Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

12 x 6 cattle trailer price

• 10-05-2017 09:15AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭

Hi all, would anyone have a rough price of a new Ifor Williams or Nugent 12 x 6 cattle trailer before I go looking, would have to pay about 4000 for a Good second hand one id say, it would be used mostly by the tractor just moving cattle a couple of miles up and down the road, or would I be better with tractor drawn trailer about the same size , we only have about 20 cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

kerb wrote: »
    Hi all, would anyone have a rough price of a new Ifor Williams or Nugent 12 x 6 cattle trailer before I go looking, would have to pay about 4000 for a Good second hand one id say, it would be used mostly by the tractor just moving cattle a couple of miles up and down the road, or would I be better with tractor drawn trailer about the same size , we only have about 20 cattle

If it is going to be mostly on the back of the tractor I would be inclined to look at a tractor trailer. Think you would get a fairly decent second hand 16 or 18 ft tractor trailer for much the same as you would pay for a new Ifor 12x6. Not exactly sure how much a new Ifor would cost but I would guess around €6.5k. Could be way off there though.
    I bought a second hand Ifor for a bit with €4k. It's like new to be fair. It will be mostly used behind the jeep as I have a bit to travel to different parts of the farm. I did consider a tractor drawn one but for now the Ifor suits me better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭annubis

think a new ifor is about 6500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭discodaveirl

Would go with the ifor, tractor drawn trailers of the homemade type are being well scrtuinised by gardai and rsa. At least with an ifor you have the option of pulling with a 4x4 etc. Ifor will hold its value better also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭9935452

Would go with the ifor, tractor drawn trailers of the homemade type are being well scrtuinised by gardai and rsa. At least with an ifor you have the option of pulling with a 4x4 etc. Ifor will hold its value better also

Id be thinking the same as above
    Plus if you got a good sized tractor trailer you would have every tom dick and harry looking to borrow it.
    A neighbour has one and everyone borrows it to bring cattle to the factory and so on. He is running and maintaining it for others.
    If you get one with timber sides you will have to put it in out of the weather as well.

9935452 wrote: »
    Id be thinking the same as above
    Plus if you got a good sized tractor trailer you would have every tom dick and harry looking to borrow it.
    A neighbour has one and everyone borrows it to bring cattle to the factory and so on. He is running and maintaining it for others.
    If you get one with timber sides you will have to put it in out of the weather as well.

Best way outta that is to opt for a pin and eye hitch, or change the plug to the newer 13 pin plug....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Best way outta that is to opt for a pin and eye hitch, or change the plug to the newer 13 pin plug....

or charge €50/100 for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I have a 14x5'10" and 10x5 ifor here and I half thought to sell the two of them in the future and get a 12x6 for the jeep and an 18-20ft tractor trailer. Have the jeep and the trailer wrecked from bringing big loads of heavy cattle and the trailer still isn't really big enough for moving cows around. Mart is an hour away in the jeep and only for that I wouldn't bother with a trailer for the jeep at all.

Hard to look past the 14x6'6 demountable, we have one here since last year and its handy enough to remove the body, grand for getting two tonne of feetiliser or moving implements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭Grueller

Hard to look past the 14x6'6 demountable, we have one here since last year and its handy enough to remove the body, grand for getting two tonne of feetiliser or moving implements.

Had one and sold it. Whenever I wanted a cattle trailer the body was off. Whenever I wanted a flat trailer the body was on. Bought two separate trailers and don't regret it. The cattle trailers were a straight swap price wise. The drop side trailer is a 12' Ifor and cost €1200. Only dear on day one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭9935452

Oh some of the neighbours are cuter than that. one wanted to borrow a tractor off another neighbour. He was told the battery was goosed . He sqaid , not a bother he would fix it . Went into the local garage , got a battery and put it on the tractor owners account.
    And lack of lights dont make a difference to that trailer eithre . The originals are broken and there are 2 broken tailboards on it .
    I offered to rewire it for him but was refused as he didnt want to be fixing it for others

Ive a demountable at home too and find it good . 12ft one though.
    Lads dont like them for a few reasons One is they are less stable than standard trailers and are known to turn over.
    Tyres are expensive for them and they dont last as long as normal tyres.

The other thing is the 14ft is nearly too big to be legal with cattle in it . .
    The trailer weighs over a ton empty. most jeeps can pull 2.7ton legally , Some can pull 3.5 ton which is what the trailer is rated for.
    At 2.7 ton you can have 3 600 kg cattle in it and be legal. The trailer would only be half loaded at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

I was sick of lending and mending my own 12x5ft6 cattle trailer, i wash the trailer after every use and would be carefull, it would come back full of sh#@e and nearly always something broken, so last year I changed the hitch to a tractor type eye on the trailer and a new hitch,a ball and pin type. Best thing I ever did, cost about 200e for both. all borrowers called just the once to take it and not been back since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭kerb

So today i went to a guy that builds tractor drawn cattle trailers, seen a few he had sold
    Looks good quality all lights, hydrolic brakes slurry tank etc door on back rather than a ramp 14 foot about 4400 12 foot 3800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Is the rear of the trailer low, if its a door vrs ramp, could be hard load some stock if they have to climb into it if its anyways high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭kerb

Is the rear of the trailer low, if its a door vrs ramp, could be hard load some stock if they have to climb into it if its anyways high

Yeah its low should be ok for loading, my 18 year old Hereford cow mightnt agree , 14 foot will be plenty big enough for me i might ask him to price it with ramp door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 eoinjd

new ifor williams 12x6 is about 10k and a new 12x6 tuffmac is 5500k... bought a tuffmac last year.. serious machine.. very solid...well built

eoinjd wrote: »
    new ifor williams 12x6 is about 10k and a new 12x6 tuffmac is 5500k... bought a tuffmac last year.. serious machine.. very solid...well built

new ifor isnt 10k, dont know were you got that from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 eoinjd

I priced one at the ploughing last year thought it was 10k.. how much are they then?

bought one end of last year, think about 6.5k or there abouts