Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What other boards could we put on here?

• 22-05-2000 3:17am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm thinking,
    1. Humour
    2. Politics/Religion?

Do we need to split out the Tech forum in some way?

Anyone got any idea (apart from Porn, which is a non starter... bubbles!)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

art and stuff board

we could call it "c'est n'est pas une board d'arte."

or "art" board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Just call Politics/Religion Incoherent Flaming - I thought you were always supposed to avoid talking about sex, politics, & religion with the Irish smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

you could add new tech boards:

Overclocking
    Networking/Internet
    O/S
    New Computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Politics + Religion would be ill advised.

Maybe an Events board would be good?
    For listing Events (as i'm sure you guessed).

JAK.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Well, consider on the Books board, we've been getting down 'n' dirty with Dreams 'n stuff smile.gif
    Maybe a Psych / Human Nature kinda thing. It could cover the politics and religion issues too.

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

A humour board would definitely be a good idea - seems to be a lot of good jokes (and a fair few awful ones) flying around on here and kludging them all into one place may be handy.

As for politics and religion... er... NO thanks... enough of that on Usenet (ie.general, ie.politics and soc.culture.irish specifically)

Bard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

As i see it, humour is an appropriate board.

Apart from that, my own suggestions are :
    Animé
    Eastern RPGs (as opposed to the UltimaOnline dominated roleplaying forum)
    and
    Final Fantasy (Bring it back!! smile.gif)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Coyote

Well i think a we should have a web games board for the likes of www.planetarion.com monarchy http://monarchy.shareplay.com
    and for other games like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

Yeah, a humour board definintely, and of course a TELEVISION board. I think i would be agreed with here when i say a buffy pictures board?????

tct

eek.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Me thinks yah need to split the Tech. boards into 2 areas, Tech .support and General or something .

Politics/Religion would be a class idea for a forum. Can't think of something better to do in work than moan about my religious and politic views. Not only that - it will be interesting to see other people comments like DeV trying to argue that a dictatorship is a good idea tongue.gif

Change the films boards to include TV. Call it the big and small screen or something. That way we can have cool star trek discussions !! yay!

Now, the serious part... the p0rn !!! I never wanted a "porn" forum Mr.Devore. Merly an adult forum, where we can post funny pics, and cartoons (not porn porn but more like adult jokes) without Monty going into one of his hormonal fits. And even at that, it was just an idea. You know that most of the people that read these boards are perverts, you might as well entertain them/me.

Cheers tongue.gif
    bubbs

[This message has been edited by bubbles (edited 22-05-2000).]

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Hobbes is right, we always wanted to create new boards because there are too many posts of one kind dominating a board. Its hard to start a board from scratch...

Hence, Humour to ease the load on Afterhours (which should be for events and things after work etc)

Tech will be broken out into a main board and two sub boards as per Afterhours I think. I'll ask the lads there to decide.

Coyote will get his Webbased games board at the expense of Tribes (which may come back with Tribes2).

I know Religion and Politics would be asking for trouble and I've avoided the topics before but it would be nice to have somewhere to dicuss philosophical stuff...

TV will go in with Film until we see how popular it is.

Anything more?

DeV.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

"Art" is an idea too but I dunno if it would be busy enough...

Perhaps bundled with philosphy, psychology, politics, religion etc... Human Condition?

I dunno. I feel the need to eat linguini and talk about Bertrand Russell all of a sudden... euw!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

can you split the half-life board into 2?

HalfLife & HalfLife(Children), and sortof put an age filter on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

devore > all the "art" stuff could become Humanities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by bubbles:
    Anyways when tribes2 is released it will be buzzin again.

Until the posts pick up it should be of the same Genre.

eg.
    Tribes
    Tribes2
    C+C/Starcraft
    Battlezone2
    HALO
    Planetron.

Are all more or less the same Genre.

RP board does everything including board games, cards, FF, etc. It's just seems to get the most posts from the current favorite RP game.

Tech used to be 2 boards, and there wasn't enough posts to justify them.

And if you split the afterhours, the humour one will get all the posts smile.gif

Bubbles, if we do usurp the Tribes board, it will be as a new board, with the old one remaining, just not linked to.

When tribes2 comes out we'll revive it.

Thing about supporting various games is that the games board is pretty quiet so if you want to discuss Dark Reign and strategy games you should do it there... If enough people join you then you have demostrated a need for that board.

DeV

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭juNkie

I think a design/web code board would be good awrigh. A place to go with questions on ASP XML photoshop .... all the good stuff like.

It would be a good place to go if your buildin a web site, which most of us have done and most of us are pretty **** at but think their deadly, we could point emm in the right direction so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭SickBoy

DeV,

Whats the chance of getting an Alan Partridge board?

I think bubbles' idea of a more Adult board should be considered as there are quite a few posts that Monty has deemed inappropriate - not that I disagree with Monty, but suitable warnings can be given about the content on a board of that nature.

I also feel that getting rid of the Tribes board is a bad idea - Tribes 2 is not that far away and the Tribes board used to be hopping with posts. Merging it into a strategy board isn't a bad idea, but people don't seem to be using the Games board to it's full potential.

Film/TV merge is a good idea, as would a Radio/Music kind of thing (but we don't seem to have many Radio topics, so maybe the idea is un-necessary).

juNKie's Web / Design board is a nice idea - making it a Technology offspring makes the most sense. Actually, we used to have one of those before, didn't we?

A Human Nature should definitely go in. It could cover anything really - Art, Politics, Religion, blagh smile.gif

Here's a thought - a Requests Board smile.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Humour Board would definitley be a good idea so ... but how will it be moderated?

There is a big grey area with regards to what some consider humour and others would view as simply offensive. I'm just curious as to how the board would be rated? "Suitable for all the family" or what?

I think the Humanities board is a good idea ... it's general enough to allow lots of discussions, including Politics and Religion.

But a board dedicated exclusively to Politics and Religion would likely (and I'm sure it'd be entertaining to watch smile.gif) degenerate to baby Jihad's and anonymous libel.

imo.

JAK.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

What about :

1)A travel board for the likes of well travelled and cultured people like myself(I suppose with the likes of yee I'd be on my own there biggrin.gif) , heh.
    That could be an interesting place to discuss and give advice on places to see and visit.Speaking from experience I always go to virtualtourist.com which is cool for info on mad places, so if we could get a board like that it might take off(pun regarding planes not intended).
    It could be like a mixture of travel, tourism, blah blah, know what I mean?
    blah...or just plain exotic places(forget the contradiction).Fek, why does everything I write end up shrouded in double meanings?*#

2)Travel Board again cos I forgot what I wanted to put here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I think Junkie...is on the ball there..not in fact is he on the ball...he owns the ball....and if yous don't deliever....he'll go home with the before mentioned ball

travel board gets my vote

Travel board as a part of the Culture/Humanities thingy?
    Good idea Boss btw smile.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

Humanities would be great de Vore. Somewhere that weightier, topics could be discussed. Also travel might be an idea. The adult board could work if you kept a tight control on it. and a buffy board, where only wyverne could post.

It is so lonely here in my indecipherable tower of speech impedimency

[time warp]
    the boards.ie heads back to the days of the greek empire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

how about a spam board that no one reads but everyone posts to??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I think there should be less boards, until posts justify a split (eg, the RP board exists because we annoyed all the quake heads with posts).

Splitting boards, just means less posts and more to look through.

Might want to convert Tribes into Stratgy board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Leave the tribes forum alone please! T'is contains all the history of Irish Tribes and don't want it poluted with other stuff ;p

Anyways when tribes2 is released it will be buzzin again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Hmmm coyote you missed the best web game of all (utopia) and the first one (earth 2025). you can find them at http://games.eesite.com/

Hobbes I agree the tribes board is redundant atm and i would be in favour of the strategy board (Dark Reign is still the best strat game ever!!). The only thing is, tribes 2 might generate a lot of interest in the tribes board...
    Possibly tribes could be considered a strategy game...

I am the master and i 0wn j00 a| | smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Perhaps a more 'adult' forum would be a good idea - poor ol Monty seems a bit sensitive to some things smile.gif

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I notice the lack of a travel board Mr Devore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

The "adult" board sounds good to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Ok hold your sides....

A "Surf" Board - people upload cool urls here.
    An "Ironing" Board - All sorts of topics from flat chested women to general housework.
    An "I'm Bored" Board - self explainitory.
    A "Borad" Board - for dsylexics.

GUFFAW!!! RAAAH!!! HUGE BOYSTERIOUS LAUGHTER!!!

Finally, for GODS SAKE!!! THINK OF THE CHILDREN!!!

P.s if any of these actually gets used I will sue.

In fact delete this post and send me the link for where you got this package from. In an unmarked e-mail.

JESUS H TAP DANCING CHRIST!!! WON'T YOU PLEASE JUST THINK OF THE CHILDREN!!!

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

If that spam board yoke goes ahead (which it won't) I'd like to be the moderator.

i am a chocolate bars haven!

tct

eek.gif

I'm a bicycle!!

In all seriousness....the greatest place on earth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭tr1n1ty

Yes I agree with Amp - what about the kids?
    they have a link on the homepage but what if they stray? How do we stop the embarassing situation of a kid getting into the adult board and we getting the flak from sponsors and parents alike?

can this section be password enabled?

To Infinity and Beyond!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Coyote

Well i know that this would not be a board but could we set it up that you can see the number of viwes a post has and could we get rid of the numbers of posts someone has and change it to how long someone has been a member of the boards as the post count was fun at the start with the likes of wwman and Hobbes as they all was posted good stuff and not jsut spam as it has turned in to with some people, some people read this board more and help people and repley with good repleys in stead of spam and i would call them better members that the people with 600 posts with 75% jsut being pure spam to get there post count up.
    Coyote

P'raps a DOB on the initial registration bit and that can block the pages accordingly.

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

20 part general knowledge test to get access to an adult section.

question like
    1/ when u leave the first room in wolfenstein 3d which way to you have to turn to go down the long corridor?

etc
    just ask questions about old pc games.
    any one who knows the answers will be old enough

lol - good 'un smile.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff