Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish in Australia

• 01-03-2019 09:43AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭

What's going on, it has to be strange that so many are arrested on suspicion of murder or attempted murder? What are these guys doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Elmo wrote: »
    What are these guys doing?

Murdering ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The heat drives them insane because the Irish weather made them weak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Maybe we re lucky our building boom came to an end when it did, maybe this is what happens when they go on too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

What is this thread?

Bloody Irish will be over murdering in Poland next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The US and Australia attract a larger proportion of people running from their past - criminals and such. They are english-speaking westernised countries, but they're not in the EU, which basically means that you're safe from the authorities and your criminal past.

However, Australia is a much smaller country, population-wise, so any headline crimes are much bigger news. The US has fifty murders every day. If one of them was done by an Irish emigrant, few eyes would be batted. The details of murder would be local news, not national news.

Australia sees about one murder a day, so the details tend be national news and therefore picked up easier by Irish media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

seamus wrote: »
    The US and Australia attract a larger proportion of people running from their past - criminals and such. They are english-speaking westernised countries, but they're not in the EU, which basically means that you're safe from the authorities and your criminal past.

However, Australia is a much smaller country, population-wise, so any headline crimes are much bigger news. The US has fifty murders every day. If one of them was done by an Irish emigrant, few eyes would be batted. The details of murder would be local news, not national news.

Australia sees about one murder a day, so the details tend be national news and therefore picked up easier by Irish media.

That's not true, if an Irishman murders anyone or is arrested for anything in any part of the world Irish Media will pick up on it. You don't see this in Canada which would be a similar type of country. In terms of population and language.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Colin farrell was arrested for an unsolved attwmpted murder look it up. Eyewitness sketch looks exactly like him even, but they couldn’t prove it.

Strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

What's going on, it has to be strange that so many are arrested on suspicion of murder or attempted murder? What are these guys doing?

What about the Irish murdering people in Ireland. Rte headline today
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/0301/1033614-clondalkin-death/

Why is it a bigger deal when an Irish national living abroad murders someone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

aido79 wrote: »

Who said it's a bigger deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Cina

Whataboutism at its finest there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Maybe we re lucky our building boom came to an end when it did, maybe this is what happens when they go on too long

We took our murder boom elsewhere.

At least they have proper police investigating them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Well thankfully in my home town and other rural backwaters a lot of the the local gob****es fecked off to Australia hopefully to stay.

I love when they are back visiting there is this almost: 'Jaysus Seamus is back for a few weeks. Rejoice"

"So what. He is the biggest gob****e this parish has seen in many a year and we were all delighted to see the back of him and all of a sudden we are supposed to be happy to see him back. Short memory."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭gargargar

The US and Australia attract a larger proportion of people running from their past - criminals and such.

You have a point there. There is a small percentage of people leaving their home countries because they are running from something.

I lived in Australia for a while and in my local there was with a guy from cork who was there 10 years and hadn't seen his family. He was intelligent but kinda a loner. Also an alcoholic. I let him stay with me for a few days when he got thrown out of his last digs. He lived above a pub where people used to drink outside on a nice evening. He was blitzed one night and pissed out his bedroom window on top of the punters :eek:

I felt sorry for him but was glad to see the back when he shot off. I never got the story of why he wouldnt see the family.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Who said it's a bigger deal?

The op seems to think it is since they think there are so many Irish murderers in Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

The op seems to think it is since they think there are so many Irish murderers in Australia.

No I don't, I just think its strange that there have been a number of murders involving Irishmen in the last few months. It seems strange, most will only be on a temp working visa. I was just wondering what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭irishrover99

They'll regret ever letting those Irish in to Australia.
    Wait till they start breeding like Rabbits.

But what about the Muslims....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I thought they do background research on people entering the country, I often watch the Canadian border patrol programme on tv, and if the truth is not forthcoming from the incoming person, they soon find it, and sent them packing, same with Australia,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,825 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

goat2 wrote: »
    I thought they do background research on people entering the country, I often watch the Canadian border patrol programme on tv, and if the truth is not forthcoming from the incoming person, they soon find it, and sent them packing, same with Australia,

THey have a similar tv show for Oz and they do the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What is this thread?

Bloody Irish will be over murdering in Poland next.

No they won't.
    Learning another language is too much like hard work.

No I don't, I just think its strange that there have been a number of murders involving Irishmen in the last few months. It seems strange, most will only be on a temp working visa. I was just wondering what's going on.

What other murders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Yeah, Irish people have a long fuse, but, in comparison to other countries, keep anger for MUCH longer. A latin man would be screaming and shouting and waving his hands, but an Irish person would probably bottle all the anger up for years and explode.

Coupled with the isolation, the amount of people trying to scam a foreigner, the culture shock and the heat (the heat, the heat, the heat. The murders skyrocket in American cities during a heatwave and drop exponentially during the winter), then it can lead to some angry outburst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

That's not true, if an Irishman murders anyone or is arrested for anything in any part of the world Irish Media will pick up on it. You don't see this in Canada which would be a similar type of country. In terms of population and language.
    Cops in Australia particularly Sydney hate Irish people. We annoy them so they love spilling things to the media over there about any Irish people connected with crimes. It's not just us it's the Brits too they don't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Came across a story this evening online about a guy I haven't thought about in nearly twenty five years, in my class in secondary school, complete knacker who was a particularly nasty and dirty fighter, anyway It appears he is director of a very large construction company in Queensland but had some problems with thee old tax man

You always expect a gurrier who does well - gets rich to make it in concrete or drugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The Irish in Australia are probably like the Easties here - young men displaced, restless, living in close quarters too many hours of the day, prone to looking for solace in a bottle and arguing a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

I thought there was a spate of Irish men, usually under the influence being victims of attacks down there after gobbing off.

Aussies can be proud, thin-skinned aggressive f**kers, completely unlike the majority of English or Irish North Americans who'll encounter a mouthy Irish bloke in a bar and either completely get their vibe and hit it off with them or just think 'yeah, whatever' if they come across as obnoxious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I knew a few people from my home town that were on the run from the garda and met a few over there in australia. One guy I met in a bar was running from an assault charge. He told me he had to stay out of the country 3 years before it was safe to go back without worrying about charges when he went home. Not sure if its true or not im no legal expert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭raxy

Cops in Australia particularly Sydney hate Irish people. We annoy them so they love spilling things to the media over there about any Irish people connected with crimes. It's not just us it's the Brits too they don't like.

Well to be fair everyone hates the Brits so we won't hold that against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I do think the climate plays a part. Well that combined with the percentage of mad bastards that emigrate over there and a bigger hallucinogen culture than here. A lethal combination when added to often powder-keg personalities of locals, who I hear have the same opinion of the Irish today that the Brits had of us during the 80s.

But it is a growing problem. There may be more murders per day in the US, but considering if an Irish person farted abroad it would make the news here, the fact so few seem to have committed murder in the States compared to Australia, then there has to be an underlying issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Thought we only sent our best and brightest to Australia. That's all you would hear in the media. I thought it was pretty insulting to those of us who continued to live and work here, made us out to be to thick to leave the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

Floppybits wrote: »
    Thought we only sent our best and brightest to Australia. That's all you would hear in the media. I thought it was pretty insulting to those of us who continued to live and work here, made us out to be to thick to leave the country.

Could you please repeat that in English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,567 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

well its a prison colony innit, make sense there are more murderers there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

They’re a pretty racist bunch themselves. Notice that they never come here - lots go to London but never Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

dd973 wrote: »
    I thought there was a spate of Irish men, usually under the influence being victims of attacks down there after gobbing off.

Aussies can be proud, thin-skinned aggressive f**kers, completely unlike the majority of English or Irish North Americans who'll encounter a mouthy Irish bloke in a bar and either completely get their vibe and hit it off with them or just think 'yeah, whatever' if they come across as obnoxious.

I don't know about that. I always found Australians to be up for a bit of slagging and messing. North Americans on the other hand are likely to completely lose the rag at that sort of behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Not always the case but generally allot of scumbags jumped on the bandwagon and went to Australia.
    Most of the scumbags I knew growing up or lived around the area went to Australia, they were the type to joyride at all hours of the night, start fights, deal drugs and beat people up around town when they where drunk. Australia offered them manual labor for decent pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

raxy wrote: »
    Well to be fair everyone hates the Brits so we won't hold that against them.

What about the Scots or the Welsh? Even some Cornish people would take umbridge as being described as 'a Brit', I think you mean the other lot over there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

dd973 wrote: »
    What about the Scots or the Welsh? Even some Cornish people would take umbridge as being described as 'a Brit', I think you mean the other lot over there..

All British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

and Irish women. a lot of riff raff left Ireland in the last 10 years for australia, they were causing trouble over here before they left and continued in the same way over there, they would have just killed someone here if they stayed most likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I do think the climate plays a part. Well that combined with the percentage of mad bastards that emigrate over there and a bigger hallucinogen culture than here. A lethal combination when added to often powder-keg personalities of locals, who I hear have the same opinion of the Irish today that the Brits had of us during the 80s.

But it is a growing problem. There may be more murders per day in the US, but considering if an Irish person farted abroad it would make the news here, the fact so few seem to have committed murder in the States compared to Australia, then there has to be an underlying issue.

To be honest I find a lot if Australians especially from the city warm to the Irish. I have many Australian and kiwi mates. The Australians from regional areas tend to be more hostile to outsiders.

I was surprised as the opinion I always had was that we were despised. Not the case. I've had a couple of Aussie gfs who are always welcoming of the Irish factor.

Sydney is like a cocktail of cultures but I have noticed a lot of the Irish here just socialise together instead of broadening their horizons. For all the scumbags evading the law there are a lot of successfull Irish here. Just look at some of the heads in Qantas, CBA, Optus, Diona, etc. Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

Fine Irish names on the two who allegedly shot the estate agent in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Moghead

Anyone hear what part of Ireland they are from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

Moghead wrote: »
    Presumably one of the home counties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Moghead wrote: »
    One of them is from Ballymun apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Santry. Dixon is from Navan, a real nut job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

This made me laugh, I been living in Sydney 15 years never had a problem or even heard of a problem with Police. I have quite a few friends that are cops including one that works Eastern suburbs and does deal with a lot of Irish around that area and 90% of that is your run of the mill drink related problems you find in Dublin. As for spilling things into the media when Irish are involved it’s often not that well reported until word hits the Irish media.

On the general topic of the thread the Irish abroad are exactly like Irish at home, you have a population of useful professionals and then you have useless idiots and varying shades in between. I certainly don’t buy into the best and brightest clap trap and been saying this for years.

Holiday visas like the Working Holiday visa or the old 457 visa didn’t require a Garda check, it was a self declaration on the form which people can lie although most of these incidents are hardly career criminals.

When it comes to a lot of incidents of Irish either as perpetrators or victims nearly always involves drink consumed....No surprise there.