Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Well who saw that coming?

• 28-04-2003 10:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭

Arsenal dropping 2 points after taking a 2 goal lead

Boring boring liverpool putting in 6 goals albeit against a weak side like west brom

Chelsea dropping 2 points at fulham when they looked like they should have had the 6 nil result

Newcastle being very jammy and getting a lucky decision towards the end but ah well thats football

West Ham somehow scraping a win to keep the relegation fight well open

it is building to a very interesting end my friends...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

G'Wan United!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

I could see Bolton getting points off ars

the momentum before the game was with man Utd .. and if bolton lost they would have been right back in the relegation scrap ... I hope bolton stay up .. don't think west ham have done enough this season to justify their place

also .. leeds could be in the fight soon .. if they lose against arsenal and bolton/wh win .. they will be right in it

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well we know what football is like, it never goes to plan, so many posts here over the last few months were funny, like United finished, will finish mid table, arse to win everything, scouse to win league :D , etc etc etc.
    I for one have be very suprised to find us in contention to be honest, but fair play to United, kept plugging away.
    Also again with scouse did not think they would make 4th, now could even get into 3rd so once again, fair play, 2 teams that have kept pluggin away, even though scouse have more regrets than most about this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

Originally posted by johnnynolegs
    Chelsea dropping 2 points at fulham when they looked like they should have had the 6 nil result

6 nil are you high?

Chelsea missed one sitter to be fair but there goal was a hand ball so it balanced itself out. Fulham could have won it, they had the chances. From the highlights I saw and what I've read it was a very close game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭joey D

I think Liverpool's 6-nil win highlights their inconsistency over the season - that kind of result shows the potential that hasn't been realised.

Arsenal just don't play with the same battling spirit as United, they rarely have. Giles made the point some time ago that Arsenal goals are nearly always really stylish, edge of the box stuff, they're not used to (or don't seem willing to fight for) scrappy goals - the difference with United is they work hard to the end of every game, and are more than willing to take a goal no matter what way it comes. I think Giles is right and I think that's why you can't say United don't deserve to win the league considering their performances since January - they have been playing with a lot more passion, commitment and focus. It's fair to say that Arsenal have thrown away the premiership, but maybe that's what marks a really top class team - the 'never say die' attitude of United, the work-rate of RVN, Scholes and a few others, compare to the champagne laissez-faire attitude of a lot of Arsenal players. If I was an Arsenal player I'd be very disappointed with how it looks liek the league is going to end.... but it's not over yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by joey D

Arsenal just don't play with the same battling spirit as United, they rarely have. Giles made the point some time ago that Arsenal goals are nearly always really stylish, edge of the box stuff, they're not used to (or don't seem willing to fight for) scrappy goals -

I think thats probably generalising it a bit. Arsenal V Everton immediatly springs to mind. 2 very scrappy goals to get the win there.

It's fair to say that Arsenal have thrown away the premiership, but maybe that's what marks a really top class team - the 'never say die' attitude of United, the work-rate of RVN, Scholes and a few others, compare to the champagne laissez-faire attitude of a lot of Arsenal players. ..

Er, the roles were reversed in 98 and last year.

But yeh, looking at their run since xmas the moaners deserve it, although arsenal have thrown them a good few helping hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Difference between the sides i think is Arse play badly for a few games and scrape a few wins whereas Utd play consistently well and usually have blips rather than bad patches that stretch toa few games as they have a bigger squad of top class players Arse have about 13 world class players Utd maybe have 15 or 16.

Liverpool have 2 :D

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

I hope yer takin the pish there ! Arsenal have 13 world-class players !!! United have 15 or 16 !!!!!

Thats the funniest joke I've heard today

:p

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Space_Coyote
    I hope yer takin the pish there ! Arsenal have 13 world-class players !!! United have 15 or 16 !!!!!

Thats the funniest joke I've heard today

:p
    Haha... its funny cos its true!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

I think most People will agree that both Arsenal and Utd have very few "World Class Players" when i mean world class i mean players who'd walk onto the Real Madrid team.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Sposs
    I think most People will agree that both Arsenal and Utd have very few "World Class Players" when i mean world class i mean players who'd walk onto the Real Madrid team.
    I'd say Van Nistelrooy, Keane (when he's on top of his game), Scholes, Beckham, Giggs and O'Shea would get in there quite easily.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

In fairness if that stupid pleb mcgetahaircut gets onto the real team then their is hope for a lot of players.
    JOS or Campbell are far better defenders than Pavon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭feldy

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I'd say Van Nistelrooy, Keane (when he's on top of his game), Scholes, Beckham, Giggs and O'Shea would get in there quite easily.

lets not forget Rio - if he gets himself settled. also, Veron is a genious - just not with manyoo

the devils will win this year and next. GO ON MANU

...next year! Everyone knows that it's gonna be the mighty unstoppable Liverpool FC's title next season ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Everyone knows that it's gonna be the mighty unstoppable Liverpool FC's title next season ;)

All they need to do is get Macca back and buy a winger.
    Oh and a defender for cover...

Mike.

Everyone knows that it's gonna be the mighty unstoppable Liverpool FC's title next season

Just like last year!! :p Or the 14 years previous. 15 years and counting... tick..tick..tick :D

But in dog years its only 2 and a bit though :) ruff!

Seriously though, it's probly gonna be a 3 or 4-way battle next season with Arse, ManU, Pool and maybe the Toon. Chelsea still won't be good enough imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

liverpool need 2 wide players, two full backs, murphy with 12 goals this season for a midfielder is good, but i'm not convinced he provides that touch of genius in the centre. If a wide player doesn't come this summer either Houlier or I will be leaving the liverpool setup shortly

putting aside our predictions for next years champions, i am more interested to see if leeds n chelsea go bankrupt or not....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by uberwolf
    liverpool need 2 wide players, two full backs, murphy with 12 goals this season for a midfielder is good, but i'm not convinced he provides that touch of genius in the centre. If a wide player doesn't come this summer either Houlier or I will be leaving the liverpool setup shortly

A touch of genius perhaps not, but he is a very committed midfielder - he gives a hell of a lot more to the club's cause then most of the players around him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I think Newcastle will be challenging United and arsenal, but to be honest, I do not see Liverpool under Houllier staying the distance over a whole season. I know they were second last season but I can not see them doing that well again. Maybe if Houllier lets Thommo take over for a couple of months and win a couple more Manager of the month awards they wiull challenge.

to even consider the possibility of Liverpool ever winning the Premiership is beyond reason.
    A team who had an 8 point lead at the top before christmas, and who are now trying to fight to get a champs league spot?

PLEASE

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by feldy
    to even consider the possibility of Liverpool ever winning the Premiership is beyond reason.
    A team who had an 8 point lead at the top
    idiot

That is an absolutley ridiculous comment feldy. Weren't Arsenal 8 points ahead of United only a few weeks ago!!! So by your reasoning, Arsenal will never win a Premiership title again...Rubbish.
    Liverpool went 15 games without winning a game in the league and yet they are level on points with Chelsea and only 1 point behind Newcastle. All they need is to be a lot more positive at Anfield, where they drew 8 times in the league. Even Houllier has admitted that we've drawn way too many games.

Think before you speak.

my point was - for those people who dont seem to understand - that Liverpool are not a full season team. If they kept their form they would have killed this season off two months ago.
    Arsenal just ran out of steam (and lost the plot), while at the same time ManU, Newc & Chelsea found thier way.

Until the pool proove they can do it for a full season, they wont be a top 3 team.

As for being referred to as an idiot, kaids, I suggest you go find yourself a nice little yahoo chat room and vent.;)

Feld - Bit of a general comment alright, many teams have been way ahead and lost it. I agree they do not have the squad but they may win it sometime!
    BTW - Newcastle have one of the worst records at the minute so they can also be seen as a half season team?

Originally posted by yop
    Feld - Bit of a general comment alright.

fair enough. think the manu blood was getting a little excited when i said that. they need to sort themselves out a bit, but they will get there soon enough!!
    Originally posted by yop
    Feld - Bit of a general comment alright.
    BTW - Newcastle have one of the worst records at the minute so they can also be seen as a half season team?

I suppose that a team needs a massive quality squad and loads of dosh to keep up with manyoo and the gooners as we can all see, but newc are getting there. maybe another year will do it.

wonder if chelsea will be there next year or not? zola will be 70 this summer........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

They had a three game bad patch Yop. There is a difference between a collapse and a poor spell. I think Newcastle will be right up there next season, if they can keep the w*nker Shearer fit. Woodgate was a good signing and I think Bramble will come good. They just need a little more depth to their squad, but Sir Bobby is a cute hoor and he will make a couple of good signings this summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

Liverpool made some very poor choices last season in who they bought and also who they sold. Also Milan Baros hasnt played anywhere nearly as many games as he should have and Liverpool will not be a title challenger next year unless they can spend big and I mean realy big.

The title for next season will come down to the top two atm and possibly Newcastle depending on what they buy during the summer.

Chelsea might be able to push their way in there but again they will have to dish out the dosh.

The only real story of the season it that the gap between the big two and the rest is much closer. Its looking like ikt might end up a bit more like Italy where you have a big 3 or 4 or more rather than just 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

it seems to have been a season more associated with mistakes and inability(to finish teams) rather than anything else... what does everyone think of that?

Utd dropping points to relegated threatened, Gooners the same, pool drawing 8 home games, newcastle and their defense, leeds and ridsdale, etc

well said mr wolf. in a nutshell as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

Originally posted by hussey
    also .. leeds could be in the fight soon .. if they lose against arsenal and bolton/wh win .. they will be right in it

Bear with me for a sec here and correct me if i'm wrong but:

Leeds lose 2 / west ham win 2 = leeds relegated

Leeds lose 2 / west ham win 1 = leeds safe on goal difference

Leeds draw 1 / west ham win 2 = leeds relegated

Leeds draw 1 / west ham win 1 = leeds through by a point

Leeds win 1 / west ham win 2 = leeds through by goal difference

So all leeds really need to do is draw [edit] or win one (damn i wonder about myself sometimes) [/edit] and hope that chelsea and birmingham do the biz on saturday and leeds scrape a draw against arsenal or villa? west ham need at least one win to stay in contention, 2 draws won't be enough.

btw

goals F A
    leeds 52 54

WHU 39 57

It'll be an interesting sunday 11th may!!! I've never heard of a club go bankrupt but i'll probably be saying bye to viduka and kewell this summer :( poo