Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camera in Bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭BowSideChamp

antodeco wrote: »
    That's a phonewatch sensor. Only phonewatch have access to it's "feed" and only on alarm activation.

That's a laugh. And who is looking at the OP in the control room of phone watch??

The OP should call the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Pretty sure they only take still images and you can't stream it. We have something similar in our hallway. You can take a photo through the app on my phone but it wouldn't be discrete if anyone was in front of it as the flash goes off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

That's a laugh. And who is looking at the OP in the control room of phone watch??

No one. Doesn't work like that.

If someone wanted to spy on you you can buy tiny cameras, concealed cameras, all sorts of cameras that aren't a very obvious camera.

If you are concered pop a bit of blu-tac on it. I wouldn't be overly comfortable with it myself.

Would you calm down. It could be completely innocent.

Installer: do you want photo capture sensors in all room for added security?
    Owner: ah sure why not
    Installer: Grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭keyboard_cat

Looks to be a honeywell evohome camera so can be accessed by the landlord on his laptop or iPhone not sure if it would provide a video stream/photos unless the alarm sounds but still wouldn’t be happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Any Camera / sensor with camera in any bedroom is a total no no.especially if it's not your house.**** that.put blue tack all over it or black duct tape.if they don't like it tell them your concerns.
    I wouldn't involve the guards.you'll.
    Look. insane.especially if its proven to be a phone watch monitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭BowSideChamp

jon1981 wrote: »
    Would you calm down. It could be completely innocent.

Installer: do you want photo capture sensors in all room for added security?
    Owner: ah sure why not
    Installer: Grand

Yeah completely innocent until the OP is all over the internet.

Give him a loan of your tinfoil hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Prominent_Dawg

Can someone post the pic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

Looks to be a honeywell evohome camera so can be accessed by the landlord on his laptop or iPhone not sure if it would provide a video stream/photos unless the alarm sounds but still wouldn’t be happy with it.

Nah, they're a bit different. It's exactly the same as a Phonewatch one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,272 ✭✭✭kirving

Cop on, this happens regularly.

I somehow think you too wouldn't be very happy about someone installing a camera in your bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,019 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Probably best stop jerkin off for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Can someone post the pic ?

here:)

Cop on, this happens regularly.

I somehow think you too wouldn't be very happy about someone installing a camera in your bedroom.

Calling the cops without first talking to the landlord is alittle crazy, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

There’s a camera in a bedroom here so no tin foil hat needed.

Op, talk to the landlord and say you want it removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Op, talk to the landlord and say you want it removed.

And what if the landlord says no it stays or you go? Just put blue tack over the Camera bit no guards no fuss.
    if the landlord comes storming in asking why then you know he s been watching you on camera !

And what if the landlord says no it stays or you go? Just put blue tack over the Camera bit no guards no fuss.
    if the landlord comes storming in asking why then you know he s been watching you on camera !

It stays or you go is a clear indication he’s a peeping Tom. Very odd to not mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Very simple, get a permanent black marker and color in the lens. Would never be visible to the landlord, unlike blu tac, and would prevent the camera seeing anything.

If the landlord mentions it, you know they had access to the feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

My question is what can I do in this position? Thanks

What position? The camera only triggers if the alarm is set off. That's it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭7znbd9xmoiupye

Tzardine wrote: »
    Very simple, get a permanent black marker and color in the lens. Would never be visible to the landlord, unlike blu tac, and would prevent the camera seeing anything.

If the landlord mentions it, you know they had access to the feed.
    who cares if it is noticable to the landlord. he should not be in the room anyway, when op out, or watching it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭De_man

Tape over it, the camera is accessible at any stage by the landlord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    What position? The camera only triggers if the alarm is set off. That's it

So OP has no right to privacy if the alarm is triggered? :rolleyes:

btw IOT stuff like is often ain't the most secure as its all about small margins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Put a laptop in front of it with Fair City on repeat. It will be switched off quicker than Garfield gets lasagne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 crispybacon323

Hal3000 wrote: »
    Put a laptop in front of it with Fair City on repeat. It will be switched off quicker than Garfield gets lasagne.

if you think this is a joke then youre wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Ahh sorry. I get it. Can you not just take it down or tape over it ? It's a suspicious looking device. I wouldn't be comfortable at all with it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

PVC tape over it. Prob sorted. Nexxxt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,097 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Cannot see any reason for this to be in a bedroom especially of a guest, hallways/lounge/kitchen etc then fine

Wouldn't be the first time a LL has spied on tenants, was only in the news not so long ago about hotel rooms having spy cams.
    Since the one you posted can be bought privately and viewed privately then I would be asking for its removal.
    Is it Phonewatch in the house? Maybe have a word with the wife about it saying you are not comfortable with a camera in your bedroom - do they have one as well in their bedroom?
    Very creepy to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,019 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's not a live cam, it'll take a picture when the alarm is tripped, landlord probably gets a photo to his phone or if it's monitored they'll call him and let him know what's happening when it goes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,097 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

It's not a live cam, it'll take a picture when the alarm is tripped, landlord probably gets a photo to his phone or if it's monitored they'll call him and let him know what's happening when it goes off.

Did the OP confirm the house is monitored by Phonewatch, you can buy them yourselves, regardless if its video or an image it's gonna be taking when motion detected. Not great comfort regardless