Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Mcverrys support for syringe criminal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭SouthDublin6w

pretty sure I remember reading he lives in a house with other priests, and has no possessions outside of his room.

It's probably not possible to find someone so opposite to some money-grabbing stereotype. I doubt any money has so much as rested in his account.

He lives in a house with other men, he has a 01 D car which he refuses to update. He wears the same navy and red Aran jumper. The man hasn't a pot to piss in- God forgive me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,641 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

He lives in a house with other men, he has a 01 D car which he refuses to update. He wears the same navy and red Aran jumper. The man hasn't a pot to piss in- God forgive me.

That's great but it still doesn't make me like him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

This is not going to be a popular statement, yikes, but one of the greatest tragedies since the Enlightenment is that its the people with the least who attack people with the least.

The middle classes are small in number but know how to stick up for one another. If the poorest people in society did that, the world would be a vastly different place.

It's nothing short of a tragedy.

The middle class are too busy and indebted to organise protest marches or annoy guys fitting water meters, the middle class also have no media to shout for them

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    Since this is the only reasonable solution suggested on that side of the debate, I'll address it (not even going to comment on people literally suggesting the death penalty for petty criminals)

I'm fine with more prisons and tougher policing, but there are two things to consider with them - they both only help after the fact and they don't solve the underlying issues.

As a reasonable centrist approach, I'd be happy with longer sentencing and tougher policing, but only if combined with evidence-based programmes to reduce reoffending.

Otherwise you're just putting a plaster on a gaping wound.

Let's try tough law and order policies for the craic, can't hurt and doing it the liberals way is getting tiresome, what with the endless failure and all

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    The middle class are too busy and indebted to organise protest marches or annoy guys fitting water meters, the middle class also have no media to shout for them
    Yes. We're slaves really, we are oppressed by that other crowd with their victim mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

The CEO of Peter McVerrys trust is on 100k a YEAR!!!

Nothing else to say really.

You'd have to be working for a charity to be taking a salary of 100k as CEO, what's your point?

pinkyeye wrote: »
    You'd have to be working for a charity to be taking a salary of 100k as CEO, what's your point?

He has no idea how much CEOs make. More to be pitied

I'm an Atheist and a hater of the Catholic Church.

McVerry is anything but self-righteous. I've met the guy several times and provided his charity with dozens of re-conditioned PCs from the corporate sector in the late 90's.

Even in the corporate sector, I've never met anyone who drives himself that hard, to the point of tapping-out through overwork when driving around the country and almost killing himself through exhaustion.

At a critical-mass stage when building a charitable enterprise, one person can't do it all and a corporate structure needs to be established. It's a logical progression. Same with Christina Noble and her charity.

It's easy to be a hurler on the ditch. Easy to fling **** at a wall via the Internet. We get it. You're out-raged. Boo-hoo. On social media, everyone hears you scream.

McVerry has done more to help damaged people in this country that you'll ever realise. What have you done? Nothing.

I wish I could thank this post a hundred times.

That's great but it still doesn't make me like him!

So explain why you don't like him then instead of just one-liners to get the likes.

It was Connor Skeehan that was saying quite a few of them are playing the system so I'm not just pulling that statement out of the sky.

As for myself I've worked at everything from labourer to painter and only took out a mortgage that I knew I would be able to pay back, the work is there if people are prepared to do it to pay the bills and that's the kind of man I am.

And what do you think happens if you break your back tomorrow and you can't do the work that you claim to be man enough to do?

So explain why you don't like him then instead of just one-liners to get the likes.

His generally attitude I've from him on TV to people who doesn't fit into his agenda.
    He basically thinks everybody deserves something for nothing.
    The time when the water bills money was refunded him and his cronies had the attitude you had it to pay the bill. Shur give it to us now.

Your posts are all one liners. So don't pull that rubbish with me that I'm looking for thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Let's try tough law and order policies for the craic, can't hurt and doing it the liberals way is getting tiresome, what with the endless failure and all

It's not done "the liberals way" here.

His generally attitude I've from him on TV to people who doesn't fit into his agenda.
    The time when the water bills money was refunded him and his cronies had the attitude you had it to pay the bill. Shur give it to us now.

Your posts are all one liners. So don't pull that rubbish with me that I'm looking for thanks!

What??

Your post doesn't make sense in English, sorry.

What??

Your post doesn't make sense in English, sorry.

Sorry about my spelling errors. Stick around and you'll get used to them. Just a note for you grammar nazi's aren't liked here.

I don't like
    The general attitude I've from him on TV towards those who don't fit into his agenda.
    The time when the Irish Water money was refunded him and his cronies had the attitude you had it to pay the bill. Shur give it to us now.

Sorry about my spelling errors. Stick around and you'll get used to them. Just a note for you grammar nazi's aren't liked here.

I don't like
    The general attitude I've from him on TV towards those who don't fit into his agenda.
    The time when the Irish Water money was refunded him and his cronies had the attitude you had it to pay the bill. Shur give it to us now.

Either are right wing troglodytes liked.

I don't think you're looking for thanks. I'm not trying to be nasty, but I find it hard not to judge someone saying they dislike Peter McVerry.

Disagree with the approach of his charity, absolutely. But to dislike him? It's like saying you dislike the concepts of integrity or humanity. I'm not trying to make a living saint of him. I'm sure he is an ordinary human being, despite what is said by those close to him. But if you asked me to show you the personification of mercy...

I don't like

It's not about grammar Nazis fresh, I'm also told text speak and such like is not allowed so the least I expect is a sentence that makes sense.

Don't try to patronise me when you can't even get a sentence right on a second attempt. :rolleyes:

It's just laziness to not attempt to type all the words in a sentence. Nothing to do with grammar.

Odhinn wrote: »
    It's not done "the liberals way" here.

Don't p1ss down my back and call it rain

I don't think you're looking for thanks. I'm not trying to be nasty, but I find it hard not to judge someone saying they dislike Peter McVerry.

Disagree with the approach of his charity, absolutely. But to dislike him? It's like saying you dislike the concepts of integrity or humanity. I'm not trying to make a living saint of him. I'm sure he is an ordinary human being, despite what is said by those close to him. But if you asked me to show you the personification of mercy...

Oh, I've no problem with what anybody thinks of me.
    I am as I am.
    I don't hate the man or wish him any harm. I probably was a bit over the top if you thought that.
    He does good work but from what I see him and some others involved in the homeless crises section they may be doing more harm than good in the long run. It's just my opinion on the matter.

I don't really want to turn the thread in a homeless crisis debate tough and drag it off topic.

What a ****ing bastard, self seeking, Egotistical maniac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I'm an Atheist and a hater of the Catholic Church.

McVerry is anything but self-righteous. I've met the guy several times and provided his charity with dozens of re-conditioned PCs from the corporate sector in the late 90's.

Even in the corporate sector, I've never met anyone who drives himself that hard, to the point of tapping-out through overwork when driving around the country and almost killing himself through exhaustion.

At a critical-mass stage when building a charitable enterprise, one person can't do it all and a corporate structure needs to be established. It's a logical progression. Same with Christina Noble and her charity.

It's easy to be a hurler on the ditch. Easy to fling **** at a wall via the Internet. We get it. You're out-raged. Boo-hoo. On social media, everyone hears you scream.

McVerry has done more to help damaged people in this country that you'll ever realise. What have you done? Nothing.

Damaged people?

Who scam and play the system and rob people with syringes full of their own blood?

Why the **** would I want to help these “damaged” people?

Maybe he would do better helping decent honest people out, but that won’t make him the media darling and give him the attention he craves.

Do gooder left liberals has this country ruined.

*Tell me it's raining.

Realistically he can call anything rain. It's perception, but the saying is don't piss on me and tell me it's raining.

Oh, I've no problem with what anybody thinks of me.
    I am as I am.
    I don't hate the man or wish him any harm. I probably was a bit over the top if you thought that.
    He does good work but from what I see him and some others involved in the homeless crises section they may be doing more harm than good in the long run. It's just my opinion on the matter.

I don't really want to turn the thread in a homeless crisis debate tough and drag it off topic.
    Well you've said some pretty outrageous things so you can't exactly give "That's just my opinion" and walk away, as if all opinions are valid.

I'm not sure that I agree with all of the philosophy of the McVerry Trust's approach, but I don't doubt that they mean well. Nobody suggested you "hated" McVerry, but you've indicated that you don't like him.

I find that kind of animosity towards a good man hard to understand.

Just my opinion!

Damaged people?

Who scam and play the system and rob people with syringes full of their own blood?

Why the duck would I want to help these “damaged” people?

You really need a chill pill wheelie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

You really need a chill pill wheelie.

Nope I don’t.

I need people to start standing up to scumbags and not putting their arms around them telling them it’s not your fault like a scene from good will hunting.

Personal responsibility is gone out the window and Ireland is turning into a ****hole.

But sure look, he will be a better man your honour after 17 convictions, he’s learned his lesson.

Yeah right.

Personal responsibility is gone out the window and Ireland is turning into a ****hole.
    Social democracy has barely gotten its foot in the door. Are you trying to tell us that Ireland was a better place without it, back when Fr McVerry found that nine-years-old child sleeping on the streets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

Damaged people?

Maybe he would do better helping decent honest people out, but that won’t make him the media darling and give him the attention he craves.

Because it’s the human thing to do.

Because it’s better for society as a whole.

Because you never know when someone you care about might need these services.

We don't follow a "liberal" regime of crime and punishment here. Essentially nobody (politically) is willing to push it through.

Damaged people?

Because they wouldn't re-offend, for starters.