Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people hate Gerry Adams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

jack923 wrote: »
    I'm just saying, the ira didn't have a courtroom

They didn't need one.
    Junior members in various states of inebriation scuttled over and back to the likes of Gerry Adams house alleging that so and so was a tout and that person was tarred and feathered kneecapped or shot in the back of the head
    No need for any court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,524 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Why would they need a courtroom when they had another 'good republican' like Freddy Scappatichi and his buddies to torture and kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

RayM wrote: »
    I don't remember such levels of hatred for him back in the 1990s, when the IRA were actually killing people. I suppose Sinn Féin didn't pose any electoral threat to the establishment back then.
    In a world where you've got terrorists killing people and a former terrorist who is seemingly willing to sit down and discuss rather than kill, naturally you're going to look more favourably on the latter.

When that same guy is still sitting at the table 20 years after the violence has stopped but still refusing to say it was wrong....well it has a tendency to tarnish one's reputation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I don't care what anyone says.

You leave a bomb in a shopping centre and it kills an innocent child who has nothing to do with your noble view then you have already failed in whatever political goal you were trying to achieve.

Simple as.

The IRA were strongly against drugs an uneducated person like you wouldn't know.
    Into a packed shopping area? What are you on about? Fool who doesn't know what he's on about.

That's incredibly naïve.

Here in South Kerry, one of the big gateways for drugs into Europe in the late 70s and 80s, they muscled in in a big way. Not trafficking mind you, but demanding a cut, and even killing a poor guy who wasn't really involved at all.

The IRA didn't like others running drugs. They had no issue taking a big slice out of the industry themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,826 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

of course they did. it was full of kangaroos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,813 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Just to throw another slant on it. I think many peoples attitude to Martin McGuinness differs from their opinion of Gerry Adams.
    I think that is because his attitude is different. The antipathy is generally not there to McGuinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

maryishere wrote: »
    I think the soldier was shot / dying? Going to comfort him in his final moments was enough to sign her death warrant / enable the heavies to torture and "disappear" her, and leave her family of kids abandened to fend for themselves ?

Never happened. No evidence of it ever even being a possibility. So the big question is, why would someone make that up? Why fabricate a reason that someone was killed? Answer: to hide the reason.

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Never happened. No evidence of it ever even being a possibility. So the big question is, why would someone make that up? Why fabricate a reason that someone was killed? Answer: to hide the reason.

which is that they are neanderthal thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Water John wrote: »
    Just to throw another slant on it. I think many peoples attitude to Martin McGuinness differs from their opinion of Gerry Adams.
    I think that is because his attitude is different. The antipathy is generally not there to McGuinness.

Most probably because one runs in the south and one doesn't

Don't agree Miller. I think people see McGuinness a straight talking. People always appreciate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

JustTheOne wrote: »

You leave a bomb in a shopping centre and it kills an innocent child who has nothing to do with your noble view then you have already failed in whatever political goal you were trying to achieve.

Simple as.

While I agree, I'd take it further and say once you're leaving bombs around to destroy livelihoods, terrorise innocent people and endanger their lives, you've failed politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Wait, are you saying that Jean McConville wasn't killed by the IRA? Or...killed at all? O.o

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0929/731123-jean-mcconville-timeline/

Even they admitted it.

Don't agree Miller. I think people see McGuinness a straight talking. People always appreciate that.

I wonder would the masses see him as straight talking if he constantly had to deal with the southern media, southern establishment and their partitionist agenda, constantly trying to twist every word he says and castigate him?

Samaris wrote: »
    Wait, are you saying that Jean McConville wasn't killed by the IRA? Or...killed at all? O.o

I think even the dogs on the street could tell you he was referring to the "injured soldier" story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Was the queen going around Belfast murdering people?

No she was pinning medals on those who were though, including the Paras who perpetrated Bloody Sunday.

The British State was up to its neck in violence and murder in Ireland and was in no way some sort of morally superior agency in the conflict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭kingtiger

The IRA didn't like others running drugs. They had no issue taking a big slice out of the industry themselves.

Proof please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

If by straight talking, you mean his admission to being in the Ra, you kinda expect that after being tried and convicted.

McGuinnes stood for the presidency. He wasn't attacked in the manner you suggested Miller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,510 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Because he exposed a weakness in the Good Friday Agreement that allowed for the early release of Garda murderers. His views on law, order and justice are at a sharp contrast to mine.

This too shall pass.

Samaris wrote: »

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0929/731123-jean-mcconville-timeline/

Even they admitted it.

No, I was addressing the points made in the comment I quoted. There is no evidence that Jean McConville ever administered aid or comfort to a dying British soldier. There's no record of any British soldiers being maimed or killed in the area it's alleged to have happened at any time before her death. I believe that in not wanting to admit that she was an informer, a plausible reason for her being targeted had to be created and her giving aid to a fictional dying British soldier was the reason that was fabricated*. Nobody would have believed (apart from a few posters on here of course) that she was randomly selected for death for no reason at all.

Of course, on here, for some reason it suits many people to completely ignore the entire background of the conflict, the entire timeline of events and pretend that one day out of the blue a bunch of people with a blood lust managed to get really well organised and just started blowing places up and shooting people for no reason. By some miracle, 85% of the time they tried to kill as many innocent people as possible they accidentally killed armed British forces instead. Bizarre.

*It does go to show, if you tell a lie often enough it becomes the truth.

kingtiger wrote: »
    Proof please

You don't need proof to make a claim like that. It's like how "everyone knows" that dissident republicans are the most successful drug dealers in the history of the world. Schrodingers dissidents. Simultaneously riddled with informers but impossible to convict of any drug offences.

do you think drug dealers are going to run to the police to complain that the ira are "taxing" them?

Why would they need to? "They're riddled with touts." "The garda and PSNI know when they far or sneeze." (Both paraphrased from comments I've seen on this board.)

Another good lie about Irish history that's been told enough to become truth. "The leaders of 1916 were widely despised. Until they were executed and magically became overnight heroes who people were willing to kill and die for."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

I don't hate Gerry Adams.

I despise everything he and his party stands for, and I will oppose the treacherous cowardly murdering bastards until my dying day.

But I don't hate him.

Every single thing?

Why would they need to? "They're riddled with touts." "The garda and PSNI know when they far or sneeze." (Both paraphrased from comments I've seen on this board.)

knowing that something is happening is not the same as having the evidence to convict in court. besides, why would you expose your touts for something that nobody gives a toss about except drug dealers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

No, I was addressing the points made in the comment I quoted. There is no evidence that Jean McConville ever administered aid or comfort to a dying British soldier. There's no record of any British soldiers being maimed or killed in the area it's alleged to have happened at any time before her death. I believe that in not wanting to admit that she was an informer, a plausible reason for her being targeted had to be created and her giving aid to a fictional dying British soldier was the reason that was fabricated*. Nobody would have believed (apart from a few posters on here of course) that she was randomly selected for death for no reason at all.

Of course, on here, for some reason it suits many people to completely ignore the entire background of the conflict, the entire timeline of events and pretend that one day out of the blue a bunch of people with a blood lust managed to get really well organised and just started blowing places up and shooting people for no reason. By some miracle, 85% of the time they tried to kill as many innocent people as possible they accidentally killed armed British forces instead. Bizarre.

But But...the Spooks who have stood by and allowed so many deaths to protect their informers say this is the reason she was killed so this triggers the usual alliance of Irish media/FF/FG to keep pushing out their propaganda which is then fed to the bottom feeders here to perpetuate their predictable modus.

Ireland has a sad pathetic history of informers causing many many deaths for fellow Irish men and women and this was allowed to happen because informants were not dealt with ruthlessly enough.

kingtiger wrote: »
    Proof please

Classic SF, they rail about everything and anything and fire out any rumour about collusion and corruption.

But the minute you point out what the dogs on the street know about the victims of crime, drugs, child abuse etc. surrounding them, they get all "where's the proof, prove it so, no Court said that".

Your proof? Ask anyone in South Kerry who was involved in the drugs business about the history of it and they will tell you that when the IRA got stuck in, it became very dark. But no, they didn't go to the Gardaí about it.

knowing that something is happening is not the same as having the evidence to convict in court. besides, why would you expose your touts for something that nobody gives a toss about except drug dealers?

You can't simultaneously have an organisation riddled with your agents and informers and be unable to acquire evidence of their activities. That's impossible. A conviction for drug offences would completely destroy any credibility as republicans that dissidents cling to which would put a serious dent in the support they're gathering in the north. That'd be a good reason to expose one of the (allegedly many) agents inside the various dissident camps. What's the loss of 1 agent's cover if you have tens or hundreds among them?

Dissidents must be swimming in cash. Extorting all those dealers must be very lucrative. Why haven't CAB taken their money? That's a good way around the problem. Don't need to expose an agent. Don't need evidence for a conviction. Still dents their credibility as republicans. Foolproof. But they haven't done it. Why? Only 2 plausible answers I can think of. Either they're not riddled with agents or they're not as big in the drug game as we're being told they are.

Some more pondering points. Suppose you're a dissident republican who is using republicanism as a means to acquire drug money. Why would you guarantee that the full force of the state would come down on you by killing soldiers, PSNI officers and prison guards? That would be the complete opposite of what i'd do if I were amassing a load of drug money.

Massereene Barracks shootings. 2 soldiers killed. 1 conviction latwr overturned and not guilty on the retrial. PSNI man shot in Craigavon days later by a sniper. No convictions. Ronan Kerr, killed by dissidents in 2011. David Black killed on the way to work. One man on trial for aiding and abetting. Why aren't the shooters in the dock? Those agents and informers are either very **** at their job or they don't exist.

Full disclosure: I couldn't give a **** about the dissidents and think the list I've given above has been a criminal and pointless waste of human life. What does interest me about all this is how it exposes that so many Irish people will literally believe anything they're told, even if it doesn't stand up to the slightest scrutiny.

You can't simultaneously have an organisation riddled with your agents and informers and be unable to acquire evidence of their activities. That's impossible. A conviction for drug offences would completely destroy any credibility as republicans that dissidents cling to which would put a serious dent in the support they're gathering in the north. That'd be a good reason to expose one of the (allegedly many) agents inside the various dissident camps. What's the loss of 1 agent's cover if you have tens or hundreds among them?

Dissidents must be swimming in cash. Extorting all those dealers must be very lucrative. Why haven't CAB taken their money? That's a good way around the problem. Don't need to expose an agent. Don't need evidence for a conviction. Still dents their credibility as republicans. Foolproof. But they haven't done it. Why? Only 2 plausible answers I can think of. Either they're not riddled with agents or they're not as big in the drug game as we're being told they are.

Some more pondering points. Suppose you're a dissident republican who is using republicanism as a means to acquire drug money. Why would you guarantee that the full force of the state would come down on you by killing soldiers, PSNI officers and prison guards? That would be the complete opposite of what i'd do if I were amassing a load of drug money.

Massereene Barracks shootings. 2 soldiers killed. 1 conviction latwr overturned and not guilty on the retrial. PSNI man shot in Craigavon days later by a sniper. No convictions. Ronan Kerr, killed by dissidents in 2011. David Black killed on the way to work. One man on trial for aiding and abetting. Why aren't the shooters in the dock? Those agents and informers are either very **** at their job or they don't exist.

Full disclosure: I couldn't give a **** about the dissidents and think the list I've given above has been a criminal and pointless waste of human life. What does interest me about all this is how it exposes that so many Irish people will literally believe anything they're told, even if it doesn't stand up to the slightest scrutiny.

who mentioned drug offences? i didnt. i mentioned "taxing" drug dealers. you're responding to the wrong person.

Classic SF, they rail about everything and anything and fire out any rumour about collusion and corruption.

But the minute you point out what the dogs on the street know about the victims of crime, drugs, child abuse etc. surrounding them, they get all "where's the proof, prove it so, no Court said that".

Your proof? Ask anyone in South Kerry who was involved in the drugs business about the history of it and they will tell you that when the IRA got stuck in, it became very dark. But no, they didn't go to the Gardaí about it.

I'm not a supporter of SF or any republican party, but I'll understand if you don't believe that because I rarely believe people when they say "I don't support X party" and then go on to defend them. But I don't believe that the PIRA were involved in drugs and I'm sure that if they were there are enough powerful people in Ireland and Britain who would love to be able to provide even the slightest bit of evidence that they were to destroy their support and they haven't.

Now, I agree with you on most things I see you post (Israel being the usual exception) and I know you're an intelligent bloke but if I told you to go and ask whoever from wherever when you were questioning my claims you'd rightly tell me to feck off.

who mentioned drug offences? i didnt. i mentioned "taxing" drug dealers. you're responding to the wrong person.

If the semantics surrounding 2 words is all you're giving me in reply to the various points raised in my post then there isn't much point continuing the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Why do you think people hate Gerry Adams?

La Mon
    Proxy bombs
    Warrington

... I could keep naming things all day, unfortunately, but you get the gist of it.

If the semantics surrounding 2 words is all you're giving me in reply to the various points raised in my post then there isn't much point continuing the conversation.

there was never any point to it. no matter what is said you will defend the IRA. You ask for proof for any accusations laid against the IRA. Tell me something, what proof was sufficient for Gerry and his friends to decide that somebody was a tout and that they should be "disappeared"? do you think that "proof" would stand up in any court of law? think about that the next time you blindly defend scum like Gerry Adams and his thugs in the IRA.

I answered every question you asked me on the previous page. You're so upset by a killing carried about 40 years ago that you've been rendered completely unable to repay the courtesy and answer a single question I've asked you in this exchange. So what's the point of me continuing to answer your questions? You'll have to settle for your thanks from iwasfrozen and lordsutch when he logs on because I'm not going to waste any more time on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,464 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Simple as.

as wrong as that act was, you are incorrect. all of their political goals apart from a ui were achieved.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I answered every question you asked me on the previous page. You're so upset by a killing carried about 40 years ago that you've been rendered completely unable to repay the courtesy and answer a single question I've asked you in this exchange. So what's the point of me continuing to answer your questions? You'll have to settle for your thanks from iwasfrozen and lordsutch when he logs on because I'm not going to waste any more time on you.

a killing?? there are a lot more than one.

I've looked for the post where you justify defending murderous thugs but i cant find it. care to link to it? or are you just going to keep deflecting? the fact is that you wont explain because you dont like thinking about the reality of what Gerry and his thugs (that should be a band name) have done. Its easier to keep up the "Up the 'RA" shouts.

I'm not a supporter of SF or any republican party, but I'll understand if you don't believe that because I rarely believe people when they say "I don't support X party" and then go on to defend them. But I don't believe that the PIRA were involved in drugs and I'm sure that if they were there are enough powerful people in Ireland and Britain who would love to be able to provide even the slightest bit of evidence that they were to destroy their support and they haven't...

Well anyone who lived in the area between Sneem and Caherdaniel in the 80s will confirm that the whole fun and games went out of drug running when the IRA got involved, kidnapped and shot Charles Brook Pickard etc. They can even pin it down to naming the fellow who left that area and went off to Belfast and started talking about the money that was being made by drug runners down here, and drew the IRA into the area.

No one in the drugs business in South Kerry was going to the Gardai or to anyone in authority, and certainly not once the IRA shot Brook Pickard. Though drug running around here ended within a few years so in a funny way, from getting stuck right into it, I guess one could say the IRA did actually end it!

You surely do not think that the IRA would bombs kids and civilians, cover for paedophiles like Adams brother...but get very moralistic about the dangers of drugs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭jack923

Simple as.

You realise the british, Americans and Russians are all responsible for the death of children in recent times. But oh that doesn't matter does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You realise the british, Americans and Russians are all responsible for the death of children in recent times. But oh that doesn't matter does it?

We all are aware of that and most likely all of us would collectively condemn the death of a child or innocent in any conflict.

It's a mute point what you just made.

Just because theres no record of it doesn't mean it didn't happen. If she was an informer then she deserved the bullet if she wasn't then it's a terrible thing that happened.

Mod: Banned

Just because theres no record of it doesn't mean it didn't happen. If she was an informer then she deserved the bullet if she wasn't then it's a terrible thing that happened.

Jack, an extrajudicial execution is wrong , there is nothing that justifies it.

You surely do not think that the IRA would bombs kids and civilians, cover for paedophiles like Adams brother...but get very moralistic about the dangers of drugs?

Yes, I do think that. And despite it being ridiculously contradictory it's a really common attitude in the timeline that the PIRA were operating. Pretty much every armed group who engages in war (in before "it wasn't a war" because the semantics make no difference to the point) will bomb kids and civilians and chalk it up to collateral*. Plenty of prominent organisations have turned out to be abusing and harbouring abusers in the 70's and 80's. But I bet plenty of them would balk at the idea of drug running or complicity in it. Drugs are bizarrely, a massive taboo especially in Ireland. Even more so than child abuse. If it turned out the church were selling drugs here it would finish them off more than the abuse scandals ever managed to.

Understand, this isn't a roundabout defence of the PIRA. I genuinely wouldn't feel any differently if they were selling drugs. I've taken drugs myself and I'm not against them at all. A lot of the stuff the PIRA and INLA did was indefensible. But overall, they were absolutely justified in taking up arms against a tyrannical state that was oppressing them. The same way all of the other groups who've taken up arms against Britain and various other colonialists in their own countries were. Within 5 years of the GFA, Britain was off making new enemies in far flung places and Irish people sit around here acting like things would've been grand if only the Catholics in the north would have just let themselves be beaten and shot during pogroms for a little while longer. It's bizarre.

Jack, an extrajudicial execution is wrong , there is nothing that justifies it.

Except any guerilla group would have to or else the IRA wouldn't have lasted a week if there was no fear of being a spy. Everyone would have been a spy of that was the case. You're just ignorant to war.

Yes, I do think that. And despite it being ridiculously contradictory it's a really common attitude in the timeline that the PIRA were operating. Pretty much every armed group who engages in war (in before "it wasn't a war" because the semantics make no difference to the point) will bomb kids and civilians and chalk it up to collateral*. Plenty of prominent organisations have turned out to be abusing and harbouring abusers in the 70's and 80's. But I bet plenty of them would balk at the idea of drug running or complicity in it. Drugs are bizarrely, a massive taboo especially in Ireland. Even more so than child abuse. If it turned out the church were selling drugs here it would finish them off more than the abuse scandals ever managed to.

Understand, this isn't a roundabout defence of the PIRA. I genuinely wouldn't feel any differently if they were selling drugs. I've taken drugs myself and I'm not against them at all. A lot of the stuff the PIRA and INLA did was indefensible. But overall, they were absolutely justified in taking up arms against a tyrannical state that was oppressing them. The same way all of the other groups who've taken up arms against Britain and various other colonialists in their own countries were. Within 5 years of the GFA, Britain was off making new enemies in far flung places and Irish people sit around here acting like things would've been grand if only the Catholics in the north would have just let themselves be beaten and shot during pogroms for a little while longer. It's bizarre.

They weren't purposely killing civilians anymore than the yanks are now, it just shows how much control the media has.

If we got invaded again I have a feeling we would all just bow down and say no to violence because innocent people might get killed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

If we got invaded again I have a feeling we would all just bow down and say no to violence because innocent people might get killed.

I reckon that an invasion would be like a wet dream to you.

or mabey not , keyboard warriors have to courage of a man who murders a housewife and bombs town centers killing children

Except any guerilla group would have to or else the IRA wouldn't have lasted a week if there was no fear of being a spy. Everyone would have been a spy of that was the case. You're just ignorant to war.

I maybe very well be "ignorant to war" Jack but compared to some who some who have presented themselves as soldiers representing Irish republicans I'd rather stay ignorant.

Have you bothered googling "proxy bomb" yet or are you old enough to remember Warrington , how bout the Eniskillen bombing ?

Your comment about "an invasion" suggests a very childlike perception .

mynamejeff wrote: »
    I reckon that an invasion would be like a wet dream to you.

or mabey not , keyboard warriors have to courage of a man who murders a housewife and bombs town centers killing children

Keyboard warrior > Subservient keyboard partitionist

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Keyboard warrior > Subservient keyboard partitionist

lol at least the shinner bots support each others posts by attacking anyone who calls them on the nonsense they sprout

but thats old news isnt it