Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Prediction Time: Man utd Vs Real

• 23-04-2003 2:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭

Ill start it rolling, Man utd to win 2-1. They dont have a chance of keeping a clean sheet tonight though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

This match is going to be a cracker. That's my prediction. Even as a Liverpool fan I can't wait to see how both teams approach this - especially Utd; without Scoles.

As for a scoreline well for arguments sake I'll go for 2-1 for Utd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bobsmith833

3-1 to Real I think. They are a class act, and they don't give a monkeys whether they're home or away.

I forgot about O Shea being out as weel thats another bad blow which means P. Neville will start on the left. The big question is will Ferguson chance playing Veron who has been out for so long. It's a gamble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

I think it'll be 2-1 to Real. With Real scoring first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

fvck it. I'll go out on a limb. 2-0 to United. United go through on away goals. You never know :(

CMON UNITED :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

I'm with daveg...

GO ON UNITED!!!

3 - 0 to United on the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Unless Utd up about fifteen gears and/or Real field a reserve team I really can't see Utd winning.

I'll take a score draw or one goal win to Real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

I hope United win for the sake of old Roy / young John O'Shea but I'd be worried if I was a United fan ... nervous/anxious night ahead ;)

3-1 ( even a.e.t ) - scum win on peno's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

err 2-1 to Man u.

Dont expect manu to go through so if/when they do, ill be delighted. Therefore nto a nervous night ahead for me :p

(u know ill be biting my nails by kick off tho )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

A rivetting ( I use the term loosely) 0-0. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

I would Love to see them get hockied But Im going to have a bet on them to win and that Kills me But they have got out of Tighter holes rememebr they won it a few Years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

I really cant see manure going past real, unless real's players all die horribly in a plane crash along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

i think scholes is going to be missed more than raul. My guess 3-2 to real with guti scoring first!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

it pains me, as a proud united supporter, to agree with you sikes: scholes is going to be more missed than Raul - the ginger menace has been on excellent form for united - that guti lad is a slippery one, but perhaps a bit too interested in posing than playing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I'd predict 2-1 to Man U, with Ronaldo scoring first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nil-Nil :eek: :D

Nah. I see goals galore, I see Macca scoring and putting Utd out! Well, I can dream....:p

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Scholesy is deffo a massive loss for Utd, especially as Veron is still injured. I'll say 3-2 to Real tonite, so 6-3 on aggregate. Whoopa !

or else Utd will snake a 3-1 win, no goals a.e.t. and stevey mc will score the winning peno for Real...PLEASE...PLEASE...:)

Woops, my mistake, Veron is back in the team. Nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

20 minutes to go and there is surely no way for United to go through now. there has been some great goals, a stunning Beckham free kick as i type. 3 more goals required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Is anyone else thinking that Bartez was incredibly bad tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger
    A rivetting ( I use the term loosely) 0-0. :p

I meant to use the 0-0 as a loose term! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

What a game. Lived up to expectations and fair play to united for winning the game. But you have to admire Real, they are in a different league and showed pure class at times.

I think Barthez is too small and a bigger keeper could have got to the first and third goal.

Fair play Real and bring on united for spurs!!! (oh no)

Fantastic game but tbh i was a bit disappointed with Real tonight, their goals were class but apart from them i dont think they hit the target.
    Barthez should have done better with the first and maybe with the third tho im not sure about that one.

Man u deserved to win that game but i think Real just about deserved to go through over the two legs. Great game to watch :)

(if only one of them had gone in after Beckhams free kick, solskaers chance springs to mind. Man u had a fair few chances to win it tho)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Great fun for a (abu) neutral. Utd deserve credit for making a game of it but the difference between
    Reals attack and Utds defence was plain as day...

Mike.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Barthez for the first goal... :rolleyes:
    Defending for the second... :rolleyes:
    Not closing down for the third... :rolleyes:

Me... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Defending for the second... :rolleyes:

Don't think many defences would have stopped that one tbh.

Feck Real anyway... Milan v Inter semi final :D

Originally posted by PiE
    Don't think many defences would have stopped that one tbh.

Feck Real anyway... Milan v Inter semi final :D
    Simple tracking back was all that was required from that one IMO. And none of the defenders done so, it was a poor goal to give away. Roberto Carlos should not have been allowed to make that run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Only way they could have stopped him making that run would have been to trip him as he streaked past. The defence pushed up after it was taken out of the box, but Carlos brought it back in so fast that they were caught out.

Excellent play more than bad defending imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

barthez in my opinion is past it. i was at the blackburn game on saturday, he fu**** p for their goal and pretended to be injured, there was nothing wrong with him. he was at first for first goal but i blame ferdinand just as much. the player just hasnt got enuff concentration to be good enuff at european level, he totally lost ronaldo. second goal all started wth wes brown losin ball in their corner, he never got back in position but the whole defence were just as static. united had their fair share of chances, but i always felt real could step up a gear.

What a cracking game of football that was. Fair play to United for giving it a go, they could easily have scored 6 or 7 goals. They attacked and attacked all night (when they had the ball) which no other team in England is capable of doing imo. But Barthez was rubbish for 2 of the goals, Ferdinand is a joke and Brown is just not good enough either. Saying that, no defence in the world can stop Real's forwards when they're on song. And fair play to the United fans for clapping Ronaldo when he went off, maybe they're not scum afterall...;) :)

I can't wait for the Milan V Inter games. Man that is gonna be insane. Best Champions League ever...

YNWA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Jake303

Man U played well tonight but lets face it they are not in the same class as Real

Of the four Man U scored tonight two were own goals, lets not forget that!

ill think u find only 1 was an own goal :rolleyes:

dont matter if it was on its way in or not, Beckham put it in :)

Don't matter how they go in as long as they do etc, but Real did score the wonder goals.

Well what can I say. Zidane remains my favourite player. After a quite first half he turned it on in the second half and dominated the midfield with percision passing, great running and unselfishness. I would have loved to see him get a goal last night. He had the chances but prefers to pass it.

Anyway apart from that genius, it was a great game. Ronaldo's first one was a bad blow, the second even bigger blow and the third a piece of class. I never saw a way back for Utd after the first goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

Just how good was Ronaldo last night?? He completely took apart the Utd defense. They just didnt know how to deal with him. And what about his third goal!? OMG!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Benbaz

Absolutey Class match!! Great to see constant attacking football for the full 90 minutes.
    But as was proven over both legs Real are just a cut above the rest. They didn't look they got out of 3rd gear last night and answered everything Utd. asked of them.
    Worth noting that they scored early on in each of the 2 legs giving Utd. a mountain to climb each time, sign of of the best team in the world. Ronaldo was quiet for the game (only played for about 60mins.) but only needed the 3 chances to do the business.

That brings me onto to Mr. Ferdinand!!!:(
    HE IS MUCK!!! Totally at fault for the first goal, he should of stepped up to play Ronaldo offside, not taking anything away from the Bucktooth Maestro but c'mon Rio, FFS it's schoolboy stuff and he proved "once again" that if anybody runs at him he's lost for pace!!! £30million :rolleyes:
    Brown wasn't much better either!!

And as for a second goal the Utd. defence was diabolical, totally static with everyone afraid to tackle, again not taking anything away from Real but c'mon!!!!
    Figo skimming the crossbar on the lead up to the second!!! :eek: Pure Genius!!

Listening to the UTV panel last night I was shocked but not really surprised to hear them go on about the "Genius" that is Golden Balls Beckham!!! The English press is in such dire need of a hero that it's laughable! Not taking away from GB's world class passing and second to none dead ball kick's but for them to suggest that him being on from the beginning would've some how made a difference to the final result is a joke. Utd.'s problem wasn't scoring goals, conceding them was their main problem, thanks to Messrs. Ferdinand and Brown. And as already said, it wouldn't of mattered if Utd. had of scored 10 cos Real just would of matched them.

Keane was very quiet for the match but hasn't been himself since the op. won't be able to really pass judgement until he's back next season after his summer break. But it looks like he's heading for the centre of defence!

But on an up note ;)
    O'SHEA and RUUD!!!!! BRILLIANT BRILLIANT BRILLIANT!!!!!

..........end of rant...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Barthez for the first goal... :rolleyes:

u can't blame him for the first goal it was put in the perfect spot by ronaldo it was not the goalkeepers fault at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Gaffo

The real thing that killed Utd last night was the quality of passing from Real. It was all one or two touch football and utd could just never catch up with them. They really are just pure class. Selected chances and they put them away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Gaffo

I think it was goalkeepers that kept teams in it yesterday and on Tuesday night. Real's keeper made some fine saves as did Juve's. Essentially keeping them in the competition.

Barthez should never have been beaten on his inside post for the first goal and just made the dive look good. He's past his prime. As is Keane unfortunately. Still a good player but not good enough. Maybe JOS could migrate to that position. The only player that had a consistantly good game imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,297 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Football is all about taking your chances and thats what Real did.
    For all their flair and class over the two legs Real won due to ineptitude on the part of the United defence.
    Barthez seems to be shrinking with ever game.
    He should have stopped the first and 3rd goal last night.
    In the first leg he was culpable for two goals too.
    If Schmeichel 99 was between the sticks it would have been a different tie.
    As regards Ferdinand ,he is without doubt the worst defender ( Does he know the meaning of the word ?) I have seen in a United jersey in my 26 yrs of being.
    Key requirements to be a defender:
    Concentration,physical presence,watch the opponents runs,marking and tackling.
    Ferdinand doesnt believe in tackling.Keeps on backing off .
    For Real's second goal the whole defence kept on backing off .
    United had at least a 2 man advantage ,yet they could neither mark anyone or get a tackle in.Unacceptable.
    I wasnt a big fan of Stam when he was at the club but If he was playing last night I think things could have been a bit different.
    In O'Shea ,Silvestre and Neville I think their is the making of a good defence.
    We definitely need a new centre back and keeper .

Originally posted by Gaffo
    I think it was goalkeepers that kept teams in it yesterday and on Tuesday night. Real's keeper made some fine saves as did Juve's. Essentially keeping them in the competition.

Barthez should never have been beaten on his inside post for the first goal and just made the dive look good. He's past his prime. As is Keane unfortunately. Still a good player but not good enough. Maybe JOS could migrate to that position. The only player that had a consistantly good game imo.

I think you're right about Real's keeper, he made a Sh#t load of saves last!!!

But Keane being past it??? C'mon!! It wasn't even a year ago that he had the whole country divided about whether "one of the world's greatest" (said by both fans and non-fans alike) should be playing for Ireland!!! He's only just back from major surgery, it's WAY too early to say!!!

Originally posted by MisterAnarchy

If Schmeichel 99 was between the sticks

If my Aunty had balls, she'd be my Uncle!!! :)
    You can't really go down the what if route but point taken.

But I'm so glad to hear someone "finally" share my opinion on Rio!!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Great game to watch. Ronaldo... what can you say.

On Utds team selection: I was surprised by Fergie playing O'Shea on the left with Brown on the right and Silvestre and Ferdinand in the centre. Would have expected Silvestre at LB, with Brown and Ferdinand at CB like they were at the end.

I wasn't very surprised at Beckham being dropped, he is so overrated its untrue. He comes on, scores a free kick and suddenly hes the messiah. Bloody english media.

Van Nistelrooy and O'Shea were excellent as usual. Giggs and Solskjaer were decent, while the Utd centre midfield trio were non existent. Keane was an invisible man, Butt much the same except for when he was fouling people... they made Veron look good. Brown looked over-awed by the occasion. Silvestre was alright, Ferdinand was dire. Not looking like a well spent 30 mill so far.

Will be interesting to see how Real - Juve pans out. I reckon Real won't find Juve's defence quite as easy to crack... those crafty eye-talians.

Oh, and Milan vs Inter... YES!!! :)

Originally posted by johnnynolegs
    u can't blame him for the first goal it was put in the perfect spot by ronaldo it was not the goalkeepers fault at all
    I'm a keeper myself, and I know that if he was properly positioned at his near post there would be no goal. There was no need for him to be on the edge of his penalty area. It is ok when the ball is on the far side of the field, but once the ball is past the half way line you have to be behind you're 6 yard line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I agree Barthez was well out of position for both the first and third goal. Having said that, fair dues to Ronaldo who had the where withall to put both of them away. I think real are a great team, but were slightly lucky to get through to the next round. Over the course of both games United had alot more chances on target, unfortunately Barthez had a bad night last night and allowed in two goals that would not normally get past him. As for those saying real had another gear to go up last night, you are talking ars*, bear in mind that United won last night and only lost by one goal over two legs. Real were on the ropes for several periods during the game as were united for other periods. Both teams were playing well and they produced two brilliant games of football over the two legs. I am disappointed that Unitedare out cause they have already beaten Juve twice in this competition and I would have fancied them to do so again, but every time United and real get drawn together you know you are in for some great football.

Originally posted by Waylander
    As for those saying real had another gear to go up last night, you are talking ars*, bear in mind that United won last night and only lost by one goal over two legs. Real were on the ropes for several periods during the game as were united for other periods[/i]

But that's the point, Real were indeed on the ropes as a result of their less than rigid defence, keeper apart, and they also let in 2 own goals.
    I also agree that Utd. had the more chances but unlike Real who didn't have that many chances, when they did come along they took them.
    As I already said Ronaldo was quiet in the game, he had three chances and took them all. He also only played for an hour, an indication that Real knew that they had the game won!

Both teams were playing well and they produced two brilliant games of football over the two legs. I am disappointed that Unitedare out cause they have already beaten Juve twice in this competition and I would have fancied them to do so again, but every time United and real get drawn together you know you are in for some great football.

I totally agree, there is nothing better than the attacking style of football that both teams employ. And I think Utd. could've done Juve in the Semi's.
    I also think Real will beat Juve but I don't think it'll be a goalfest like last night because I don't think Juve's defence will be as naive as Utd.'s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

look at the difference in quality of goals between the two sides, over the two legs. All of real's goals were class, all of uniteds (bar beckhams free kick) were scrappy tap ins or own goals. Anyone who says united were unlucky not to go through is deluded, real missed there fair share of chances too, the penalty that wasn't given in madrid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Thats why the CL is the best football int he world thos 2 legs were simply stunning and showed how football should be played, Real did the nice things but Man Utd did their part in not giving up and playing right till the end.

In the end it all came down to missed chances Utd had enough over 2 legs to run out easy winners and Real seemed score when they wanted to or had the ball. RVN has showed that he deserves to labelled as one of the best strikers in the World with Raul as the best and Ronaldo there abouts.

Real only had 8 shots in that game and 5 were lame attempts the other 3 were a hatrick Utd had 24 and at least 6 were superb blocks (seriously i reckon some of those saves were Casillas protecting his face rather than saves).

Utd need another striker who can score 20+ a season and takes his chances Solskjaer played well and was the reason that if a ball bounced twice in Reals box their defenders all fell over.

One thing amazes me how can a team like Real score when they want but are uttlerly incapable of schollboy clearances.
    Is there no spanish words for "when in doubt, put it out?"

And sadly i would expect Juve to nullify Real with their oh so exciting 11 men behind the ball tactics but in Juves case thyey got 11 good defenders behind the ball witha decent keeper.

kdjac

I agree with KdjaC, I think there will be an all Italian final this year, because Juventus will punish Real the exact same way as they punished Barcelona, on the counter attack. That is the same reason why Valencia were knocked out by Inter. Spanish teams simply cant cope with counter attacking teams.

The only reason why Real won last night was because United were chasing the game from the start. Which a player like Ronaldo thrives on, space up front for him. If it had been a draw in the Bernabeu, United would DEFINATELY have went throw. No question.

I'd say it will be a Juve. vs. Milan final with Milan coming out on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I'd be more inclined to expect a Madrid-Milan final.

So Barthez was out of position? Big deal, its one way in which Madrid are a better team than United are.

I agree that Madrid's defensive capabilities will be more exploited by the Italian teams, but its a little categorical to say that the catenaccio system will beat the irresistible force of Madrid. We'll see though.

Me too Bateman. It's gonna be AC Milan Vs Real Madrid in the final. I would be very surprised if Juve actually beat Real over the two legs. Juve will try and get a 0-0 in Madrid, and then hope to win 1-0 or 2-1 in Turin. That just ain't gonna happen. (BTW who's got the home draw in the semi's?)
    AC Milan are out of the Seria A chase for the title so they'll be more focused than Inter and Juve on winning the Champioms League, and I hope they do it too.