Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Continuity IFA tractor protest 17/12/2019

• 17-12-2019 01:57PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

they are ah it again, when they go at it they go awful and very hard

why are the tractors protesting the Dail when it was said distribution centers would be targeted this time or did the Real IFA take the wind out of that with their own protests at distribution centers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,232 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'm pretty sure this is the Provisional Independent Farmers of Ireland. (PIFI).

They'd murder you if they were going to be associated with the IFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,437 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

They'd murder you if they were going to be associated with the IFA.

That works both ways.
    20 tractors in Dublin at the last count but ''more coming''

wrangler wrote: »
    That works both ways.
    20 tractors in Dublin at the last count but ''more coming''

I doubt those tractors are insured for that...just in case they had a tip or worse.

If it were lorries they might have a hope but unless specified..usually the first question your insurer asks you is, is the tractor only going to be doing agricultural work.
    Customs could also dip them if they felt like it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

I doubt those tractors are insured for that...just in case they had a tip or worse.

If it were lorries they might have a hope but unless specified..usually the first question your insurer asks you is, is the tractor only going to be doing agricultural work.
    Customs could also dip them if they felt like it too.

what would they be looking for?

Green diesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

After been held up on my way home again, I've decided to totally give up eating Irish beef. I've eaten very little since the last protest, but it's full-time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

After been held up on my way home again, I've decided to totally give up eating Irish beef. I've eaten very little since the last protest, but it's full-time now.

Do it properly. Hurt the farmers where it hurts good. Give up eating...

maidhc wrote: »

What food has the lowest profit margins for Irish farmers?

They're staying overnight now, Guards have unbelievable patience......... or can't be bothered.
    Lads going to work in the morning will be fair peeved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Continue damaging the planet by eating avacados and aubergines transported from the opposite side of the planet. Hope you go hungry soon, when you realise the damage that cheap food policies does the planet

Supermarkets have made it a race to the bottom on all products, except maybe milk
    They just seem unable to stop squeezing all the enterprises out of business, but for the subsidies we'd be all out of business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

Do it properly. Hurt the farmers where it hurts good. Give up eating all Irish foods

Corrected that for you, the way you had left it made no sense at all.

Unless of course you believe that Irish farmers are the only source of food on this planet.

Supermarkets have made it a race to the bottom on all products, except maybe milk
    They just seem unable to stop squeezing all the enterprises out of business, but for the subsidies we'd be all out of business

If the producer of a product can't make a profit from that product then he'd be well advised to remove him or herself from the market.

171170 wrote: »
    If the producer of a product can't make a profit from that product then he'd be well advised to remove him or herself from the market.

No one will go down without a fight though.
    There's no doubt that subsidies have interfered with the way the beef market works, low prices usually usually cures low prices in that production drops, product gets scarce and prices rise, but with the subsidies farmers can afford to keep feeding beef,
    Subsidies are threatening to be hugely reduced so that'll change everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭newholland mad

Beef. Sort of shooting yourself in the foot though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Please dont let them near a microphone again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

One of the lads on this nonsense is from near my local town of Templemore.he’s not really a beef farmer and some around here would say not much of a dairy farmer either.it would be more in his benefit to be at home looking after his stock than acting the boll!!ks up in Dublin.when will the rest of us farmers call these muppets out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭hopeso

boggerman1 wrote: »
    One of the lads on this nonsense is from near my local town of Templemore.he’s not really a beef farmer and some around here would say not much of a dairy farmer either.it would be more in his benefit to be at home looking after his stock than acting the boll!!ks up in Dublin.when will the rest of us farmers call these muppets out

Anyone at any of these protests aren't genuine farmers with work to do.
    Is the numpty with the big white tractor there again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭Grueller

Beef
    Just seen that I was beaten to it above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,846 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

hopeso wrote: »
    Anyone at any of these protests aren't genuine farmers with work to do.
    Is the numpty with the big white tractor there again?

What the hell is a “genuine farmer”
    Acreage based?
    Horsepower based ?
    Stocking rates ?
    Suckler farmer?
    BPS size?
    Expensive wellies?

Really it makes no sense

Literally anyone who farms animals is a genuine farmer.

Or is it just people who think same as you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭hopeso

_Brian wrote: »
    What the hell is a “genuine farmer”
    Acreage based?
    Horsepower based ?
    Stocking rates ?
    Suckler farmer?
    BPS size?
    Expensive wellies?

Really it makes no sense

Literally anyone who farms animals is a genuine farmer.

Or is it just people who think same as you ?

It's a farmer that can't get away to Dublin because he has work to do. I know two prominent protesters who were active at the beef plant protests who haven't a beast between them. Yes, they have land, so maybe they're genuine farmers in your eyes, but it's rented out while they swan around on the single payment. How many of the gang currently in Dublin are similar I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

It's a farmer that can't get away to Dublin because he has work to do. I know two prominent protesters who were active at the beef plant protests who haven't a beast between them. Yes, they have land, so maybe they're genuine farmers in your eyes, but it's rented out while they swan around on the single payment. How many of the gang currently in Dublin are similar I wonder?

Exactly,If you have work to do you shouldn’t be protesting....Now I’m off to clean out the henhouse...

Genuine question, do the subsidies come from the exchequer or the EU?

90% EU
    Any time we get a subsidy from exchequer it's usually matched by EU so it's actually bringing money into the country.
    Eg if a farmer gets €1000, revenue will get back at least 40%(vat, income tax,there's tax on everything nowadays) and the EU contribution will endup in the rural economy by the farmer spending.
    But the big subsidies are totally EU, SMALL ONES ARE USUALLY 50/50

No one will go down without a fight though.
    There's no doubt that subsidies have interfered with the way the beef market works, low prices usually usually cures low prices in that production drops, product gets scarce and prices rise, but with the subsidies farmers can afford to keep feeding beef,
    Subsidies are threatening to be hugely reduced so that'll change everything

So would you agree with this this recent IT article by the former assistant director of Teagasc?

Small farmers have no business being in beef
    No conceivable increase in prices would improve living standards on such farms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Fair play to the farmers keep it up

The public are behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,846 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Maybe a neighbor stepped in and helped out ?

An exceptionally unwise choice of location if they're spreading slurry.

No they are not.this shower of gouls are a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

And the IFA last week were not?

171170 wrote: »
    So would you agree with this this recent IT article by the former assistant director of Teagasc?

Small farmers have no business being in beef
    No conceivable increase in prices would improve living standards on such farms

The profit is poor, but the income is in the subsidies,
    It's the way that the EU has made us I suppose...follow the money
    Some farmer like feeding cattle, so I wouldn't say they shouldn't stay at it.
    The ironic thing is that we get the subs whether we have cattle/sheep or not.
    Because it's based on area of land subject to being kept in good agriculture condition

Give over

If anything they need to ramp up the protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭funkyouup

Are they still in the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

funkyouup wrote:
    Are they still in the city?

they're staying overnight, apparently waiting for the minister like last time

fergus1001 wrote: »

He's in Europe I think

Give over

If anything they need to ramp up the protest

Ramp it up to what.most of the lads out protesting aren’t serious farmers and those that are serious that are protesting are being lead by donkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

They should of gone to cork so

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    And the IFA last week were not?

I’m not a member of the ifa and last weeks stuff was only a stunt from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

love how we got all the RA references into the thread

how many more splinter groups are we going to have ?

hopefully the IFA will see that they need to go back to grass roots because theyre loosing subs like no ones business, they possibly dont get it since they just increased the subs by a tenner

too many groups makes farmers weaker either need to ditch the IFA for something else or get in and support/make change

I’m not a member of the ifa and last weeks stuff was only a stunt from them

Did it not play a part at bringing the retailers to the table?

love how we got all the RA references into the thread

how many more splinter groups are we going to have ?

hopefully the IFA will see that they need to go back to grass roots because theyre loosing subs like no ones business, they possibly dont get it since they just increased the subs by a tenner

too many groups makes farmers weaker either need to ditch the IFA for something else or get in and support/make change

When the grass roots don't bother to have any input, there's not a lot can be done for them.
    IFA are the only organisation marking all the issues at the moment , plenty of one trick ponies around alright

In some cases people dont attend the agm so they wont get a job.

Correct me if I'm wrong but each branches vote depends on its membership rather than the amount of votes.

ganmo wrote: »
    In some cases people dont attend the agm so they wont get a job.

Correct me if I'm wrong but each branches vote depends on its membership rather than the amount of votes.

No it's PR voting now, everyones' vote counts, It used to be based on branch votes alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭kk.man

At work today and overheard a few colleagues speak about the tractor protest. I wasn't mean to hear them.
    This is rual Ireland workplace, my colleagues avrg age is 45, the persons concerned were male, they would have had rural links and some were only one generation removed from a farm. To my shock I heard them slate the protestors 'expensive tractors' and went onto minic farmer accents. Then went on about EU subsidies and how the farmer was creaming it.
    The Dublin traffic would not have disadvantage them. I tell you it was a eye opener as to how farmers are precieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

kk.man wrote: »
    At work today and overheard a few colleagues speak about the tractor protest. I wasn't mean to hear them.
    This is rual Ireland workplace, my colleagues avrg age is 45, the persons concerned were male, they would have had rural links and some were only one generation removed from a farm. To my shock I heard them slate the protestors 'expensive tractors' and went onto minic farmer accents. Then went on about EU subsidies and how the farmer was creaming it.
    The Dublin traffic would not have disadvantage them. I tell you it was a eye opener as to how farmers are precieved.
    Yep listen to that too (we’re 100 miles from Dublin)
    And the big grants the farmer gets

To them food comes from a shop & they don’t care who puts it there

The parents of 1/2 of the ones I listen too own land which is leased out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Rashers Big Log

Haven’t eaten beef since these lads last little stunt up here. These protests have really opened my eyes to what entitled, subsidy searching truffle hounds part of the beef farming community is. Maybe they should learn to code

Might hit M and S later and make sure to buy British produce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I'm not, the idiots caused bedlam in terms of the traffic yesterday.

By all means protest but blocking up streets is not on. Why do they think they have the right to impact on other peoples businesses. Critical time for retailers profits but they are losing money because of the ignorant farmers actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭Robson99

cruizer101 wrote: »
    I'm not, the idiots caused bedlam in terms of the traffic yesterday.

By all means protest but blocking up streets is not on. Why do they think they have the right to impact on other peoples businesses. Critical time for retailers profits but they are losing money because of the ignorant farmers actions.
    Are they breaking the Law ???

Haven’t eaten beef since these lads last little stunt up here. These protests have really opened my eyes to what entitled, subsidy searching truffle hounds part of the beef farming community is. Maybe they should learn to code

Might hit M and S later and make sure to buy British produce!

Thankfully very few will “take the soup” like you are.

The best produce in the world is Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Robson99 wrote: »
    Are they breaking the Law ???

I'm not sure, but they're having an affect on the very people that can't afford to be affected. The big companies well paid staff are all well serviced by public transport or indeed live close to the city, within running or cycling distance to the office where they have showers.

The people being affected are the ones that are forced to drive in to the city from rural areas or commuter towns, also the tradespeople and delivery drivers that have no choice but to drive vans with tools etc...

The diatribe is a bit rich too, farmers on the radio telling us all the everyone in Dublin is making a fortune.

Look around you pal. Not everyone sleeping in the city is in a tractor.