Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where did you go on your school tours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 diaduit73

Primary school:
    Newgrange Farm, The Zoo, Newgrange, Knowth & Dowth. Glendalough, some museum, Armagh Planetarium and A coca-cola bottling place.

Secondary school:
    Carlingford

France & Germany. I was only in 2nd year and it was my first time away from home.

An Adventure centre in Galway and An Adventure centre in Donegal (one night we had to sleep in the woods and got bit by insects all night long, it was a nightmare).

Some kind of peace & reconciliation centre in the middle of nowhere.

Dry slope skiing (near Dublin). On the way there the bus went on fire and we had to stand on the side of the road for two hours waiting for a replacement bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,728 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Ulster folk museum and At Patrick's protestant cathedral Armagh. Armagh planetarium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

At 12 we stayed in a convent in Belgium. Was OK.

Pros:
    - Being Belgium they served Beer with meals
    - Plenty of trips out, Atomium, Antwerp ...

Cons

- A kid a couple of years above fell out with me for reasons I still don't know. He was a skinhead, which made the 10 day break a bit like some escape movie. Always looking over my shoulder. Ye bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,658 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

In 6th class, we went to the zoo and then the Lambert's Puppet theatre.
    And had food in a burger place.
    We'd never had any other tours in Primary school.

In secondary school, we went to Ardnacrusha and Bunratty Park, Glanbia creamery Ballyragget and Kilkenny Castle, Trinity College and a Dublin museum with a picnic in St Stephen's Green.

The most exciting tour ever-NOT-was a cycle to The Cut in the Slieve Bloom mountains, on a miserably cold and wet day.
    This was actually a punishment because our class tutor was cross with us over something.
    She frequently called us retarded monkeys.
    SH née L if you're reading this, I'm talking about you, you nasty woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Primary School, the annual school picnic went to Silver Strand nr.Wicklow town - fab beaches and smugglers caves; Lough Dan and the one dreadful year to Mosney and than back to Silver Strand thereafter.

Secondary school was more exciting with numerous trips - the Burren 3/4 day Nature trip staying in Lisdoonvarna; Stratford on Avon to see King Lear (I was only allowed to go if I promised to give up English !) and the Continent (based in Ostend) and taking in Bruges when it was only famous for lace; Brussels, Paris and, of course, Amsterdam where we managed to shake off the teachers.

My last two years I was in charge of the school natural history club and was able to hire coaches at will to such exciting destinations as Malahide Estuary, Robertstown Falconry and Lugnaquilla - the latter was right up my street as I could cool my feet in the river and have a few crafty beers, and smokes, at the Baravore Ford while the saps made their way to the summit. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Primary:

Zoo and Lambert Puppet Theatre
    Mosney
    Lough Quay Forest Park

Secondary:
    Stratford on Avon to see McBeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Carodh

Primary
    1-Athlone - Cruise on Shannon & Clonmacnoise
    2-Clare- Leadmore Icecream Factory in kilrush & Kilkee.
    3-Clare- Ailwee Caves
    4-Cork- Fota Wildlife Park

Secondary
    1-Knock- Gardaí were called as some girls shoplifted at the looks there. School was the shame of the city next morning.
    2-Viking Museum & Kilmainham gaol

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

In primary school:

Dublin Zoo
    Japanese Gardens
    Glendalough
    Powerscourt
    Howth
    Cork city and Fota Safari Park
    Wales in 6th class.

In secondary school:
    Kerry
    Mayo
    England
    Newgrange
    Russia in 5th year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Archeron

Clara lara. I honestly believed there were crocodiles there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭daviddwyer

We went to Castletown House in Celbridge which would have been a lovely cultural experience except for the fact that the school and the majority of it's students was located in Celbridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

The one that sticks out for me most was when I was in 5th class, we got taken to a cheese factory in Mitchelstown, the Glen of Aherlow for a picnic, the Rock of Cashel and Holy Cross Abbey, what I remember most though 45 years on is that we had been led to believe that we were going to be taken to Cadbury's chocolate factory in Rathmore and could barely contain ourselves with visions of as much chocolate as we could eat, imagine the disappointment on the bus when the news was broken to us that it was going to be a cheese factory, kinda hard for a 10 year old to get excited over a smelly cheese factory. When we had to write the obligatory composition on our trip I doubt too many of us finished with the customary "And we all agreed that it was the best school trip ever"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

We went to Paris in 93 just before my junior cert and Austria skiing in 95. Both were brilliant holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

I remember going to France and girls from a different school sneaking into our room and shifting everyone apart from me. In fairness, one girl wanted to shift me but I didn't want any part of it.

It goes without saying they were girls from another Irish school. As if French girls would shift a bunch of pale, gawky Irish lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Primary:
    Dunmore Caves
    Viking World
    Dvblinia
    Kilkenny Castle

Secondary:
    France/Switzerland 1995

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I didn’t go on any but the talk of school tours reminds me of the holy war we had in our house after we could send our son on a trip with his class and his older (by a few years) sister never went on any trips with her’s.

At the time we said it was because her marks weren’t good enough, but actually her exam results were uniformly better than her brothers.

We later told her we just couldn’t afford it at the time but really I just didn’t think she would get much out of it. She was alright in school but she wasn’t going to set the world on fire academically, no use sending her to see some old museums in Rome when she could be home cramming for the Leaving Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭TheBody

In primary school we were brought on a tour of the Pat The Baker factory. We each received a loaf of bread to remember the trip. Whop-de-do.

Bunratty castle and mitchelstown caves once in primary school,

That was about it....we went to see a play in fermoy of all places during secondary school and it ended in mayham and that is/was it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Only went on one trip to Turlough Hill pumped storage power station in the Wicklow mountains. It was organised by our geography teacher and there were a lot of geological features to be seen but not much fun to be had unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Primary school - early 80's, flew aer lingus from Shannon to Dublin (big thrill back in the day) - took in Dublin Zoo and all the usual museums and then a quick shopping spree in henry st & moore st for the stalls and then a quick visit to Hector Greys then end the day at Heuston station to take the train home, .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

Tour of the HB ice-cream factory in Rathfarnham - now closed. Two boxes of choc-ices and brunches set on the ground at the end of the visit and we were like flies on cow****e! Still vivid nearly 50 years on!

Ones I remember from primary school are: Cork Gaol (which I pass on work commute now!), Fota, Collins Barracks Museum and the Coca Cola factory! I’m from Kerry and we went to Siamsa Tire a few times and various walks around Killarney. That’s all I remember but I’m sure there are more.

In secondary school went to various galleries/museums in Dublin, cappanalea in Kerry a few times and France. Went to Paris and Normandy. Flunch anyone?

Ones that stand out

Coca cola factory - "give that man a can of coke" was the catchphrase of the aul fella tour guide.

Irish National Heritage Park to see the crannog.

Leinster House.

Dublinia Viking experience

Newgrange

Hamlet in the Tivoli.

Petersburg Outdoor adventure centre in Galway .

Cinema for Romeo and Juliet.

I just had a flashback. God Bundoran is an awful hole

also Kilmainham jail and Marsh's Library to visit the ghost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Masala

Biggest thrill in the 1970 was to get on a bus and drive to Shannon Airport. Then get on a jet aircraft to fly to Dublin where our bus was waiting for us. Then dropped tp Grafton St for ‘free time’ where we all went to Dandaloin Market and spent our few coins in McDonalds as only Dublin had MccDonalds and that burger was the best burger in the works in the 70’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

3rd year Inter Cert, went to Lauterbrunnen in Switzerland for a skiing holiday. Got there by bus and ferry. Passed through France and Austria. I think the full trip was 12 days. Was drunk for a lot of it. Remember getting into trouble going down the black slope.

In primary around 1980, went to Salthill in Galway when Leisureland, Seapoint and Salthill Amusements had the coolest arcades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 joeym82

Remember in 5th class we went to Liverpool for a couple of days. Sign of the Celtic Tiger starting to roar if ever there was one. Good times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 joeym82

This is it wrote: »
    Went to Mosney for one in 5th or 6th class. They had everything there, some craic and great memories.

I lost a mini-fortune on the horse racing games in the arcade there!

cj maxx wrote: »
    I just had a flashback. God Bundoran is an awful hole

I don't like replying to myself but the only reason we went to Bundoran is it's in the same diocese. Catholic school and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Primary school was one tour per year and only for 3rd to 6th. I remember Dun na Ri forest park in Cavan, Coca Cola factory, and Newgrange. Lyons Estate was crap and only a couple of miles away. And Maynooth Castle was the absolute worst I think. There were 43 of us and 40+ in the other parallel class too. 85 kids with 2 teachers is ridiculous- no wonder we rarely did anything.

Secondary there were very few apart from one main trip abroad and language exchanges. I couldn't do the exchanges because my family are nuts. I did go to Paris and Switzerland (flight, bus, bus, flight) though and paid for it myself. Other than that we went to Kilkenny for the day, some place in Wicklow for kayaking and zip lining, the Bridewell and Four Courts, and to Collins' Barracks.

During my time as a teacher Causey Farm was my favourite.