Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UEFA Cup Final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Jake303

Originally posted by DerekD Goldfish
    absolutly delighted with porto winning
    I cant stand Celtic well their fans well their "Irish" fans in particular.
    I cant stand rovers but at least their supporting an Irish team that actually is irish.
    Do you see english people delighted because thier "english" team Ac Milan are in the champions league final.
    No because just because they were started by an Englishman doesnt mean they are english.
    When english football fans show more sence than you youre in trouble.

Idiot

Inchicore prick!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭nore

I can't understand how anyone could welcome the victory of Porto - a bunching of diving, ref-conning, time-wasting cheats...
    They were a disgrace - Fair Play, m'arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

€20 for me.
    Didn't see any of the match because I was at work, but I don't care that Celtic lost because they're crap and I don't like them.
    Just because I'm Irish doesn't mean I have an obligation to support Celtic.
    It's been said plenty of times in this thread, Scottish football is crap and I've no time for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by nore
    I can't understand how anyone could welcome the victory of Porto - a bunching of diving, ref-conning, time-wasting cheats...
    They were a disgrace - Fair Play, m'arse!

agreed. all that **** they were getting up to ruined the game. i support neither team that played tonight before someone bites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

I remember when Porto played Liverpool (when Liverpool won it there a couple of seasons ago), Porto did the same thing. They don't do much for the game of football with their dirty tactics.
    I don't like Porto either, the only reason I'm glad they beat Celtic was because I had bet on them.
    Portugeese football isn't really of super high qaulity either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by Lemming
    Celtic deserved that win tonight over Porto. That's all I'm going to say .....

Eh they lost. And they did not deserve to win either. Yes some of Porto's antics were sad, but Celtic would have wasted time if they had been 3-2 up in extra time too (probably not as blatantly, I'll admit) but they would have done it.

As for
    Celtic fc, the pride of Ireland
    any rolleyes big enough to express how stupid that is would suck the entire forums in through force of gravity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

Although Porto clearly had the better players, I actually thought that Celtic deserved to win the match (especially the more the game went on). IMO towards the end of normal time, and at the start of extra time, Celtic looked the stronger team.

One thing I have to say, (which Im sure ppl have already pointed out) Victor Baia was a disgrace! The way he went down, and stayed down for nearly five minutes was awful! (Yes I know its all part of the game).

And that guy who scored the winner, (cant remember his name) went off on a stretcher no less than 3 times!!!!! grrr....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Porto were cheats. They rolled around like children. Its a sad day for football when cheating like that happens. I thought the ref was poor and the bald headed italian (forget his name) should have ref the game and he would have put up with any of that crap.

Anybody see hte guy who rolled of the pitch after a foul and the rolled back on again to be stretchered off 2 feet to the touchline. Its farical.

i thought eltic goalkepper was very poor in his efforts for the last goal.

Anybody see the interview with Martin O Neil when Ray Stubbs asked him whether he thought Porto played fair? Martin said whats the next question? I felt sorry for him.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    porto 3-0 because i fúcking hate celtic and all the celtic supporters.

c'mon the rangers!

ohh and scottish football sucks the sweat from donkeys balls, and so do all celtic armchair supports.
    irish my arse!

c'mon porto!
    Talking about being hypocritical. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

I think that Porto deserved it in the end, as much as I would have liked Celtic to win it. They had the better players on the night. Larsson was brilliant and took two very good headers.

But what about Deco, the lad was fantastic and ran the show from the off. Transfer to a bigger club this summer anybody?????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Didn't see any of the game coz I was at THE MATRIX ! Wuhoo. Saw the goals though and I heard Porto were time-wasting, nothing new there anyway. I knew Celtic would bottle it, ye just can't keep beating teams in European competition with only one talented player and a bunch of work-horses. It's true, don't argue. BTW Larsson has to be one of the best headerers of the ball I've ever seen, he's unreal. Here's hoping there's a title-deciding playoff in Scotland. I'd deffo watch that game. Killings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

of course, if Bohs managed to get there you wouldnt see 60,000 irish supporters travel to bloody landsdown road to see the match. and that, is a fact.
    [/B]
    Not so! Bohs are planning to upsticks and relocate in Great Britain in a bid to increase their Irish 'support'! Season ticket holders will be given a free tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Yawn, Celtic beaten by the better team, without getting into the "Celtic Are(n't) Irish" debate anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by Bateman
    Yawn, Celtic beaten by the better team, without getting into the "Celtic Are(n't) Irish" debate anyone?
    I have no idea whatsoever what you mean. Do you want a Celtic / Irish debate or do you think the debate is old hat?

I agree the better team won though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

I still can't figure out why WWman insists on trollling all over dis thread,
    Celtic were very unlucky last night, the match was nip and tuck throughout, and balde was unlucky to be sent off, even though it was a booking i thought he should have been left off with warning, And btw anybody who saw the game knows that celtic didn't bottle it, (Space_Coyote), how could a team be called bottlers when they came back from a goal down twice.

Whats wrong with supporting celtic, no worse than those thousands of utd, liverpool, and arsenal supporters out there, Celtic repeatedly proved this season that they are capable of joining the premier league, And when you look at celtics results European competition over the last two seasons it aint a bad one.

Beat FC Porto
    Beat Liverpool
    Beat Celta Vigo
    Lost on Penos to Valencia
    Lost to a blatant dive by amoroso against Juve (Champ final anyone?)
    Beat Juve ...

Don't call celtic a one man team because of larsson,
    If they are anyway a one man team,(And they are not) that man is Martin O'Neill.

Originally posted by thebhoy

Whats wrong with supporting celtic, no worse than those thousands of utd, liverpool, and arsenal supporters out there, Celtic repeatedly proved this season that they are capable of joining the premier league, And when you look at celtics results European competition over the last two seasons it aint a bad one.

The problem with Celtic is they were founded by irish people as a means of raising funds for feeding Irish immagrants in the east end of Glasgow.
    The crime of the club and its fans is that they continue to look to the club and its roots as a means of preserving their Irish identity, much in the same way as people in London have "carnival" as a means of celebrating their Afro/Caribean roots and identity.

A terrible crime indeed!

Whats wrong with supporting celtic, no worse than those thousands of utd, liverpool, and arsenal supporters out there, Celtic repeatedly proved this season that they are capable of joining the premier league

It would be cool to see celtic in the premiership. I don't think it should happen just because we want it to though. It won't because no team is going to invite Celtic (and Rangers too if Celtic are joining) at risk of potentially loosing their own berth in the Premiership.

If they start off in the First or Second division they would still be maintaining the level of opposition that they have now. Plus these leagues aren't walkovers - if they are good enough they will be promoted and there can be no disputes that they didn't earn their place there.

Welsh teams are already in the league I don't see why there should be a difference. Finally it could be a good source of revenue for some of the more cash strapped teams in the lower division that they enter. A lot of these teams pray for a big draw in the FA Cup and a gauranteed two novelty (at least it will be for the first few years) matches a season against Celtic and Rangers could be welcomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Celtic were very unlucky last night, the match was nip and tuck throughout, and balde was unlucky to be sent off, even though it was a booking i thought he should have been left off with warning,

No they weren't unlucky, they were beaten by a better side. Deco has more skill in his left elbow than the entire Celtic team put together.

Balde wasn't unlucky to get sent off, he committed two yellow card offences, the second of which, if I remember rightly, was particularly bad.

You think Celtic were unlucky and Balde shouldn't have been sent off because you support Celtic, which means you were obviously a very bad person in a previous life.

It's one thing Man Utd and Celtic supporters have in common, they can't believe they can ever lose a match - it always has to be bad luck, diving, the ref, the colour of their shirts, that Neptune was in opposition to Jupiter etc. etc. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

on rte, one of the commentators called one of the porto players an "eejit" for wasting time, his frustration gave me great joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

I though balde's sending off was pretty clean cut - and how the hell did Thompson not get sent off ?

That said, I would have book a few of Portos players for extra blatent time wasting

To a neutral like me it was a great football match to watch, so much better than the two 'old firm' matches that I have seen on TV this season. And celtics supporters appeared to be a credit to thier team :)

Originally posted by Ping Chow Chi
    I though balde's sending off was pretty clean cut - and how the hell did Thompson not get sent off ?

That said, I would have book a few of Portos players for extra blatent time wasting

To a neutral like me it was a great football match to watch, so much better than the two 'old firm' matches that I have seen on TV this season. And celtics supporters appeared to be a credit to thier team :)

Yep agree that Balde had to go and Thompsons challenge was very bad indeed!
    Just felt that if the ref hadnt started dishing out cards so early things might have been very different, but its all history now anway.

100,000 fans half a dozen arrests!
    Nuff said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭bugler

It's a pity they couldn't round off the great cup run with a final victory, but that's life. Celtic were very poor first half, bad timing to lose the first goal at that stage, but you couldn't really begrudge Porto it.

I feel sorry for Rab Douglas, he had a good game but was completely culpable for the final goal. He should have claimed the ball easily the first time but shat his knickers and coughed it up, then let the second effort go through him. Simply, Douglas isn't anywhere near top-class, and thats what you need if you want to win a European trophy. I despair at Celtic's keepers over the last number of years. Jesus they've had some donkeys. Good buys must be made this summer. I think the defence isn't too bad. Central midfield needs working on. Things aren't as bad up front as people make out without Larsson. Maloney looks promising, shouldn't be another Burchill. Hartson was a huge (chortle) loss, but he's a fine player and should be held onto.

As for Porto's rolling in agony antics, well thats the way its going these days. Did no-one see the Inter-AC games? It reminds me why I quit playing such a poncey sport and concentrated on more manly pursuits, where physical toughness and an immunity to pain are seen as positive things :)

Well played Celtic, great tournament. They dispatched a couple of Premiership teams along with some decent continental sides. If Celtic are so bad then how did they get by Liverpool and Celta Vigo etc? Jesus, you'd think that all the Premiership teams can now take notice: all you need to get to a UEFA cup final is one good player, so just go and buy him and play him with your reserves and youth team players.

I await the day the chips will fall from the shoulders of people on both sides of the 'I hate Celtic-I love Celtic' divide. If Lorenzo Amoruso could wish them well then surely anyone can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Pigman II
    Not so! Bohs are planning to upsticks and relocate in Great Britain in a bid to increase their Irish 'support'! Season ticket holders will be given a free tv.

hohoho

thats the funniest post ove read on this board in ages.
    cheers

I still can't figure out why WWman insists on trollling all over dis thread,

dats right,
    i disagree with your opinion.

i must be trolling all over dis thread.

thebhoy.....

even your name is crap.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Talking about being hypocritical. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by irishgeo
    I thought the ref was poor and the bald headed italian (forget his name) should have ref the game and he would have put up with any of that crap.

I'm surprised they gave the gig to a newbie and one from a footballing make-weight (Slovakia).

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

**** Off So

I was thinking of changing my name to Cromwell_Ironside_The_Blue_Glaswegian but i've a feeling i'd get a lot of hassle from the stereotypical celtic supporters.

Most celtic supporters (not all, mind you) support celtic on the basis of religion and dogmatically hold a a great deal of hatred towards any irish rangers supporter, as if by being irish and supporting rangers you're committing an act of treason.

Do you think half the celtic team give a flying shiite about the traditional irish catholic link with the club?

Rte are the main offenders they solely broadcast celtic games with biased commentary. Whereas if you watch the bbc coverage of any old firm derby the commentary is usually neutral and neither favours either of the two sides. Despite the minority of celtic supporters in britain in comparison to larger rangers fanbase throughout britain.

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    Most celtic supporters (not all, mind you) support celtic on the basis of religion and dogmatically hold a a great deal of hatred towards any irish rangers supporter, as if by being irish and supporting rangers you're committing an act of treason.

Do you think half the celtic team give a flying shiite about the traditional irish catholic link with the club?

Rte are the main offenders they solely broadcast celtic games with biased commentary.
    I think if you ask most Celtic supporters whether they go to mass or not the answer is not going to be "Yes, I'm a devoted Catholic, of course I go to mass". True enough most Celtic supporters are likely to be born Catholic but I think that aspect of things is more one of the roots of the bigotry rather than a remaining cause of it.

Of course BBC are going to be less biased - they have to mind their p's and q's as they have had a diverse cultural audience for many years (Catholics, Protestants, Indians, Pakistanis, Jamaicans etc.(I know I'm mixing religious groups with national groups, sorry)). Anyway, RTE aren't really geared towards that unfortunately, can you imagine George Hamilton being taught how to be PC;)

It is a bit sad really that its almost impossible to be a rangers fan in this country though.

Originally posted by p.pete
    I think if you ask most Celtic supporters whether they go to mass or not the answer is not going to be "Yes, I'm a devoted Catholic, of course I go to mass". True enough most Celtic supporters are likely to be born Catholic but I think that aspect of things is more one of the roots of the bigotry rather than a remaining cause of it.

and thats why ever rangers supporter is a 'hun' bástard?

isnt that some sort of religious slander right there?

i dont think i quite follow your argument?

and thats why ever rangers supporter is a 'hun' bástard?

isnt that some sort of religious slander right there?

i dont think i quite follow your argument?
    My point (rather simple I thought) was that these religious slanders did start out as precisely that. In this day in age not too many of us can actually say the comments are made for religious reasons anymore.

Biggoted reasons yes, forces of habit yes, saying what our mates are saying and trying to fit in are some of the reasons these comments are made. There is plenty of other reasons I'm sure.

We call someone a 'hun' bastard because they are different from us and we have an inbuilt need to keep it that way (as do they). Basically I'm saying religion is not the reason these things get said.

If we were so conscious of our religion and of how it is important to let the world know that being Catholic is better than any other religion then we would be doing it in lots of other areas of our lives. Not just as a differentiation between two sets of football supporters.

If this is still way over your head I can stop:cool:

Personally Pete from what Iv read of WWMan on this board rcently I think your wasting your time trying to talk to him. I dont think hes in the slightest bit interested in trying to understand other peoples opinions regard their support for Celtic and just wishes to cause tension.

But at the end of the day its up to you!

Originally posted by Jake303
    Personally Pete from what Iv read of WWMan on this board rcently I think your wasting your time trying to talk to him. I dont think hes in the slightest bit interested in trying to understand other peoples opinions regard their support for Celtic and just wishes to cause tension.

But at the end of the day its up to you!
    Really? tension?, he's not getting under your skin is he? Thats the unfortunate thing when you want to argue a point about football. It's kind of a universal interest for people. Therefore the spectrum of people who will talk about it range from quite clever, all the way down to what WWMan represents, not quite so clever.

Maybe he is trying to understand us, maybe we just need to simplify things just a little bit more - what do ye reckon?

I was dissapointed (no wait, too many sylables, less than happy (no wait, complicated sentence structure, it made me sad:( )) by the match. But the better team won.