Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monaghan town goes wireless [ENN]

• 01-05-2003 2:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭

Sigma Wireless said it would spend thousands of euro to deliver wireless broadband access to Carrickmacross, County Monaghan, as part of a local initiative.

story
    here

• Registered Users Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭ando

sweet, my company is based in ballybay. Still on 128k :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭De Rebel

Sigma, meanwhile, could reap long-term business benefits from a successful trial. "We want to prove that this technology can be used to effectively provide broadband in rural areas," explained Sigma's Tierney. "We aim to become the number one supplier of [fixed-wireless] hardware in the country," Tierney added, noting that the firm is hoping to roll out similar services in other rural areas in Ireland, possibly with the help of the government. "The Minster is here today and it's something we hope to talk about," he said.
    The service will be implemented using Canopy Wireless equipment from Motorola, which operates licence-free in Ireland at 5.8Ghz. Pilot customers will then have a small external antenna fitted to their building.
    This is really excellent news. We soooo need real competition that is totally independent of eircom's infrastructure.

There is no sign of BT/NTL or any other major players delivering an alternative last mile.

Small projects like this one, the various commercial and not for profit satellite and other WAN projects look like the best bet. The backhaul exists, thanks to the ESB, the Western Digital Corridor and the infamous fibre rings.

The DCMNR appears to have some understanding of the issues, as do the Minister and other politicians. However the seed funding for wireless trials/pilots/start-ups is woefully inadequate.

The battle for the hearts and minds of the politicians is pretty much done and dusted. Take a bow IOFFL and Eircomtribuneral. Read theses debates (here here here and here)– two years ago these people would have been terrified to touch a technology subject - now they manage a reasonable debate for 2 or 3 hours with very few howlers.

IOFFL, and that includes any poster here with any influence, (which is every poster here if they so choose) now needs to make Wireless the number one priority. We have real progress on DSL, we appear to have real progress on Flat Rate (1).

The politicians, the real decision makers are listening. Many are even talking. One or two, like Dermot Ahern, are actually doing useful things. NOW is the time to strike. ( sorry Xian :p )

I would urge every one here to make contact with a local TD. Don’t just e-mail them. Meet them face to face and explain in simple clear terms what the issues are. She/he is your local representative. She/he is there to listen to you, take on board your needs and feed these requirements into the decision making process. The great majority of people here are intelligent, articulate and have a prize that every politician wants – a vote. Young votes are especially prized.

TD’s will respond best to approaches from voters from within their own constituencies. Find out who your local TDs are and meet them. All the better if they are present on the list of key players that follows in the second part of this post.

And when you meet them:
    • Do them the courtesy of being well prepared
    • Explain to them how the absence (or price) of broadband impacts on you/your business/your family/your education. Explain also that far from being number 1 in the world, Ireland is currently ranked 51.
    • Explain to them that Eircom/BT/NTL cannot and will not fix the problem
    • Explain to them at DSL alone cannot and will not fix the problem
    • Explain to them that ComReg alone cannot fix the problem
    • Explain to them that what is needed is true competition, independent of Eircom’s infrastructure, with a much greater reach than DSL can currently deliver
    • Explain that a lot of the hard work is done. That the backhaul exists.
    • Explain that Wireless is the best possible solution to give both an independent competitive infrastructure and reach the places that DSL cannot go.
    • Explain that this needs to be championed by the Government and in particular by the Minister, and that it may need some funding for trials/pilots/start-ups, and that the current funding of 250,000 euro is simply too small to achieve real progress.
    • Explain that it is not just about funding. That DSL has progressed more in the last 5 months that in the previous 5 years, simply because the politicians (in this case Dermot Ahern in particular) took charge.
    • Explain to the that if its good enough for Carrickmacross, its good enough for Carrigaline, Carrigaholt, Carrick-on-Shannon, Carrick-on-Suir, and of course Carrick itself.
    • And everywhere else too
    • Agree a time frame for them to meet with you again to review progress. 4-8 weeks would be good.
    • Above all emphasise that this is a BIG ISSUE for you.
    Lastly, let me emphasise that I am NOT advocating a campaign of hate mail, a mass mail campaign or any other pointless exercise that will result in your efforts being treated as spam. What’s needed here is face to face meetings with your local TD and a direct communication of the issues as they effect you. And a bit of follow-up to make sure he does something about it.

There are a lot of very articulate and intelligent people here, however posting here is preaching to the converted. As Adam said yesterday "I'm kinda bored of complaints about Eircom to be honest, I prefer to hear success stories these days." Get out and spread the message to the decision makers.

(1) De Rebel is an optimist, perhaps a chicken counting optimist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭De Rebel

The key players are:
    • Dermot Ahern, Minister for Communications
    Members of the Joint Committee on Communications
    • Martin Brady T.D. (Fianna Fáil)
    • Thomas P. Broughan T.D. (Labour) also Labour Spokesman for Communications
    • Simon Coveney T.D. (Fine Gael) also Fine Gael Spokesman for Communications
    • Dermot Fitzpatrick T.D. (Fianna Fáil)
    • Paul Kehoe T.D. (Fine Gael)
    • Peter Kelly T.D. (Fianna Fáil)
    • Thomas McEllistrim (Fianna Fáil)
    • Arthur Morgan T.D. (Sinn Féin)
    • Denis O'Donovan T.D. (Fianna Fáil)
    • Noel O'Flynn T.D. (Fianna Fáil) (Chairman)
    • Eamon Ryan T.D. (Green Party) also Green Party Spokesman for Communications
    • Senator Michael Finucane (Fine Gael) (Vice Chairman)
    • Senator Brendan Kenneally (Fianna Fáil)
    • Senator Marc MacSharry (Fianna Fáil)
    • Senator Kathleen O'Meara (Labour)
    Others:
    • Sean Crowe T.D. is Sinn Fein Spokesman for Communications
    There are a number of other Ministers, Ministers of State and individual TDs who have either a related responsibility (e.g. commerce, e-commerce, information society, etc.) or who have displayed a personal interest in the whole area of Broadband infrastructure (Senator Fergal Quinn, David Stanton T.D. etc.)

E-mail addresses can be found here. here They are generally in the form firstname.surname@oireachtas.ie N.B. this does not usually include Ministers or Ministers of State

Ministers and their responsibilities are listed here. here

Or you can phone Dáil Éireann to make an appointment to meet your TD of choice on (01) 618 3000 or for the culchies for the price of a local call on 1890 337 889 (1890 DEPUTY). You can phone Seanad Éireann on (01) 618 3000 or for the culchies for the price of a local call on 1890 732 623 (1890 SEANAD)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Urban Weigl

You can afford to keep it running at 128kbps during business hours...?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

In reality lads, Sigma are a wireless reseller and are using this as a publicity stunt to say "hey this works" but their not your saviours. The publicity they are getting from this and to cost to set it up IS less than what they would have payed for Ads and more effective too.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Good point STaN, I was totally baffled by all the mobile phones for sale on their website...saw a nice nokia though...:D

Anyone know what's the equipment they'll use...a small aerial it says...smaller than existing IBB/Leap style gear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Dangger

Great post De Rebel. The actions you have suggested are the very ones that have proved to be the tried and tested ones for the IrelandOffline committee itself over the past two years.

Every single meeting we had with politicians, operators, or government bodies we came to the table with possible avenues to be persued, after presenting the facts and relevant examples.

Different groups needed different kinds of presentations, and its been a challenge many times to present the issues without blinding the listeners with science. Recognition of the undertanding of the listeners and tailoring our presentation to educate rather than embarass has been key.

Another valuable lesson we have learnt over time has been offering our "services" to the media, print, radio and even television. By our services I am referring to unscrambling the tech, offering to write articles on behalf of or in conjunction with interested journalists, and if necessary blasting the fud from propaganda ridden statements that the members of IOFFL have been so quick to spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

lmfao.
    ballybay, lol.

Would ballybay definately be able to get it?

im not from ballybay, just have cousins there.

and how much would ye think it would be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

ballybay... with MEGA HIGH SPEED INTERNET ACCESS??!?
    COOEL BOIY!!!!!

what's an internet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Aye, thahs magic, so ih his.

I grew up in Carrickmacross, so I'm glad to hear this.

Wireless will suit the locals too. They (along with the Castleblaney folks) were pioneers in the field of CB radio in Ireland too :D

10-4 rubber duck.