Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name five good irish bands without scratching your head?

• 18-05-2003 9:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

in response to all the people who disagreed with posting their top least favourite groups,name yer top 5 here

1.u2
    2.horslips
    3.Frupp

thats all i can think of,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭shabbyroad

didn't take long and definitely not in any order

1. Cat Magic
    2. Aiken Drum
    3. 4 of Us
    4. Thin Lizzy
    5. The Fountainhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭spoiltbrat

Originally posted by Saint-dotsie
    1.u2
    2.horslips
    3.Frupp

thats all i can think of,

Emmm... yeah. Are you serious? Have you stepped outside your bedroom door in this century? No wonder its hard to name 5 bands when you only have your Dad's album collection as a reference point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Funkstard

1. U2
    2. Taste (Or any of rory's bands)
    3. Thin Lizzy
    4. The Horslips
    5. The Pogues
    6. The Dubliners
    7. Luke Kelly
    8. Damien Rice
    9. Planxty
    10. Mundy
    11. Paddy Casey (well i like him)
    12. Do you want me to keep going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Saint-dotsie

Please do continue
    My dad has ten cds that i like,as for
    thin lizzy-average rock and roll (i have vagabonds and a best of)
    damien rice- nothing to talk about (compare him to songwriters such as john martyn,nick drake and jeff buckley!)
    mundy- boring
    rory gallagher excellent guitarist but so is eric clapton and jeff beck do you like them? i dont
    planxty-never heard of them
    Pogues,dubliners- not my cup of tea at all
    luke kelly-respectable
    cat magic,aiken drum-im not familiar
    4 of us- see 5 worst band list

As for stepping outside my bedroom door,i dont really and in this day and age you dont have to,especially if you have broadband and an mp3 player!

im not saying my opinion is gospel. In comparison to other countries such as england,america and iceland there is nothing to really boast about, and it is very annoying to me that there is no real consistency and that there is f*** all out there maybe my standards are too high.

you may ridicule my taste now
    my fav bands and singers
    are
    (in no order)
    beatles,beach boys,pearl jam,nirvana,soundgarden,flaming lips,mercury rev,delgados,the who,the police,manic street preachers,pink floyd,spiritualized,smashing pumpkins,syd barrett,mike oldfield,steely dan,toto,alice in chains,supergrass,john martyn,led zeppelin,royskopp,air,siguir ros,sugar cubes,bjork,dave mathews band,elton john,ozric tentacles,cure,nine inch nails,return to forever,herbie hancock,charles mingus,jeff buckley,u2,peter gabriel

they are just my favourite groups,i like a lot more than that.

as for getting out there and looking for am irish band that i like,i really have been to a lot of gigs and i really havent found anything that i would like to buy,
    in saying that if the stranded circus had an albumn id definately buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Amnesiac

if you're looking for a great irish band to get into, i can wholeheartedly recommend the frank and walters: try grand parade or beauty becomes more than life.
    they are chronically underappreciated in this country.

your list of favourite bands ain't too bad...i would suggest however that supergrass should be omitted: one good album and three dodgy ones is a poor return in my book.
    you can replace them with radiohead...then you'll be getting warmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Morello

If I can give my 2c, in no particular order:

1) Therapy?
    2) Turn
    3) Indigo Fury
    4) Neosupervital
    5) *cough* M o r e l l o *cough* :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

TURN

THERAPY?

BELLx1

X CONSTANT

BERKELEY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Morn

*cough*Responsibility*cough* ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

turn
    polar
    the 66 electric
    joan of arse
    the dudley corporation

morn---dont think responsibility is quite called for yet.

just trying to remember...i did diss u2 in the other thread didnt i? if i didnt put u2 into my top 5 worst riish bands, i deserve a smack round the 'ead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭sodiumlightbaby

The Virgin Prunes
    That Petrol Emotion
    Divine Comedy
    The Undertones
    Auto Da Fe
    Libido (not the norwegian band of thre same name !)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

man i think i've been studyin too hard... left out two of my fav bands on this here island...

polar and the 66 electric and they can hack it live n all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Originally posted by sodiumlightbaby
    The Virgin Prunes
    That Petrol Emotion
    Divine Comedy
    The Undertones
    Auto Da Fe
    Libido (not the norwegian band of thre same name !)

Auto Da Fe ...tell me more >>> I know these guys are a bit in the past yeah ??? Any links or more info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Republic of Loose
    Murder of Crows
    Mike Got Spiked
    Skyjack
    Otranome

there's my top 5 anyway...there are more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

whipping boy
    Mundy
    Thin Lizzy
    Undertones
    Reindear section
    Stiff Little Fingers
    The Pogues
    My bloody valintine
    The Frames
    Lir
    Berkley
    Therapy
    Snowpatrol
    Element
    Frank and Walters
    Future kings of spain
    Gemma Hayes
    Horslips
    Mary janes
    Mundy
    Rory Gallagher
    Turn
    Nina hynes
    Sultans of ping
    In no order
    There are loads more that dont spring to mind straigt away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭knobbles

listen to these and i say what amazing talent our wee isle has produced in the last 15 year...

My Bloody Valentine - loveless
    Whipping Boy - heartworm
    Snow Patrol - when it's all over
    U2 - joshua tree
    Gemma Hayes - night on my side

...a gifted land!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Hello all,

So many bands and I will of course inevitably forget loads. Heres a selection of new and more recent.

Oh and Trev M, Auto Da Fe were class at the time. I have the vinyl single of All is Yellow Hot Hot Hot knocking around here...will dig it up and put it online when I get a minute....great band.

Old bands (no particular order):

The Blades
    Microdisney
    Thin Lizzy
    The Radiators from Space
    That Petrol Emotion
    Stars of Heaven
    The Undertones
    Moving Hearts
    Boomtown Rats
    A House
    Frank and Walters

Will have to have a think about new bands....Looking forward to Jimmy Cake and Tycho Brahe this weekend, also enjoy the frames and turns of this world too.....will compile list later...

Regards,

Pete Reed
    Phantom FM

dont like the blades nobody mentioned Relish
    they are an excellent band,i have seen some half decent bands on this page but unfortunately none of em really grab me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Amnesiac

relish?

i have only heard "rainbow zephyr", which i thought was woefully bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

bobby pulls a wilson(RIP)
    kerbdog(RIP)
    Throat
    Tooth(RIP I think can any one help?)
    Superskin
    Kosha
    Runnin' Riot
    The Steam Pig
    Finger Mouse or Mike got Spiked.....
    Skyjack
    Dollar $hort or Short
    Coldwar
    Mouthpiece
    The Dagda/dagna......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 penhelli

1.Fairuza
    2. My Bloody Valentine
    3. Lir
    4. Hally
    5. Future Kings of Spain

The new Fairuza album is brilliant, brilliant, brilliant and I bet the FKOS one will be too...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Rancid

Puget Sound
    The Steam Pig
    Skint
    Kid Blunt
    Striknien DC
    Foot 'n' Mouth
    Blood or Whiskey
    Coldwar

And The Frames... though I'm not their biggest fan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 panzer_attack

therapy?
    whipping boy
    turn
    beautiful losers
    future kings of spain

also worth a mention are the ultra montaines and a band i never liked until i seen them supporting hot hot heat a few weeks back,ten speed racer.they where on top form,tore up the stage.i was well impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 butterflywings

The frames- have you heard setlist? wow...
    turn
    bellx1
    66electric
    thin lizzy
    u2
    damien rice ( he doesn't really count as a band but hey, he counts all the same.. 2+2=4)
    kíla kick quite a lotta ass also..

we've got a hell of a lot better bands than most countries, and they all have zillions more people in them, you've got to recognise a talented isle when it comes and pisses on your shoe...

But what about the flourishing russian pop scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Clergy
    Coldwar
    Pinion
    therapy?
    The Dangerfields
    Stomach Inc
    And of course 20 Bulls Each;)

theres loads more
    im just tired

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

therapy?
    frank and walters
    an emotional fish
    sultans of ping fc
    a-house
    engine alley
    the frames
    the golden horde
    my bloody valentine
    pet lamb
    revelino
    thin lizzy
    whipping boy
    wilt
    u2
    david kitt
    mundy

...woops more than 5...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Damon_Kind

My two cents

Polar
    The Tycho Brahe
    Derrick Devine (and his 7 piece band)
    The Jimmy Cake
    My Bloody Valentine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭stez

Thin Lizzy, Horslips, U2, Planxty & The Frames......yeah right Glen, you wish ye ginger feck. Sorry, fifth one would be MBV, no particular order....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Mewzel

snow patrol
    my bloody valentine
    polar
    brando
    frank and walters
    turn
    tycho brahe
    66 electric
    thin lizzy
    damien rice
    wallmark
    gemma hayes
    babelfish
    blotooth
    bellx1
    the frames
    david kitt
    tadhg cooke

pretty sure ive left some out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭freakofnature

the frames

berkely(like an irish at the drive in)

turn (although i can't help but notice i'm still gavin-less)

wilt

blotooth (giv up yer day job...)

the frames (its physically impossible not to mention them twice)

paddy casey
    ricer
    mundy (my cool, my cool haired lady from the west..)
    nina hynes
    popster(one true looove....)

and of course (although only 1 was irish) THE CROCKETTS