Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reclaim the Streets

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭seedot

This debate is probably the best I've seen to date on RTS but a couple of posters have now focussed on the 'youthful idealism' of RTS
    Nothing at all wrong with youthfull idealism, I remember being the same. It's a pity the modern rat race world we live in crushes it out so quickly, I'm only 25 so I remember being a student clearly I'm not pessimistic infact I'm anything but, but life is a lot more complex and difficult than I thought it would be. Once you start your career and have to cut it on your own and realize how poxy the world can be idealism sadly fades. You shouldn't give up at all and my only real gripe with RTS is the way it is organized it could so easily be an all inclusive fun event run in conjuction with car free day or something and in co operation with the authorities. All alot of people see it as is a honeypot for trouble makers and malcontents

OK - I'm 33, I drive a car (including driving in to the last 2 RTS events) and bring my own child and meet a number of other parents who bring children to the events.

I don't see RTS as a protest - if it's a protest that means it will stop if granted some demand. Given that the demand seems to be for a different type of city, with no concrete steps outlined, it is a v. poor form of protest.

RTS is much more part of a process of challenging values for the attendees - why can you not dance in the middle of the city, why are the only 'family' events heavily commercialised, who actually controls the thoroughfares of our city - politicians?, guards?, the chamber of commerce? or the citizens?. It is confrontational - but when challenging an entrenched set of values it is sometimes necessary to be confrontational - when Merrion square is closed off for the Patricks festival so people can sell you crap food and rides on a poor funfair no debate occurs, nobody thinks about how the city should be.

RTS is a party - the real kind with music and games and food not the type full of hot air and arguments. It came out of parties that were outlawed after the fact as the British (and subsequently the irish) tried to stamp out people gathering to dance to 'repetitive thudding beats' (the description in the british legislation). Now there's less e and more facepainting, juggling and sandwiches but it has the same effect - of radicalising people who are otherwise excluded.

As a car driver, congestion charges, exclusion zones and all the other options to change our city will involve some discomfort for me - but RTS reminds me that the city is actually better if it is alive, populated and on foot. Also that this is possible.

I would suggest people continue this debate next Monday - by turning up at the GPO, following the crowd and asking them why they are there.

There's a lot of answers - but thats the way it should be if we are going to change the values we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 mazzyianne

wow, well put
    It should be a family thing, all you people should be there. Just imagine what the city could be like, it could be beautiful...

Give up grumping about RTS, come along and see for yourselves. Maybe you'll be inspired by the youthful idealism

We'll even give ya a free sandwich
    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 kitty-kat

Hallo all,
    I'm sorry i've missed a lot of what's gone on on this thread over the last couple of weeks. I have really enjoyed being a part of this and intend to keep the discussion going after Monday (there will be much ore fat to chew I'm sure!) I've just been really busy preparing for Monday!

I've gotten the impression that everyone here is genuinely keen to discuss and resolve the issues raised so i would strongly encourage those who are skeptical, keen, convinced and confused to come on Monday. The perspectives you're going to get on this list are going to be limited to the number of people involved - far fewer than the party itself, naturally. Also it's easier to understand an event by actually attending!

So far there is Samba, trad, reggae, dub, techno, street theatre, street art, jugglers & similar street performers, food (hopefully), football, who know's maybe even badminton, like in Sept.
    I'd strongly encourage the curious to bring along themselves, a friend and the means for some fun i.e. be that a guitar, a football or whatever. And for godsake some o' ye come in costume!! There's only about 4 of us that do every time and i'm running out of ideas!

See you Monday. xx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭MDR

Is it this monday ?

If so, I genuinely wish you the best of luck on day, I hope you get decent weather for the event, and I am sure we all hope, no matter what opinions we hold on what happened in may last year, that the day is peacefully.

All the best,

Ray Kinsella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Yeah, I hope it goes well and is peacefull and stays in the spirt of what it's supposed to be about, Fun. Tell any trouble makers that might try to join you that they are not welcome. It only takes a coulple of idiots to spoil the whole thing. Have a blast anyway, if I'm in town I might mosey on over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

just a few wee small points I would like to clear up MDR
    the GRA is not in fact a Union it has no Union status afforded to it as it is illegal for Irish Policemen to have a union, it is a representative body, this may seem like a cosmetic difference but it is in fact quite different.

Now moving onto to other posts(ie not MDR's) to be quite frank I think it is just plainly ill conceived to say that all the Gardai understand is violence, obviously this is just not the case and to be honest I think it is a bit childish to say this, but hey thats free speech.

I feel that there are interesting days ahead but if RTS wish to get their message across they will need to work on not alienating the wider public. I feel the public have no wish to have their streets recliamed for them, except maybe to have them recliamed to their pre pot holed days !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Originally posted by vasch_ro

I feel that there are interesting days ahead but if RTS wish to get their message across they will need to work on not alienating the wider public. I feel the public have no wish to have their streets recliamed for them, except maybe to have them recliamed to their pre pot holed days !!!

Well Put.

Red

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭MDR

it as it is illegal for Irish Policemen to have a union

GRA - Garda Representative Assocation .... yes I was aware of this, the Garda themselves consider it to be their "union" as its is the only representation they have and has organised union-esque activities such as the blue flu, in the past, although they (and I) are aware its not a union in the proper sense, most of them feel its useless.

It being illegal for them to have a proper union, is a source annoyance for many, especially in light of the benchmarking awards ... but thats all slightily OT.