Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Well Done Rangers

• 25-05-2003 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭

well, thats just loads of cups this season.
    and now the league is back in ibrox where it belongs.

well done lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭sleepwalker

yes well done to rangers

don't really support either rangers or celtic but was cheering on celtic but was great to watch both teams scoring that many goals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

You didn't waste much time didya WWM? :)
    Originally posted by sleepwalker
    great to watch both teams scoring that many goals
    Yes, a great advertisment for the SPL! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

rangers scum!!!

The Fields of Athenry

By lonely prison wall, I heard a young girl calling
    Michael they are taking you away
    For you stole Trevaillians corn
    So your young might see the morn
    It's so lonely 'round the Fields of Athenry

Chorus:
    Lo lie the Fields of Athenry
    Where once we watched the small free birds fly
    Our love was on the wing
    We had dreams and songs to sing

By lonely prison wall I heard a young man calling
    Nothing matters Mary when you're free
    Against the famine and the crown
    I rebelled, they cut me down
    Now you must raise our child with dignity.

Chorus

By lonely harbour wall, she watched the last hour falling
    As the prison-ship sailed out against the sky
    But she'll live and hope and pray
    For her love in Botany Bay

Chorus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Pigman II
    You didn't waste much time didya WWM? :)

actualll, i was eating my dinner and i looked up and saw the time. first time i thought about is all day. tbh it was just a case of timing!

Originally posted by celticfc
    rangers scum!!!

The Fields of Athenry

By lonely prison wall, I heard a young girl calling
    Michael they are taking you away
    For you stole Trevaillians corn
    So your young might see the morn

Chorus:
    Lo lie the Fields of Athenry
    Where once we watched the small free birds fly
    Our love was on the wing
    We had dreams and songs to sing

By lonely prison wall I heard a young man calling
    Nothing matters Mary when you're free
    Against the famine and the crown
    I rebelled, they cut me down
    Now you must raise our child with dignity.

Chorus

By lonely harbour wall, she watched the last hour falling
    As the prison-ship sailed out against the sky
    But she'll live and hope and pray
    For her love in Botany Bay

Chorus

is that athenry celtic, coz im not too sure theres an athenry in glasgow.
    still, the best team won.
    everything.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    http://members.boards.ie/madmax/simmons.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 borat

Whitewashman, I think i speak on behalf of the majority of the board by stating the obvious fact that you are a wanker. Your problem with Celtic just speaks volumes. Why do you support Rangers??? Celtic have Irish connections no matter what sad little prick like you says so get your facts right. How many crisp packets do you have to collect to become a moderator on here?? Not many, im guessing.

Originally posted by borat
    Whitewashman, I think i speak on behalf of the majority of the board by stating the obvious fact that you are a wanker. Your problem with Celtic just speaks volumes. Why do you support Rangers??? Celtic have Irish connections no matter what sad little prick like you says so get your facts right. How many crisp packets do you have to collect to become a moderator on here?? Not many, im guessing.

loser

well said borat :D:D

The Celtic Song

Hail Hail, The Celts are here,
    What the hell do we care,
    Hail Hail, The Celts are here,
    What the hell do we care now ...

For its a Grand Old Team to play for,
    For its a Grand Old team to see,
    And if you know the history,
    Its enough to make your heart go,
    Nine-in-a-row.

We don't care what the animals say,
    For its all we know,
    Is that there going to be a show,
    And the Glasgow Celtic will be there

do u rather this then "whitewashman"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Ah the joy of the scottish league. If half of ye cared as much about the real Irish league then there might be good attandances. Rangers won 6-1 celtic won 4-0 can somene please point the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

borat unfortunately you don't speak for the majority of anything. If you actually bothered to read the forum rules you would see that personal abuse is banned. Your banned for a week. If anyone else wants to fire out abuse then be warned I will ban you too. Keep it clean.

Oh and well done to Rangers as well. (and no I'm not a Rangers supporter)

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Jake303

WhiteWashMan your nothin but a **** stirring little prick! With the emphasis on little!

Glad I got that out, well worth a weeks ban!

See ye all in a weeks time, adios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

LMAO, best thread ever.

WhiteWashMan you know how to push all the right buttons :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by Jake303
    Glad I got that out, well worth a weeks ban!
    [/B]

And on the note I would also like to be banned (tho not for any ill-will against WWM - whom I actually find entertainingly confrontational!) but on belhalf of anyone who finds the moderation on the soccer board to be too heavy-handed, detracting from a topic of debate that that should naturally be a little more 'heated' in it's discussion than most others. As such ...
    Originally posted by gandalf
    personal abuse is banned. Your banned for a week. If anyone else wants to fire out abuse I will ban you too. . [/B]

.... gandalf you are a twat.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Pigman II
    And on the note I would also like to be banned (tho not for any ill-will against WWM - whom I actually find entertainingly confrontational!) but on belhalf of anyone who finds the moderation on the soccer board to be too heavy-handed, detracting from a topic of debate that that should naturally be a little more 'heated' in it's discussion than most others. As such ...
    There's fup all 'debate' on this forum as it is, most of the threads are overrun by mudslinging or catfights about who was the better 3rd choice sub back on the backwater college B team. The moderation is extremely light in comparison to a lot of the other boards, and it needs to be a lot heavier imo.

on topic - well done rangers! 6-1, very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

For all those who have responded to WWM...you're doing youirselves no favours by rising to his bait you know. Just ignore it...

As for the actual games...Killie "appeared" to put more effort in than Dunfermline, but that doesn't take away from Rangers doing what was needed. Well done the Hun. Celtic badly need to replace the entire midfield. If they don't I imagine Alex McLeish will be a very happy man for a number of years.

And O'Neill won't stay any longer than one more year, you mark my words.

Finally, Scottish football is appalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 BlackFlag

borat unfortunately you don't speak for the majority of anything. If you actually bothered to read the forum rules you would see that personal abuse is banned. Your banned for a week. If anyone else wants to fire out abuse then be warned I will ban you too. Keep it clean.

Oh and well done to Rangers as well. (and no I'm not a Rangers supporter)

Gandalf.
    So it is ok for an immature Mod to try and goad a reaction out of people* and when they take the bait they get banned....deary me :rolleyes:

*Promoting the most bigoted depraved club on an Irish board is pathetic......I know numerous Belfast Loyalists that travel to every rangers match just to sing bigoted songs and stir racial ****.

Originally posted by BlackFlag

*Promoting the most bigoted depraved club on an Irish board is pathetic......I know numerous Belfast Loyalists that travel to every rangers match just to sing bigoted songs and stir racial ****.

and i know members of the IRA who use to have season tickets to park head. im sure they were having a quiet cup of tea instead of sing songs on the terraces.
    whats your point?

you know, i really love this. so many celtic fans, and one person doesnt agree, and theres all this agro.
    lots of swearwords and calling of hun etc.

lets face it. there really isnt much between celtic and ireland, apart from half the country supporting them for some reason.
    i mean, what are the reasons for supporting them?
    they arent irish.
    they arent in ireland.
    they dont have any irish players.
    even the manager is from northern ireland, and thats part of the UK.

nope, its just sour grapes.
    had it been the other way round there would have been lots of posts abouthow great the celts are.
    and blackflag, i dont see any rangers songs on the boards. so the only ones here to 'sing bigoted songs and stir racial ****' would be celtic supporters.
    am i right?

one last thing.
    i see chris sutton was moaning about dunfirmline laying down and for rangers.
    seriously. is he that stupid that he thinks they would do that?
    who did celtic beat last week by about the same scoreline? did they roll over?

and its not my fault you people get so up your own bottoms that you get yourselves banned.

but what would you expect from a bunch of loser celtic supporters?

So you go by the principle that the North of Ireland is British?

I am new to these boards but for the life of me there is something seriously wrong if you are an admin that is allowed to spout such flame type threads and very provocative replies.

Btw I am not a Celtic fan I was born in London and support Arsenal.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    lets face it. there really isnt much between celtic and ireland, apart from half the country supporting them for some reason.
    i mean, what are the reasons for supporting them?
    they arent irish.
    they arent in ireland.
    they dont have any irish players.
    even the manager is from northern ireland, and thats part of the UK.
    The founder of Celtic was from Ireland. That is your Irish connection for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

So you go by the principle that the North of Ireland is British?

It is.
    moron.

Jake303 & Pigman are banned from the Soccer forum.

Pigman II is a permanent ban as he was banned from Boards totally before.

Jake303 is banned for a month. PLease don't assume you can abuse people and get the bare minimum of a response.

As for WWM I see where he is coming from. As for calling elements of Rangers supporters bigoted and sectarian, I agree there are however just as many in the Celtic camp as well (just remember back to Ireland matches where Rangers players & even ex. Rangers players were booed!).

Now if anyone else has a problem with my modding complain on the Admin section or take it up with me via PM.

Gandalf.

Originally posted by fisty
    It is.
    moron.
    Er no actually......not in alot of peoples minds...just because you are comfortable with your middle class independance down south and let's forget about them up in the North of Ireland....

BTW did I insult you about your incorrect views....?

Wanker :)

Now if anyone else has a problem with my modding complain on the Admin section or take it up with me via PM.

Gandalf.
    Done about 30 mins ago

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=97590

OK LADS GIVE THE PERSONAL INSULTS A BREAK.

You are all completely ignoring the main rule of this board which is to be civil to each other. Fisty & Blackflag I'll let you away with those but never again.

If you want to spout Sh!te then please go and post on the Football365 forum.

Gandalf.

Done about 30 mins ago

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=97590

oh no. he said something about my football team and now i am going to go and complain because i cant actually put a post together where i can argue my point without feeling the need to swear. and its all his fault that people started name calling and got banned.
    WWM is evil!

by the way, i think you will find that northern ireland is part of great britian, so yes, northern ireland is british.

still, trying to keep this thread on topic, i just want to add a good luck to the lads next week in the final of the sfa cup.
    we'll bring home the treble yet lads!

Lads if you want a discussion on NI's Britishness or lack of Britishness please start a topic on the Politics board !

WWM try and stop trolling people or I'll take action against you as well :rolleyes:

Gandalf.

[moronic insult removed and cut and pasted football song as well - Gandalf.]

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

WWM try and stop trolling people or I'll take action against you as well

Gwan Gandalf you auld dog! :p You must be top of the league now on bannings! :D

As hard as it is for me to give credit to Rangers, for WWM sake well done, was an exciting day of football. The way it swayed from huns winning league, no celts, no huns, no draw was exciting if nothing else.
    Celts midfield showed their age yesterday.

As for NI been part of Britain, try and get insurance up here and see the difference between here and the mainland! Also most deals on cars especially, u can see in small print, excludes NI.
    And it is a bank holiday to day in the UK, but not in NI? Figure that.

celticfc is now banned as well.

Gandalf.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

celticfc is now banned as well.

This is gas, WWM, I am beginning to wonder if u are a rangers fan at all, the bit I have seen of u and the way u enjoy winding people up I am wondering if u are pulling the pish ww)

Originally posted by yop
    This is gas, WWM, I am beginning to wonder if u are a rangers fan at all, the bit I have seen of u and the way u enjoy winding people up I am wondering if u are pulling the pish ww)

moi?

sir!

im just a chap who is happy that his team has done well!
    tis not my fault that all these people have gotten so hot under the collar because they cant believe that another team has beaten theirs fair and square.
    lets face it, rangers deserved to win the league. they got better results.

with regards NI and the UK, scotland also has different holidays as well, so its not that uncommon. as for the deals thing, well i guess that business.

still, im sure the rangers caretakers will be moving the cups around the trophy cabinet to make sure they can fit in another one after the weekend!

TBH yop WWM is doing nothing except post about one of the teams he supports doing well (he also supports spurs but I won't remind him of that too often!).

The people who have been abusive are the mainly celtic supporting boards members (with the exception of one person who has been on parole so to speak because of past actions) and they have been dealt with bar two who got a warning.

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

lol ... this has to be a contender for "Thread of the Week!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Yes well done Rangers. And it goes to show what a $hite league it is when Celtic can hammer someone 4-0 and still lose the league. It was a foregone conclusion before the games even started that both Rangers and Celtic would win, and lo, it duly came to pass.

And well done WWM for starting a thread that got morons like Jake303 and CelticFC, the master of cut and paste, banned :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

Gandalf, you are either WWMans bum-buddy, or entirely ignorant, since when does WWMan follow Scottish football, seeing as last week he declared that he couldn't give a sh*t about it, but now lo and behold he decides to show us his support for the most bigotted club in europe, And before you say that celtic are as bad, check the facts, when celtic win old-firm matches they go to the gallowgate, an area of glasgow populated entirely catholics and people with irish ancestry which also contains a lot of celtic pubs and clubs. When rangers when an old firm match their fans also go to the gallowgate and proceed to hurl bricks, shout insults and attack any body whos is not wearing the blue and red of rangers. They also had a policy up until the mid 1980s, of not signing catholic players until the famous Mo Johnson incident. Celtic since its founding in 1888 has always been a club who accepted any body of any religion, two famous protestant celts that come to mind are Jock Stein and Kenny Dalglish.

Back on track now...
    WWMan posts a thread with comments that he knew would insight a boards backlash from some (less than clever) celtic supporters, you then proceed to ban these boys for insulting a pompous git and leave him off to continue trolling until he decides that he doesn't support rangers again, or until all the celtic supporters on this board have been banned.
    Most celtic fans are gutted at the moment, when you consider that if thomson converted his penalty, and if larsson had been a tad more lucky and converted his chance, then the SPL Trophy would still be on the right side of the clyde. This coming after a excruciatingly dissapointing extra-time loss to FC Porto during the week, and a dissapointing loss to rangers in the Scottish League cup back in march, the last thing any celtic fan wants to hear is some eejit going on about 'a team he supports'. Do us all a favour Gandalf and lock this thread and forget about it.

OK thebhoy heres some truths for you.

No I am not WWM's bum chum :rolleyes:

I've known WWM for years and I know he has also supported Rangers for years. Its unusual to find Rangers supporters who are Irish but there are some out there (I've known 2 and WWM is one of them).

I am basing my comments on bigotted Celtics fans from reactions on this board and at Irish games where Rangers and Ex-Rangers players are on the pitch. I'm not going to get into the political situation in Scotland because it is of no interest to me.

As for Celtic fans being gutted. I'm a Arsenal fan I was gutted when they didn't win the league the last thing I did was insult all those who were goading us on the board (I did close some regurgitated threads). So please don't fire that line up.

Do me a favour thebhoy don't assume because a boards member doesn't post his/her love for a footy team that they have not supported them all along. I will not be locking this thread just yet.

Plus I won't be banning you for your comments (unless you fire more up!).

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

You first I didn't even bother opening this thread on suspicion and past experiences of SPL discussions around here but now out of boredom I decided i would and man I'm happy I did:)

It gets my vote for thread of the week anyway, and well done WWM for the entertainment. Got a few quick snapping fishes there:D.

Anyway back on topic Rangers won it fair and square. They didi the job yesterday and TBH Celtic left too much work to be done. (BTW I don't follow SPL at all but I do like to see Celtic doing well in European competitions.)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I guess Rangers fans are smarter then Celtic fans after all. All we (and yes I'm one too) have done is show ignorance and get banned. Yes WWMan was probably "putting it in our faces" a bit with the celebratory post but to be fair he cheered for his own team, he didnt boo the other guys.

I'm watching this thread now, keep it civil or I'll put my cyber-boot in someones e-ass :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

how many people who are bitching about supporting rangers support a premiership football team? imo thats the same thing!!!

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    oh no. he said something about my football team and now i am going to go and complain because i cant actually put a post together where i can argue my point without feeling the need to swear. and its all his fault that people started name calling and got banned.
    WWM is evil!

by the way, i think you will find that northern ireland is part of great britian, so yes, northern ireland is british.

still, trying to keep this thread on topic, i just want to add a good luck to the lads next week in the final of the sfa cup.
    we'll bring home the treble yet lads!
    Northern Ireland is only British in the eyes of Loyalists or traitors such as yaself.

shouldnt you have this argurement in the politics forum?this forum is about soccer muppet

My my blackflag you were doing so well up until this post and the one in admin. I have already said if anyone wants to discuss NI etc go to the Politics board, thanks for ignoring that.

As regarding Rangers winning the scottish PL title they did it by playing football and not by having their supporters brick/burn/attack Catholics/Protestants/Martians/etc.

Gandalf.

Northern Ireland is only British in the eyes of Loyalists or traitors such as yaself.

riiiiiight............

i think theres a northern ireland topic in humanities at the moment.
    why dont you go and annoy them and just remember that the best team won the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

As irrelevant as it may be here, ... just to make a point about Northern Ireland,...

Britain is the island consisting of England, Scotland and Wales - which Northern Ireland isn't part of. Northern Ireland is part of the "United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland". Whether it is "British" or not doesn't depend on your point of view or your political beliefs- it depends on the FACTS ... and those state that the six counties of Ulster that are designated as Northern Ireland belong to the UK. What this has to do with Scottish Premier League football is beyond me...

I'm not a Celtic fan or a Rangers fan but I think Rangers did a fantastic job in winning the SPL and would congratulate them on their wonderful achievement. Anyone who thinks that makes me a 'traitor' in terms of being Irish needs to grow the fvck up.

Incidentally, the ignorant, brutish, loud and rude behaviour, language and attitude of the Celtic "fans" we had in our bar yesterday was almost enough to put me off the club completely (and almost enough to kick them out at the same time). At a time when there were families in the bar/lounge having their Sunday lunch, you'd think they'd have gone to the function hall as I suggested to watch the match (on our TEN FOOT SCREEN) and left the seekers of peace and quiet to themselves instead of roaring vulgarities at a silenced television while in earshot of toddlers. They're not the first I've seen to behave like that. FINE! Enjoy your game, shout at the TV, but keep it civil FFS, especially around kids. On reflection, I should have turned off the TV...

Glasgow Celtic are a Scottish FOOTBALL club. Celtic Vs. Rangers is NOT Ireland Vs. Britain, it's two SCOTTISH clubs playing football.

Well done Rangers!

well said that man!

MMMM IRONIC USE OF ANME EH....tis just a whitewash 1 admin sticking up for another....you seem to forget the whole background to Celtic/Rangers....I mean why not let welcomes Israels footballing heroes on a Palestianian board....I know it's meant to be just sport but with "part time admins" like WW you are only shooting yaself in the foot.........

Wonder if he would be that brave enough to say those kind of statements on O'Connell street.

this is your post in the admin forum black flag and since were all forgetting about the whole rangers/celtic background why dont you fill us in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Originally posted by Bard
    As irrelevant as it may be here, ... just to make a point about Northern Ireland,...

Britain is the island consisting of England, Scotland and Wales - which Northern Ireland isn't part of. Northern Ireland is part of the "United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland". Whether it is "British" or not doesn't depend on your point of view or your political beliefs- it depends on the FACTS ... and those state that the six counties of Ulster that are designated as Northern Ireland belong to the UK. What this has to do with Scottish Premier League football is beyond me...

I'm not a Celtic fan or a Rangers fan but I think Rangers did a fantastic job in winning the SPL and would congratulate them on their wonderful achievement. Anyone who thinks that makes me a 'traitor' in terms of being Irish needs to grow the fvck up. Glasgow Celtic are a Scottish FOOTBALL club. Celtic Vs. Rangers is NOT Ireland Vs. Britain, it's two SCOTTISH clubs playing football.

Well said Bard, couldn't have put it better myself. Why can't people just see that. Rangers won it fair and square. That's all there is too it, why bring religions and inaccurate geography into it when it is clearly a soccer competition competed for by professional soccer players - not politicians or religious figures:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

It's the same idiots who show up at Ireland's international home football matches and chant "Sinn Fein" and "IRA" during the chorus to "Fields of Athenry", and think they're smart loudly 'boo'ing whenever a Rangers or ex-Rangers player gets the ball. These pea-brained idiots don't even deserve to be Irish, nevermind be at an Irish football match.

Some utter twats will never simply realise that sport transcends race, creed and politics.