Father, do the last rights!

Dougal: Oh, ok..... Tryils, kopilus, babius

GETS ME ON THE FLOOR LAUGHING ALL THE TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Originally posted by embee
    "I hear you're a racist now, Father"

And the mad oul wan who says

"Good for you father!!!! At least someone had the guts to stand up to them!!! Those Greeks!! Sure, they INVENTED gayness!!!"

That whole episode was great! Especially when the Chinese guy goes "Well the presentation was a load of ****e, but free beer, good!" or something like that. And then at the end when they get back to the house, and it's all filled with nazi stuff, the look on Ted's face is priceless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭mwnger

Fr. Stone episode

In the hospital, after he's been hit by lightening, Fr. Stone's parents come in;

Mr. Stone (to Ted)- "Ah Jaysis, isn't it terrible Father, terrible it is. I tell yeh terrible.. terrible's too small a word for it...
    Lord forgive me for sayin this Father, but wouldn't it eh bin better if he'd eh bin killed?..
    What must yeh think of him? And what must yeh think've us, his parents, for bringin' 'im into the world!?"

That scene always has me in bits laughing, no matter how many times I see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

Mine has to be....

*Fr Jack sees the rabbits*
    Fr Jack: "R...r.... Rats!!!"
    Fr Ted: Yes father, we see them to..."
    Fr Jack:"....Hairy Japanese b*****s!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I cant believe nobody mentioned this:

Ted: Thats the Pope Dougal, hes Gods representative on Earth.

Dougal: Really Ted, youd think he'd be taller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Very difficult to pick out specific ones from a show that was pure comedy gold.

Anything with Bishop Brennan.

Dougal: "How'rya Len!"
    Bishop Brennan: "You address me by my proper title, y' little b****cks"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Creon

Wat a mark of a great show, almost everyone started their post by claiming how difficult it was to pick one single vest moment, and i'm no different, so here's a few of my favourites:

Ted:"Down with that sort of thing"
    Dougal:"Careful now"

The scene where father ted talks tommy tiernen of the edge of the building ledge and that points out that it's £20 pounds he owes him and not what tommy tiernen thought was £10, classic

"The money was resting in my account", i thought that was an excelllent joke to have running throughout the series

Bishop Brennan looking at the skirting board in "kicking bishop brennen up the arse part II" and proclaiming "Crilly, someone has crudly draw a picture of me on this skirting board in a vain attempt to impress me"(qoute is slighty wrong,someone correct it)

Pat Mustard:"You wouldn't be encouraging the use of artifical contraceptives now father would u?"
    Father Ted:"Eh.....Well.....um......just FECK OFF"

and finally the scene in the caravan episode(the noel furlong one), when the're driving away and the guy burts two of the tyres, after such a time dougal proclaims"He's bursting the tyres ted",how simple and absolutely brillant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭catsup

the pat mustard episode is a classic, never get tired of it.

"...now to ride mrs o'reilly..."

smurf-tacular.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In addition to the above - the little bits on the credits.
    The one with the feminists and they are trying to make a cup of tea without Mrs Doyle.

Three funniest words in the English language
    Small, Far, Away

BTW: The Canonical Priest List
    http://www.feck.net/splange/ftpriest.html
    Not very good as it does not list the Father 'Windy' Shepherd Hendersons inividually :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

the one wit Pat Mustard when hes walking out of Mrs.O'Rielly's and he comes walking out with not trousers on:

Pat"Jaysus Sheila i forgot me feckin' trousers!!!!!!!"

pure class

R.I.P Dermot Morgan