Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neven Maguire Scares Me, Serious

• 17-10-2016 5:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

I can't put my finger on why Neven Maguire terrifies me for some reason, but he does. I can't look at him. When the scary clowns sightings started I actually felt safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

He scares you, he does so he does......:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    I can't put my finger on why Neven Maguire terrifies me for some reason, but he does. I can't look at him. When the scary clowns sightings started I actually felt safer.

Scary clowns???
    What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

The man makes my skin crawl, him and Donal Skeehan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Celebrity chefs huh.

How's about you go make me a cheese sandwich and then go fcuk yourself.

Pointless bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

I'm sick of him and the rest of them so called chef's that are constantly fecking on RTE and TV3 these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

ClovenHoof wrote: »

Neven maguire presentating a cookery show with marty morrissey propped up on the counter, dressed exactly like neven, ventriloquist dummy style.

Gottle o gear...

Not a wink of sleep for you tonight!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

None of them are patch on the Swedish Chef from the Muppets. Bork, Bork, Bork!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Clown lives matter !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I find most all celebrity chefs rather irritating for some reason I can't put my finger on. Well apart from Rick Stein but he doesn't do conventional cookery shows. Nigella Lawson would be an exception to but that's only because she's rather pleasant to watch. Keith Floyd get's an honourable mention too.

That Donal Skehan guy gets on my wick. Cooking food to perfection and he's as thin as a rake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

That telly bingo lad, he would give most people the jeepers creepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Rest rint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Donal Skehan is a bit sleazy, especially when he gets his camera out and takes snaps of his food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

learn_more wrote: »
    I find most all celebrity chefs rather irritating for some reason I can't put my finger on. Well apart from Rick Stein but he doesn't do conventional cookery shows. Nigella Lawson would be an exception to but that's only because she's rather pleasant to watch. Keith Floyd get's an honourable mention too.

Ya can't bait Fanny Craddock for raising temperatures and getting the juices flowing.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

That Donal "Eyebrows" Skeehan couldn't cook to save his life, he's not a chef or even a cook that might work on a breakfast roll café. He is a Blogger, nothing more. Look closely at all his programs and you will rarely see him chopping anything or preparing anything with knives or other chef's tools because he couldn't slice a cucumber without cutting his fingers off! When it shows him allegedly chopping stuff like onions there is always stuff in the way blocking so we never see his hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Went to Neven Maguires Restaurant in Blacklion in Cavan. There is a six month waiting list.The standard of food was amazing. He spoke to all the customers and was a genuine lovely guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

What drives me nuts about him is he keeps droning on about his children on every show he's on. He never ever refers to them by name just keeps calling them "the twins". "We wouldn't give this to the twins" "Oh the twins really love this dish". The children are two individuals with their own names. Why oh why does he never use their names?

anewme wrote: »
    Went to Neven Maguires Restaurant in Blacklion in Cavan. There is a six month waiting list.The standard of food was amazing. He spoke to all the customers and was a genuine lovely guy.

Did ye see him peeling oranges in his pocket?:D

He is a very good businessman and built up his restaurant from the bottom to the great little earner it is today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

ClovenHoof wrote:

It's because he says podadoes .. can he not say spuds ... It's melts my brain... Podado ... In his fcuking squirm inducing nicey serial killer voice with a face like a wet pancake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭anewme

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Did ye see him peeling oranges in his pocket?:D

He is a very good businessman and built up his restaurant from the bottom to the great little earner it is today.

I went on a Wednesday and it was full to the brim! It was an expensive meal but worth every penny.

Ya can't bait Fanny Craddock for raising temperatures and getting the juices flowing.....

The name always unsettled me. Fanny Crabs.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I think Neven is grand. He has a bit of an oriental look about him but AFAIK doesn't have any Chinese/Japanese/Korean ancestry.

My late Dad used to eat in his restaurant a few times a year and always praised it - and he was a real fan of good food (a great cook himself).:)

anewme wrote: »

I wouldn't wait 6 minutes to get into a restaurant. Pretentious knob heads would probably wait 6 years.

"the standard of food". pff.

That telly bingo lad, he would give most people the jeepers creepers.

He's a transvestite. His alter ego is ...oh jeeze I can't remember now.

Edit: Shirley Temple Bar
    http://www.shirleytemplebar.com/

learn_more wrote:
    He's a transvestite. His alter ego is ...oh jeeze I can't remember now.

learn_more wrote:
    Edit: Shirley Temple Bar

He's not a transvestite, as in doesn't dress in women's clothing daily. He does it for work mainly, he's a drag performer.

Anyway, that's neither here nor there. Another one that gets my back up is Rachel Allan, good god I hate that woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,273 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Rest rint.

Every dish is a favrit in the rest rint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Had the pleasure of visiting Neven Maguires place in Cavan. Unbelievable.

We checked out and immediately put ourselves on the cancellation list for same weekend next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

learn_more wrote: »
    I wouldn't wait 6 minutes to get into a restaurant. Pretentious knob heads would probably wait 6 years.

"the standard of food". pff.

Me neither but I can understand it. I don't care about going to the 'place to be seen' but I can only think of one restaurant where the food was beyond what I could cook without effort and research. And I'm an average cook. It's bloody hard to find really nice food. That restaurant had no waiting list and we got in without a booking as they were quiet at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,265 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

cbyrd wrote: »
    It's because he says podadoes .. can he not say spuds ... It's melts my brain... Podado ... In his fcuking squirm inducing nicey serial killer voice with a face like a wet pancake...

Not a patch on yer man that owns Supermacs promoting his new chicken breast "sangwich" on those radio ads.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,265 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

nkav86 wrote: »
    Another one that gets my back up is Rachel Allan, good god I hate that woman!

Oh come on she's "Devine".

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The 'celebrity' chef thing makes for cheap television.

That is why they dish so much of it out to you.

(he he - probably my best pun this month)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

He's so doughy looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

He has no willy, like his brother Eoin McLove.

He's not a transvestite, as in doesn't dress in women's clothing daily. He does it for work mainly, he's a drag performer.

Anyway, that's neither here nor there. Another one that gets my back up is Rachel Allan, good god I hate that woman!

Shirley herself used to host Telly Bingo for a while until there were complaints from people who wanted the poor unfortunate girl taken off the screen for the sake of their eye and ears:D

nullzero wrote:
    Oh come on she's "Devine".

I could slap her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

One of the tell tale signs of empires declining and the collapse of civilisations is celebrity chefs. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

He's fairly inoffensive as celebrity chiefs go, most appear to be knobs apart from Catherine Fulvio.

All the best ones are dead. Keith Floyd was unbeatable as celebrity chef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

The man makes my skin crawl, him and Donal Skeehan

I've met him,seems like a down to earth chap.I don't watch cooking shows but herself does,and sometimes she'll be watching them and the chefs come across as complete pr1cks for sure.I haven't seen his particular show,but in person neven certainly has no airs or graces about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Corvo

I can imagine him now, reading this thread and sobbing, whilst his souffle burns.

Burns like his love for Ireland.

Sick, the lot of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

All the best ones are dead. Keith Floyd was unbeatable as celebrity chef.

Rick Stein shows are also interesting and worth watching even if you have no interest in food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

That Donal "Eyebrows" Skeehan couldn't cook to save his life, he's not a chef or even a cook that might work on a breakfast roll café. He is a Blogger, nothing more. Look closely at all his programs and you will rarely see him chopping anything or preparing anything with knives or other chef's tools because he couldn't slice a cucumber without cutting his fingers off! When it shows him allegedly chopping stuff like onions there is always stuff in the way blocking so we never see his hands.
    I'll be honest & say that when I saw him first I didn't take to him at all. But he's grown on me.

Most importantly - his recipes actually work, which is a lot more than can be said for most celeb chefs. And he doesn't claim to be a chef either. He's enthusiastic about food & he presents it well.

Try this recipe of his - it might change your opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Holograph

Doesn't take much to scare/evoke wrath and hatred in some folk! The poor guy - he's getting torn to shreds, including his looks, for utterly no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

And tomahas..

Pointed out by my 14 year old who's having a giggle at this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Keith Floyd is a true legend. His autobiography - Out of the Frying Pan: Scenes from my Life - is a brilliant read. His cooking style was inspirational for me.

Rick Stein doesn't have the same personality, but is also a great chef to watch - Rick Stein's India being a good example.

And like it or not - Rachel Allen is also quite good in my book when it comes to baking.

As a TV chef - Neven does nothing for me. He'd be a culinary Daniel O'Donnell to Keith Floyd's Lemmy. But I would love to try his food someday as any reports I've had from family & friends who've dined in his restaurant have been very good.

I'll be honest & say that when I saw him first I didn't take to him at all. But he's grown on me.

Most importantly - his recipes actually work, which is a lot more than can be said for most celeb chefs. And he doesn't claim to be a chef either. He's enthusiastic about food & he presents it well.

Try this recipe of his - it might change your opinion.

If he took a stab at making up his own recipes and learning how to chop onions and other veg etc I would appreciate the effort and his being described as a chef by so many.

Yes he only ever calls himself a food writer/blogger and he does a very good job of that and makes a very good living from it along with all the TV shows, but there is a sense of fraud or fakery about him when you consider he is no better than any other person at following other people's recipes.

He is part of the YouTube/Facebuuk generation who are selling nothing of any real substance and making a killing from it. People like Nevin McGuire, Rachel Allen etc are professionally trained and dam good at what they do and have earned their place at the top.

I do wish him and his production companies all the success they can manage though as he really does seem to be working hard at making all the TV shows and appearances etc.

I've met him,seems like a down to earth chap.I don't watch cooking shows but herself does,and sometimes she'll be watching them and the chefs come across as complete pr1cks for sure.I haven't seen his particular show,but in person neven certainly has no airs or graces about him.

I'm sure he's a lovely chap, these are just people that for some unknown reason I look at them and cringe. But then again, I'm a b1tch!