Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Article] Taxi-drivers to withdraw service (Tuesday 10th)

• 09-06-2003 6:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 78,436 ✭✭✭✭

http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/topstories/855562?view=Eircomnet
    Taxi-drivers to withdraw service
    Monday, 9th June, 2003

Dublin taxi-drivers plan to withdraw their service for 24 hours from 4 a.m. tomorrow.

Those travelling to airports for early-morning flights and workers who start or finish work in the small hours will be worst affected by the industrial action.

Mid-afternoon Dublin traffic will also be disrupted by a protest drive, march and rally planned for the city centre tomorrow. The event will be similar to the final stage of the Irish Farmers' Association tractor rally in January.

The action is being organised by the three main taxi-drivers' unions - the National Taxi Drivers Union (NTDU), the Irish Taxi Drivers' Federation and SIPTU. The unions represent around 7,500 of the 9,800 licenced drivers nationwide.

The unions say drivers are unhappy with how the deregulation of the industry has progressed. They point to a rise in the number of assaults on passengers by new taxi-drivers, and an increase in the number of older cars being used as taxis as examples of how standards have been allowed to slip since deregulation in November 2000.

The drivers are also concerned about the number of taxi ranks in the city, given that the taxi fleet has grown from just under 3,000 to almost 10,000 since deregulation.

In Dublin city centre a number of key ranks have been lost, including those outside St Stephen's Green Shopping Centre, Wynne's Hotel, Abbey Street, Clery's department store, O'Connell Street, and at Busáras in Store Street.

The interim regulator appointed by the Government, Mr Jim Farrelly, is finalising a report on the status of the industry for the Minister for Transport, Mr Brennan.

However, drivers have become frustrated that requests for fare reviews have not been acted upon. They have called for the disbandment of the committee, comprising members of the four Dublin local authorities, which approves fare increases.

"We are not trying to achieve major disruption with this but we just want to make it clear that what we are looking for are developments which will not only benefit drivers but will be good for the public too," said Mr Vincent Kearns, NTDU vice-president.

Since deregulation 2½ years ago, six new taxi-drivers have been implicated in major drugs deals, three have died in their cabs from drugs overdoses and there have been "eight to 10" allegations of rape made against drivers, Mr Kearns said.

Many of the new drivers have full-time jobs and drive taxis after finishing work or at weekends. Some are working so many hours that passenger safety is at risk.

Mr Kearns added the interim regulator had just one month left to run on his current contract but the Government had not advertised the position yet. A permanent regulator was needed with full statutory powers who would act to improve standards.

Tightening up entry into the market needed to become a priority and new drivers should be forced to undergo training and more rigorous screening.

Thousands of drivers are expected at a rally in the Phoenix Park tomorrow. Drivers will meet at the park and then travel in their cars under Garda escort just after 1.30 p.m. They will park at Merrion Square and then march through the city centre along Clare Street, Nassau Street, and Frederick Street before handing in a letter of protest to Mr Brennan at Molesworth Street. The drivers then return to Merrion Square where they will be addressed by union leaders. They will disperse before the rush hour starts. Pickets will also be placed in ranks during the 24-hour action. Drivers in rural areas have also been asked to withdraw their services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

I was just speaking to My mate whom is a taxi Driver and Not in the Union and doesent much care about whats going on with the Regulation.

But He and his father where driving into town today and he left his roof sign on by mistake and they booted his car some old bast**d useless skumbag who was probably pissed anyway left dents in it.

Thats My opinion you may have your Own but I think thats out of order and It will be along time before I use a taxi again that not My mates

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, that's totally out of order, but to be expected when people congregate in large groups, especially over emotive issues.

Personally, I don't have any respect for the ITDU, they're just as corrupt as any of the other old union (CWU anyone?) but I do enjoy seeing the government getting roasted with TWO major protests being held in the city in one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

I hate taxi drivers.
    I'm so sick of hearing them moan about regulation.
    I hope they all shoot themselves in the foot and go on strike at christmas again.
    I bet there's not one person(not related to a taxi driver) who feels sorry for them.
    I saw the families march just after de-regulation and they had signs saying 'no toys for christmas for our children'. And the kids were with them crying.
    Fools the lot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

I wasn't aware of the taxi strike and me and my mate were waiting for a taxi this morning at 4.50, 50 minutes after the strike started. There were NO taxis at all but one guy pulled up, his sign off and said, "Get in quick, if they see me they'll kill me!" So we hopped in and he brought us home. He turned off the meter and we just gave him what we'd usually pay.
    We were driving through Rathmines and there was a taxi pulled up on the side of the road, parked. When we drove past he saw that our driver had 2 people in the car and he beeped and flashed his lights like crazy! ****in' hell!
    Our driver said he didn't have a clue about the strike until a few hours before it started and didn't really give a ****. He was decent enough to pick us up anyway...and he made more money than the scumbags who knocked off at 4am on the dot.
    Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,065 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

well I used to think that taxi drivers geting cheap plates was a good thing but it is NOT - all you need to be able to do to become a taxi man now is be able to drive,own a car and have a few grand! your criminal record dont matter at all...

SO now all the scum of the city have become taxi drivers .... i try not to get taxis now as 9/10 smell, have 98 FM blaring and are generaly filthy old men in wife beater vests :p

thats my 2 cent anywho !

• Registered Users Posts: 20,995 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I wasn't aware of the taxi strike and me and my mate were waiting for a taxi this morning at 4.50

<rant>Yeah I picked today to get the wrong bus (just moved to Dublin), found myself in an unknown part of the city (the people in that part were pretty unhelpful - "how could you not know where you are you retard"). Spent ages waiting for a taxi not knowing there was a strike. Asked one or two people "where can I get a taxi?", "a WHAT?", "a taxi", "huh?", "a tax-i", "em wait there just in front of our window for a while until one pulls up". Nice one. Plus when I finally got a bus back to the city centre I was treated to the sound of car horns which is on my top ten list of irritants. God I hate car horns.</rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Poor you...Welcome to Dublin! Not all of us are stupid or unhelpful. Don't lose your faith in humanity just yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Ironic that quite a few people were protesting against the very way in which they got their plates from what I've heard.

Guru, just to clarify: it was taxi men who decided to kick the crap out of your mate's taxi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

Guru, just to clarify: it was taxi men who decided to kick the crap out of your mate's taxi?

Thats Correct the scumbag f**kers

I suggest that we the public go on strike from the Taxis they only rip us off anyway hell for €4 you can get the Nightlink home and you have an better chance of scoring there :D

But all messing aside its mad to think what these people are like I think they are only losers that wont work anywhere else (most of them anyway).

Some Of you will get into a taxi this Weekend just say to your self "Nice Beer belly mate wow excellent goldrings they are so big is that to cover the love / hate tatto's on your fingers"

nuff said !!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Originally posted by the Guru
    Thats Correct the scumbag f**kers

I suggest that we the public go on strike from the Taxis they only rip us off anyway hell for €4 you can get the Nightlink home and you have an better chance of scoring there :D

But all messing aside its mad to think what these people are like I think they are only losers that wont work anywhere else (most of them anyway).

Some Of you will get into a taxi this Weekend just say to your self "Nice Beer belly mate wow excellent goldrings they are so big is that to cover the love / hate tatto's on your fingers"

nuff said !!!!!!!!!!!

jesus! if you dont like it move out of dublin!
    Failing that get to know a hackney driver :D they rock ( spent 3 hours in tha back of one of them one night...and it was only £3 to my door....sweet!)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Taxi drivers, i hate them with a vengance. THey are rubbish drivers, think they own the road, and cant have a civil conversation to save their lives.

I used to get taxi's home as opposed to the nightlink (thinking it was really bad). Much to my amazement the 48n nightlink has relatively few scumbags and underage kids puking on you.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    I bet there's not one person(not related to a taxi driver) who feels sorry for them.

I am related to a taxi driver and frankly I have no time for any of them.
    Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    I saw the families march just after de-regulation and they had signs saying 'no toys for christmas for our children'. And the kids were with them crying.

They are the biggest shower of lying bastards going, when it comes to their income. They all claim to be on the breadline, when in actual fact they can easily pull in about €1,500.00 a week if working full-time. And I am speaking with some authority, as my [relation], who is a part-timer pulls in €1000.00 to €1200.00 by only working weekends and a couple of week nights.
    I have seen the (non-existent) records.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭NITEMAN

I was in a taxi a few weeks ago and the driver started talking bolox about how they need to be regulated again and how criminals were getting taxi plates now.
    I saw the number on his id card and it was one of the new plates, so i said that tohim.
    he told that it was but that he can't make enough money so he wants it regulated again and the govt should do something about it. Then he charged me €20 for 20 minutes drive.
    Thats a lot of money for driving.
    OK theres a problem with criminals getting plates, so ban them from getting plates.
    No big deal, easily done.
    They're all scumbags anyway, i don't feel at all sorry for the poor sobbing asswholes

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Lyrics to "Taxi Drivers" from GTA2

TAXI DRIVERS

Well everybody's sayin' that they're not so bad
    Everybody's sayin' that we need 'em bad
    Well everybody's got their ****in' heads up their ass

Everybody tells me they perform a service
    But the same ****in' people say they drive 'em nervous
    Well make your ****in' mind up, you stupid twat

If you want to see them cry
    Poke 'em in the eye
    Put their fingers in the socket and watch them fry

Taxi drivers must die

Everybody's sayin' that they drive 'em nuts
    But when it comes to revenge they ain't got the guts
    Well crawl back into your little 'ole, you little rat

United and strong we can fight them back
    Teach them all a ****ing lesson that they'll never forget
    And watch the little bastards come crawling back

"I'm sorry"

If you want to see them cry
    Poke 'em in the eye
    Put their fingers in the socket and watch them fry

Taxi drivers must die

IMHO.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Lyrics to "Mr Cab Driver" by Lenny Kravitz:
    Mr Cab Driver won't you stop to let me in
    Mr Cab Driver don't like my kind of skin
    Mr Cab Driver you're never gonna win
    Mr Cab Driver won't you stop to pick me up
    Mr Cab Driver I might need some help
    Mr Cab Driver only thinks about himself
    Here we go

Mr Cab Driver, Mr Cab Driver

Mr Cab Driver don't like the way I look
    He don't like dreads he thinks we're all crooks
    Mr Cab Driver reads too many story books
    Mr Cab Driver pass me up with eyes of fire
    Mr Cab Driver thinks we're all one sixty five'ers
    Mr Cab Driver fúck you I'm a survivor
    Oh yeah, one more time, ahah

Let me in

• Registered Users Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

the trick is not to talk to them are they won't stfu on about something like the weather or wheelchairs. If they start talking, speak all nerdy about computers and it works.

good idea lol

or you could act like a girl who doesn't want to be chatted up.
    we've all met the.
    a yes no answer to everything.
    nothing like that to make someone wish the never strted a conversation lmao :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

They are scum i had to get a taxi from o'connel street out to ballycoolin in the blanch last week. I asked him to go through finglass, he went through Cabra and the meter ran up to 23 euro's because we were stuck in traffic, i got out gave him 20 told him to **** off he is not getting anymore because i wanted to go through finglas not through Cabra. he called me a prik and drove off, what a arsehole!
    That is the last time i get a taxi1:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

wrong board, moved to the right place

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

I always try have a laugh at their expense,

I tell them I have won the football pools and how brilliant it is not to have to work, and then when they inevitably go on a racist trip I tell them that my adopted brother is black. They stop dead in their tracks.

I think that the majority of those racist sh*t-heads should have their licences taken away and have to sweep the streets for €2.00 a day.

I wish it was like NYC. get in, go to destination, pay, get out.

................deep breath..................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭QBall

Originally posted by Nemici
    I wish it was like NYC. get in, go to destination, pay, get out.
    And you pay far less than you do here. (Oh and don't forget the wonderful drivers in NYC!)

A conversation I quoted in another forum:
    Originally posted by QBall

Driver: "You English?"
    Us:"No, Irish."
    Driver:"Oh, good, so you hate the British like I do!"
    Us:<Something about not all Irish hating British, and asking him why he does>
    Driver:"Well, I'm Iranian but everyone thinks I'm Indian. And those Indian b*stards can't drive!"
    Us:"Yeah, but why hate the British?"
    Driver:"In 400 years of occupying India, the bladdy British didn't teach those Indian b*stards how to drive!"
    To be honest though, I was only in a taxi twice in NYC because the subway rocks. It's much more pleasant than the Nitelink. No puke, the knackers keep to themselves, it runs 24/7 and it costs the same whether it's 4pm or 4am.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,436 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/topstories/863862?view=Eircomnet
    Further taxi driver protests planned
    Wednesday, 11th June, 2003

Rally at Dail follows drive through Dublin to highlight problems in industry

Taxi drivers who demonstrated in Dublin yesterday plan further protests unless the Government freezes the issuing of new licences.

They drove 480 taxis through Dublin city centre yesterday afternoon before staging a rally outside Leinster House to highlight problems in the industry.

Drivers, they claimed, were struggling to make a living since deregulation of the sector in November 2000, which has led to taxi numbers in the city increasing from 3,000 to almost 10,000.

Their immediate demand is for the issuing of taxi licences to be suspended until a regulator for the industry has been appointed.

This was immediately rejected by the Minister for Transport, Mr Brennan, who said drivers knew that deregulation had come about as a result of a High Court decision and the Government was bound by this.

Mr Brennan, who announced that the Cabinet had yesterday approved the draft of the Taxi Regulation Bill, said he understood the drivers' frustration and anger.

The Bill, he said, would be published in the next fortnight and be introduced in the Dáil before the summer recess.

It would provide for the appointment of a full-time taxi regulator who would oversee standards and entry requirements to the industry.

Taxi union leaders claim that hundreds of people with criminal records have been issued with taxi plates since the industry was deregulated.

Their campaign, they say, is as much about public safety as concern over drivers' living standards.

Mr Brennan, however, said applicants for taxi licences were vetted by the Garda and he assumed that no one with a criminal record was approved.

While some of those turned down had successfully appealed to the courts, he did not believe the problem was widespread.

The Minister said he agreed with the taxi unions that "good, strong entry standards", including specialised courses, were required before people could become "fully fledged, professional" taxi drivers.

Advertisements for the post of regulator would be placed in newspapers next week and the office should be up and running within a few months of that, he added.

This pace of change is not acceptable to the unions which organised yesterday's protest, the National Taxi Drivers' Union, the Irish Taxi Drivers' Federation and SIPTU.

In a letter handed in to Mr Brennan yesterday, the NTDU vice-president, Mr Vincent Kearns, said the Taoiseach had given an undertaking prior to the general election last year that a regular would be appointed within weeks.

Mr Kearns told reporters that the next demonstration, in the absence of a moratorium on new licences, would take place on July 8th. Gardaí estimated that about 1,000 drivers took part in yesterday's protest, which began when drivers assembled in the Phoenix Park. The protest was accompanied by a 24-hour withdrawal of services in the capital, which was due to end at 4 a.m. today.

While nationwide protests had been planned, gardaí in Cork, Limerick, Galway and Waterford said the taxi service operated normally throughout yesterday in those cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,436 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://home.eircom.net/content/unison/national/864040?view=Eircomnet
    Brennan vows to clear a path through 'taxi jungle' From:The Irish Independent
    Wednesday, 11th June, 2003
    Gene McKenna Political Editor

TRANSPORT Minister Seamus Brennan yesterday got the go-ahead from the Cabinet for major legislation on the future regulation of the taxi industry.

Its provisions include the setting up of the office of full-time National Taxi Regulator, a post for which Mr Brennan will advertise within the next 10 days.

As taxi drivers protested on the streets of Dublin, Mr Brennan promised to shape up the "jungle-type operation" of the taxi industry.

The minister is hoping to fast-track the legislation through the Dail before the summer recess and to have the full-time regulator in place later in the year.

A former senior civil servant, Jimmy Farrelly, was appointed interim taxi regulator earlier in the year but he took the job only for six months.

Within the next couple of weeks, Mr Brennan will also be naming the members of the new National Taxi Council.

This will give taxi customers a say in the operation of the industry for the first time ever, as passengers will be represented, along with such interests as the Garda and tourism.

It will advise on ways to improve the service and to implement high standards of professionalism.

Meanwhile, the Government is to begin making hardship payments which will total up to €15m to taxi owners within the next few months. It is expected that the payouts will be completed early next year.

Government approval has already been given for the payout which is to compensate taxi owners for losing out when their plates were deregulated two years ago.

"I acknowledge that there is a lot of unhappiness in the industry," Mr Brennan said yesterday after thousands of taxi drivers took to the streets.