Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Via €54???

Options
12346»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Originally posted by djste18
    25mgb of Unix Hosting € 28.75
    25 Mgb Windows 2000 hosting € 49.95 [/B]

I'm no expert, but surely the Unix hosting would be more "secure" for a start?
    How do they manage to charge so much for Windows hosting?
    (Or do a lot of companies need FrontPage extensions support?)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Originally posted by Igy

Usually there are higher license fee and hardware costs with windows.

It is the norm for hosting services to charge more for windows then for *nix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Jorinn

Originally posted by Igy
    I'm no expert, but surely the Unix hosting would be more "secure" for a start?
    (Or do a lot of companies need FrontPage extensions support?)
    Maybe it's a danger fee, presumably a windows server would be targeted far more by crackers et all than a Unix server. Also they can probably charge a premium because idiots will think, ooh windows, I've got that on my computer at work, better be safe about it.

BTW, if anyone is actaully looking for decent price hosting then check out www.sourcecod.com

• Registered Users Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭carbsy

Just had an email from Netsource stating that they had just received confirmation that there will be an extra 4 day wait on €ircon to get lines ready for customers outside the greater Dublin area.

€ircon @ it again! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta