Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guys with no socks on. WTF?

• 14-02-2018 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I’ve noticed, mainly young Irish males, completely dressed in the wrong clothes for cold winter weather. No socks, converse, and bum freezer jackets. I mean, ffs, what is wrong with these people?

No idea of warm socks or proper shoes or clothing for cold weather?

What’s the story with the no bloody socks? It looks stupid more than anything else.

There’s a uniform amongst the young fellas now:
    Black trainers. No socks. Black skinny tracksuit bottoms. Black puff jacket. Quiff.

In 0 degrees.

The foreigners do be laughing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,891 ✭✭✭✭bear1

seachto7 wrote: »
    I’ve noticed, mainly young Irish males, completely dressed in the wrong clothes for cold winter weather. No socks, converse, and bum freezer jackets. I mean, ffs, what is wrong with these people?

What’s the story with the no bloody socks? It looks stupid more than anything else.

Black trainers. No socks. Black skinny tracksuit bottoms. Black puff jacket. Quiff.

In 0 degrees.

It's a very regular occurrence abroad and it's basically a style now.
    Personally, I couldn't give 2 fcuks what people wear.
    I think those socks are those really small ones you wear to the gym?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

I see this a fair bit now myself. Hate the sight of it.

Cover up them ankles ye flutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Looks awfully uncomfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,571 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Out off all the trends in the past it's one look I find that doesn't look good at all.
    I even find the tracksuit/no socks thing kind of bearable compared to no socks with formal clothes/shoes.
    When I went to school people wore tracksuits because they were warm/comfortable and not tight with a gap at the end.
    3b191130ae9f9236efc013105eddfd87--kennedy-gentleman.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Probably wearing no show socks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Grand in 35 degrees. In -2, you look like a langer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

If this was twenty years ago people would feel sorry for the person dressed like that - Ill fitting clothes that aren’t warm enough & they’ve clearly grown out of & being so poor as not being even able to afford a pair of socks.

Who knew?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There's two things you should never leave the house without.

Both socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

The next step that I see on TV seems to be what lol distinctly like slippers.
    I dunno, I've never claimed to be stylish, but to me it just looks ****.
    There's plenty of trends in not into, but I at least get that the guys pull it off and look good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Out off all the trends in the past it's one look I find that doesn't look good at all.
    I even find the tracksuit/no socks thing kind of bearable compared to no socks with formal clothes/shoes.
    When I went to school people wore tracksuits because they were warm/comfortable and not tight with a gap at the end.

That lad needs a good spell in the army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Young people today, bah! You're not going anywhere dressed in that, young man!

And get a hair cut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

These guys think they are some sort of 'fashion influencers' but in reality look like absolute tossers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I reckon people will just be walking around in their jocks one of the days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Steve F

...I got news for you,Baby!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I thought these poor lads were really going all out to save for a deposit for a house foregoing their basic underwear...

Steve F wrote: »
    ...I got news for you,Baby!!:pac:

I say that might be an offence one day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Saw a guy in the pub the other night,skinny tracksuit bottoms and shoes without socks. It looked like he'd just thrown something on to leg it out to put out the bins before bed.
    Wearing footwear without socks just feels gank anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Is that a jacket with a photo of Ashley Cole on the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Shoes must be humming....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

judeboy101 wrote: »
    I'd say the Navy would suit him better somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

puff jacket + shorts and ankle socks with trainers on a freezing cold day

I don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,385 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Irish people in general underdress for the prevailing weather conditions. Freezing cold and pissing rain? Hoody will do. Bit of sun in March? Shorts and t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Sure who doesn't love a good fungal infection!

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    puff jacket + shorts and ankle socks with trainers on a freezing cold day

I don't understand.

They'd be fine if they had a proper pair of socks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,698 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

In 0 degrees.

It's a bit of uniform now alright.. it's like a production line...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It wouldn't be my thing (a comfortable pair of socks is more my thing), but other people can wear whatever they like for all I care.

lawred2 wrote: »
    It's a bit of uniform now alright.. it's like a production line...

I actually find it a bit sad to be honest. All the teenagers see, to be wearing the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

As a mother of 5 I am delighted with this trend of trousers that are 2 sizes to small. Getting great mileage out of clothes these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

fashion!

*turn to the left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Angry fashion hater bides his time in parked car waiting for opportune moment to...

3b191130ae9f9236efc013105eddfd87--kennedy-gentleman.jpg[/QUOTE]

AllForIt wrote: »
    Angry fashion hater bides his time in parked car waiting for opportune moment to...

[/QUOTE]

He actually posted it on pinterest himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,999 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Or their pyjamas.

Will never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

i see so many lads these days in minus 5 degrees celsius, wearing no socks with shoes that when i see a young lad wearing socks,i think fair play to ya and have a lot more respect for him. which is sad that thats all i takes these days. also lads wearing just a t shirt on a night out, its snowing mate.

i think it must be as bad in any weather. do their feet not get sticky and gross and mess up those shoes? are they somehow wearing super invisible socks?
    they can do as they like obviously but i wonder if they are comfy

bluewolf wrote: »
    i think it must be as bad in any weather. do their feet not get sticky and gross and mess up those shoes? are they somehow wearing super invisible socks?
    they can do as they like obviously but i wonder if they are comfy

People who do it all clam to have brilliant foot care methods. Seems like a lot of hassle to be to show off your pale ankles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭blackcard

There is as much logic to a male having no socks as there is for a female wearing no socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

"Fashion", I'm told. Bollox, is what I hear.

Boatshoes and chinos, no socks? What the fcuk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

judeboy101 wrote: »

Something tells me he'd prefer the navy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Saw some girls on the luas Friday night. One of them just had a blouse on. The rest of the world was dressed for the weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Are denim jackets cool again? Were they ever not cool? I'm lost.

Ive seen plenty of those Conor Mcgregor “hard” guy types out this winter wearing cargo shorts and runners. In Winter. With bare legs . Just wrong .

Noveight wrote: »
    Are denim jackets cool again? Were they ever not cool? I'm lost.

They sort of are. I'm pushing in second half of my twenties and all they mean to me is Brokeback Mountain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭justfillmein

D3V!L wrote: »
    Looks awfully uncomfortable

i've a friend that does this.
    go shoe shopping with her and she whips off a pair of boots and has no socks on:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

In 0 degrees.

They got the style from the foreigners. It's a worldwide trend. You're just out of touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Tidyboii

Drives me mental. Down around the country, its starting to be the sat night pub gear trend. With the lack of socks, and outgrown perms shaved round the sides its becoming an epidemic.
    If you do this or think its fashionable, you deserve a swift puck in the jaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Tidyboii wrote: »
    Drives me mental. Down around the country, its starting to be the sat night pub gear trend. With the lack of socks, and outgrown perms shaved round the sides its becoming an epidemic.
    If you do this or think its fashionable, you deserve a swift puck in the jaw
    I'm quite certain that you aren't allowed have an opinion regarding what's fashionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Tidyboii

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I'm quite certain that you aren't allowed have an opinion regarding what's fashionable.

Apologies, what city does thou hail from? Remember, Irish citys are merely small towns in comparison to other countrys across the globe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There's something about male feet that really makes me retch.

I watch YouTube videos of guitarists doing demonstrations of guitar effect pedals. If I see them stepping on the pedal with a bare foot I stop the video immediately. This is the latest video I couldn't stop quick enough.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI6s70LSvug&t=24s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I wear socks every day but you'd never see them. Haven't a clue what they are called. You can only see the sock if you remove the shoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Simon201

Was at a hotel about 6 months ago. A wedding was on and the groom and 5 or 6 groomsmen and a few scally pageboys all had matching suits and no socks.

Looked totally stupid and must have been uncomfortable wearing wedding type shoes....