Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

avoiding garda checkpoint by taking a turn or doing a u turn

• 30-05-2018 03:27PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭

There seems to be no law broken when this is done, its frowned upon I think, is this correct?

I know a!l about the measures the garda take to catch those avoiding and rightly so but it's not against the law to do so safely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

No but if they see you it will be like a red flag to a bull and they will follow you. Guards have other guards waiting to follow people who avoid checkpoints, especially with all the gang violence lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

There isn't but seeing as they have the power to stop you anyway they'll certainly be interested in anyone they see trying to avoid a checkpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

I know a!l about the measures the garda take to catch those avoiding and rightly so but it's not against the law to do so safely

When you do this you are inviting the guard to form the opinion you have something to hide. They will of course endeavour to find out what that is and if there is nothing they will find something to justify having to chase after you. ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

In Dublin quite often you'd see a cop on a motorbike at the checkpoint & he'd be after you like a ton of of bricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭deeks

Just as well there's no law against mixed metaphors or this thread would have to be closed down :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I seen a situation where several cars pulled out of a line at a check point and drive into an apartment complex with its own gate , quickly followed by a Garda van ,car and bike,
    the car drivers tried to walk away as if they lived in the complex bike Garda stood at the top of the car park and shouts if the the drivers who left the line for the check point don't drive out of the complex they would check every car in the car park and anyone found with no tax the car's would be siezed and towed .
    Rapidly owners from the apartments came out and told the people who didn't live there to leave as they weren't getting towed .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Gatling wrote: »
    I seen a situation where several cars pulled out of a line at a check point and drive into an apartment complex with its own gate , quickly followed by a Garda van ,car and bike,
    the car drivers tried to walk away as if they lived in the complex bike Garda stood at the top of the car park and shouts if the the drivers who left the line for the check point don't drive out of the complex they would check every car in the car park and anyone found with no tax the car's would be siezed and towed .
    Rapidly owners from the apartments came out and told the people who didn't live there to leave as they weren't getting towed .

How can they sieze a car on private property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Lmklad

How can they sieze a car on private property?

Depends how “private” the private property is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭denismc

Isn't making a u-turn illegal anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,655 ✭✭✭✭Victor

denismc wrote: »
    Isn't making a u-turn illegal anyway!
    Only where signed (typically where there is a pedestrian crossing on a dual carriageway) or if it is dangerous.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1997/si/182/made/en/print
    35 Ban on U-Turns

35. A vehicle being driven on a dual carriageway may not change direction of travel at a location where traffic sign number RUS 017 [No U-Turn] has been provided.

si18f9b647cf993.jpg

http://www.rotr.ie/Rules_of_the_road.pdf - pages 56-57

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

My neighbor slightly over the limit did a u turn, was followed by the squad car who told him they weren’t breathalysing and he’d have got away with it if he’d just stayed cool they were only checking windscreens.
    His mother ( landed gentry) marched down to the barracks the next day and said “do you know who I am” so they threw the book at him and he was put off the road for 2 years.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    In Dublin quite often you'd see a cop on a motorbike at the checkpoint & he'd be after you like a ton of of bricks

Roughly, how fast would that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

About the same as a tonne of feathers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Roughly, how fast would that be?

14 cubic litres per hectare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,027 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

When I've seen checkpoints there's also been a few gardai at a "convenient" turn off (dead end) prior to the checkpoint to have a friendly word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Grassey wrote: »
    About the same as a tonne of feathers

Not really; a ton is generally (here) 2,240lbs whereas a tonne is 1,000kgs. There’s a couple of stone between them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Marcusm wrote: »
    Not really; a ton is generally (here) 2,240lbs whereas a tonne is 1,000kgs. There’s a couple of stone between them!

By God. I'll have to recalibrate my feather scale after that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Every time I've been in a checkpoint, a turn off or u-turn was impossible by the time you see the checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭worded

deeks wrote: »
    Just as well there's no law against mixed metaphors or this thread would have to be closed down :-)

We'll burn that bridge when we get to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

worded wrote: »
    We'll burn that bridge when we get to it

Or U-turn before it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,723 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

There seems to be no law broken when this is done, its frowned upon I think, is this correct?

Correct. A motorist is obliged to bring the vehicle to a halt when indicated to do so by a member of AGS and to keep the vehicle stationary for such a period as will enable the member to discharge his duty.

But if you see the checkpoint way off in the distance and do a u-turn (where it legal to do so), you have not committed any offence. What's liable to happen next you have covered in your OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

"Roughly, how fast would that be?"

as long as a piece of string

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

Gatling wrote: »

How did you witness all parts of this story? And the owner's actually came out of their apartments after hearing the Guard clear enough from inside their apartment?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭Sassygirl1999

Wheety wrote: »
    How did you witness all parts of this story? And the owner's actually came out of their apartments after hearing the Guard clear enough from inside their apartment?

it happened while the wind was shaking the barley

I think I understand now

Have you any other questions you'd like us to answer?

sexmag wrote: »
    Have you any other questions you'd like us to answer?

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I did this once a few years ago, I panicked because I was an L driver and had no L plates up. I was very lucky yo get away and don’t really know how they didn’t see me cause it was quite and dark at the time. In hindsight it was a stupid thing to do cause I could have been in a lot of trouble if they followed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

There trained to look out for stuff like this

yes

Shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭worded

All you need to know about road blocks and what to do

https://youtu.be/uTbnALrM9rQ

Shoot

I'm not able to open a new thread

......not sure how to help now....soz?

you couldn't open one for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

The turn off is where they know persons of interest will go and so set up there also(also/primarily)

There's only one way into a checkpoint

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,782 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

you couldn't open one for me?

Moderator: if you seek to circumvent a moderator direction in this way again, you will be banned from the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,080 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Another thread head into "Take me Out" territory ........

Especially with the 2 user names that are involved !! :D :P :D

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I was in the (long) queue to a checkpoint on the N22 outside Cork a few weeks ago (a popular spot for checkpoints) and I must have seen half a dozen cars do a u-turn and head off - none followed as far as I could see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I moved house back in October , my commute home from work is reasonably similar ,About two weeks after moving while driving on autopilot I turned left (route to old house) where I should go straight and ran into a check point , I used the no traffic coming other direction to make a U-Turn and head back the right direction and I had a Garda Motor bike pull me over about 3 mins later.

I explained what happened to a very dubious Garda , but having checked my tax and insurance etc he let me on my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Mod:

Off topic posts deleted and card handed out to troll.

EDIT: troll banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Wife was on her way home 3/4 weeks ago and spotted a checkpoint up the road. She had renewed her insurance but hadn’t put the new disc in the windscreen, it was still in an envelope in the glove box (don’t ask why - she does these things sometimes!)

So she decides the smart thing to do is to pull over and put the disc on display before approaching the checkpoint.

By the time she looked up from retrieving the envelope she had Garda on a bike pulling up beside her asking what she was doing. She said he just laughed at her when she explained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228