Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glastonbury 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭rtron

Digitalism wrote: »
    That's what you call fun?....

yikes

Maybe 'fun' is the wrong word but it's something to do during the boring bits :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

Justice is headlining tonight also?

They haven't been good since Cross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,038 ✭✭✭✭adox

Hey I got there first!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Are his family Irish or something? The fiddle player is a bit of alright cor blimey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,538 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Go on Ed, play Cotton Eye Joe!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,242 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Well this is ... different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

adox wrote:
    It's bizzare the way the guitars won't stay in tune for a song! Is he playing cheap pieces of crap?

Sounds like they're fresh strings, which tend to take a few stretches and retunes to get 'em to stay in tune. If that's the case, it's a very amateur mistake for his guitar tech to make.

Are his family Irish or something? The fiddle player is a bit of alright cor blimey

His paternal grandparents were Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Oh good God, suicide time

Now in fairness this is f*cking awful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'm still watching Chic :) Good Times (certainly better than listening to Ed Sheeran)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

F**kin' hell people. If you don't like the man's music just switch off and enjoy your Sunday night some other way.

Jesus, well if that's got you going, do yourself a favour and don't ever click into a live Late Late show thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

Well this is ... different.

Funny, to me all his stuff sounds the same. Just hammering on an acoustic and yammering

I meant when the folk band came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

For all those slating Radiohead in the other thread....I think we can all agree we have now hit rock bottom. God damn awful...bye bye Ed.

Pete Moss wrote: »
    Sounds like they're fresh strings, which tend to take a few stretches and retunes to get 'em to stay in tune. If that's the case, it's a very amateur mistake for his guitar tech to make.

Must be the same on all his spares too. He's swapped out a couple of times(maybe just the two guitars being retuned).
    I know temperature and moisture can affect tuning but not staying in tune for the length of a song is bizzare.

Would find it hard to believe his guitar tech has out new strings on all his guitars, tuned them and left it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Pete Moss wrote:

Outdoor gigs at night are a bitch for tuning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Hang in there folks, he'll do some Cradle of Filth covers if yer patient enough :P

Nymphetamine fix with some choice guest singer might do wonders :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭griffin100

Funny, to me all his stuff sounds the same. Just hammering and yammering

That's how Foo Fighters sound to me. Isn't it great we all like different things :D

I wounder if Sheeran was back playing in a 500 person tent like the first time he played Glasto would posters be on telling us all to get on the red button to see this great one man band ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

First Up wrote: »

Im sure the armchair boards.ie performers know better than Ed Sheerand his roadies though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

What did he say those trad musicians were called, the other???

I never got the Foo Fighters popularity. Boring rock music, like aural chewing gum. It's amazing how Dave Grohl was in Nirvana and he goes to create a mediocrity juggernaut like the FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭brevity

Oh to be young and in that crowd at Justice.

Although there is an old fella up the front in a blue tracksuit giving it socks....

Tinie wrote: »
    Im sure the armchair boards.ie performers know better than Ed Sheerand his roadies though!!

Ah jaysus it's fair comment. He's not the first acoustic player to p,ah outdoors at night time.

Having the guitars go out of tune so often isn't something that should be happening and it's fair comment to talk about it whether you think he's god or the devil or somewhere in between.

adox wrote:
    Would find it hard to believe his guitar tech has out new strings on all his guitars, tuned them and left it at that.

So would I, especially for such a big performance, but it sounds like that. I saw he popped a few strings on a couple. Just sounds like one of the higher strings keeps slipping out.

I certainly don't think he's playing on some cheap bangers from Argos, haven't seen the headstocks but I imagine they're Martin. Plus, he's just pulled out a custom Fender, so Ed's certainly spending a few bob on his equipment.

Just very odd for it to happen at such a big event. I'm sure he's noticed, but doesn't look too phased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I never got the Foo Fighters popularity. Boring rock music, like aural chewing gum. It's amazing how Dave Grohl was in Nirvana and he goes to create a mediocrity juggernaut like the FF.

They're grand as a singles band, like you hear one on the radio, think that's good and then something else comes on. Couldn't really listen to more than a couple of songs though.

That said, This Is A Call, is an absolute belter.

Jesus, well if that's got you going, do yourself a favour and don't ever click into a live Late Late show thread.

I visit there quite often but I find this Ed bashing tonight to be really tiresome. We've heard it all before lads. Let those of us who enjoy Ed's music just enjoy it.

vicwatson wrote: »
    What did he say those trad musicians were called, the other???

Was it Beoga?

First Up wrote:

On stage maybe, if he's tuning by ear, but not for a guitar tech backstage. A standard Boss tuner should be on Ed's shopping list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,410 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I visit there quite often but I find this Ed bashing tonight to be really tiresome. We've heard it all before lads. Let those of us who enjoy Ed's music just enjoy it.

Let's nip different opinions in the bud?