Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Albania and Georgia - match predictions

• 05-06-2003 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭

well I think Duff will be played in a free role again, with a keane crowe(pending fitness)/connolly partnership up front. I'd safely say that reid will be played on the wing, while holland captains from midfield.

I'd go for
    Ireland 2 - 0 Georgia (Duff, Connolly)
    Ireland 3 - 2 Albania (Keane - 2, Reid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'll go for a win and a draw but not sure in which order! :)

Mike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'll go for

Ireland 2-1 Gorgia

Ireland 2-0 Albania.

I mean Gorgia will have Kaka Kaldaze back so they will be a lot stronger, and Albania are just plain shoite loike.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'm fairly confident that we'll win both of them easily. I'll go for...
    3-0 vs Georgia.
    2-0 vs Albania.

By the way, is Crowe out for both games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

i think cunningham is captaining
    and id say the line up will be the same as the last albania game with duffer up front. unless he takes a chance with connolly, cant see it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

I'll go for two wins - max points.

I'm in a confidant mood today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I'd say two narrow wins.

I think Doherty might be used with Keane up front.

I think Carsley will start, so it depends on whether Carsley is on the right or in the centre as to whether Reid starts.

Reid will most likely come on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

I won't make a prediction. I'm usually wrong and I don't want to be backing the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Ireland 1 : 0 Georgia
    Ireland 2 : 1 Albania

Here's hopin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Ireland 2 : 1 Georgia
    Ireland 1 : 0 Albania

Two tight games i'd say.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Do Sky have coverage of the Albania game? I know they have the Georgia one. I never thought I'd miss RTE over here in England but...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Humphrey

I think Ireland will win both matches.

Ireland Current Strongest Team IMO:

Given

Finnan O' Shea Cunningham Carrr

Reid Mc phail Holland Duff

Keane Morrison

Humphrey.

Originally posted by Humphrey

Given

Keane Morrison

Humphrey.

Grand, except Finnan, McPhail and Morrison are injured for these two games.

also....

Why is the best right back in England playing at left back when Finan can play both sides?
    Exactly what has McPhail done to earn a starting place?
    Holland over Kinsella?

Hrmmmm

I think the best team he can manage tomorrow is

Given

Carr O' Shea Cunningham Kilbane(Harte)

Reid Carsley Kinsella Duff

Keane Doherty

I'd like to ask God for forgiveness now, for naming Harte in a team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I expect Ireland to win both matches fairly comfortably. I hope that Duff is not used as a stroker and I would like to see stephen reid play the full game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Praetorian

I think they are must win games. We struggled against Albania last time didn't we?

Ireland 1 : 0 Albania

Ireland 2 : 0 Georgia

I hope we don't have to use the dubious duo Harte and Doherty.

I'd love to see Reid get a couple of games.

sykeirl your dead right about carr\Finnan I mixed them up.

With regards to McPhail he is one of the best passes of the ball in the premiership, he is a natural talent with great potential. He has been unfortunate with leeds and has been treated badly by them.

I reckon someone like Kerr has the foresight to see his talent and take a bit of a gamble on him (if he was fit).

We need a McPhail type player in midfield instead of two WorkHorse type players like Holland\Kinsella\Carsley.

Humphrey.

Fair enough, buut the problem with McPhail is he all creativity and no graft. This is what most managers have said about him and its not so much a criticism of him as a lament to the way the game is played.

The main reason I'd not let McPhail near an Ireland team at the moment is that he has little to no premiership experience let alone international experience. Let him play a season of first team football first.

With regards to McPhail he is one of the best passes of the ball in the premiership, he is a natural talent with great potential. He has been unfortunate with leeds and has been treated badly by them.

I reckon someone like Kerr has the foresight to see his talent and take a bit of a gamble on him (if he was fit).

We need a McPhail type player in midfield instead of two WorkHorse type players like Holland\Kinsella\Carsley.

sykeirl I suppose your right but hopefully by euro2004 (if we make it) we will have proved himself a little more and gained some valuable experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Given

Carr Breen Cunningham O'Shea

Reid Holland Carsley Duff

Keane Lee

Best lads for the job I'd say.

Originally posted by DapperGent
    Given

Reid Holland Carsley Duff

Keane Lee

Best lads for the job I'd say.

I'd be happy enough with that except Lee starting.

I'd say give Lee the last 25 minutes and if he does well start him for Weds match.

O'Reilly has said that they will not field the same team both matches to keep some players fresh, I'd imagine that Holland/Kinsella may alternate. As may Connolly/Doherty/Lee and Carsley/Reid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Given

Keane Morrison

Humphrey.

Humphrey as a lone striker will never work :)

Like that :D . Funny guy Sposs.

Humphrey.

Who is this Humphrey guy? Does he get his game at club level?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Originally posted by sykeirl
    I'd like to ask God for forgiveness now, for naming Harte in a team.
    Ask it twofold, you named Kilbane as well(instead)!

Originally posted by Imposter
    Ask it twofold, you named Kilbane as well(instead)!

Unfortunately its going to be at least one of BReen/Kilbane/Harte in the back four.

I'd take Kilbane

Actually, thinking abck on the last games Kerr has to go with Doherty or Lee upfront.

Albania packed their midfield against us at home and for the away game I imagine they will be even more defensive.

We came nowhere near scoring against them until Doherty came on and we went to route one.

Keane was taken off for him in that match, but I think Doherty and Keane, who play together as a strike force in the premiership quite often, will cause albania problems.

If Albania flood the midfield again, we don't have midfielders good enough to pass through them.

AAhhhhh, the Liverpool way. Midfield quaterbacks punting the ball forward for the big man up front to knock down. Lovely theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭wynters

The team looks like it's gonna be

Given

Reid Holland Kilbane

Duff

Connolly Keane

I'd say the Albania game'll be the tougher of the 2.

2-0 vs Albania

3-0 vs Georgia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Who the f*ck is lee?

Originally posted by wynters
    The team looks like it's gonna be

Given

Reid Holland Kilbane

Duff

Connolly Keane

I'd say the Albania game'll be the tougher of the 2.

2-0 vs Albania

3-0 vs Georgia
    That looks like one of the more realistic teams posted, hope your right about the scores:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Who the f*ck is lee?

He plays for Rotherham in the first division. Scored a hatful of goals for them in the first half of the season but I think he went of the boil a bit as the season progressed. Id still rather him then David Connolly. Also I dont understand why so many people have Gary Breen playing. I know that he has never made a monumental cock up for Ireland, but he is an accident waiting to happen. Just look at what United did to him in the FA cup tie. There is a reason West Ham are letting him go, and noone,not even Mick Mc Carthy has been linked with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭jonno

Well if noone takes him on then you won't have to worry because I doubt Kerr has the stupiity to play a footballer that's out of a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

It wouldn't make me happy but I wouldn't be surprised if Kerr plays Breen.

Still think we can win both games though................

Originally posted by Waylander
    is a reason West Ham are letting him go

actually he only sined a contract for a year,,,thought he'd make a premiership impression and get better money after that....d'oh

im so psyched up for these games now

COME ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Hopefully a 3-0 victory tomorrow , I shall be there for the first time in a long time (19 months) at last I can use a ticket I have purcheased. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

3-1 vs Albania
    2-0 vs Georgia

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Definitly 2 wins.

As for today i'd say 2-0 to Ireland :D

According to reports this morning, Reid and Doherty to start and Duff on the left!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Galweh for teh win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by sykeirl
    According to reports this morning, Reid and Doherty to start and Duff on the left!

That is a lie, where did you here that? Kerr said yesterday that Reid won't play, he's not 100%. As for Duff, I'd love to see him play on the left but he hasn't started there for Ireland since Niall Quinn was FIT.

Anyway, heres the probable lineup:
    Given

Carr            Cunnigham      O'Shea            Harte 

Carsley               Holland                  Kilbane

Duffer

Keane      Doherty

BTW Where the hell has Kennedy gone?

kerr has never picked him for his squads AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

if kerr plays kilbane i'll slappa his face! Hes a stocking of sh1te!

GIVEN

McAteer Kinsella/Holland Reid

Duffman

Keane Connoly

I wouldnt play Finnan, hes a bit rusty after i saw him in the Norway game. Connoly is a pile a sh1te aswell but until morrisson and crowe get back its all we got!! C'mon ye boys in green!!